Howard A Snader’s Reviews

Howard A Snader

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent

    Posted by Joe,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Snader.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.

    Howard represented me on my last felony case involving organized retail theft on top of my felony probation violation. Howard was a fact finding hound and eventually the prosecution had to amend my case to a lesser charge. I was sentenced to the minimum and was out of prison only a week later. Thank you Howard.

  2. Poor representation, arrogance abounds with this lawer.

    Posted by advisedwrong, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Howard Snader.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Snader made promises that he didn't meet, had too many clients to keep straight. Complained about his caseload & many court appearances. He shared information with us about other clients that we did not care to hear. He did not interview any witnesses in our case, got us to spend $2575 extra for an expert that resulted in HURTING our case. Howard was rude and short with us. He made representations that ended up falling very short of the outcome. We would not use this attorney again, mainly due to his hostile demeanor and lousy advice. We did everything he advised and the outcome of our case was deplorable compared to what Howard said would happen.

    1. Howard A Snader

      Howard A Snader

      Lawyer Comment:

      For more than 20 years and defending thousands of clients, I have occassionally been advised that my blunt statements are rude or short. For that I am sorry. I believe providing accurate information without the emotion often tied to life changing decisions must be presented clearly. I try to never sugar coat anything. It is unfortunate that this client did not address their concerns during the period of my representation. Had their concerns been raised when I represented them some 6-12 months ago, I would have likely changed the way I communicated with them. As for their claim that the funds for the expert were misspent, I would submit that an expert opinion was likely needed to even obtain a plea offer. The expert used is recognized statewide for his integrity and ability. Without his evaluation, the plea offer would have been worse. I am sorry that my client believes the information was hurtful. But the information was obtained in a neutral manner. If the results were negative, that was a result of the testing and test results. And, that information was supplied by the client. I can't control whether the expert's report will be positive or negative. I can only advise that without an expert report, the plea offers are generally much worse. Again, I wish these concerns were raised during my representation.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  3. Over Promises, Under-Delivers and Rude

    Posted by Disappointed., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Howard Snader.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. Snader over promised and under delivered and was extremely rude and arrogant. Oh, he was nice enough until we signed the fee documents, but after the down payment was made and the commitment completed he was very short tempered, acted very put-out when we asked questions about my case and was generally very ill-tempered. He had a case load that was too big to manage, he got names, dates, jails mixed up. The plea deal we got was NOT what Mr. Snader promised when we hired him and was nowhere near the outcome he told us to expect. He spent more time arguing and being adversarial with his clients than fighting for us. His paralegal, Merril, was very professional & helpful, but overall our experience was very disappointing and very expensive. We could have gotten the same (or perhaps a better deal) with a public defender.

    1. Howard A Snader

      Howard A Snader

      Lawyer Comment:

      Several concerns have been raised. I will try to deal with them in the order they have been presented. First, it was claimed that I over promised and under delivered. The only promise I make to clients is that I will bust my behind to represent them and that I have the knowledge and experience to represent them zealously and with expert advocacy. In more than 20 years as defense counsel and having defended thousands of cases, I don't make any promise regarding an outcome. I can only explain the likely outcomes based on my experience. But each case is unique and the outcomes are controlled by the facts of the case, the prosecutor and the judge involved. Second, it has been claimed that I was rude and arrogant. As I need to occassionally remind clients, I do have a bedside manner that is blunt and to the point. If a client does not like be told the facts and opinions in a straightforward manner, they need to tell me at the time I am representing them. Instead, at least in this case, the client has waited 1-3 years to bring this to my attention. Meryl is a wonderful assistant who does need to frequently smooth my blunt statements and make the client feel better. My job is to present my client's case as an advocate: someone who can aggressively make the arguments on behalf of the client. As a litigator, I need to believe I can win every case. My clients would demand nothing less. To many clients, that may come of as arrogant. To the majority of client's I have represented, it comes off as confidence. Third, this client indicates that my case load was to big to manage. In 20 years, that has happened on two occasions. And, I am ethically bound to not take cases when I am too busy. On the two occasions it happened, both were in the mid-1990's at a time I was involved in 3 back to back trials, each of which went 3-4 months. I have never been accused of mixing up names, dates, or jails. So, I am sorry. But I have no idea where that statement is coming from. As for jails, they move inmates all the time without notice. Fourth, it is argued the plea was not what was promised when retained. As already noted, I don't promise outcomes when retained. I may discuss likely outcomes based on my experience. But, defendant's are not entitled to a plea offer. Although plea offers are normally made, I can't promise a certain plea will be made. I have trouble dealing with a complaint from an unidentified client made 1-3 years after the case is completed. All my fee agreements are in writing and contain a provision that allows for the possibility that I can be fired and client's may be entitled to a refund. I am unsure why now, this client has elected to submit a complaint that I was adversarial. If true then, it should have been brought to my attention and dealt with either by resolving whatever issue there was between myself and the client, or terminating my relationship. Finally, I will match my results against any public defender any day. I am sorry that you are now expressing your disappointment in this manner and in this forum.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  4. Very Good Service

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Howard Snader.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The service we received from the Law Office of Howard Snader was supportive and effective. After initial consultation we better understood the case and the process. Follow-up to our inquires was generally prompt and helpful. Howard's assistant, Meryl, is very caring and attentive. Thanks for all your help!

  5. Highly Recommend

    Posted by Ronald, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Snader.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    From our initial consultation, we had complete confidence in Howard Snader's knowledge and ability. His professionalism and manner assured us he was more than capable of providing excellent representation should we need it. We would not hesitate to recommend or use his services again.

  6. Great Criminal Lawyer

    Posted by Rudy, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Snader.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr Snader represented me in a criminal case; I was facing a Felony 2 with up to 10 years in Prison. Howard Snader was upfront and honest with me, not making any false promises to gain me as a client. He was the only attorney I visted that I felt was not just after my money. My case was closed just serving 15 days in jail with work release conditions. I was extermely happy with Howard Snader and highly reccommend him.

  7. Honest Attorney, That Fights For The Best Outcome

    Posted by a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Snader.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Howard was hired to be my primary attorney on an unfortunate charge I was accused of. He showed myself and my family honesty, and true compassion for my case. He worked diligently and hard on my case. He came up with different plans of actions and always made sure I was comfortable with everything before he proceeded with actions or decisions on my behalf. After each court he brought comfort to my family with willingness to take some time to address and answer any questions/concerns they may have had. He also kept close communication with my wife and mother, to keep them in the loop on any new motions or hearings that was forthcoming. During his representation I was incarcerated and I had peace of mind after he would brief me on whats going on with my case, and what to expect next. I was able to put my full trust in Howard and the work/research he was doing for my very complicated case. Howard was able to get my very serious charges dropped down to a lessor charge. Howard was my attorney for almost 2years, and without a doubt I would recommend him to anyone who is in need of a true legal defense attorney, that wants justice! Howard is very passionate about what he does and will fight for your justice.

    On behalf of myself and my family, it has been an honor to call you my attorney, Thank you for all that you have done for me!

  8. A good lawer for bad luck

    Posted by mike, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Snader.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I came out to Arizona on vacation from n.y. while on vacation I rented a car from herts and drove to rocky point for the weekend. To my suprise when re entering the country customs discovered 50 lbs of marijuana in the spare tire. What a nightmare!!! imagine that was you sitting in a cell trying to explain to a bunch of cops that you had no idea what was in your rental car 3000 mls. from home. Thank god for Howard Snader. He got to work as soon as he was retained and fought for justice. He sought the truth when everybody else closed there minds to the thought that I really was inocent. as a result he was able to prove the truth and the charges where dropped in a few short mounths. if you have ever had any experiance with the law you know that nothing gets resolved that fast. Unless Howered Snader is your lawer i guess.lol. If you are in a jam i can't think of anybody else that i would want in my corner. in short you've found the right lawer. good luck and stay out of the tents

  9. Mission accomplished!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Snader.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I want to thank Howard Snader for the legal excellence and professionalism he provided as my attorney. His efforts helped us achieve the best possible outcome for my case. I was most impressed by his dedication and focus in tackling each small step along the way. His attention to detail and reassuring demeanor gave me confidence and calm, and he fully achieved all of our objectives. Howard, thank you for your excellent work, and I highly recommend you to anyone in need of exceptional legal services.

  10. Impressive Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Snader.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Howard for my son immediately after the police came to our house asking questions and siezing his computers. I think the best thing we did was hire Howard and hire him before charges were filed for our son. Not only was Howard aggressive and proactive in the early stages of the investigation, but his long time connections with the prosecutors and negotiation skills helped to obtain an extremely fair result.

    This was a horrible time for our family and I know hiring Howard helped make it that much more bearable.