Troy Austin Pickard’s Reviews

Troy Austin Pickard

Average Rating

Based on 33 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Knowledable, skilled, personable, and effective.

    Posted by Logan, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Pickard.
    • I hired Troy 1-6 months ago.
    • Troy handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Pickard was very knowledgable about the law pertaining to my landlord/tenant case issues, as well as the local Court processes. He was incredibly attentive and responsive to my calls and emails, taking the time to explain, in as much detail as I requested, each claim, counterclaim, procedural posture, etc. I was always apprised ahead of time of deadlines, upcoming hearings, and options I had to consider. He worked evenings and weekends, and immediately shared any correspondence he had with the opposing party. Mr. Pickard gave me all the possible outcomes when we had to make decisions, and helped me to weigh the good v. bad, and the probably likelihoods resulting. He appropriately consulted me, and confidentialy directed the case toward the best outcome. I absolutely obtained the best outcome - an FED dismissal, successful counter claims, and damages paid to me. I highly recommend Mr. Pickard to defend you.

  2. Clear, direct, and effective

    Posted by Mark, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Pickard.
    • I hired Troy < 1 month ago.
    • Troy handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was facing a potentially large building permit violation. Troy was able to clearly explain the possible outcomes of my situation and help me determine the best course of action. In the end, Troy helped me get the results I was hoping for.

  3. shady shady made my situtaion worse by no reply,s

    Posted by laurie hall,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Troy Pickard.

    i talk to him over the phone .he asked me to see my case files. he did not responed back to me for 3-weeks. I kept calling him with no response. I finally said I needed my files back. gee I got a response. that they would be up front at his desk. I picked them up he walks past me.. then at 12.43 that night I get a email stating he could not keep my files anymore.. I feel this attnorty is very shady on how he handled my case.

    1. Troy Austin Pickard

      Troy Pickard

      Lawyer Comment:

      Although we have helped hundreds, if not thousands, of clients in Oregon, there are rare cases where we cannot be of assistance. Unfortunately, it sounds like this may have been a situation where we did not communicate this quickly-enough to a potential client.

      At Portland Defender, we welcome client feedback and constantly strive to meet our clients' needs. I am proud to say that the firm has recently hired a new associate attorney, and we are now able to respond to clients faster than ever before.

      Posted 12 days ago. Flag

  4. Great to work with!

    Posted by a Residential client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Troy Pickard.
    • I hired Troy 1-6 months ago.
    • Troy handled my Residential matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He was great at giving sound advice that catered to my needs. He was able to win our case without having to go to court! great to work with!

  5. Troy delivers excellent results.

    Posted by Amy, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Pickard.
    • I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.
    • Troy handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Troy is a fantastic lawyer. He was able to have an eviction case dropped and provide us some money back from the landlady. He then helped us settle out of court with our landlady for close to $5,000 dollars, for the maintenance man's illegal entries. I highly recommend him for any tenant with landlord problems. His rates are fair; Troy delivers.

  6. Awesome lawyer

    Posted by James,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Pickard.

    Troy is a excellent lawyer. He got my eviction
    dropped with money in my bank just like he said.
    If you have a slumlord (landlord) and he is in the wrong
    Call troy

  7. Did everything as promised, and then some.

    Posted by JohnAnsell,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Pickard.
    • I hired Troy 1-6 months ago.

    Mr. Pickard did exactly what he said he would. I went to see him about a misdemeanor charge and he got all the charges dropped. The judge said I was going to get sentenced to 48 hours of community service, and loss of license for 3 months. Mr. Pickard was a pleasure to work with, it was my first time dealing with attorneys and it was so much better then I expected.

  8. Excellent representation

    Posted by Rick, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Pickard.
    • I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.
    • Troy handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Troy fought hard for our rights when we faced an illegal attempted eviction. We were able to avoid going to trial and negotiated a more reasonable move-out date, as well as receiving damages due to the illegal actions of the landlord (related to repairs they didn't want to pay for). Troy worked with the landlord's attorney in order to secure a favorable resolution. We also received our deposit back in full, something I have never had happen despite our excellent care of previous landlords' properties. If I knew I could have my rights so well-represented I would never have allowed previous landlords to push us around and take advantage of us. Thanks Troy!

  9. Case Dismissed! Peace of Mind - Thank You Troy!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Pickard.
    • I hired Troy 6-12 months ago.
    • Troy handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    After having consultations with multiple attorneys in the area, choosing Troy was the right decision. I was being charged with a misdemeanor theft III charge that threatened to ruin my career opportunities after college. Troy took charge of my situation, putting me at ease throughout the entire process. He was very reassuring and confident in the information and guidance he provided to me, while genuinely caring about my situation.

    Troy explained my options clearly and concisely, explaining that my case fit the mold of a civil compromise. Upon agreeing to persue a civil compromise, Troy began working passionately on my case. He kept me updated every step of the way. It was incredibly comforting to have somebody on my side that knew the workings of the court-system and the law so thoroughly. Additionally, Troy is very well networked and rooted in the community. It is clear that his reputation in the community is as important to him as his success as a lawyer.

    Ultimately, because of Troy's dedication and hard work, the case was dismissed. I cannot express my immense gratitude. What a pleasant experience in the midst of an altogether difficult and stressful situation. Troy was the first attorney I have ever needed, and he is the only one I will ever go to in the future.

    Thank you!

  10. Hands down the best attorney I have ever encountered!

    Posted by Jeff R., a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Troy Pickard.
    • I hired Troy 1-3 years ago.
    • Troy handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Hands down the best attorney I have ever encountered! His knowledge is only surpassed by his diligence and willingness to help his clients to the fullest extent. One would hope to never need an attorney but if you find yourself in a position to need one, Troy is your man. He has most certainly earned a client for life. -JR