John Arthur Smitten’s Reviews

John Arthur Smitten

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Awful Experience!!!

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Smitten.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Support matter.

    I was low income & he was the only one that accepted it at the time. I had a consult for modification of child support, at first he made me feel very confident and I felt great about hiring him, however as the case progressed he didn't do anything. We went to mediation & he actually worked on other cases while we were in there. I didn't understand some of ways we were getting the figure we were getting based on my own personal knowledge, but all he said was "this is the best you're going to get, or we can take it to court & it will cost you more money & you could get even less than they're offering now" It was such a bad situation the mediator said he didn't feel comfortable with me signing the paperwork. I guess the saying is true that you get what you pay for & I got an awful experience with this lawyer & would NEVER EVER recommend him to anyone!!!

    1. John Arthur Smitten

      John Smitten

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Client:
      Sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the services rendered. If you would like to schedule a free consultation with me to re-review your case then contact the office, I will do my best to assist you.

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  2. WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND

    Posted by Jeanne, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Smitten.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired John because I am low income and when I called the clearwater bar he was the only one that takes low income cases. I would never recommend Mr. Smitten. I was never informed of things I always was lost when it was time for trial didnt know what to expect. When I first talked with him he seem geniun but did nothing for my case. I gave him tons of information emails, texts, and fb print outs anbout my ex that never was used and later was told they were all lost and then months later they reappreared and was mailed to me. At the finale divorce hearing two days after my brother passed away he sat there and said nothing while I pleded my case against my ex and his laywer then when the judge said everyhthing was finale he looked over and said do you agree I said the judge just judged on it all so I guess I have no choice and he said ok. I later got a different laywer bcecause my ex is imposible who helped me so much and I never felt I had anyone on my side until I hired the other laywer. John Smitten may be a good laywer if u are not low income and I also told him why do you take low income cases if you are not going to treat them fairly. I do not think he should be on the low income help because he did not help me at all. If I had money he might have treated me better. I truly believe you get what you pay for he made a firm believer out of me of that old staement. I would never recommend him to anyone.

    1. John Arthur Smitten

      John Smitten

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Client:
      Sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the services rendered. If you would like to schedule a free consultation with me to re-review your case then contact the office, I will do my best to assist you.

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  3. Excellent Attorney ( I would Hire him again )

    Posted by Chris, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Smitten.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Best Attorney I have ever used. From start to finish it took 2 weeks. John is very fast at returning calls and emails.

  4. First-rate Attorney

    Posted by Rebecca, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Smitten.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John Smitten handeled my divorce. He let me know what to expect and how the process worked. He helped me through a very difficult divorce, in which I had alot at stake financially. He and his extremely personable and efficient paralegal took care of everything in a timely manner and kept me informed. If you want an effective attorney contact John Smitten.

  5. Would not recommend...very unethical

    Posted by James, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend John Smitten.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Did not perform what he said he would do. My case was thrown out due to his lack of effort and never completed the case when his firm agreed to a do-over. Do not waist your time with this attorney...

    1. John Arthur Smitten

      John Smitten

      Lawyer Comment:

      This particular person had an unfavorable ruling then was given permission from the court to refile the case and he could not pay the filing fee we asked for so we dismissed him as a client. At our Firm we do the best we can in each and every case.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

    2. John Arthur Smitten

      John Smitten

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Client:
      Sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the services rendered. If you would like to schedule a free consultation with me to re-review your case then contact the office, I will do my best to assist you.

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  6. Highly Recommend!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Smitten.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Smitten always responded in a timely manner. He did a lot of research to help my case! I would have him represent me again.

  7. NUMBER 1 ATTORNEY

    Posted by Larry, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Smitten.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    MY BROTHER HAD A VERY MESSY DIVORCE AND MR.SMITTEN WAS OUTSTANDING NOT ONLY HELPING HIM WITH THE LEGAL MATTERS BUT ALSO MAKING MY BROTHER FEEL LIKE HE WAS WITH A TRUE FRIEND THANK YOU MR.SMITTEN YOU ARE THE BEST

  8. I highly recommend this lawyer!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Smitten.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I used John Smitten for my divorce, from the moment he took the case he was through, detail oriented, and got me what I wanted. I was very pleased with his work and I would recommend him to everyone.

  9. Pick aother attorney, especially if you are a person in poor health!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Smitten.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When e-mailed I received a response days later when I was able to get my e-mal working again as I had since separated and moved to another state, stating that I was never to e-mail him again and that he would let me know when the final hearing would be and if I e-mailed him again he would charge me $25.00 and e-mail. Given that I had e-mailed him a grand total of only 4 times in the 8 weeks since I had hired him the tone that he wrote was rude and unprofessional and given my poor health was uncalled for. He knew that I was moving out of state and that I would have questions and he told me to e-mail him as thatwas the easiest was to get a hold of him. Then to return an e-,mail with such unprofessionalism is uncalled for. If he had a bad day then he should have waited to e-mal me till the following day or even the day after. I am sure that I am not the only client that he has done this to and not the last one that he will do this to.

  10. Work-a-holic

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Smitten.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John was great, he always returned my call or emails late in the day [from work!] and was always there to meet me early in the morning too. He is very knowledgeable and told me in advance that my chances were slim, but that he would do his best. He did his best and even drove me to court because I was so scared and nervous. My outcome was better than expected. I really had a positive experience with him and would recommend him to anyone, especially for custody and divorce. Bottom line: He gets the job done!! Thanks :) Jenny G.