John Addison Vos’s Reviews

John Addison Vos

Average Rating

Based on 37 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I found the help I needed

    Posted by Karen, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Vos.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found my self in the very difficult position of facing bankruptcy. I was unsure and apprehensive about what it would mean about me as a person and how creditors/future credit would view me. I have always been a responsible person and felt embarrassed at the prospect of actually filing.

    John was knowledgeable, he was reassuring, and most important he treated me with respect and dignity. Everyone in his office were professional and guided me through the process with ease. While in the courtroom waiting my turn with the trustee, it became even more apparent that not everyone had the quality of representation that I found with John Vos.

    Although, I went to John for bankruptcy, I would trust him for any legal advice within his area(s) of expertise.

  2. John Vos is an excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Doug, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Vos.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    John did an incredible job with my wifes and my Chapter 7 Bankruptcy. I couldn't of asked for a better Lawyer. He took all the stress out of filing for bankruptcy. John and his staff did an excellent job for us and we are so greatful for his services.

  3. Helped Me Avoid Bankruptcy

    Posted by Sue, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Vos.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    John helped me avoid bankruptcy 15 years ago during my divorce. He joined a meeting with my former husband and our family law attorneys and influenced a very stressful experience into a manageable one.

    After my former husband's disastrous bankruptcy experience before our marriage, I insist that friends and clients only contact John to discuss debt issues.

    John is trustworthy, knowledgable, experienced, respectful and truly cares about the best results for the client.

    I've worked and interacted with many attorneys for my personal legal needs (family law, bankruptcy, business) and for my clients' businesses, John is at the top of the list in every way.

    I saw this opportunity to post a review for John because I'm confirming his contact info. before sending another referral to him today.

  4. The best bankruptcy attorney in Marin County!

    Posted by Jennifer, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Vos.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John and his staff were professional and very supportive to me during a difficult time. They always had my best interests first and were very helpful in guiding me through the process. At all times they treated me with the upmost respect and dignity. They accompanied me to my hearing and kept me focused during the process. I have recommended John Vos to three of my friends and give him and his office the very highest recommendation.

  5. Competent, comforting bankruptcy lawyer

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Vos.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Client: John Vos handled my personal bankruptcy case in 2011-2012. Very professional yet not intimidating. Both John Vos and his staff were competent yet comfortable. Would absolutely recommend John to anyone facing debt/bankruptcy problems.

  6. great lawyer

    Posted by joyce, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Vos.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John Vos, AAL, was my attorney in the 1970's when my car was stolen. He worked on the case to a positive conclusion. Then in 2011 he was my attorney in a Bankruptcy Case. John is very professional, knowledgeable and compassionate. I would definitely refer him to others - and have done so.

  7. Traumatic experience made less stressful

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Vos.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Vos represented me in my bankruptcy case last year. He is a very knowledgeable professional. He made what could have been a painful and traumatic experience much easier, calmer, less stressful. All my questions were answered, all paperwork was done promptly. I am very grateful for his help.

  8. John Vos - a great lawyer and a great guy!

    Posted by Brenda, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Vos.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Bankruptcy is a stressful time for anybody but John walked me through the whole thing so I knew what to expect and what pitfalls to avoid. And believe me you want a guy with decades of experience to help you avoid those pitfalls! My house was involved and he went over the consequences of loan modification vs short sale vs foreclosure so I could choose the best option for my situation.

    The initial free consultation took over an hour (!!) and John answered all my questions and some points I hadn't even thought of. He is far more personable and caring than a lot of attorneys who rush you along and have attitudes that exacerbate the painful situation. He would respond to follow-up questions within a day or so and I always got what I needed to know.

    Everything went smoothly after filing and I emerged debt free and in better shape than I've been for years!

  9. A fine human being and an excellent attorney

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Vos.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    One of the key episodes of my life was when I was introduced to John Vos and his wife Brooke who is also an attorney. Not only did Vos Law Office handle my bankruptcy matters with experience, perseverance and good judgment, their humanity and compassion eased my anxieties and guilt during a very stressful, uncertain time. There are many attorneys claiming to have expertise in the field of bankruptcy law; however, I believe that only John Vos offers the experience, perspective and wisdom necessary for a successful outcome, no matter if your income falls in the top tax bracket or the bottom sphere!

  10. Thoroughly Explained Every Step

    Posted by Andrew, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Vos.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My situation was slightly complex due to my housing issue. Mr. Vos assured me at every step what was involved and what was expected of me. He explained things in terms that the layman could understand and that alone put me at ease during the whole process. My case took a little longer to finalize, but Mr. Vos was very knowledgable regarding every little turn my case took and was always there with an explaination that I could understand. He made what is usually a frightening and nerve-raking experience into one that accomplished what I needed while taking the "scare-factor" out of it. I would highly recommend Mr. Vos to anyone.