Robert Charles Russell’s Reviews

Robert Charles Russell

Average Rating

Based on 34 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Awesome Legal team!! Highly recommended!

    Posted by Peter,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Russell.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Robert is exceptional without being condescending. His staff is honest & exceptional too. Always quick, thorough,courteous responses to any questions or concerns throughout our businesses. It's hardly a happy, or easy situation when you need an attorney, but Robert and his staff always made each step as painless And easy as possible, by keeping us informed all the way thru each step. I would recommend Robert for any legal needs you may have.

  2. Best bankruptcy attorney in Vancouver, WA

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Russell.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Rob Russell is the best bankruptcy attorney in Vancouver, Washington. It was a nerve-wrecking time but he guided us, with confidence, from filling out the paperwork to receiving our discharge notification. When we went, along with other debtors, to the public meeting with the bankruptcy trustee for questioning and verification, we had the opportunity to watch some of the other local bankruptcy attorneys in action. Some of them stumbled over the questions and seemed nervous. Some of them had made mistakes in the paperwork and had to reschedule the trustee meeting to supplement the materials. (This means all their clients had to get more time off from work to go back to the bankruptcy courthouse a second time). When it was our turn, there were no mistakes in our file. We needed Rob to help us answer the questions and although he was not allowed to answer for us, he knew exactly where everything in the file was and would point us in the right direction every time.

    I would not file bankruptcy with anyone but Rob Russell. He is the best in the business, is reasonably priced, and has a great way of helping you stay calm through a nerve-wrecking process.

  3. Robert and his staff were great to work with during a rough time in my life.

    Posted by Jason, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Russell.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Robert and his staff always kept me informed throughout the process of my Chapter 7 Bankruptcy. I would recommend using his firm to anyone who is in need of the services he provides. My case turned into more than what we both expected and was very fair in regards to his compensation.

  4. User friendly and Compassionate!

    Posted by Shannon, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Russell.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    As a single mom, every penny I make is important. I found myself needing to file bankruptcy and really knew nothing about the process. Mr. Russell, and Lauren (one of the legal assistants in the office) were amazing! The process was painless, and I was kept in the know 100% of the time. At my creditor meeting, Mr. Russel was extremely reassuring, and even went the extra mile for me in a few instances. I will definitely come back to this office, should the need for any other legal assistance arise! Definiately a team well worth singing the praises of! Thank you guys!

  5. Excellent Service - Exceptional team working for Robert Russell - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Russell.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have been working with Robert Russell for some time now, and since day one he has been very helpful, always available and worked hard to help me create a sustainable plan with my Chap. 13 Trustee. That was super important to me to feel comfortable which such a hardship time in my life, he handled it with class.

    While typically these reviews are about the lawyer, such as Robert Russell, I really wanted to send my gratitude and thanks to his wonderful legal assistants and team "Behind the scenes"... In particularly Lauren, she has been "Wonderful" to work with, she is always very responsive, helpful and get things done very quickly!

    So not only is Robert Russell a great attorney to have, but his entire team is excellent and is critical to getting things done quickly and accurately! I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND Robert Russell Law Firm!

  6. Approval and Reccomendation

    Posted by Leo, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Russell.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I'm a new client with Robert Russell Law Firm. I hired Mr. Russell to represent me in a chapter 7 bankruptcy, I'm very glad I did. I found Mr. Russell personable (very likable) and yet, very professional. The staff mirrored that feeling and assisted me as needed for which I am grateful. I was provided with all necessary forms, information and assistance to complete my filing with confidence in my attorney.

  7. Not what I was expecting... but so much more

    Posted by Scott, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Russell.
    • Robert handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    With much reluctance, I came to the decision I needed the services of a Lawyer. I had little trust for Lawyers after being taken by one who valued money more than justice. I walked into Rob's office expecting the same thing. I was wrong.

    Rob practices Law, but is not a typical Lawyer and I found his character and professionalism above reproach. More importantly, I found his commitment and his sincere desire was completely heartfelt and honest. Clearly, helping people is what drives him and I am grateful for his help.

    I don't trust easily, but he earned my trust. He was a harbor in my personal storm. I highly recommend Rob and his office and personally would not consider doing legal business anywhere else.

  8. Excellent Service. Professional. Courteous. Knowledgeable. Genuine.

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Russell.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    We recently worked with Mr. Russell on a confusing legal matter involving a Chapter 7 and a second mortgage. He was very thorough in his research and made recommendations to us that we are very pleased with.

    I had met with Mr. Russell many years ago and because of our financial situation, we opted to file a Chapter 7 ourselves. We are now kicking ourselves as we face this situation with a 2nd mortgage that has been written off so we now owe nothing, but the mortgage holder still holds a lien.

    We received a letter from the lien holder stating very nicely that we don't owe them money and they aren't attempting to collect a debt, but they do still have a lien on the property and asking if we would like to make payment arrangements. We immediately started looking for the best attorney to handle the matter. Of course we asked friends and business associates. Many recommended Mr. Russell.

    We were a little sheepish since we had visited him years before, but when I consulted with him, he was very courteous and immediately had suggestions as to our course of action. I walked away from our initial meeting kicking myself for not hiring him years ago.

    We hired him to research our particular situation to determine what our options are in dealing with the lien holder. He had answers for us within days that gave us the information we need to determine what our next step will be in this tricky situation.

    We will continue to work with him if we contact the lien holder and if we take legal action. If you are looking for an attorney, we highly recommend Mr. Russell. You won't be disappointed.

  9. Nice firendly staff, but once he has your money he won't talk to you

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Russell.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I hired Mr. Russell about 9 months ago. I initially met with a younger nice attorney in the office who explained the process and answered all of my questions. I felt very comfortable and thought I was in good hands, but once I paid my money I got to meet with Mr. Russell once for about 30 minutes and then never heard from him again. I emailed and called him numerous times to clarify a few questions about my home loan and never got a response. A few months later I called again to follow-up on those questions as my home loan was still up in the air. I was told by his staff that he doesn't meet with clients unless I paid him $300 for an hour. It was really a simple question which should have been answered when I filed bankruptcy when I had already paid him $1500. His staff are wonderful, but I wouldn't recommend working with Mr. Russell at all.

    1. Robert Charles Russell

      Robert Russell

      Lawyer Comment:

      I do consumer bankruptcy work because I like to help people. My client testimonials and peer reviews attest to this fact. The client says they contact me and “never get a response” from me. (Actually, they admit they got a response; they just did not like it.) Sometimes I miss a call or an email from time to time. But, I don’t ignore clients. There has to be something more going on that the former client is not saying. I discuss the possibilities below. [NOTE: If the former client would like to send me an email stating their question, I will be happy to answer the question IF it is bankruptcy related.]

      In every case ALL client bankruptcy-related questions are answered. To make sure the client has the best chance of grasping important information, I often give advice in person and in writing. For example, to make sure all real estate questions get answered, I speak with them in person before, during and after their petition is signed and answer all their questions. At that time I even answere questions they have not yet asked because I know they will have the question later. Also, I give all clients multiple handouts so, when they forget what we discussed, they can later look at the written material I have prepared for them.
      Specific to “mortgage” and bankruptcy issues, I give to all clients with real estate the following handouts. One is entitled “Real Property – Bankruptcy Impact”. You can read the text of that document HERE: http://robert-russell.com/impact-chapter-7-home-mortgage/. Another information handout is called “Reaffirmation Agreement Options – First Mortgage”. You can read the text of that document HERE: http://robert-russell.com/first-mortgage-reaffirmation-agreement-options/. Please look over the documents and you will see that all bankruptcy related mortgage questions are addressed. Plus, this is only part of the information provided to clients.

      Based on the review, I am not sure what the actual unanswered question is – something about a mortgage “being up in the air”. Filing bankruptcy does not make a mortgage “up in the air”. The impact of filing on a mortgage is VERY CLEAR – and was spelled out for the client. Simply, the debt was discharged and if the client wants to keep the home then they need to keep making payments and, if they were behind, they needed to contact the mortgage company and make a deal to get caught up. If they can’t get current one way or another, then the mortgage creditor might foreclosure at some point, although other options exist (as noted in the handouts given to the client).

      Frankly, my guess is that the client had a mortgage question that had really nothing to do with the bankruptcy (because bk does not make a mortgage “up in the air”). I wish I had all the time to answer every non-bankruptcy question for everyone. But I don’t. At some point, my family wants me to come home from the office. Sometimes, when a client asks a question beyond the scope of the bankruptcy, I reserve the right to actually get paid for my extra services. But I do all sorts for volunteer legal work. LINK HERE http://robert-russell.com/about-us/community-service-events/

      So, my guess as to what happened in this case is that the former client thought that because they had previously paid me to file a bankruptcy that they could ask me whatever question they wanted and I would provide answers for free. Sometimes I have time to volunteer – and I often do. LINK HERE http://robert-russell.com/about-us/community-service-events/ Sometimes, I don’t. The latter is what happened in this case.

      Having said all that, if the former client would like to send me an email stating their question, I will be happy to answer the question IF it is bankruptcy related.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  10. Trustworthy, responsive, knowledgeable, responsive, always kept us informed!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Russell.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Going through Bankruptcy is very stressful but thank goodnesss we choose Robert Russell. We will always appreciate the help he and his staff gave us.

Payment Plans. Free Consultations. Email or call now. We can help.

360-882-8990