Howard Woodley Bailey’s Reviews

Howard Woodley Bailey

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. His dedication to his clients is sincere and it shows!

    Posted by RGPII, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Bailey.
    • I hired Howard 6-12 months ago.
    • Howard handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Mr. Bailey is first a gentleman that loves the law. He has worked at every level of the legal system and on both sides of the courtroom. His dedication to his clients is sincere and it shows. He guided me through my legal situation with ease. After working on my case for 6 months I now consider him a friend. Thank you Mr. Bailey for your guidance and advice!
    RGPII

  2. Mediocre Job

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Howard Bailey.
    • I hired Howard 6-12 months ago.

    This Lawyer from my understanding of just talking to him is very untrustworthy. While dealing with a case he seemed to have a ulterior motive of some sort. He did not really give a good fight seemed to settle when push came to shove. I would not invest in him again especially in regard to not having a great upcoming in the case.

    1. Howard Woodley Bailey

      Howard Bailey

      Lawyer Comment:

      Every client is entitled their opinion, even though it is sometimes unrealistic or not in accord with the facts of their case. In my extensive experience, the few times a client has not been happy with something I was doing during their representation, they have said so to my face while the representation was occurring. In those few instances, the client and I have then worked out why I was taking the legal position I was taking, to the satisfaction of the client.

      It is interesting to note that the client does not indicate what type of legal matter this was, so I will conclude that it was a criminal case for the sake of discussion. The client says I 'did not really give a good fight' and 'seemed to settle when push came to shove', which is strange since it is always the client's choice, not mine as an attorney as to whether to fight or accept a plea deal. Based on what was provided in this review, it appears that the client was the one who decided not to fight, and decided to accept a plea deal.

      This is an anonymous comment, so I have no idea who this client was or what the issue is that the client believes made me 'untrustworthy'. If the client really believes this, I question why they waited up to 6 months after their case was resolved to say so anonymously, and I invite this client to contact me personally at 973-982-1200 to discuss their dissatisfaction so I can try to rectify whatever they believe was not done in accordance with proper legal representation standards.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  3. Against the odds, Howard does it again!

    Posted by kennethriviere1, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Bailey.
    • I hired Howard 6-12 months ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    The laws in NJ are kinda crazy and you would think, if you were carjacked, that it would be an open and shut case, right? Let's just say, 5 prosecutors and 8 months of their pursuit, with a possible 16 years waiting for me; Howard Bailey fought the good fight and literally had it thrown out. So many things could of gone wrong, at any juncture but Howard took care of each item in an urgent fashion.
    Knowing Howard is a blessing and having him in your corner is a godsend.

  4. MR. BAILEY: OUTSTANDING WORK.

    Posted by YK, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Bailey.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I just wanted to express my deep gratitude for the outstanding work Mr. Bailey did on my behalf. These past few months have been some of the most difficult times in my life. I believe he was not only very professional but also passionate and serious in doing his job. I frankly felt very secure about him representing me at all times.

  5. Rated #1 Lawyer 2013 Hire Mr. Bailey

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Bailey.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Top lawyer for 2013, Mr. Bailey is fantastic a awesome the best lawyer I ever had the experience working with. He is the best Lawyer in his field. A expert of law, very experienced and very knowable on many aspects the law. He will take his time listen to you he is personable man and cares. He has gotten 2 of my cases dismissed please hire Mr. Bailey and get yours dismissed also. Mr. Bailey will go to bat for your case he will not give up if you need a strong lawyer that will fight for your case give him a call. Thank you sir EXCELLENT job!

  6. Nice guy

    Posted by Michael, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Bailey.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Nice guy he seems to me like a everyday normal person not stuck up that's why I chose him to represent me we were in front of a argont bias judge and prosucter and the prosucter was makeing up lies that were her opion not fact Mr Baliey tryed his best to deal with a unfair situation All in All I'd say he is a decent person and I was comfortable around him and to me that means a lot

  7. Great Attorney

    Posted by H, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Bailey.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    After an extensive search dealing with various attorneys, I came across Mr Bailey through his firm's website. Mr Bailey distinguished himself from the rest of the bunch out there from the very start.
    During our first call Mr Bailey was not just very courteous -- he was attentive and fully engaged with all the details of the (rather complicated) case discussed. AND, unlike any of the other lawyers I dealt with, he knew how to ask the right questions and get to the heart of things in an instant, no matter how complicated the issues; giving keen insight and always reliable, honest feedback.

    Throughout the handling of my case itself, Mr Bailey was very responsive, returning phone calls promptly no matter what time of day; keeping me updated on any developments as soon as they occurred, and further making sure to reach out to me until he got a hold of me, if he was having a hard time reaching me. When it was time to have discussions regarding the status and direction of my case, he was always fully involved, never rushing, no matter how long the discussions would take. He was patient in taking the time out to really understand the realities of the situation at hand, how I viewed it, and competent in communicating how he viewed it, and supporting the best action to take, all things considered. Mr Bailey's incredible knowledge of the law and the workings of the system was obviously essential to this.

    All in all, there were many variables involved, and Mr Bailey was personally very understanding and flexible when it came to working with me in that regard. And where other variables were out of our control, it was with Mr Bailey's representation that I had a better outcome in my case than I could have possibly had otherwise.

    If you are looking for a truly professional lawyer who will work and get things done on your behalf, also treating you honestly and with utmost respect, Mr Bailey is your guy.

  8. Feeling reassured that my case will be properly handed..

    Posted by Debra from Alabama, a Trucking Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Bailey.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Trucking Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have yet to have my case heard, but I already know Mr. Bailey is very knowledgable and has already gone farther than any other lawyer to look over my case and till me exactly what my options are. There is no guesswork with this guy and I like that !

  9. Excellent

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Bailey.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was very pleased with Mr. Bailey's representation. He was professional, kind, and easy to reach throughout the process. His careful attention and commitment eventually led to the desired outcome. I highly recommend Mr. Bailey.

  10. Bailey Review

    Posted by a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Bailey.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was recently represented by Hoard Bailey in court regarding a fraudulent car inspection. I was unaware that the sticker was a fraud. Howard was able to get the fraud charge dropped, while I paid a lesser fee. Through the whole process, Howard was very attentive and made me feel very comfortable with my representation decision. Whenever I had a question by phone or e-mail, he responded promptly and made me feel much better about the matter at hand.

    I would recommend this lawyer for any case if you are in need of a man who can get things done. You won't regret this decision.

973-982-1200