Richard T. Ryczek Jr.’s Reviews

Richard T. Ryczek Jr.

Average Rating

Based on 28 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Multiple DUIs

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Ryczek.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I had 3 pending DUI cases within one year with a previous DUI 4 years prior. I originally sought legal advise from a local attorney with little hope for a positive outcome for my pending cases. Rick, on the other hand, was willing to work hard on my behalf with each case. One DUI was dropped completely and I am happy with the results of the other DUIs. Rick and his team are excellent. They will keep you informed, help you in every aspect of your case and they sincerely care about the clients overall well-being and outcome of the case(s). The Ryczek Firm has been a Godsend for me and I refer him to everyone.

  2. DUI Client

    Posted by Derrick, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Ryczek.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I had two DUIs and Rick was able to get one completely dismissed. I plea guilty to wreckless driving on the 2nd case. I had to be on probation, but it helped me keep my job and not get fired. All the other lawyers tole me that my case was hopeless but Rick worked harder than the other lawyers. I don't know what I would have done with out him.

  3. Horrible Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Ryczek.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I would NOT recommend Rick Ryczek to anyone! He took my DUI case and said that he had a pretty good chance of having it thrown out because of the missing audio tape of the arrest. I lived in Atlanta at the time but had a California driver's license. He gave me wrong information in terms of what would happen in BOTH Atlanta and California, plus he misrepresented himself.

    Needless to say, this DUI took place in 2008 - Rycek dragged this out until December 2010 at which I had already returned to California in 2009. Had to fly back to Atlanta for the court date in December 2010 while I was pregnant with my first baby - he made the judge mad and kept repeating himself. Basically, he should have told me that I had no case and kept my $1500 investigation fee back in 2008 but instead got me to pay him an additional $2500 to continue to get it thrown out. Right before I flew to Atlanta - he had no plan of attack in front of the judge and basically told me to plead guilty. This has costs me fees and classes in BOTH STATES... and has now cost me a JOB.

    I also was rushed to the hospital flying home from this and went into labor early - luckily my baby was okay but had to be on bed rest for the remaining 3 months of term.

    If I were you, find another attorney there in Atlanta as he his not worth it. I too, thought he would be good due to the reviews but I was wrong. He even didn't return phone calls the two years til the court date.

    1. Richard T. Ryczek Jr.

      Richard Ryczek

      Lawyer Comment:

      I represented this lady a long time ago, but I will always remember her. She called often and I spoke with her almost as often. I often explained issues to her and she would not understand so I would talk to her baby's father when he called the next day. I responded to numerous emails, phone calls, and text messages. Every inquiry received a response. I sent her a copy of every document and every piece of evidence that I received in my investigation. I attended court for her more than a dozen times and met with the prosecutors regarding her case several times outside of court in an attempt to get her case reduced. I filed more than 30 pleadings and challenges to the Prosecutor's evidence. She received excellent service.
      She did not follow the advice I gave her to obtain a Georgia Drivers' License. The day she hired me (7/15/08), I advised her to get a Georgia Drivers' License since she was living in Georgia. I included the advice in writing on our contract. She complains about a California driver's license suspension, and she would have avoided the suspension if she would have followed my written and verbal advice.

      Her case was assigned to an eccentric judge with a large backlog. Many of this judge's cases got dismissed for violating defendants' right to a speedy trial. The judge recently resigned under investigation for related behavior. I had two other clients with cases in this judge’s court at the same time as this lady’s case. Both cases were dismissed. On 8/26/10, this client asked me to push the judge to schedule the trial as quickly as possible because she was pregnant and wanted to resolve the case prior to delivering her baby. We accommodated her and convinced the judge to specially set her trial.

      I appeared on her behalf and argued my legal challenges to the State's case. Unfortunately, the Court did not grant any of my requests to suppress the evidence against her. This client stressed to me that she had a high-risk pregnancy and she said that she could not risk potential jail time if convicted. Her judge would typically sentence DUI offenders from 4 to 6 days in jail if they were found guilty. I told her that I would conduct her trial for no additional fee (she had not paid my trial fee) if she wanted a trial, but she should consider a guilty plea in order to guarantee that she would not serve any jail time. Her baby's father attended the hearing, and he asked her to accept a guilty plea. She wound up pleading guilty, staying out of jail, and serving probation.
      Perhaps we may have won her trial if given the opportunity. I have won many trials with far more difficult facts than hers. I have also lost a few trials with facts less challenging than hers. There is risk with any trial. However, I believe she made the best decision for her unborn child by accepting the guilty plea. She sacrificed the chance of an acquittal in exchange for staying out of jail and guaranteeing her baby's safety. Days later she started calling and sending me emails demanding that I refund her money. I declined because I had spent a great deal of time and effort on her case. I had earned my fee.

      Unfortunately, I was unable to make this lady happy, but I work very hard to achieve good results for all my clients.

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

  4. Justice for Us.

    Posted by Velma, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Ryczek.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Richard was very well prepared for the case. He researched information for this case and it was a wealth of knowledge and the trial was to our favor thanks to how prepared he was. Wonderful and caring person, really cares for his clients.

  5. Outstanding help and advice

    Posted by Martin, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Ryczek.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I came to Rick to get some help and advice on a personal matter. For a young man his age he is far beyond his years in wisdom. His advice was grounded, thoughtful, and right on target. I consider him my family lawyer from now on.

  6. Rick is the Man!

    Posted by a State & Local Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Ryczek.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my State, Local And Municipal Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    With his experience, connections, and dedication, Rick has always been able to obtain favorable results or decisions in my cases.

  7. Great Lawyer

    Posted by Katie, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Ryczek.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Excellent lawyer and firm as a whole! Rick himself is responsive; he follows up and follows through! I will recommend The Ryczek Firm to anyone I know with legal disputes! He was helpful, patient and had lovely assistants!

    Thank You Rick!

  8. Stop your search. Rick Ryczek is the BEST!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Ryczek.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was arrested for driving without headlights, DUI, and fleeing and alluding a police officer. I was EXTREMELY frightened of what consequences such charges might mean for my career and my future.

    A prominent Personal Injury/Wrongful Death attorney in Atlanta recommended I call Rick ASAP, stating he was the best DUI attorney in town. I have a very type A personality and Rick was always patient when answering my questions, and kept me in the loop on the goings-on with the case and what the next steps were. Rick pulled 'rabbits out of his hat' throughout the entire process, which kept me consistently encouraged.

    To cut to the chase, in the Motions Hearing, Rick was able to get not ONE but ALL of my charges thrown out and the ENTIRE case DISMISSED! His work is second to none and he comes with my highest recommendation!

  9. Extremely grateful

    Posted by John, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Ryczek.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Although I can only speak from personal experience, it's my impression that Rick puts his best in every case. I was referred to Rick by a lawyer who handles legal issues for the company I work for. It seems Rick has an excellent reputation among his peers, as well. I trusted that the recommendation was a good one, and it proved to be true. Rick has also taken the time out of his busy schedule to assist me on other legal matters, not affiliated with the one I selected him for originally. It just shows that Rick is concerned about his clients and wants what's best for them. He is a man of integrity.

  10. recommendation

    Posted by Bill, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Richard Ryczek.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was arrested for DUI and running a stop sign in north Georgia. The police report indicated that I failed all of the roadside tests. After retaining Rick Ryczek, I got my driver's license back, no points on my record, and the prosecutor declined to prosecute the case. I would recommend Mr. Ryczek to any DUI defendant without hesitation.

678-376-5541