Scott Richard Kaufman’s Reviews

Scott Richard Kaufman

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Definitely Recommend

    Posted by Jennifer,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Kaufman.

    I contacted Mr. Kaufman for a potential case that I may have regarding our vehicles odometer reading. He is very knowledgeable on car fraud and gave us great advice on how to proceed with finding out more information and the path to take. He was very prompt on replying to my emails. I would definitely recommend Mr. Kaufman to family and friends.

  2. Great job Scott!

    Posted by Mike, a Lemon Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Kaufman.
    • I hired Scott 6-12 months ago.
    • Scott handled my Lemon Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Scott and California Lemon Lawyers did an outstanding job for us in resolving a problem we were having with a Los Gatos mattress retailer. He was able to get us a replacement for out mattress even when the retailer dug in his heels. Great job Scott!

    1. Scott Richard Kaufman

      Scott Kaufman

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks for the kind words. This one was especially gratifying in that we had to find a way to work around the uncooperative and frankly, arrogant retailer who had refused to live up to his 100 day money back guarantee, and we were able to get some folks (after months) a good night's sleep. Happy to help...

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  3. Scott is the man

    Posted by John, a Lemon Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Kaufman.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Lemon Law matter.

    I recently purchased a scooter that turned out to be a "lemon". I asked the dealer and the manufacturer early on to just replace the bike but they refused and said for me to wait. I asked for a refund and they said they don't do that. I looked for a local lawyer but instead came into Scott Kauffman. He's the only one that responded to my inquiries (totally reachable through phone or email) and advised me of what needs to be done. He even gave the manufacturer and dealer time to respond to me. A little over two months after starting the process, Scott sent me a check amounting to the FULL REFUND of my purchase. All with just initial phone call, email correspondence and without stepping into a courtroom. I don't wish it, but should I get another "lemon", I know just the one to go to ;-D... just search for Scott Kauffman - CA lemon lawyers. His website also is a consumer resource about lemon law and your right as a consumer.

    1. Scott Richard Kaufman

      Scott Kaufman

      Lawyer Comment:

      John:

      I was happy to help. You should know there are only about 100 attorneys in the entire state of CA who handle lemon law and auto fraud matters, so, it is no big surprise you had trouble finding someone local. We handle these matters statewide b/c of this. Lastly, a lot of the LARGE multi-state firms only take the "cherry" cases like lemon cars and throw the rest of consumers like your scooter case, to the wolves. Again, I was happy to help.

      Best Regards,

      Scott K.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  4. David vs Goliath

    Posted by Frank, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Kaufman.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.

    A little over a year into ownership of a used vehicle, I discovered signs that previous damage had occurred. The damage was not disclosed at the time of the sale and I no longer felt safe driving the car. The fact that I paid full retail price on a previously damaged vehicle added insult to injury.

    After confronting the dealership several times and giving them a way out, they refused to do the right thing. After a bit of research, I reached out to Scott Kaufman @ CA Lemon Lawyers. He took me on and treated me with dignity and respect. A little over a year later, the dealership buckled and took the vehicle back, returning almost all of my money. I never once stepped foot into a courtroom.

    I cannot speak highly enough about Scott and his team. He really went the extra mile and restored not only my lost funds, but my piece of mind. You just can't put a price on that.

    1. Scott Richard Kaufman

      Scott Kaufman

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thrilled we could get this done for you. It's getting tougher and tougher out there to fight these dealerships, often based on built in fraudulent practices. I hope to "follow" this car and see what they do with it. Thanks for the kind words.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  5. Great consumer advice

    Posted by bumdee19, a Lemon Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Kaufman.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Lemon Law matter.

    Mr. Kaufman was very knowledgeable and responded very quickly to my questions. He answered my questions in regards to a automobile dealer that sold me a truck with missing running boards. He advised me the best way to handle it and I got my running boards put back on! I sent Mr.Kaufman my paperwork to look over and he was rite to the point about what was the best way to handle this case.

  6. Highly Recommended!

    Posted by katyafomina, a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Kaufman.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I found Scott on this website and was only expecting to get a short answer to my question. I got frauded by BMW of Fremont while buying a used car and needed some answers whether I have a case or not. Scott not only answered my questions but helped me throughout the way by finding more information and evidence to sue them.
    People say that all lawyers are unreachable. This does not apply to Scott. He answered his phone all the time and my emails were returned withing couple of hours.
    Even though my case was not strong enough to go to civil court, Scott gave me all information to file small claims, which I am working on right now.

  7. Easy buy back accomplished with Scott's help.

    Posted by Maria and Nicolas, a Lemon Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Kaufman.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Lemon Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Scott helped us return a lemon back to the dealership, get our loan paid off and get reimbursed for 3 months of loan payments and all the cost of all repairs we had to do. Thank you so much, we did not believe it would be possible.

    1. Scott Richard Kaufman

      Scott Kaufman

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks for the kind words. You folks were a pleasure to work with. Best of luck going forward.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  8. Another Lemon Law Win!

    Posted by Chris, a Lemon Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Kaufman.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Lemon Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Scott is a pleasure to work with; he is quick to respond to inquiries, and keeps you up to date on what new things might be happening with your case. Scott helped me get a meeting outside of court with Ford Motor Co., where we settled in just a few hours; I couldn't be happier with the way this turned out. I should have came to Scott sooner than I did.

    Highly recommended!!!

    1. Scott Richard Kaufman

      Scott Kaufman

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for the kind words. You were completely reasonable throughout and I could not be happier for you the way things worked out.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  9. Thank You Mr. Kaufman!

    Posted by a Lemon Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Kaufman.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Lemon Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I contacted Aavo to see if I had any recourse in dealing with a less than honest used car dealer. Thinking that I probably had no chance I was pleasantly surprised when Mr. Kaufman responded right away. This was my first experience with buying a car completely on my own and unfortunately I picked a car dealer who thought he could take advantage of my inexperience. Mr. Kaufman was very supportive and extremely knowledgeable of the legal aspects. With Mr. Kaufman's help I was able to avoid going to court, was able to return the defective car and got a full refund from the dealer. Thank you Mr. Kaufman.

    1. Scott Richard Kaufman

      Scott Kaufman

      Lawyer Comment:

      So happy you were satisfied. That is music to my ears and makes what we do all worthwhile. With a little luck you will never need my services again : )

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  10. An A+ Lemon Law Attorney.

    Posted by a Lemon Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Kaufman.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Lemon Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I purchased my vehicle brand new from the dealership a few years back. I was having minor issues with my vehicle and kept having to go back to the dealership to get it checked out. It seemed like almost every 2 - 3 months I had to bring the car back to the shop.

    The last straw was when I was traveling on the freeway when suddenly the engine began to bog and was having trouble accelerating. Luckily I was able to pull over at a gas station close to the freeway as my vehicle was about to die. If it were any further, it could have been fatal as my family & I were traveling together in the vehicle. At that point I decided to seek legal council to help me talk to the manufacturer about my vehicle's issues.

    Scott came highly reccomended through a friend who is also a lawyer. Scott took the time to review my case. He analyzed all of the maintenence reviews of my car and explained to me why I had a strong case. During the 9 months we've worked together, Scott answered my questions utilizing his experience. I enjoyed Scott's honesty & representation.

    I would reccomend Mr. Kaufman to anyone seeking representation for CA Lemon Law issues.

    1. Scott Richard Kaufman

      Scott Kaufman

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you so much for the very kind words. This kind of feedback, more than anything, is what makes my choice of this area of law so fulfilling. As I often say (tongue in cheek) hopefully, you will never need my services again! That said, if you have any legal issues in the future please feel free to contact my office for help or for a referral.

      Best Regards,

      Scott K.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

408-727-8882