James Donald Garrett’s Reviews

James Donald Garrett

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Mr. Garrett Helped Me Out Of A Jamb.

    Posted by Mike, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Garrett.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Where do I start? I got myself into a tough spot. I did some really dumb things with my friends. I got caught in a difficult position and my parents found Mr. Garrett on Google. He came to see me at the jail on a Sunday afternoon, and he was at my bond hearing on Monday morning. He was able to get me out of jail immediately, and then he was relentless with the case until the prosecutor dropped the charges. Mr. Garrett had me jumping through hoops right and left, but in the end it was worth everything I had to do. Thank you, thank you!

  2. Very good lawyer. I'd recommend him to anyone.

    Posted by Sam, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Garrett.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Garrett helped with a case of mine. I was living with some friends at the time and I was charged with some pretty serious matters based on what my roommates had done. Mr. Garrett worked hard to prove my innocence. I owe my freedom, my clean record and my future to him. Very good lawyer. I'd recommend him to anyone.

    1. James Donald Garrett

      James Garrett

      Lawyer Comment:

      Samantha, thanks for the kind remarks and vote of confidence. Let me know if there is anything I can help with in the future. Good luck to you!

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  3. Mr. Garrett Was There For Me When I Needed Help.

    Posted by Annie, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Garrett.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I can't overstate how satisfied I am with Mr. Garrett's help on my case. I consulted with several lawyers before I found Mr. Garrett with a simple Google search. He was the one I thought most knowledgeable about my type of case. I was never promised anything, but Mr. Garrett gave me the confidence I needed to fight my charges, and we WON. The trial procedure was long, but he was there to reassure me. Mr. Garrett checked in with me by email and phone calls from time to make sure I knew what was happening and to see that I was doing alright. This alone was worth the legal fee. I would recommend Mr. Garrett to anyone and everyone needing a great criminal attorney.

    1. James Donald Garrett

      James Garrett

      Lawyer Comment:

      Annie, thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I'm very happy for you that we were able to get the right result in your case. Good luck to you in your future.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  4. Felony DUI Reduced

    Posted by Don, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Garrett.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had a tough case. Mr. Garrett was able to recommend me to some alcohol counseling help and he negotiated with the prosecutor to get my DUI charge down from a felony. He couldn't do anything about the jail time, but I was and am happy with the outcome. He worked hard for me.

    1. James Donald Garrett

      James Garrett

      Lawyer Comment:

      Don, thank you for the comments, and I'm glad we could be of assistance to you. Good luck in your future.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  5. Assault Charges Dismissed

    Posted by Latrell, a Violent Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Garrett.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Violent Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Garrett was great. He didn't take nothing from the commonwealth witness and prove they was lying. He got my charge dismissed. He a good lawyer and I'd use him again.

    1. James Donald Garrett

      James Garrett

      Lawyer Comment:

      Glad we were able to get the right result for you. Thank you for the review and the confidence.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  6. Thank you Garrett Law Group

    Posted by Stephanie, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend James Garrett.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was out with some friends one night at the beach and got charged with alcohol possession. Mr. Garrett helped me get the charge dismissed. His helped saved my college scholarship. I would recommend him to anyone needing a good lawyer.

    1. James Donald Garrett

      James Garrett

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for the comments. Happy to have helped you. Good luck, Stephanie.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  7. Just Who You Want On Your Side

    Posted by Ted, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Garrett.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Garrett is a wonderful lawyer with experience and knowledge that brought me favorable results. I needed a strong attorney to fight some serious issues and he was definitely it. Thank you very much for all of your help.

    1. James Donald Garrett

      James Garrett

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I'm happy we were able to get the results you were looking for. Good luck to you in the future!

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  8. Criminal case

    Posted by Kettrel, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Garrett.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I never had to hire a lawyer before. I caught some charges when I was with some friends and found Mr. Garrett on the internet. He worked with the prosecutor and got my charges dismissed. Thank you for all your help.

    1. James Donald Garrett

      James Garrett

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you, Kettrel, for your comments. I'm glad everything worked out. Good luck to you.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  9. A Beacon In A Dark Night

    Posted by Charles, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Garrett.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Garrett was extremely helpful in our time of need. My college-aged son was visiting Va. Beach with some friends. He got into some trouble one night with his friends and wound up being arrested and charged with several crimes. When I called Mr. Garrett, he answered all of my questions about the charges and then went to work. He handled everything from setting up a bond hearing within a couple of days to my son's trial. He even found me a bondsman who worked with him to bail my son out of jail immediately. In the end, my son received probation and community service on charges that he could have gone to jail.

    Being out of state and not knowing anything about my son's charges and the laws of Virginia, Mr. Garrett was such a relief. I can not express how much he helped our family during a trying experience.

    1. James Donald Garrett

      James Garrett

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you, Charles, for the sentiments. I'm happy we were able to get such a wonderful result for Steven. He's a fine young man and has a great future ahead of him.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  10. Fought hard and won.

    Posted by Frank, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Garrett.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Garrett to represent me on a criminal matter. Over the course of representation, he made frequent contact with me to keep me well informed. Once when I called to leave a message for him on a Saturday, he answered the phone! Imagine my surprise to know I could speak with my attorney at anytime, day or night. In the end, the results of my case were better than Mr. Garrett predicted -- a dismissal of all charges. I could not be happier with his services.