Evelyn Ann Cox’s Reviews

Evelyn Ann Cox

Average Rating

Based on 21 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Evelyn A Cox is an outstanding attorney

    Posted by Jacqueline, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evelyn Cox.
    • I hired Evelyn 1-6 months ago.
    • Evelyn handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was fortunate enough to be accepted as a client of Evelyn A. Cox. Despite the insurmountable odds of doing so, Ms. Cox was able to get my case (CPS-related) dismissed. I attribute this to her excellent and expert knowledge in her areas of practice as well as knowledge of the processes of the county in which the case originated. I am a professional in another industry so I appreciate her skills and expertise. I am very impressed with the fact she is extremely well informed about the processes and procedures of many jurisdictions. The entire process was very emotional and stressful for me and my family and I felt very reassured with Ms. Cox. After my case was dismissed, Ms. Cox represented me during a CACI hearing with the county CWS. After my experience, I feel a person cannot "win" in these hearings without representation. She was reassuring to my daughter and others who were my witnesses. Although I have not heard of the decision, I felt fortunate to have Ms. Cox as my attorney as she knew the CACI process and provided realistic expectation. Her strong point is definitely trials and asking questions. She was amazing in her questioning. All of my witnesses said she is a great attorney.

    During my initial meeting with Ms. Cox, I felt she was upfront about the situation and most important to me, did not make any promises. She has my utmost respect for her sincerity, integrity and honest; something I do not generally associate with law professionals.

    I strongly disagree with contrasting reviews and question the competency of the reviewers. In my experience the attorney-client relationship is a two-way street in which both parties need to be involved and accountable. I know for a fact Ms. Cox's actions would not be detrimental to her clients because she is not delusional about the reality of cases. Again, I believe this is due to her upfront manner.

    I would absolutely recommend Evelyn A. Cox for all areas in her practice; especially child abuse defense. She is totally worth it.
    --J

  2. super satisfied

    Posted by Melissa,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evelyn Cox.
    • I hired Evelyn 1-6 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Evelyn was very helpful, very knowledgeable in the area I needed her. I found comfort knowing she was on my side. She was quick to respond to all my questions. Overall I was really satisfied with the job she did for me.

  3. An amazing lawyer!

    Posted by a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evelyn Cox.
    • I hired Evelyn 1-6 months ago.
    • Evelyn handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Evelyn handled my case for me. She was very knowledgeable, to the point, and did the work in a timely manner. Because of Evelyn's dedication and support, I was able to win a very tough/time sensitive case. I will definitely recommend her to others! Thank you so much for all of your hard work Evelyn Cox!

  4. Straightforward and fair

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evelyn Cox.
    • I hired Evelyn 1-6 months ago.
    • Evelyn handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Evenlyn Cox assisted me a couple months ago with child custody proceedings. She was open and straightforward about the process and my rights and I found her to be fair throughout the process. I trust her and would use her again. I would recommend her to others!

  5. I highly recommend Evelyn Cox! Here is my story:

    Posted by a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evelyn Cox.
    • I hired Evelyn 1-6 months ago.
    • Evelyn handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My case opened last year. With little time to obtain representation for what was all new to me, and out of sheer desperation I came across the website of Evelyn Cox. I knew the minute I made it to her page, the minute we spoke I made a great choice. She has since been the driving force in my case advocating for myself, my children and my family as a whole. She is really truly a passionate and dedicated attorney seeking justice and really truly looks for what is in the best interest of our children.She has seen us through the biggest storm of our lives and has carried us through what has been the most devastating time for my family and I. Mrs. Cox is well versed, caring, educated, organized, passionate. timely, is thorough with is. I comfortably can say that I would recommend her to anyone in need. She raises the bar so high for child dependency and I'm so humbled to be working with her to date.

  6. Without a doubt, the BEST lawyer ever!

    Posted by Ti, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evelyn Cox.
    • I hired Evelyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Evelyn handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    In a very difficult case against CPS, Eve represents our family in a complex custody battle with our wonderful grandkids. Though the challenges in our case have puzzled most attorneys, Eve by far is the most knowledgeable attorney in the court room with the most experience and zest! She is awesome! Glad she's on our side. At at time when we really needed the best, we were so lucky to find Eve and will be forever thankful for her tenacity and knowledge about the legal system. You rock Eve!

  7. Outstanding Professional

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evelyn Cox.
    • I hired Evelyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Evelyn handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Evelyn has been such a guide to our family in our case. She was actually recommended to our family by another lawyer. She knows the Social Services, CPS and Family Court systems inside and out! Right from the beginning, Evelyn gave us all the information we needed and none that we didn't. As other have mentioned, Evelyn doesn't sugar coat anything. She tells you exactly what to expect and also what to do/say/prepare to be ready on your end. With two children's lives on the line, Eve took our case knowing it was gonna be a long and hard fought case. She is patient and efficient with all communications, in court and out. If you need help with a legal problem, especially in family court, Eve is definitely the lawyer you want to hire. She is the best at what she does.

  8. Amazing

    Posted by Jack, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evelyn Cox.
    • I hired Evelyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Evelyn handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After finding myself embroiled in a sticky CPS mess, I went looking for a lawyer. I made one phone call, explained my situation and was instantly referred to Ms. Cox. Between that call and my first meeting with Ms. Cox, I had my first court hearing where I explained that I had recently contacted a lawyer, but had not had time to meet with her. The judge was concerned that I had hired someone not familiar with the system, but as soon as I mentioned Ms. Cox, even the opposing counsel indicated to the judge that I had made a good choice in lawyers. She was there every step, she was fair, respectful, knowledgeable and, when necessary, not afraid to raise the BS flag. I could not have gotten through this without her.

  9. Evelyn to the rescue

    Posted by Beatriz, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evelyn Cox.
    • I hired Evelyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Evelyn handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After finding myself in a horrible situation, i went what i called lawyer hunting. It was the worst experience ever, so many different lawyers had different opinions and there prices where worth chopping an arm and a leg. After a family friend refereed me to Evelyn i took the chance to have a consultation with her. She fit me in her schedule really early in the morning which i found it a plus because she took time to listen to my case even if it was around 7:30 in the morning on a Sunday morning. She listened to every single detail i gave her, something the other lawyers did not even bother doing. She gave me great legal advise on what route i should take. Days later i returned to Evelyn and hired her. She kept me well informed every step of the way. She actually got to working on my case the day after i hired her. She did not give me any false promises like the other lawyers, she kept everything honest and real with me. I would of not trusted anyone else with my case but Evelyn. There was comfort and security i felt knowing i was in Evelyn's hands knowing she would do everything for me to get me through this. She is an amazing lawyer! If you need any help or want to be with someone that will give you the same comfort feeling i had than Evelyn Cox is the person you are looking for.

  10. A Great Experience

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Evelyn Cox.
    • I hired Evelyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Evelyn handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Eve kept me informed on each step of the process. She answered all my questions HONESTLY. She let me know what had to be done. She did not string me along. This was not about the money, this was about the children. I could call her any time - weekends, evenings - whenever I received a new court document - she would explain it to me and calm me down. She was there hearing after hearing until it was done. She believed in me and my family. There are not enough words to express my gratitude.