Michael S. Waddington’s Reviews

Michael S. Waddington

Average Rating

Based on 30 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Michael was vital to our case

    Posted by Jose,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Waddington.

    After attempting to use the military defense lawyers during a sexual assault allegation and getting no where, I retained Micahel Waddington. As a prior Army lawyer he knows the military system in and out. He specializes in sexual assault cases. The case went to an Arricle 32 after my unit charged me with 4 counts of rape, under political pressure and with no evidence. Michael flew out to the UK and helped me build my defense. He collected all the evidence we had, consulted with the local ADC, prepared me for the hearing and defended me by cross examining the alleged victim whose story fell apart once Mr Waddington stepped in. He was professional and extremely competent. The Investigating Officer recommended that the case not move forward to courts martial and I was eventually accuited and all charges were dropped. Without Mr Waddingtons help, I may have faced a court martial for crimes I did not commit. He was absolutely vital to my defense and worth every penny.

  2. Very Professional

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Waddington.

    Mr. Waddington had the upmost respect, professionalism and trustworthiness during my court proceedings. He kept me very informed and really cared about my case which made me feel safe with my decision to hire him. I am happy to say that with his help my charges were dropped after the Article 32 hearing and now I can get back to my normal life after a year plus. I would highly recommend Mr. Waddington.

  3. True professional

    Posted by Chief,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Waddington.

    First of don't be like me and panic if mike is cool in his nature. He understand your case and he's on top on everything. He's know what he's doing from the being to the end. He's worth every dime I paid. He calm swagger is his forte. No jag TDS lawyer can represent you like mike. I almost lost my retirement after 19.5 months. With mikes help it was saved along with my dignity and self respect.

  4. Your only Option!

    Posted by JM,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Waddington.

    Thanks to Mr. Waddington I am able to continue my career, have my freedom and life back!
    Mr. Waddington took my case with only a two months’ notice and quickly gathered all the required information to adequately defend me and prove my innocence against very serious false allegations. He kept me informed every step of the way and made sure I felt comfortable and at ease. He was genuinely concerned and did everything possible to expose the truth. His experience and knowledge of the UCMJ was the reason I retained him. After the first conversation there was no doubt that HE was the person for the job.
    Despite him being a very busy attorney he made me feel like I was his only case. There is no question; Mr. Michael Waddington should be your first and only option if you’re in need of professional representation.

    Thank You Mr. Waddington!!

  5. USMC Officer BOI Proceeding

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Waddington.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was notified that I would be facing a Board of Inquiry. While my military assigned lawyer was competent there were a number of things that concerned me. First, my military lawyer had only conducted one Board of Inquiry in his entire career and second, he was significantly more junior than the government lawyer. I felt that it was in my best interest to retain the best possible representation I could and decided on retaining civilian counsel as well. Mr. Waddington's handling of my case was nothing less than superb.

    From our first conversation Mr. Waddington’s vast experience and expertise were evident. He developed the strategy that presented the strongest defense possible and allowed me to tell my story – something that had not occurred during the previous investigation and non-judicial punishment procedure.

    The end result was that I was able to be honorably discharged from the Marine Corps. I would strongly recommend Mr. Waddington to anyone who is in need of representation. When your future is on the line you want nothing less than the best.

  6. NOT GUILTY ON ALL CHARGES!!!!

    Posted by Sara, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Waddington.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Our Journey through hell began almost two years ago. My husband was accused of abusive sexual contact, assault and battery, and indecent language. With my husbands 16 year career in the Air Force on the line plus multiple years in prison if found guilty, we knew we had to hire the best attorney to handle our case. Michael, was always very attentive and believed in my husband from the start. Even though Michael is a very busy man, he never made us feel like anything less than a priority. At the Article 32 hearing Michael decided to go all in. He proved that my husbands accuser was a liar, manipulator and home wrecker. The case was recommended for dismissal, but due to political pressure the case was still pushed forward to General Court Martial. At the court martial Michael went in and carpet bombed the prosecutions entire case and destroyed the credibility of all witnesses. Michael was amazing, and put the prosecution to shame. If you are looking for a non bias, honest, trustworthy lawyer then look no further. He will fight for you and your family until the end. We are truly thankful to have found such an amazing attorney. Do not hesitate a second longer, get Michael on your side. You can't afford not to. Thank you Michael.

  7. Hire the BEST!!!

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Waddington.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Michael is without a doubt the best trial attorney money can buy. He is cool, calm, and an amazing speaker.

    I found out a year ago that I was under investigation for a sex-related charge that could land me in prison for over 30 years. At first I was hesitant on whether I should pay the high price for a civilian counsel, but I decided to immediately retain Michael. I can say without question, it was the BEST Investment I have ever made. Dont wait until the Article 32 or Trial.....hire him early!

    In my case, the government went full-steam ahead with ridiculous charges, no evidence, a dishonest accuser, and a poor investigation. The deck was stacked against me and the government even tried to add two more felony charges at my Article 32. Michael was not worried. He took control, put an incredible amount of work into trial prep and absolutely shredded the government's case. He delivered a closing that would make F Lee Bailey and Johnnie Cochran proud and maybe even a little envious. He also destroyed the prosecutor and lead NCIS agent in the process.

    My life, my family's future, and my freedom almost came to an abrupt halt but Michael saved the day. He ensured that the Jury saw the truth and that I was vindicated. The decisions one makes in life can alter your future......don't make the decision to go with a cheaper or less experienced attorney when your life is on the line, go with the very best....go with MICHAEL WADDINGTON!!

  8. MICHAEL WADDINGTON ATTORNEY WITH INTEGRITY

    Posted by D. Holz, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Waddington.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Having known Michael Waddinton for many years, he has always operated with the highest degree of integrity backed by a skilled and experienced professionalism. I would highly and unequivocably recommend him.

  9. You need the best, retain Michael Waddington NOW

    Posted by Jason, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Waddington.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you are reading this, that means that the Air Force has taken down the big top, caged all the animals and the clowns have taken off all their make up. From day one the clowns (prosecuting attorneys) made every attempt to prove their case. Apparently clown college isn't what it use to be. As they danced around the court room juggling allegations and assumptions there was no laughter, only muffled snickers from the audience for a very poor performance.

    While all the shenanigans were in work, Michael (Maestro) was writing a masterpiece. He pushed out all the hibbity jibbitty bologna and brought in an orchestra. At this point the circus clowns were ignored and everyone waited with anticipation for what would follow. With their instruments ready, Maestro began to tell a tragic story of false accusations and betrayal. As the trumpets boasted you could see the clowns trying to cram themselves back into their car. By the end of his masterpiece he proved beyond a reasonable doubt that I was not guilty of all charges.

    On a serious note. I was accused of Abusive Sexual Contact, Assault, and Indecent language. At no point in this trial was there any evidence against me, and even won at my Article 32 hearing. Due to mounting pressure from our political leaders, I was forced to go to court martial anyway. Even though my accuser has previous convictions for fraud and obstruction of justice. It's sad to say, but in this day in time if your are active duty, you are guilty until proven innocent.

    Even though there was no evidence against me the Air Force used every trick they could to get a conviction. They even put my accuser on the stand even though her story had changed every time she told it. The prosecution also put up another key witness that directly contradicted the accuser story of events. The government isn't worried about right or wrong, or even if you're innocent. They don't care if there is any evidence to support any allegations. All they want are convictions, so that the citizens of the U.S. think that they are taking steps to put a stop to Sex Crimes.

    If you are accused, you need Michael Waddington in your corner. He is a tough hardnosed lawyer who doesn't believe in running from a fight, but rather take the fight to your enemy. Everyday of my court martial the Government offered me a deal, they told me that if I pled guilty to assault they would drop the sexual assault charges. Not much of a deal was it? I didn't want to plead guilty for something I didn't do, and Michael advised me not to take it, and we didn't. We took the fight to the enemy and crushed them.

    In his closing argument he asked 44 questions of reasonable doubt, and challenged the prosecution to answer them. They were completely dumbfounded and couldn't provide any evidence or answer even a single question he asked.

    If you are the accused you need the best. You need Michael Waddington. He was very direct and honest with me. In my time of doubt, he reached out and offered so many words of inspiration, not just to me but my family as well. Don't waste a second longer. Don't put your faith in a military lawyer who works for your branch of service. Stop reading this and call him right now and get the help you need.

  10. Michael Waddington a true fighter for the truth, and a great finisher in battle!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Waddington.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.

    My story starts 1 year ago where I was under investigation for sexual assault, I turned to US Army JAG for assistance during that investigation, and they failed to provide me with any assistance. A few months later I was given multiple charges regarding sexual assault and even rape. I was broken down and hit the lowest point in my life. Even at point I was not given a US Army JAG representative. That is when I took matters to my own hands and sought Legal Council from none other than Michael Waddington. His website was very easy to review and I was immediately contacted after seeking help.
    During our first phone conversation, he was very attentive to my story, he did not impose his bias like my commanders and other officers I worked with. From the beginning he believed in me. From the beginning to the end of my ordeal he remain very professional and at times comical, which helped with my ever increasing stress levels. From the get go, he was determined to end my ordeal at my Article 32. He did not fear the prosecutors and worked closely with my legal council, which was provided to me by the government. During the Article 32, his questions to the witness played very well to our case. He was relentless with his insight and cross-examinations. To put it in an analogy, he went in like a quarterback, bringing in his entire team to score the winning touchdown. He was able to maneuver a known lying star witness by the government to panic and seek his own personal legal council during my case. That was very helpful for us. At the end of the Article 32 it was found that 2 of my 4 charges were removed thanks to Michael Waddington. But, unfortunately, the trial was pushed to continue forward to a General Court Martial. The government did all they could to bring me down, and slapped me with two new charges. Ridiculous and moronic in my opinion.
    The stakes were very high coming into the GCM. I faced multiple years of prison, and a possibility of having to register as sex offender. Michael Waddington would not allow it, not me, not any client. He was confident throughout the entire case. He came at our opponent knowing he was going to win no matter what. I was depressed and anxious throughout my case, but every time I finished talking to Michael, I was put in a sense of tranquility and peace. My JAG attorney assigned to me was very discouraging to put it in a sense where he always planned for the worst, but Michael would always bring me back. During the GCM Michael planned a calculated strategy to win me my case. He came at my accuser with all his might and fury. At the end of his cross-examination of her, she could not hide her lies anymore. To add to that, he took down the government's "Star" witness to the point where the judge had to stop Michael from continuing his cross-examination, which lasted 35 minutes of pointing out how much of a liar this so called "Star" witness is. At that point the government panicked, and they were pretty much trying to grab any lifeline they can to save their case. Michael Waddington came into that GCM as a general himself with the tactician to rival that of great commanders. Michael was decisive, unpredictable to the government, and adaptive to the situation. His closing statement was sight as only described as "amazing." At first it was jumping from subject to subject, but in the end it tied everything in so well. What was even more amazing was how long it took him to put it together. He did it in under an hour. He was able to truly express to the jury panel to weigh their decision with hard facts not by emotion, which was the only play the government had left.
    Deliberation time came, my supporters, and my legal team was on the edge of our seats. The verdict: "NOT GUILTY ON ALL CHARGES!"
    If I had to do it all again I wouldn't hesitate to select MICHAEL WADDINGTON. He was professional, kind, courteous, and a Legendary Defense attorney. I would recommend him to anyone. He fights for the truth!