Richard C. Price’s Reviews

Richard C. Price

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Dick Price is a good man

    Posted by Charlie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Price.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Dick and I became acquainted when I contacted our company's EAP for a referral to a family law attorney. I was comfortable from our first meeting in what should have been a short easy divorce. The other side switched representation to a shark and the process became bogged down with unrealistic attacks and demands. This was compounded by a horrible family court judge, who thankfully was not re-elected a few years ago. This case strung out for nearly 5 years, went through 2 trials and 1 appeal and generated a whole lot of frustration for both Dick and me. During this entire time, he did not raise his fee, did not waiver in his resolve to do the best possible under the circumstances, he was loyal to me and took care of my case. He was sincere in his commitment to me. He knows the Tarrant County family law community inside out, and from my perspective is well respected by both his contemporaries and the courts. He is fair, honest and forthright. He will shoot straight with you and tell you when you are right and when you are wrong. Dick Price is a good man.

  2. An Intelligent, Knowledgeable, Trustworthy Attorney that Charges a Fair Price

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Price.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Price was very thorough in his research on my case. He presented every angle and really thought of ideas that I never considered. He is very easy to work with and has a kind personality.
    It's obvious to me that he has been doing this a long time. I have referred him to friends and those that used him have been impressed too. He is very knowledgeable.

  3. Exemplified integrity, professionalism, and steadfast

    Posted by Leah, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Price.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    With our initial meeting, I cried, I talked, he listened, he wrote, I talked, I cried, he wrote, he listened. Geez, that first meeting, he and his secretary were so kind & patient. We got through it, and Mr. Price steered the way to allow me to choose the path I wanted and the outcome I was seeking. His role was like that of a captain on the ship, he clearly knew the direction, after listening to me, and clearly knew how to get us there. He knew the course, as though he had been there many times before, he is not easily led off course, he forges ahead in the direction I pointed to. This was a divorce which was unwelcome and started out contentious, with of course, the usual hurt feelings, tears, children, child support, hiding money, withholding information, etc., etc., etc. It couldn't have been worse, but things do get worse before they get better. Once my spouses attorney entered the arena, and increased the insanity, I thought I would literally loose my mind - I really depended a lot on Mr. Price. I can't tell you how many telephone calls I made to him through his secretary, which he either returned or which she answered right away. At times he was in court or in another session, but he always did return my telephone calls. Mr. Price, was a steady hand in this crazy, hurricane in my life. No matter what the opposition threw out, Mr. Price, would calmly prepare the necessary response, and was a consummate, prepared, legal professional, in court, & in his office. At times I would see the other attorney rant and rave in court, look completely foolish, next to this calm man, and I knew I had picked the right man for my divorce. In the end, I received, what was clearly fair, and what I am most happy with. I remain sad about the divorce, I am glad that my attorney represented me with compassion, understanding, respect, knowledge, and expertise. Mr. Price is extremely knowledgeable in the field in which he works. He is such an unassuming guy and a heck of an attorney.
    Since in my past, I have utilized the services of many administrative assistants, I can't let the opportunity pass without mentioning the rest of Mr. Prices' staff, his legal secretary. A very pleasant lady, who always answered the telephone, listened, answered questions, where she could, followed up with the correct information to Mr. Price, so I didn't have to repeat it, and is an asset to his practice. The office and the legal staff is the whole package. The cost was within reason, I felt very comfortable discussing fees, and I really thought I got MORE than I paid for. Yes, I received great legal counsel, but I also received them from people who were kind, compassionate, caring, and of good character, and I like that.

  4. Mr. Richard C. Price, Highly Recommended

    Posted by Danny, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Price.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Price performed my legal representation as well as I could expect it to be done. I was informed of scenarios and choices that needed to be considered. Different legal options were explained to my satisfaction. Mr. Price showed great patience when answering my questions and discussing my ideas. Mr. Price explained my legal choices but did not try to dominate or make my decisions for me. There were some decisions that I had to make that I could not determine which option was the best, (or least destructive), and in these instances Mr. Price counseled and assisted me in the evaluations.
    Mr. Price has represented me in a criminal case, a divorce, and has assisted me with filing my will. In all cases I have been billed fairly and have not experienced any difficulty understanding the billing process.
    I do not personally know Mr. Price we only have a lawyer and client relationship. After the several office visits and court dates that I have been in contact with Mr. Price I have concluded that he is friendly, honest, non judgmental, and committed to performing the best representation for his clients.
    I highly recommend Mr. Price’s legal services.

  5. A good attorney

    Posted by Pat, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Richard Price.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Richard was cordial and thorough. He respected my wishes and accomplished what I needed him to do in the appropriate amount of time at a reasonable price.

  6. Mr. Price's response to my review were factually inaccurate.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Price.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Price's inaccurate and untruthful response to my poor review of his services only serve to reassure me that I was correct in seeking other representation. I am angry that he implies I did not understand the process. I continued with the collaborative process after firing him, I did not receive a detailed billing for March, I was seeing a MHP throughout the process. I would suggest he did not understand the facts of my case. He obviously has no problem with being untruthful.
    I again highly recommend finding a different divorce attorney as Mr. Price was unable to adequately provide representation for my case.

    1. Richard C. Price

      Richard C. Price

      Lawyer Comment:

      Most of my Collaborative cases are successfully resolved.

      This former client decided to change attorneys after just two meetings, which was very early in the process. I do accept responsibility for maybe not explaining our strategy as well as I should and, since that case, I have tried to be better at picking up on any sensitive issues of my clients.

      This client and I obviously didn't have good chemistry and communication. I can see that she is still hurting three years after my brief period of work with her. I am very sorry for her pain. Divorces are very stressful, even Collaborative cases. I am happy that she finished the Collaborative divorce about 5 months after I withdrew.

      I'm not sure why she mentioned the March bill. I did send her detailed statements for March and April, which covered the period of my representation. I send out detailed bills on the 1st of each month. At the time, she objected to part of the bill. I worked out a reduction in the fee, and she paid the reduced balance owed. I thought that issue was resolved when I received payment.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

    2. Richard C. Price

      Richard C. Price

      Lawyer Comment:

      If Pat will call me at 817-338-4633, I will do whatever I can to make this right for her. I am sorry she is still suffering so long after I thought I resolved her concerns.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  7. Software Engineering Test

    Posted by Giang, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Price.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Richards is a very good and trustworthy lawyer. He worked on my case very hard and sucessfully to help me to bring back my kids home from my ex-wife. I always remember his works for me and my family.

  8. Wasted my retainer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Price.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When I first hired Mr. Price as my divorce attorney he said all the right things to get me to believe he understood what I needed. Instead I felt pushed by him to agree to settlements that would not benefit myself or my minor son. I felt like my ex had two attorneys and I none. After I informed him I would be retaining a different attorney he requested additional funds as he claimed to have exhausted my retainer...in 3 months. This was without ever filing the divorce petition (as he had promised to do) and after only 3 meetings. I never received the detailed billiing I requested. I did however receive a lengthy e-mail telling me I was angry and ungrateful. Btw, Dick, I got all the things in the divorce decree that I requested of my attorney and she charged me a fraction of what I would have ended up paying you.

    1. Richard C. Price

      Richard C. Price

      Lawyer Comment:

      This case was over 2 years ago and I had to look it up. Unfortunately, my former client must not have remembered everything and she got some of the facts wrong. It was a Collaborative case. I met with her twice at my office and we had two joint meetings before she suddenly ended the process. I took a small retainer to work off of. We had two lawyers and a mental health professional (MHP) working on the case.
      Here are some corrections and responses:
      1. There was no pushing her into settlements. We had barely started the process and were dealing with small, very preliminary issues. During her marriage, she apparently got her way with her husband and she was not happy making compromises. She also did not allow time for the process to work. She had mostly very reasonable requests, but we have to listen to both sides in Collaborative cases and have an open exchange of ideas and solutions. She was not as patient as she probably needed to be. I, and the MHP, probably needed to work with her more to help her understand the need for patience, but we just didn't get the opportunity since she stopped the process right after the second joint meeting.
      2. I was retained by her on Feb. 9, and I sent her detailed bills on March 1 and April 1. The April 1 bill showed a balance of $240 and she complained about it. Although the bill was correct and was justified by my work, I offered a courtesy discount of one-half, which she accepted. She sent a final payment of $120 on April 13 and I thought she was satisfied with that.
      When she had indicated that she wanted to change attorneys, she also said she wanted a detailed bill. A couple of days later, we sent out the April 1 bill. It was itemized, as was the March 1 bill. She did not ask for anything else, and she paid half, as I offered.
      3. She probably forgot that we discussed the filing of the divorce petition at the first joint meeting and agreed to wait to file until her husband had lived in Tarrant County for 90 days, which would have been in mid-May. She lived in Johnson County and we all agreed to file in Tarrant County for convenience.
      4. I am certain I did not send an email telling her she was angry and ungrateful. I believe I sent an email encouraging her to seek counseling because she was having a rough time, as many other people do, dealing with very difficult issues. She may have reacted badly to the suggestion of counseling, but I really thought it might help her. I also can't imagine how I could have said she was ungrateful-- I don't know what she would have been ungrateful for. That's just not something I say to clients.
      5. I am happy she ended up with a good resolution. At the beginning, she wanted a less-destructive process. Her objectives apparently changed and I'm glad things worked out well, even though the Collaborative process wasn't comfortable for her. As good as it is, Collaborative Law won't work for everybody.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  9. The Best Attorney, Ever!

    Posted by Ann, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Price.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Looking back on the last year, it was due to Mr. Price, that I can honestly say, that while divorces are dreadful, the process doesn't have to be dreadful. I met him while looking directly into the eye of the storm - a divorce which began with a lot of hurt feeling, arguing, bickering, & what appeard to be no hope for a positive outcome for me & my kids. We were all in the midst of a major crisis. I was quite impressed with his calm demeanor, and his ability to focus with the end in mind. I would occassionally get off track, get annoyed, hurt, etc., and in spite of ME, he was able to steer things in the right direction. He always stayed calm, a cool negotiator, and looking for tack where I was looking at attack! While I'll admit, I often wanted to behave poorly - his ability to hear my needs and work slowly towards those, really won me in the end, a good settlement. I feel like the work we did on continuing to look at the end, really paid off
    on taking care of my children and me. I thought I would pull my hair out, or at leasy my husband's hair out during the negotiations; but once again, Mr Price's calm, demeanor, his knowledge of the law, coupled with his ability to present calm in a storm, and direct the negotiations, was truly a site to watch. He has renewed my opinion of what attorney's actually do - they care!

  10. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

    Posted by DickWillRobUToo, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Richard Price.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    All he cares about is his billing time, charged an arm & a leg for paperwork that all he did was copy & paste my name. He also not only wrote up things incorrect on paper work, he insisted my ex bring someone with him ( who i wanted barred from my property) to my property everytime he comes now. He also bills me relentlessly for conversations we havent had, nor will he send me final papers. OVERPRICED & OVERRATED on this website. Basically I wasted $7k on someone, that I didnt have in the first place, and got worse results than when I spent $1k on a cheap lawyer!!!

    1. Richard C. Price

      Richard C. Price

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is a very inaccurate portrayal of what happened. I suspect that this anger is largely a case of "buyer's remorse" because she now regrets agreements she made at court. The judge had made it clear that my client would not get most of the relief we requested in our pleadings, but we worked out agreements to try to minimize the inconvenience for my client and to reduce or avoid conflict between the parties in the future. Maybe she is upset that the judge didn't come down hard on her ex, but we can't control the judge's point of view or decision. We clearly presented all my client's complaints, but the judge didn't want to punish some past violations (on either side) or to continue some stringent restrictions since the ex had remarried. When you go to court, sometimes some things don't come out the way you want.

      Unfortunately, the judge did not agree with her on the other issues. My client wanted to punish her ex, and the judge didn't punish either party, even though both had probably violated the orders multiple times.

      This client is now talking about the fee, but I suggested to her initially that she should hire someone else for the case because it would be expensive (time consuming) for me. I told her I knew some other very good lawyers who charged less, but she wouldn't leave. She indicated that the cost was not important. She paid $5,000, by the way, not $7,000. I sent her bills on Oct. 1, Nov. 1 and Dec. 1, and she never complained about the billing, charges or the quality of work.

      I had to review her prior orders and the current pleadings, prepare to defend her and prepare a petition charging her ex with violating the orders. I prepared excellent, customized pleadings that effectively defended her and attacked her ex, and I did not just "copy & paste" her name. I don't know where that claim comes from, and I don't know what was incorrect on the papers. They were very clear and well supported.

      She came to see me worried that she would go to jail for violating the order. I protected her on that and we met her #1 objective.

      We spent a long time at court in direct negotiations in a room with the other attorney and the other party after the judge had told the attorneys that she would not find the ex in contempt and would not continue the restrictions my client wanted. In that context, we tried to get to the bottom of the visitation conflicts and tried to come up with solutions so that the problems wouldn't occur in the future. At the end of the discussions, my client agreed, along with her ex, to the new provisions, which included each party having a neutral witness to observe the child exchanges. That is not an unusual provision, it treats both parties the same and it protects both parties. Judges frequently order that type of requirement to help keep the peace.

      I haven't billed her for conversations we haven't had. I believe I billed her for 4 conversations in 4 months and she was present and participated in all of them. Talking 4 times in 4 months is not excessive.

      I have sent her the final papers three times and she won't respond. I have tried to get her to tell me if there were any problems with the order, but I still have no response.

      Unfortunately, this client is very angry and I can't help her. I am withdrawing so she can hire someone else, but she won't get a better result in this court. Sometimes there are unreasonable expectations and that is part of what happened here. After I achieved her #1 priority, keeping her out of jail, she has gotten buyer's remorse over the rest of the agreements she made and now I'm the bad guy. I hope she can find someone she can work with so she can cope with this situation which will remain out of her control since it is in the court system.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag