Mary Frances Prevost’s Reviews

Mary Frances Prevost

Average Rating

Based on 50 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. My Lawyer Made the Prosecutor Squirm- Tough with Killer Instinct

    Posted by Barry, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I've worked with a number of lawyers over the past 30 years I've been in business. But none of them had the killer instinct I saw in Mary. The cops who took the stand in my trial had no chance. Mary Frances honed in on each and every lie and picked them apart, painfully, until they just crashed. She didn't even have a notepad in her hand when she stood up for cross examination. She just got up and went at them. She eviscerated one cop slowly, letting him hang himself on his own lies. The second cop got hit like a cannonball with questions so fast that he didn't have time enough to formulate his lies before Mary Frances was all over him. I felt like I was in a movie. At the end of the day....case dismissed.

  2. SHE IS A FORMIDABLE FORCE IN THE COURTROOM FOR SURE

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 6-12 months ago.
    • Mary handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I THOUGHT IT WOULD NEVER HAPPEN TO ME. I SEE ALL THOSE SHOWS ON TV, AND ALL THOSE VIRAL VIDEOS, SHOWING COPS BEATING UP PEOPLE FOR NOTHING. AND, YES, IT ALWAYS HAPPENED TO SOMEONE ELSE. BUT THEN IT HAPPENED TO ME.

    I GOT CHARGE WITH RESISTING AN EXECUTIVE OFFICER. HE CLAIMED HIS THUMB WAS BRUISED BY ME AFTER HE STARTED TASERING ME AFTER HE PUT ME IN HANDCUFFS. AND TO COVER HIS FALSE ARREST, HE CLAIMED HE WAS INJURED AND TOOK ME TO JAIL.

    MARY FRANCES PULLED OUT ALL STOPS. HER INVESTIGATOR DID A DEEP BACKGROUND ON THE COP. SHE FILED MOTIONS AND GOT HIS PERSONNEL FILE. SHE FOUND HIS EX-WIFE (BOY, WAS THAT A GOLD MINE). IN SHORT, SHE COMPLETELY BLEW THIS GUY OFF THE WITNESS STAND DURING A MOTION. I GOT A FEELING THE COURT BAILIFF WANTED TO CUFF THAT LYING COP RIGHT THERE WHEN HE WALKED AWAY FROM THE WITNESS STAND.

    MARY FRANCES DID EVERYTHING SHE SAID SHE WOULD, AND SHE WAS WORTH EVERY PENNY. YOU WANT SOMEONE WHO CAN PLAY CHICKEN WITH THE PROSECUTION AND WIN? IT'S MARY FRANCES.

  3. SUPER AGRESSIVE/SUPER COOL/SUPER SUCCESSFUL

    Posted by Anthony, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    What can I say about someone who I trusted with my life and who gave it back to me free and clear?

    I was charged with serious felonies. Cops lied. But how do you defend yourself when there are three cops against you?

    Mary Frances filed a police misconduct motion and got into the cops personnel files. Bingo. One of the cops had a really bad history, and Mary Frances found it. From there, she put her investigator on it, and he dug up much, much more.

    At the end of the day, the cops credibility was pretty much shot, and my story was looking a whole lot more like the truth than before Mary Frances got her mitts on the cops bad history.

    She really kicked ass.

  4. Mary Frances Prevost

    Posted by Andrew, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hands down the absolute most negative and worst experience I have ever had with with an attorney_or any person for that matter. I was entitled to a quantum merit refund after firing Mary Frances Prevost because of a lack of services and communication and it took me almost a year to recover only a fraction of my funds owed to me. My retainment cost was $4,600, but the DA never filled (no case from the beginning). Mary never had to lift a finger. She also lost my DMV hearing (or never showed up), so I lost my license and my job ultimately. I have requested my file, retainment agreement and a list of services (invoice) provided with no luck. Mary Prevost will not answer any phone calls or reply to any letters, emails or text messages (unless you count the combative email she sent me calling me a drunk and slandering my name after firing her). All Mary provided was stress to an already stressful situation. Her attitude was very unprofessional. I had to complain to the state bar to get a response out of her. Stay clear away!

    1. Mary Frances Prevost

      Mary Prevost

      Lawyer Comment:

      Andrew: Your quantum meruit refund, billing and documents were returned to you on June 12, 2014. I only deducted 3.7 hours of time, refunded you the remainder and you cashed the check. You are simply making that up.

      You were suspended by the DMV because you were combative with the officer and refused to take a blood or breath test, which you were required to do by law. You claimed you don't drink and had nothing that evening because alcohol makes you ill, but you drink frequently and frequent drinking establishments.

      How do I know this? Because you slam the drinking establishments you frequent on YELP, just like you slammed be. In fact, out of 25 reviews on YELP, only 4 were positive. It is just clear that no one can satisfy you ever, and that you run to the internet shelling out hateful reviews to establishments under a fake name. In your 21 negative reviews where everyone is the worst, you describe the establishments and people as "Disgusting", "Nazis", Thieves", "Pathetic" "D-bags" and other foul terms that AVVO will not allow me to print, but apparently YELP does. "Everyone" is the worst of the worst.

      But don't take my word for it. Here is the Yelp profile for "Danny P" who hides behind this fake name to slam almost every establishment he frequents.

      http://www.yelp.com/user_details_reviews_self?userid=1UPA-Tjk_eeiptoQjVdYuA

      Indeed, you continued your harassment after I told you to stop drunk dialing me in the middle of the night. You refused, and sent me , and you me a disgusting email commenting on my body.

      I am sorry you are so angry and you feel the need to attack and harass almost everyone and most establishments with which you come into contact. I hope you can come to terms with your anger issues. I also hope that you can refrain from making up false stories about individuals.

      Posted 28 days ago. Flag

    2. Mary Frances Prevost

      Mary Prevost

      Lawyer Comment:

      Here is one of you reviews of a "Jip Joint" on Yelp. Keep in mind, you claimed you didn't drink on the night you were arrested for DUI and refused. But according to the following review of the Stampede, you paid money to get in, ordered a drink and were kicked out "for no reason." After so many negative encounters with people, could the problem perhaps rest with you? Here's the review in your own words:

      Security guards are complete nazis! Total assholes. Took my money at the door just to kick me out 5 minutes after for no reason. Just enough time to get a first drink (and they wouldn't let me even finish it). They even kept my credit card at the bar where I had opened a tab. No explanation, no common sense. Place was a ghost town anyways. Thieves.

      Posted 27 days ago. Flag

  5. My BIGGEST Nightmare is over

    Posted by Roman, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 6-12 months ago.
    • Mary handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was charged with three counts of unlawful sex with a minor. I hired Mary Frances because my sister did the research and all arrows pointed towards her because of that high media case where she defended the coach accused of the same thing and got his case dismissed at trial. She came onto the case and it was obvious that from the beginning, she meant buisness. After seven long months of sweating it out, Mary Frances got the charges reduced to a misdemeanor with no jail time and no sex registration. I can even get it expunged down the road. I don';t know what I would have done if I didn't have Mary Frances on my side.

  6. Mary got my DOmestic Violence Case dismissed!!!!!!

    Posted by Peter, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 6-12 months ago.
    • Mary handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My ex GF thought I was cheating, and so she went crazy. She called the cops and made up statements that I hit her. It didn't happen. She actually attacked me. I hired Mary to defend me in criminal court. Mary had her investigator go out and interview my ex, and interview her sister and two friends, and she got different statements from each of them about what my ex said to the cops. Nothing matched up.

    I told Mary I was re fusing to take an offer for an infraction because I didn't do anything wrong and I'd rather pay for a trial than plead to anything. On the day of trial, the prosecutor dismissed the charges!!!!!

    Mary was really strong throughout and aggressive with the prosecutors. I'm thrilled with my result. I've since been told by friends who have had problems in the court system that their attorneys practically forced deals on them. Not Mary. She was raring to go to trial. And I think that confidence shook the prosecutor up enough for her to dismiss the case.

  7. I'm a Repeat Client - Thanks Mary!

    Posted by Raul, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 1-6 months ago.
    • Mary handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Unfortunately, I found myself in the same position I was when I was arrested the first time for DUI. But now the consequences were a whole lot more severe. The first time I hired Mary almost three years ago, she got me a wet reckless on a .14 DUI case. I was happy for that. And damn, I was so glad to get her to represent me again. Another wet reckless instead of a DUI with one prior. She saved my butt. Thanks Mary. But, I hope I won't need you again.

  8. Felony DUI With Injury - Mary got me a misdemeanor

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 6-12 months ago.
    • Mary handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was arrested for a felony DUI with great bodily injury. I was driving, had an accident and hurt my friend. He went to the hospital. I was fine. After I bailed out a family friend who is a lawyer referred me to Mary Frances. I had some pre-existing medical issues, and am active duty military. After all was said and done, I ended up with a misdemeanor and served five days in jail. Mary's ability to work with the prosecutors in the case, and plead my case to them, made all the difference in the world. I am forever greatful to Mary for her ability to work this out into something that will not end my career.

  9. Tough & Smart; A Real Prize Fighter

    Posted by Ted, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I got caught up in a really bad financial situation because of my own illness, and my second child's illness. I have a college degree, was financially secure, until I lost my job and couldn't get work in my field. We were going into foreclosure, I couldn't get work, and I just couldn't bail myself out. So, I got in with a bad crowd and I got caught smuggling drugs. It still haunts me that I got involved because it ended up doing so much more damage in the long run.

    My family all got together to pitch in to hire Mary to dig me out. She got the federal magistrate to release me on a signature bond. That was imperative because of my illness. The government objected.

    Throughout the course of the case, Mary was on it. It took months to resolve it, but I was ultimately able to walk out of federal court relatively unscathed. It was tough. What I did was wrong. It seemed the prosecutor didn't care about the circumstances. But Mary assured him the federal judge surely would and got the prosecutor to deal.

    Mary was aggressive, but had finesse as well. She made my "federal experience" as painless as possible. I have to thank Mary for walking through this with me and getting me a really good result.

  10. Knowing Everybody in the Courtroom Makes a Difference

    Posted by Al, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 6-12 months ago.
    • Mary handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I had to hire a lawyer because my girlfriend attacked me, I defended myself and as the cops always say, "Somebody's gotta go to jail." And, yep, it's usually the man. So off I went to the big house for the night. I got bailed out (by my girlfriend), and called around for some referrals. Ms. Prevost's name came up a few times, so I decided I'd call. She was very clear that she wasn't making any predictions or promises. But that's okay. I just wanted someone with a lot of experience. Well, she has that. She walked into the courtroom and seemed to know everybody - clerks, lawyers, the bailiff. We had to make quite a few appearances but eventually the prosecutor cried "uncle" and my case was dismissed. I really wasn't expecting that. Thanks to Ms. Prevost and her investigator, she was able to present the real picture of what happened with my girlfriend. I'm so glad this chapter of my life is closed.

Time is of the essence. Call NOW for a consultation with Mary Frances Prevost

619-692-9001