Troy Austin Pickard’s Reviews

Troy Austin Pickard

Average Rating

Based on 39 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Help when it was needed

    Posted by Adrienne,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Pickard.

    We had a very challenging move to Portlant due to a dispute with our landlord. After scanning reviews on-line I quickly picked Mr. Pickard to help us with our landlord/tenant dispute. I could not believe how quickly he got the ball rolling. It was extremely beneficial knowing I was not going to court alone. We had difficulty with the Oregon Court system after everything was settled in getting our money back and Mr. Pickard stayed in it with us for the long haul until every last piece of the problem was solved and settled.

  2. Excellent Courtroom Presence, Very Intelligent, Superior Client Service.

    Posted by mark, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Pickard.
    • I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.
    • Troy handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I retained Troy Pickard to assist me in challenging a restraining order case brought by an angry vindictive landlord. Troy quickly file the appropriate responses and kept me well-informed of all procedural nuances, opposing counsel settlement offers and risks. Troy was confident, yet pragmatic - and responsive. His service attitude is outstanding.

    Troy encouraged me to trust his knowledge - glad I did because his courtroom skills were impressive, especially his cross-examination, which quickly revealed the Landlord's disingenuous claims. Result was a quick dismissal of the restraining order, that came without my - or my character witnesses - need for testimony. The use of ROs by landlords was something new for Troy, but his research was thorough - and his courtroom preparation was far superior to that of opposing counsel (Troy crushed the other attorney!!!). Troy was truly impressive.

    I would highly recommend Mr. Pickard for any landlord-tenant legal issues.

  3. Great, friendly lawyer!

    Posted by Susan, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Pickard.
    • I hired Troy 1-3 years ago.
    • Troy handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Troy has been a determined and dedicated lawyer during a very difficult case. He never gave up and kept me posted over the course of the case. Despite the difficulties the case, it was concluded with a positive outcome. Highly recommend.

  4. We highly recommend Troy Pickard!

    Posted by Tracy, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Pickard.
    • I hired Troy 1-6 months ago.
    • Troy handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    We contacted Troy regarding obtaining a rental agreement from landlords who refused to provide one.
    Also, we asked if he'd contact the bank who now owns the home and open the line of communications about our wish to purchase.
    Within an hour, Troy had letters written and emailed out to the respected parties! I was impressed! Time was of an essence and he didn't waste a second!
    Troy has kept in contact via email with all updates and responses.
    He's very kind, and a great listener and was very knowledgeable with our predicament. He made us feel at ease and less stressed.
    Thank you Troy! You're time and help is greatly appreciated!
    I would highly recommend to anyone I know with pleasure!

  5. Total Legal Ninja

    Posted by Brennan, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Pickard.
    • I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.
    • Troy handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Troy was amazing. In our land-lord tenant case, Troy was like a rock in the moving ocean of legal non-sense. He knew his stuff, knew what was comming next, was very calm at all times, and helped us to feel at ease in a not so fun situation.
    I was almost sure when we went to trial that he was going to set off the metal detector because I was convinced there had to be some chinese stars hiding in his jacket. Ninjas always keep those things on them and Troy is definitly a legal ninja!

  6. Attorney Troy Pickard

    Posted by Richard,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Troy Pickard.
    • I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    First and Foremost what I am about to say is from my experiences, feelings, and thoughts during my use of Troy Pickards services. Keeping in mind that I hired him to complete a job with my interests and my interests alone at the forefront of his mind being that he was getting 40% of whatever he made anyway and we had a very slam dunk case. I hope Troy does not decide to respond to this review because I am being twice as nice in my assessment then I otherwise would have been if he didn’t send such a nice email after we won.
    My story starts with needing an attorney because my wife and I had a very negative experience with our last landlords. The house that we had, had every violation and issue known to man (I have the housing inspection to prove this) and it was so bad we could not live there anymore. After consulting friends, family and then attorneys we were convinced we should receive rent back because the conditions were so bad. After calling attorney after attorney (apparently there are not very many tenant attorneys in Portland) I found Troy Pickard. First time I called him he answered immediately. He was nice and extremely knowledgeable, we spoke and he said he would email over the contract. 2 days later I called him letting him know I never received it. He was very apologetic and I told him that I understand and to not worry about it people get busy. After I received the contract and gave him a call regarding some questions I had he told me to make the corrections on the contract and to send back signed and we will get started right away. 3 WEEKS WENT BY WITH NO RESPONSE. I know for a fact he was screening my calls because I had my wife call him from work and she was like “he answered within seconds.” I finally went to his office and told the operator that I had a signed contract and a check for $250 for him. So the guy emailed him personally (reason I didn’t leave and go after another attorney is because I heard he was good.) After a day I finally received a call from Troy and he didn’t say anything. He sound extremely snarky and even forgot my name.
    After all this and Troy finally moving forward with our case, he informs me I need to create a timeline of events before we continue. Why he didn’t do this sooner I have no idea. So it took me a week and a half because I had to get phone records from the phone company. So I emailed them on over along with, housing inspection, images, letters I had sent to the landlords, every piece of information a lawyer could want to help him slam these people, and another 2 WEEKS role by with no response. During this time I emailed all that information 3 different times. He finally calls me and says he never received it, which is a complete lie. So I emailed it again. He finally sends out a single letter requesting an amount that I was not too happy about but at the time was okay with(I will explain at the end why.) And I wait for him to get back to me. I finally call him and he tells me that they spoke on the phone and they have an agreed date in which they will pay. They ended up being late with the timeframe he set up but that is fine because we won.
    Overall this is my feelings about Troy. I did not feel as if he had my best interests at hand during any point of this. I spoke with another tenet attorney who just retired and he was extremely disappointed how the case ended up which in turn led me to be disappointed. In his opinion Troy was being lazy. You have the option to sue back a full year which he did not do amongst other things (In Troy’s defense he did pick a very winnable amount that at first I was kind of pleased with.) I never felt like I knew what was going on. I had to contact him to figure it out or remind him that he needs to tell me what’s happening. It’s not hard to send an email. At times I felt he was almost being dishonest with me or giving me an unsettling feeling. All in all would I hire him , yes and no (most likely no.)

  7. Knowledable, skilled, personable, and effective.

    Posted by Logan, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Pickard.
    • I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.
    • Troy handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Pickard was very knowledgable about the law pertaining to my landlord/tenant case issues, as well as the local Court processes. He was incredibly attentive and responsive to my calls and emails, taking the time to explain, in as much detail as I requested, each claim, counterclaim, procedural posture, etc. I was always apprised ahead of time of deadlines, upcoming hearings, and options I had to consider. He worked evenings and weekends, and immediately shared any correspondence he had with the opposing party. Mr. Pickard gave me all the possible outcomes when we had to make decisions, and helped me to weigh the good v. bad, and the probably likelihoods resulting. He appropriately consulted me, and confidentialy directed the case toward the best outcome. I absolutely obtained the best outcome - an FED dismissal, successful counter claims, and damages paid to me. I highly recommend Mr. Pickard to defend you.

  8. Clear, direct, and effective

    Posted by Mark, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Pickard.
    • I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.
    • Troy handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was facing a potentially large building permit violation. Troy was able to clearly explain the possible outcomes of my situation and help me determine the best course of action. In the end, Troy helped me get the results I was hoping for.

  9. shady shady made my situtaion worse by no reply,s

    Posted by laurie hall,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Troy Pickard.

    i talk to him over the phone .he asked me to see my case files. he did not responed back to me for 3-weeks. I kept calling him with no response. I finally said I needed my files back. gee I got a response. that they would be up front at his desk. I picked them up he walks past me.. then at 12.43 that night I get a email stating he could not keep my files anymore.. I feel this attnorty is very shady on how he handled my case.

    1. Troy Austin Pickard

      Troy Pickard

      Lawyer Comment:

      Although we have helped hundreds, if not thousands, of clients in Oregon, there are rare cases where we cannot be of assistance. Unfortunately, it sounds like this may have been a situation where we did not communicate this quickly-enough to a potential client.

      At Portland Defender, we welcome client feedback and constantly strive to meet our clients' needs. I am proud to say that the firm has recently hired a new associate attorney, and we are now able to respond to clients faster than ever before.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  10. Great to work with!

    Posted by a Residential Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Troy Pickard.
    • I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.
    • Troy handled my Residential matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He was great at giving sound advice that catered to my needs. He was able to win our case without having to go to court! great to work with!