John Griffin Watts’s Reviews

John Griffin Watts

Average Rating

Based on 70 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Highly recommended

    Posted by Elle, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Watts.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Without warning, I was faced with garnishment of wages for a car I turned in as a voluntary repo 9 years earlier and had thought the issue was in the past. Not knowing who to turn to, I met with two different legal firms that required I pay a consultation fee before any advice could be given out and later found out the information they gave me was not entirely accurate and they definitely were not looking out for my best interest.

    A friend's boss gave me the name of John Watts at Watts & Herring. I met with John and his staff and explained the situation with the garnishment and that I had just recently gone back to work after being out of work for 2 years from health related issues and unemployed for 9 months. I had no money and now the garnishment was even more devastating. How was I going to pay my rent and utilities? John and his staff reassured me and tried to calm my nerves, recommending a few different options, the benefits and downside of each option and what costs were associated with each choice. There was no charge for the consultation and it was very comforting to me when they told me whatever choice I made, they would help me each step of the way. In the end, I chose to file Chapter 7 bankruptcy which stopped the garnishment right away and stopped the harassing medical debt calls and letters. They gave me advice on the pros and cons of keeping my car or turn it in as part of the bankruptcy and how to check the credit bureau reports after the bankruptcy was completed. I am forever grateful to John, Randi and Matt for helping through this very difficult legal and emotional time and recommend the to anyone in need of legal help.

  2. AMAZING!

    Posted by Shannon, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Watts.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Debt Collection matter.

    We were scared, confused, angry, and feeling rather hopeless. Then we scheduled a consultation. John Watts stepped in and took charge of a case we could not begin to understand. He explained everything he was doing each step of the way. He represented us when we were being sued by Midland Funding. We had no idea who they were or what this debt was. When we were discouraged he showed us that anything is possible. I could go on and on about how wonderful he is, but after one consultation, you'll see for yourself.

  3. Highly recommended attorney who takes you from fear to confidence!

    Posted by Yevgeniy, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Watts.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Debt Collection matter.

    This was my very first time when I had to go to an attorney due to harassing and misinforming (softly said...) collection agency. I wish I would know someone like John Watts years earlier! I bet my and my family's credit credit would not be as damaged as it is now.

    Anyways, not only John backed off the wolves, but he also got a nice settlement. The process was pretty pleasant. .

    My advice for those who are in doubt: if in doubt, call John Watts. Here is why. We immigrated to USA about 15 years ago. A lot of scammers took advantage of us: opening lines of credit on our names, leases, credit cards. Then, collection agencies took advantage as well by knowing that we don't know laws. They were harassing us mostly for the debt we never took. Our phone was constantly ringing, They were constantly making us feel guilty, intimidated and emotionally upset.

    Looks like most people don't know laws and just suck it up. I learned that collection agencies are extremely manipulative and ruthless. They act like wolves towards people who don't know laws. But when you get someone like John Watts, they become scared like sheep.

    As I said, I wish I would know John earlier. I learned a lot just from having one case with him. And besides settlement, John gave me confidence when it comes to debt collectors.

  4. Don't wait! Call him now!!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Watts.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.

    Mr. Watts was amazing! I am so glad that I called. I received a court summons and had no idea what to do. I called him. He gave me all of my options and did not force or try to persuade me to hire him. He gave me the facts and my options and left it up to me. I decided to hire him. BEST THING I COULD HAVE EVER DONE! He walked me through the process step by step, kept me informed, and settled my case. My advice, call John Watts, hear what he has to say, and HIRE HIM. Don't let the court summons scare you. You have rights and John Watts knows them. Call him today! You wont be disappointed. He is honest, open, friendly, non judgmental, and knowledgeable. I would recommend him to anyone!

  5. ace attorney AND human being

    Posted by Susan, a Debt Settlement client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Watts.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Debt Settlement matter.

    John Watts is truly one of the good guys. He represented me in a lawsuit filed by a debt collector that has a notorious reputation for breaking the law while going after folks. He got them to dismiss the case (with prejudice), and everything he initially promised was identified within the settlement agreement.

    Right off the bat, I felt confident that hiring Mr. Watts was absolutely the right thing to do. When fear and doubt popped up along the way, his staff always responded in a compassionate and positive manner. My relief and joy at the victorious resolution of what had been a thorn in my side for years cannot be overstated. As I told Mr. Watts in his office, he does work that makes people happy.

  6. Best Hard Working and Trustworthy Attorney

    Posted by a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Watts.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Debt Collection matter.

    John helped when a loan company of which I had done business was intimidating me to pay more than I owed. Had it not been for John’s wise council, I would have been a victim of their intimidation. John is one of the most professional, caring, and trustworthy people I know. With his expertise, he helped guide me through and I won my case. I appreciate his hard work and dedication and the personal care he gave me as a client. He really cares about helping people. I would definitely recommend him to anyone who needs an attorney and I would trust his judgment on a recommendation. I will definitely call on him again when I need legal advice.

  7. Lawsuit Settled

    Posted by Angie H., a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Watts.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Debt Collection matter.

    I have used John previously in a lawsuit which we won and both him and Stan did an excellent job. John is very professional, caring and most of all trustworthy (which isn't a word you hear to often associated with the word attorney). This was my second case handled by John and as always he helped me through and the case was dismissed. I appreciate his hard work and dedication and the personal care he gave me as a client. He really cares about helping people. I would definitely recommend him to anyone who needs an attorney or if it's something he cannot do I would trust his jugement on a recommendation. Will definitley use again if needed.

  8. Watts and Herring saved me.

    Posted by Craig, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Watts.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Debt Collection matter.

    The law firm of Watts and Herring handled my issues with professional courtesy. Their office kept me updated on the status of my case throughout the entire process. The service and cost was way better than I could have ever expected for this type of legal work. This is not a boiler room processing system but a client based resolution firm. They resolved my issue past my expectations, below the expected cost and sooner than I could have asked for. So, if you want quick and tailored legal help - real help - call these guys and let them put their expertise to work. They know the law, they respect your rights and they can help.

  9. Calling him was one of the best decisions I've ever made.

    Posted by Denise, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Watts.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Debt Collection matter.

    I've never been sued by a debt collector before. When I received the summons, I had no clue what to do or where to go to. I know from friends and family that there are a lot of scam artists out there, so before I contacted anyone I looked around online to find someone with a strong reputation for resolving this kind of lawsuit and for being trustworthy.

    When I found John Watt's website, I was struck by how much information and solid advice he had posted freely for anyone to use. I found only positive reviews online and in watching his videos, he came across as passionate about battling debt collectors and as having strong ethics. My only concern was the fact that he's based out of Birmingham and I live in Huntsville. Still, in case he could recommend someone local, I made the call and set up an appointment to speak with him.

    It was easily one of the best decisions I've ever made. In every dealing I've had with him, he's been fair, honest, and personable. He's exactly the same person you see in the videos. The fact that I live in another area wasn't an issue at all and my case was resolved quickly and with the best results. He earned every penny of his fee and then some in my opinion. I would recommend him to anyone in a similar situation in a heartbeat. He's definitely one of the best in the state.

  10. Satisfied Consumer

    Posted by Michael, a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Watts.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.

    Hiring Mr. John Griffin Watts was one of the best decisions I could have made. Mr. Watts was very professional in his representation and was quick in getting me the settlement we agreed that I deserved ! I would not hesitate to call on John Watts again if I was to ever need legal advice in the future, or be sure to recommend him to a friend !

Contact us for a free consultation and learn what your options are today.

205-879-2447