James Hoover’s Reviews

James Hoover

Average Rating

Based on 30 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Ex-cop, not fond of attorneys to begin with, Hoover-Krepelka is different

    Posted by Steve, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Hoover.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jim helped my relative with a messy divorce when another attorney had messed it up. I have met his partner too, who is equally impressive. I have referred him to others as well. I'm a retired Detective Sergeant with a local Police agency, so I'm not particularly fond of your typical attorney. Hoover-Krepelka is different. They are down to earth guys that truly want to do the right thing for their clients.

  2. Highly Reputable

    Posted by Robert,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Hoover.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    This lawyer and this firm have a great reputation in the community. They were referred to me since I often hear of people requiring a family lawyer or divorce lawyer. They have been highly responsive. I would recommend James Hoover to people who require a family lawyer. My understanding is that this firm has been active for a long time, and has multiple generations involved in this law practice.

  3. Great first impression, but that's it.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend James Hoover.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.

    I came to Jim Hoover a long time ago, asking for help with my divorce. I discussed how there was Domestic Violence in my case. How I was afraid of my ex. They were fairly helpful, when dealing with a "default" case. (Although the paperwork that they were helpful with was incorrect as I later found out). When we got a letter from the respondent and his council; Hoover and his team said there is nothing we can do. I was shocked, every meeting it was very impressive how Jim knew my case, but he spent a large part of the time retelling me my case to show me he was listening and knew it, and seemed like a knowledgeable attorney, I spent more than 5K in his office for him to tell me he can not fight this. (I went with someone else)

    Later on (a year later), I go to the point of a Temporary Restraining Order hearing, however, respondent's case was that I "Just" made this up. I came to Jim and his team, and asked for a declaration stating that I discussed domestic violence with them when I met with them. They said, I'd be waiving attorney client privilege, (Which I was ok with to get this restraining order to stay in place) Then they asked my attorney to provide case law, and a declaration - my attorney spent a lot of time on it, and when I sent the declarations and case law to them 1 week before (After getting the run around for 2 weeks before then) they ignored me, and wouldn't sign it. The Restraining order was not granted because I didn't have any evidence that I did have concerns for a while now.

    All they had to do was sign a few sentences which they could adjust if they needed, but they couldn't find 5 minutes to look at it in the 1 week they had it.

  4. A divorce is never pleasant... but Jim almost made it be.

    Posted by Dominique, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Hoover.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    After committing to the idea of divorce and letting my wife know, things happened pretty fast. She got a restraining order on me in order to start with an advantage and I found myself desperately in need of legal counsel, since settling things in a peaceful manner had not worked for us.

    I contacted several law firms in the south bay area and didn't get the immediate response I needed. My wife in the meantime had hired a very aggressive lawyer who was trying to get me to sign anything as quick as possible, threatening with court and a long case if I didn't do it.

    Luckily for me a friend of mine works patents in a large firm and directed me to Jim, who addressed my concerns immediately and was able to work with me starting the next morning.

    Long story short: my ex-wife dropped her lawyer since she saw that if we went down that route we'd spend all our money in lawyers and with Jim's help we drafted an agreement within a week that we both were happy with, signed and notarized it and got it filed shortly after.

    I have been telling about my fortune in the misfortune to many friends and nobody had ever heard of such fast, clean and efficient work.

    One thing that was very important for my case is for my lawyer to not be hostile to my ex-wife since we wanted to part on good terms, and Jim did this to the perfection. When I walked into his office I told him it was nothing personal but I wasn't very fond of lawyers, but I must say I've slightly changed my opinion after this experience. The reassuring and confident manner, and the respect with which Jim treated my wife was key to the success of this divorce IMO.

    I couldn't tell Jim I'd like to use him again anytime soon, since I hope I won't divorce ever again, but if that unfortunate situation came to happen I'd definitively get Jim for myself again.

  5. Certified Family Law Attorney - Jim Hoover

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Hoover.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I interviewed and worked with several other law firms before hiring HBHK and comparitively, they are the best. Jim Hoover is incredibly articulate and a brilliant attorney who came highly recommended to me by a former client he had also represented.

    Jim anticipated and explained possible outcomes and kept me involved and informed throughout my case. The reliability and responsiveness factors were way beyond my expectations. This helped diffuse anxieties involved with the process because I knew my case was under control.

    Jim's demeanor, preparedness and effectiveness in the courtroom lended further credibility to my case and I attribute that to an achieved objective in regards to the outcome of my matter.

    The excellent customer service and professionalism consistently demonstrated by the entire staff was most appreciated as well.

    Jim is one of the few Certified Family Law attorneys in Santa Clara County and I, along with many others (including his peers) recommend him with great confidence and enthusiasm.

  6. Excellent Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Don, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Hoover.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I used James for my divorce and he did a great job. He explained my options in great detail and keep me informed at all times. He worked hard to reduce my expenses during the process without leaving anything to chance. I would strongly recommend James.

  7. Excellent Family Law Attorney

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Hoover.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I value Mr. Hoover's integrity and feel confident when referring my clients to Mr. Hoover as I know they will be taken care of. Mr. Hoover is ethical, well-versed in family law, friendly, cares for his clients concerns and always puts his clients interest/needs first.

    I refer my clients to Mr. Hoover for divorce, prenuptials, child custody/family law needs. He is wonderful to work with and someone I trust.

  8. Excellent Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Chris, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Hoover.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was initially referred to Jim by a friend who had recently finalized his divorce settlement and had been very satisfied with Jim's work.

    My own divorce had been going on for approximately 18 months with no end in sight and I was looking for a new attorney to help me reach an equitable settlement. When we first met I explained my situation and my complete dissatisfaction with my prior attorney and the fee's I had incurred. Jim listened attentively and asked appropriate questions related to the case and my interaction with my prior attorney. I retained him that day. The next day before 9:00 am I received an email from Jim detailing his initial due diligence assessment having reviewed the files I had provided and an outline of how he proposed we moved forward with my case. Since then I have consistently found Jim to be responsive to my queries, attentive to my concerns, and diligent in his dealings with my ex wife’s attorney. Over the past nine months I have never had cause to question his billing hours and have found the fees incurred to be reasonable based on the work he has performed.

    With Jim’s help and guidance my case was settled last week with a long term spousal support agreement that fully met my primary objectives. Based on this experience I would not hesitate to recommend Jim to anyone dealing with the stress of family law in California.

  9. Great Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Ron, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Hoover.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jim was a great attorney in my case. Can't thank him enough for all the help in my case. He's very personable and works within the comfort of your case. Can't recommend him more!!

  10. An Excellent Counsel!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Hoover.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Hoover has represented me in two situations; my divorce, and now currently in an unrelated domestic abuse case. He is always extremely professional, competent (extremely well-versed in family law), ethical., friendly, timely (in mtgs and communications), and thorough in informing me in the details of family law pertaining to the case at hand. He works well with opposing counsel as to minimize adversity, but always puts my needs first as his client. Jim also has highly qualified experts in fields as contacts that his client might need that pertain to his/her case. I feel I am in the best hands having him as my counsel, and would highly recommend him to anyone needing representation in family law matters. I have referred him to friends on three occasions. He is worth every dime!