Back to Troy’s Profile

Client Review

Troy has received 36 client reviews

We highly recommend Troy Pickard!

Posted by: Tracy, a Landlord & Tenant client 14 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Troy Pickard

I hired Troy < 1 month ago.

Troy handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

We contacted Troy regarding obtaining a rental agreement from landlords who refused to provide one. Also, we asked if he'd contact the bank who now owns the home and open the line of communications about our wish to purchase. Within an hour, Troy had letters written and emailed out to the respected parties! I was impressed! Time was of an essence and he didn't waste a second! Troy has kept in contact via email with all updates and responses. He's very kind, and a great listener and was very knowledgeable with our predicament. He made us feel at ease and less stressed. Thank you Troy! You're time and help is greatly appreciated! I would highly recommend to anyone I know with pleasure!

Total Legal Ninja

Posted by: Brennan, a Landlord & Tenant client about 1 month ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Troy Pickard

I hired Troy 1-6 months ago.

Troy handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Troy was amazing. In our land-lord tenant case, Troy was like a rock in the moving ocean of legal non-sense. He knew his stuff, knew what was comming next, was very calm at all times, and helped us to feel at ease in a not so fun situation. I was almost sure when we went to trial that he was going to set off the metal detector because I was convinced there had to be some chinese stars hiding in his jacket. Ninjas always keep those things on them and Troy is definitly a legal ninja!

Attorney Troy Pickard

Posted by: Richard about 1 month ago.

Overall rating
Average
Trustworthy
Average
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Poor

I recommend Troy Pickard

I hired Troy 1-6 months ago.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

First and Foremost what I am about to say is from my experiences, feelings, and thoughts during my use of Troy Pickards services. Keeping in mind that I hired him to complete a job with my interests and my interests alone at the forefront of his mind being that he was getting 40% of whatever he made anyway and we had a very slam dunk case. I hope Troy does not decide to respond to this review because I am being twice as nice in my assessment then I otherwise would have been if he didn’t send such a nice email after we won. My story starts with needing an attorney because my wife and I had a very negative experience with our last landlords. The house that we had, had every violation and issue known to man (I have the housing inspection to prove this) and it was so bad we could not live there anymore. After consulting friends, family and then attorneys we were convinced we should receive rent back because the conditions were so bad. After calling attorney after attorney (apparently there are not very many tenant attorneys in Portland) I found Troy Pickard. First time I called him he answered immediately. He was nice and extremely knowledgeable, we spoke and he said he would email over the contract. 2 days later I called him letting him know I never received it. He was very apologetic and I told him that I understand and to not worry about it people get busy. After I received the contract and gave him a call regarding some questions I had he told me to make the corrections on the contract and to send back signed and we will get started right away. 3 WEEKS WENT BY WITH NO RESPONSE. I know for a fact he was screening my calls because I had my wife call him from work and she was like “he answered within seconds.” I finally went to his office and told the operator that I had a signed contract and a check for $250 for him. So the guy emailed him personally (reason I didn’t leave and go after another attorney is because I heard he was good.) After a day I finally received a call from Troy and he didn’t say anything. He sound extremely snarky and even forgot my name. After all this and Troy finally moving forward with our case, he informs me I need to create a timeline of events before we continue. Why he didn’t do this sooner I have no idea. So it took me a week and a half because I had to get phone records from the phone company. So I emailed them on over along with, housing inspection, images, letters I had sent to the landlords, every piece of information a lawyer could want to help him slam these people, and another 2 WEEKS role by with no response. During this time I emailed all that information 3 different times. He finally calls me and says he never received it, which is a complete lie. So I emailed it again. He finally sends out a single letter requesting an amount that I was not too happy about but at the time was okay with(I will explain at the end why.) And I wait for him to get back to me. I finally call him and he tells me that they spoke on the phone and they have an agreed date in which they will pay. They ended up being late with the timeframe he set up but that is fine because we won. Overall this is my feelings about Troy. I did not feel as if he had my best interests at hand during any point of this. I spoke with another tenet attorney who just retired and he was extremely disappointed how the case ended up which in turn led me to be disappointed. In his opinion Troy was being lazy. You have the option to sue back a full year which he did not do amongst other things (In Troy’s defense he did pick a very winnable amount that at first I was kind of pleased with.) I never felt like I knew what was going on. I had to contact him to figure it out or remind him that he needs to tell me what’s happening. It’s not hard to send an email. At times I felt he was almost being dishonest with me or giving me an unsettling feeling. All in all would I hire him , yes and no (most likely no.)

Knowledable, skilled, personable, and effective.

Posted by: Logan, a Landlord & Tenant client 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Troy Pickard

I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.

Troy handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Mr. Pickard was very knowledgable about the law pertaining to my landlord/tenant case issues, as well as the local Court processes. He was incredibly attentive and responsive to my calls and emails, taking the time to explain, in as much detail as I requested, each claim, counterclaim, procedural posture, etc. I was always apprised ahead of time of deadlines, upcoming hearings, and options I had to consider. He worked evenings and weekends, and immediately shared any correspondence he had with the opposing party. Mr. Pickard gave me all the possible outcomes when we had to make decisions, and helped me to weigh the good v. bad, and the probably likelihoods resulting. He appropriately consulted me, and confidentialy directed the case toward the best outcome. I absolutely obtained the best outcome - an FED dismissal, successful counter claims, and damages paid to me. I highly recommend Mr. Pickard to defend you.

Clear, direct, and effective

Posted by: Mark, a Landlord & Tenant client 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Troy Pickard

I hired Troy 1-6 months ago.

Troy handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I was facing a potentially large building permit violation. Troy was able to clearly explain the possible outcomes of my situation and help me determine the best course of action. In the end, Troy helped me get the results I was hoping for.

shady shady made my situtaion worse by no reply,s

Posted by: laurie hall 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Troy Pickard

i talk to him over the phone .he asked me to see my case files. he did not responed back to me for 3-weeks. I kept calling him with no response. I finally said I needed my files back. gee I got a response. that they would be up front at his desk. I picked them up he walks past me.. then at 12.43 that night I get a email stating he could not keep my files anymore.. I feel this attnorty is very shady on how he handled my case.

Great to work with!

Posted by: a Residential client 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Average
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend Troy Pickard

I hired Troy 1-6 months ago.

Troy handled my Residential matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

He was great at giving sound advice that catered to my needs. He was able to win our case without having to go to court! great to work with!

Troy delivers excellent results.

Posted by: Amy, a Landlord & Tenant client 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Troy Pickard

I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.

Troy handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

Troy is a fantastic lawyer. He was able to have an eviction case dropped and provide us some money back from the landlady. He then helped us settle out of court with our landlady for close to $5,000 dollars, for the maintenance man's illegal entries. I highly recommend him for any tenant with landlord problems. His rates are fair; Troy delivers.

Awesome lawyer

Posted by: James 6 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Troy Pickard

Troy is a excellent lawyer. He got my eviction dropped with money in my bank just like he said. If you have a slumlord (landlord) and he is in the wrong Call troy

Did everything as promised, and then some.

Posted by: JohnAnsell 7 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Troy Pickard

I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.

Mr. Pickard did exactly what he said he would. I went to see him about a misdemeanor charge and he got all the charges dropped. The judge said I was going to get sentenced to 48 hours of community service, and loss of license for 3 months. Mr. Pickard was a pleasure to work with, it was my first time dealing with attorneys and it was so much better then I expected.