Mary Frances Prevost’s Reviews

Mary Frances Prevost

Average Rating

Based on 46 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. My BIGGEST Nightmare is over

    Posted by Roman, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 6-12 months ago.
    • Mary handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was charged with three counts of unlawful sex with a minor. I hired Mary Frances because my sister did the research and all arrows pointed towards her because of that high media case where she defended the coach accused of the same thing and got his case dismissed at trial. She came onto the case and it was obvious that from the beginning, she meant buisness. After seven long months of sweating it out, Mary Frances got the charges reduced to a misdemeanor with no jail time and no sex registration. I can even get it expunged down the road. I don';t know what I would have done if I didn't have Mary Frances on my side.

  2. Mary got my DOmestic Violence Case dismissed!!!!!!

    Posted by Peter, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 6-12 months ago.
    • Mary handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My ex GF thought I was cheating, and so she went crazy. She called the cops and made up statements that I hit her. It didn't happen. She actually attacked me. I hired Mary to defend me in criminal court. Mary had her investigator go out and interview my ex, and interview her sister and two friends, and she got different statements from each of them about what my ex said to the cops. Nothing matched up.

    I told Mary I was re fusing to take an offer for an infraction because I didn't do anything wrong and I'd rather pay for a trial than plead to anything. On the day of trial, the prosecutor dismissed the charges!!!!!

    Mary was really strong throughout and aggressive with the prosecutors. I'm thrilled with my result. I've since been told by friends who have had problems in the court system that their attorneys practically forced deals on them. Not Mary. She was raring to go to trial. And I think that confidence shook the prosecutor up enough for her to dismiss the case.

  3. I'm a Repeat Client - Thanks Mary!

    Posted by Raul, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 1-6 months ago.
    • Mary handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Unfortunately, I found myself in the same position I was when I was arrested the first time for DUI. But now the consequences were a whole lot more severe. The first time I hired Mary almost three years ago, she got me a wet reckless on a .14 DUI case. I was happy for that. And damn, I was so glad to get her to represent me again. Another wet reckless instead of a DUI with one prior. She saved my butt. Thanks Mary. But, I hope I won't need you again.

  4. Felony DUI With Injury - Mary got me a misdemeanor

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 1-6 months ago.
    • Mary handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was arrested for a felony DUI with great bodily injury. I was driving, had an accident and hurt my friend. He went to the hospital. I was fine. After I bailed out a family friend who is a lawyer referred me to Mary Frances. I had some pre-existing medical issues, and am active duty military. After all was said and done, I ended up with a misdemeanor and served five days in jail. Mary's ability to work with the prosecutors in the case, and plead my case to them, made all the difference in the world. I am forever greatful to Mary for her ability to work this out into something that will not end my career.

  5. Tough & Smart; A Real Prize Fighter

    Posted by Ted, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I got caught up in a really bad financial situation because of my own illness, and my second child's illness. I have a college degree, was financially secure, until I lost my job and couldn't get work in my field. We were going into foreclosure, I couldn't get work, and I just couldn't bail myself out. So, I got in with a bad crowd and I got caught smuggling drugs. It still haunts me that I got involved because it ended up doing so much more damage in the long run.

    My family all got together to pitch in to hire Mary to dig me out. She got the federal magistrate to release me on a signature bond. That was imperative because of my illness. The government objected.

    Throughout the course of the case, Mary was on it. It took months to resolve it, but I was ultimately able to walk out of federal court relatively unscathed. It was tough. What I did was wrong. It seemed the prosecutor didn't care about the circumstances. But Mary assured him the federal judge surely would and got the prosecutor to deal.

    Mary was aggressive, but had finesse as well. She made my "federal experience" as painless as possible. I have to thank Mary for walking through this with me and getting me a really good result.

  6. Knowing Everybody in the Courtroom Makes a Difference

    Posted by Al, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 6-12 months ago.
    • Mary handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I had to hire a lawyer because my girlfriend attacked me, I defended myself and as the cops always say, "Somebody's gotta go to jail." And, yep, it's usually the man. So off I went to the big house for the night. I got bailed out (by my girlfriend), and called around for some referrals. Ms. Prevost's name came up a few times, so I decided I'd call. She was very clear that she wasn't making any predictions or promises. But that's okay. I just wanted someone with a lot of experience. Well, she has that. She walked into the courtroom and seemed to know everybody - clerks, lawyers, the bailiff. We had to make quite a few appearances but eventually the prosecutor cried "uncle" and my case was dismissed. I really wasn't expecting that. Thanks to Ms. Prevost and her investigator, she was able to present the real picture of what happened with my girlfriend. I'm so glad this chapter of my life is closed.

  7. Worst DUI attorney in San Diego

    Posted by Travis, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I unfortunately got myself a DUI coming home from PB back in late June. Mary Prevost came highly regarded from a couple sources so I felt really good in choosing her to represent me in my DUI case. Probably the worst mistake I've ever made. During our initial conversation, she seemed very intelligent and promised to go above and beyond the call of duty to get the best result for my case. After that day she went off the grid. I must have called her over 14 times in the first few months to talk about the case and received 2 phone calls back. Mary kept requesting continuances for my court case rather than doing her due diligence and finishing up the case in a timely manner. After 3 months of no return calls, i started making phone calls and found out that Mary is notorious for this type of negligent behavior. I had no idea what was happening with my court case and ended up having to fire her and hire a new attorney. I requested that she send me an itemized receipt for her services so I could get a partial refund. Of course no feedback from Mary. By the time she signed a substitution of attorney form, I had missed a court date and there was a warrant out for my arrest. I urge anyone who is doing their due diligence in researching good DUI attorneys to not get suckered in by all the good reviews she has (which are probably all posted from friends and family members). Mary Prevost turned a bad enough situation already... into a total nightmare and I would not even advise my worst enemy to hire this woman.

  8. Honest

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Last year, I had the privilege of being falsely accused and imprisoned due to a disturbed or disgustingly demented woman and an incompetent detective in San Diego who is better qualified to be serving burgers than the public.

    Out of several lawyers I spoke to, Ms. Prevost was the only one to thoroughly examine the case and care about it as more than just another job or task. She appeared to be very passionate about what she does, was very interpersonal, knowledgeable and her information was very accurate.

    Although I did not end up needing to retain her, she kept me informed on my case and worked on my behalf for several months ahead free of charge.

    1. Mary Frances Prevost

      Mary Prevost

      Lawyer Comment:

      I really appreciate this review. I'm glad to know I had a had in getting the DA's office to decline prosecution. And I'm happy to have worked with you and kept you in the loop during this stressful time. I appreciate your faith in me. I know we would have made a good team had charges been filed. But I'm far happier that I was able to assist you both personally and professionally, and ultimately succeed in getting the DA to see the light. God luck to you in all you do. And thank you for the kind words.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  9. Not hiring Mary Francses Prevost cost me $300,000 and three years of my life.................

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Did you know there are only 1300 people who’ve been exonerated since 1989?

    Only 89 per year in the United States.

    I am one of those rare individuals—thanks in large measure to Mary Frances Prevost's passion and conviction of the right for everyone accused of a crime to be granted equal access to justice—I’ve been able to get my own criminal conviction reviewed AFTER the timeline for doing so expired.

    Believe me--its been an extraordinarily painful experience. If I could go back in time, had I hired Mary Frances Prevost when I had the chance I have often wondered if my case would have taken the direction it ultimately did.

    Probably not.

    Yet, because of her courageous and outspoken legacy of telling it like it is and going on the record, I’ve been able to cobble together a strategy which gave me hope and comfort during the darkest period of my life.

    Chances are you are past the point of trying to “Google” your way out of the problem as far as your issue is concerned; you need to make a decision in terms of which attorney to select to protect your interests and those of your family.

    Particularly if you are in a middle or upper class position (and have a graduate degree and/or a professional license to protect)—or ever would like to be—I cannot emphasize how significant the choice you are about to make is for your future and in the future of your loved ones.

    Two years ago I didn’t hire Mary, I hired another attorney who completely abandoned my case—and as a consequence my life has been a living hell on earth ever since.

    He’s since been sanctioned for life by the California State Bar; yet the damage has been done. The pain and agony he caused my family and I wasn’t worth $100 million dollars.

    A solid criminal defense attorney with the skills and character that Mary brings to bear for each of her clients every day would have prevented my kids asking where I was—serving time in custody while I was still entitled to remain out on bond during the pendency of my appeal.

    Think stories like mine don’t happen?

    They happen all of the time; they just aren’t publicized.

    If you think good counsel is expensive, just think about the cost of having to put the pieces of your life back together after a poor attorney leaves you in the lurch.

    I don’t have to wonder; I know firsthand.

    If you have the opportunity to hire Mary Frances Prevost, if she’s willing to commit to taking your case and serving as your advocate—count yourself in a highly fortunate position.

    I would sit down with Mary and go over your goals.

    Remember, every single case is different.

    There are no guarantees.

    But at the same time; there are lawyers out there who will promise the moon and the stars, take as much money as they can get upfront and suddenly tell you to try to “cut a deal” at the very last second.

    Beware of those attorneys. Unfortunately—you often don’t know you’ve hired a “dump truck” until you hear the “beep, beep, beep” sound of the alarm and the bed of the truck is tilting toward the sky.
    And your about to be left on top of the pile of garbage – alone.

    That’s the most lonely feeling in the world.

    I know because I’ve been there; in retrospect it didn’t have to happen that way.

    Ask her what the terms “fiduciary duty” and “standard of care” mean as far as her commitment to you—her potential client.

    Then try asking other lawyers the same questions; chances are you'll scare the hell out of them.

    Not Mary. She doesn't scare easily.

    Take it from me—you don’t want to get “dump trucked” – finding your way out of the dump can be almost impossible.

  10. Professional, Committed and Successful. Highly Recommended.

    Posted by eduardo, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Prevost.
    • I hired Mary 6-12 months ago.
    • Mary handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I highly recommend Ms. Prevost. I was referred to her by an attorney at a large civil firm with whom I do business on a regular basis. The referring lawyer told me that Ms. Prevost was a very successul and well known lawyer in the community, and I could do no beter than to retain her services. I hold a professional license. If convicted of a felony, I would most assuredly lose that license and, therefore, my ability to maintain employment. I chose to consult with two attorneys prior to my scheduled meeting with Ms. Prevost. I was somewhat shocked and surprised at their bold approaches. Both put the "hard sell" on me, informing me that they needed to get going right away on the case and I should retain them on the spot. I was rather put off at sales push. Ms. Prevost, on the other hand, spend 30 minutes with me discussing options for my case, and ultimately told me to think about it and call her the next day. I retained her the next day. Given that I was charged with a felony, I had to make a personal appearance in court each time with Ms. Prevost. It was clear she was well received in the courthouse. She knew many of the sheriff deputies who greeted her in the hallway. She appeared to know most of the DA's in the courtroom as well as the staff. By the time we resolved this case - and it took some time, finesse and elbow grease - I was offered a misdemeanor. I am most greatful to Mr. Prevost for her hard work on my behalf. I recommend her highly.

Time is of the essence. Call NOW for a consultation with Mary Frances Prevost

619-692-9001