Peter Francis Iocona’s Reviews

Peter Francis Iocona

Average Rating

Based on 23 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Bad things happen to good people

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Iocona.
    • I hired Peter 1-3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am anonymously writing this review to enlighten you on the spectacular experience I had while going through a very traumatic time last year. I unfortunately was arrested for a second DUI while coming home from a Christmas party. I am employed as a healthcare professional and having this conviction on my record would have heavily encroached on my ability to practice due to the proposed ramifications imposed on me by my licensing board. I was referred to Peter, Alan, and Barry from a colleague and felt immediately comforted when I walked in their office (as compared to the prior 2 attorneys I had interviewed). Peter who is a walking encyclopedia of Law dealing with DUI opened my case with the DMV hearing and through his meticulous review of the police videos, he was quickly able to identify inconsistencies and bias directed towards myself(due to my previous conviction) despite all of the evidence at the scene identified that I was not the driver. He further highlighted these facts during the deposition taken by the arresting officer in a nonthreatening manner that made the officer feel comfortable and open to reveal the potential that his judgment may have been incorrect. This set the tone for the entire case that eventually achieved the optimal outcome (an arduous and tedious year long struggle that placed my family and me under significant amount of stress). I had multiple long conversations with Peter during that time frame and through his candid yet optimistic style of customer service, I was able to cope with confidence that my case was being managed by an expert in his field (allowing me to sleep at night!). These numerous informal meetings were had at various times in the day (many after office hours) to fit my busy schedule. Peter always called on time when an appointment was scheduled to keep my updated with each step of progress as the case evolved. Over the year I was working with Peter, I was witness to the diligence he put forth towards not only my case but managing the collateral damage created by dealing with my licensing board. Peter and his associates were, through a collaborative effort, able to deliver the optimal result in my case. The one thing I would like to highlight is the fact that when you hire Peter, you are not only employing one attorney, you are hiring an entire team of lawyers who specialize in this specific type of scenario. During the process of dealing with my case, I by chance, came across an article written in the OC Metro rating the top law firms in Orange County and was comforted to see Peter’s firm listed in the top 5 (in no specific order). I through this challenging experience, I can state with confidence that if you are placed in the uncomfortable situation I was in, you need an attorney that is not only going to treat you like a client, but a unique individual (husband, father, professional, or whatever moniker you wear). I am indebted to your passion and diligence you have shown to the management of my case during the most trying time of my life that nearly ended my career and marriage. Bad things happen to good people. In challenging times, you need to place your trust in an attorney that is not only an expert but an advocate to your cause. Peter is that individual! P.S. My case closed in late October and I received a personal message from Peter wishing myself and my family a happy holidays. That is the type of person you get if you select Peter to represent you. Personable, professional, pragmatic!

  2. Best Lawyer You Could Ask For - Saved My Driver's License, Career, and Family

    Posted by Rachel, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Iocona.
    • I hired Peter more than 3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Confused, scared, embarassed, overwhelmed, hopeless.... These are words that describe how I was feeling before talking to Peter Iocona. I had gotten arrested for a DUI and I thought my life as I knew it was over.

    After talking with dozens of other DUI attorneys in Orange County, Peter was the first to make me feel calm and confident that there was hope for my case. Peter Iocona was the most trustworthy, honest, and knowledgeable lawyer I spoke with and from the moment he took on my case, he fought for me 100% of the way.

    Peter was available for every question I had during this very confusing and scary period of my life. He took the time to personally meet with me and talk with me on the phone to update me on my case.

    Peter handled my DMV trial (to decide if I would keep my driver's license) and I wouldn't have picked anyone else to handle that trial. Peter treated my driver's license as if he was defending his own license. I knew Peter was doing everything he could to protect me and my privilege to drive. Thanks to Peter I did not lose my license. I thank him every time I get to drive my car.

    Peter Iocona is the first lawyer I would recommend to anyone who is going through this experience. I would personally recommend him to any of my family members or friends. He is dependable, honest, trustworthy, kind, funny, loyal, and knowledgeable. He is THE lawyer you want to have on your side.

  3. Professional, Intelligent, Hard Working and Committed to Providing the Best Defense Possible.

    Posted by Greg, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Iocona.
    • I hired Peter 1-3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    At 56, I was arrested for DUI/DWI. Prior to this my only vechical violations were for minor traffic challenges like speeding tickets. I was simply not prepared for the whole experience, so I quickly sought legal counsel. After considerable research and interviews, I settled on the firm of Barry Simons in Laguna Beach. They had me write down all of the details I could recall from the start of that day up and until I was released at the police station.

    A conviction would have a significant impact with my employer, my career and my reputation. I needed strong representation to have any chance in lowering the charge.

    The attorneys and staff at Barry Simons firm are all very friendly, and the attorneys I spoke with about my case all seemed very knowledgeable, but my recommendation here is based on my experience of having Peter Iocona represent me at trial.

    Peter ensured that I understood what the outcome could be of going to trial, while detailing how we could fight every potential argument by the DA. Granted, I have not had much experience with criminal court, but I witnessed the hard work spent on his preparation. His dedication to my defense, his ability to lay out and have me engaged throughout the process was amazing. He was able to make me understand my role, a participative role, throughout the trial. He listened to my comments about what I observed whether it was during jury selection or in witness testimony.

    The trial, yes, a lot was on the line for me personally, but I sincerely believe that everyone was impressed with how Peter conducted my defense from start to finish. He was affable to all, he endeared himself to the court (bailiff, clerk, judge) from a friendly but highly professional manner. As a defense lawyer should, he made it very clear to each member of the jury that it was the DA's responsibility to prove guilt beyond reasonable doubt (emphasizing that if even only one point failed that reasonable test. a not guilty decision must be returned).

    He took some non-traditional tactics as well, like reserving opening remarks, allowing the DA to tell his story first. In cross-examination, he consistently demonstrated to the court that he was more informed on how to conduct the Field Sobriety Tests (FST's) then the arresting officer. He did so without showing malice to the officer, but clearly showed reasonable doubt on how the FST's were conducted. His knowledge of the science behind driving impaired was as strong (or stronger) than the DA's professional witness. Peter was able to impart the right knowledge into the jury's understanding, raising that all too important doubt.

    The trial portion (after jury selection was complete) lasted two full days. Although he was prepared to bring forward defense witnesses, he discussed it with me and we agreed that the DA had not overcome reasonable doubt. Here he did another bold act, he waived the reserved opening remarks, choosing rather to rest. DA gave closing statement, but Peter in his closing emphasized every area of doubt that the jury should have.

    The result? Not guilty on the second count (driving above a .08) and a 50/50 split on the first count (hung jury). The judge rendered that it was doubtful that the DA could retry the first count successfully and dismissed that count.

    I shall be forever thankful to Peter for his hard work, his dedication, his success on my behalf. He is an outstanding individual professionally and in character. BTW - every single juror stayed for post trial interview and all requested his business card!

  4. OUTSTANDING LAWYER, THE BEST YOU COULD EVER WANT

    Posted by Greg, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Iocona.
    • I hired Peter 1-3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Outstanding, is all I can say about Peter Icona, he and his staff were with out a dout extremly friendly, professional, polite, understanding, and very quick to call you back if you could not reach them. Peter was able to help my 22 year old daughter who had moved back to Virginia, from California with a fail to appear on a speeding ticket, and the speeding ticket, both of them over a year old. He also helped her have the hold on her Licence removed. He waisted no time, he was able to work things out, and she was able to get her licence back, helped her into driving school, and helped her with the FTA. I am a 25 year Veteran Deputy Sheriff in Virginia, and have known many lawyers over the years, but I can say that Peter is one of the best out there. I highly recomend him to handle any cases you have. I also have to say that his office staff are very efficent, and extremly polite. You will not be disapointed with Peter.

  5. Peter is Amazing!

    Posted by Scott, a Transportation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Iocona.
    • I hired Peter 1-3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my Transportation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have used Peter on two, very different occasions, and both times he has been amazing! His knowledge is incredible! He knew exactly what needed to be done, and quickly and successfully resolved the problems. I couldn't have asked for a better outcome.

  6. Best Lawyers

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Iocona.
    • I hired Peter 1-3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Recently, I had the traumatic experience of being pulled over and charged with a DUI. I knew I had had one drink several hours earlier, but truly felt ay affects were completely gone. After enduring the rudeness of the accruing officer, several hours in a holding cell, my license being temporally suspended and the real possibility of losing my job and future career in the educational field, I was scared, frustrated and didn’t know what to do. A friend recommended Barry Simons Law Firm in Laguna Beach.

    From the moment I walked thru the door, they seemed to understand exactly how I felt and what I had been thru. The receptionist gave me a warm welcome EVERY TIME and made me feel comfortable. Peter Iocona allowed me plenty of time to recount everything that had happened, he asked many questions, and reassured me. He did an amazing job researching and getting my case ready to present in court. Everyone in the office worked so well together for my best interest. In the end, the judge was able to understand that a ‘wet and reckless’ charge was more reasonable then the DUI charge.

    During this time, while on a temporary driver’s license, another officer pulled me over for crossing a solid line to an offramp. The moment she saw the temporary license I had just received from the DMV, she began treating me like a criminal, accusing me of driving on a suspended license, would not allow me to drive my car and threatened me with jail and a $500 fine. All of this, as it turned out, because I had not signed the temporary license when I received it in the mail. As soon as I could, I called my lawyers and explained the incident. They were appalled at the attitude and assumptions of the police officer. They immediately filed arguments with the court and were able to get these charges completely dropped.

    I cannot say enough about the professionalism, compassion and dedication of Peter Iocona and the whole staff at Barry Simons Law Firm. They basically gave me back my future.

  7. A Trusted and Capable Resource

    Posted by Stephen, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Iocona.
    • I hired Peter more than 3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Getting placed under arrest and charged with a DUI is a very confusing and unsettling experience to say the least.

    Throughout my entire experience, Peter consistently provided a steady and guiding hand. I think what is most remarkable is that when the criminal portion of case was settled - when most attorneys would disappear - Peter remained available and involved to ensure I had all the information I needed to work through the DMV-mandated suspensions.

    My case was particularly challenging because I re-located out of CA and getting licensed in my new state was a truly frustrating and exhaustive process. Through all of it, day or night, Peter made himself and his encyclopedic-knowledge of DUI case law, availabe to me. He kept me focused on the things I needed to focus on and was a calming and steady presence to the end.

    I'm sure throughout my year-plus long interaction with Peter, he had tens of dozens of other clients - maybe more - he was dealing with at any given time, however, he always made me feel like my case was the most important case he was dealing with and that I was his most important client.

    I would recommed Peter to anyone who is struggling with a DUI arrest. His level of knowledge of DUI case law along with his high level of professionalism and accountablity is unmatched. He'll get you through it.

    Thank you Peter.

  8. Highly recommended

    Posted by Jason, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Iocona.
    • I hired Peter 1-3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Peter to anyone that has been arrested for DUI. It’s a stressful event to go through and Peter does a great job of explaining all the details involved in defending you. I always felt confident I was making the right decisions throughout the process. Peter is an expert in this arena and knows every detail of DUI defense.
    In my personal situation I was facing a DUI even though Peter had proved to the DMV that I was under the legal limit and therefore was able to keep my license. The DA would not budge on settling on a lower charge. We were prepared to go to trial and Peter went above and beyond what most lawyers would do. I can say that Peter is dedicated to defending his clients to the fullest extent. The DA at the last minute decided to offer me a lower charge. I had a chance to talk to her about it afterward and she told me that it probably wouldn’t have happened if it were any other lawyer. I came away from this experience with what I feel is a very fair deal and a big respect for Peter and his dedication.

  9. Fantastic Service, great representation

    Posted by Kyle, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Peter Iocona.
    • I hired Peter more than 3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Peter maintained a clear head and kept me well informed of possible outcomes for the different set of circumstances I faced. Not only did he obtain a favorable bargain for my case, he never once wavered at the possibility of future litigation. If you are facing a DUI, the last thing you want is an attorney that is scared to go to trial on your behalf. I felt confident that my representation gave me an advantage over the other side due to his dedication to see the case through.
    Because of Peter's persistence and dedication, my license was not suspended, my fines were lowered and the DUI was gone. Fantastic result, fantastic attorney. A+

  10. Great Outcome! Prompt and clear communication

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Peter Iocona.
    • I hired Peter more than 3 years ago.
    • Peter handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Peter was efficient and was able to find the best outcome regarding my particular case. The best case scenario considering time, money and maintaining my driving privileges with out restriction. This was clear after I came to know what others were subjected to even though their cases were similar to mine. Excellent job Pete! Thank you.