Christopher D Carr’s Reviews

Christopher D Carr

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. DOESNT DO RESEARCH..WORST PART OF IT ALL, THE OTHER PARTY REPRESENTED THIERSELF!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Christopher Carr.
    • I hired Christopher 1-3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Child Custody matter.

    I chose to keep my details of my case private however I will warn that this man SHOULD NOT be retained BY ANYONE looking to win their case! He is expensive for little to no representation. he didn't know about my case in court when the judge was asking questions, didn't take anything information I gave him that he asked for as for the updates on the case. He promised so much so I kept giving money to turn around and NOT EVEN GET MY VISITATION CLOSE TO WHAT I WAS ASKING FOR. I COULD HAVE DONE BETTER!!!!

  2. Chris is wonderful! Won me the father sole custody!

    Posted by James, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Carr.
    • I hired Christopher 1-3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Child Custody matter.

    First I want to say I am shocked by some of the reviews. I have not ever had a bad experience with Chris. I retained him to handle a custody issue for me when he was attached to Half price lawyers. When he left I immediately followed him to have him continue his services (even though I was a little put off by the pricing but he had done such a good job the first go around) He won me, a father in the state of Nevada SOLE custody. There are moments I was frustrated with him because I felt something should have been done but he always explained his strategy and why my way may not have been the best. We have been done with our case for a year and I have sent him a couple emails in regards to a future possible hearing and he has replied every time without a "pay me first" attitude. I am proud to call Chris my family law attorney and will continue to use him!

    I have ONE complaint, however I dont think it's really a complaint. I felt like my phone calls took forever to be returned. HOWEVER, when you are in the grasps of a legal battle it's easy to forget you are not their only client or event going on. I just used emails and was happier with that process IMHO.

  3. Excellence in action, true to a parent's needs and to a child's interests

    Posted by Michael, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Carr.
    • I hired Christopher more than 3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I first met Chris he was inquisitive about the history of my case, and after we went through what happened and how things were progressing he began to note a few things I hadn't nor did my previous attorney.
    When I filed for the change of custody he was present in every conversation and suggestive as to how to properly proceed with court. He is a father and has great regard for children's interest which he made very clear at the outset. As much as I needed an ally for me, I needed one more for my son, He was just that.
    His speech in court was respectful of all parties until he sensed that my ex was in no way thinking of anyone but herself through her statements. He took it to heart that my son needed to be with the right parent, not just with me because I wanted it.
    It's good to know that this attorney really cares. He took the time to go through things with me through multiple conversations before and even after the court date when my son's custody was given back to me. He negotiated with the other attorney with tenacity and complete professionalism. I would hire him again if I had to.

  4. Very Incompetent....caused me to lose custody

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Christopher Carr.
    • I hired Christopher more than 3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Christopher Carr was formally under half price lawyers. He was contracted to complete my motionI in my custody case, he did this, but did not file it on time as well as filed it improperly. The court denied my motion because of this and it was never accepted into my case. The judge never saw my side of the story because of this. I showed up to my hearing unaware of his mistakes.

    He never followed up to make sure the motion was accepted. I was then informed by my ex's attorney that my paperwork was never filed. The judge then made his decison off of only my ex's paperwork and put in a final order for only joint legal and gave primary custody to my ex. I had to call Mr. Carr to tell him he didnt file my paperwork because he was not activly doing his job. He then stated the next step was a reconsideration, which had he of done his job correctly this wouldnt have been neccessary, and he would have also mentioned I could have filed with the supreame courts and that there were deadlines for this, which of course he never did.

    He appeared at the reconsideration hearing acting as if I made the mistakes. He placed blame on me, he did not speak up for me as an attorney should...he sat there with his hands on the table completely oblivious and unprepared. He stated he didnt know the deadline because of me which was false because I did inform him of the deadline and also he has complete access of the case through the courts website. It is his job to know what he is doing and if he doesnt which it is appearent he doesnt know what he is doing then he shouldnt pretend and take peoples money. He also placed blame on his workload and made several irrelevant excuses as to why he disnt do his job. I still do not have custody of my daughter because of him, and have yet to find an attorney who is confident in correcting the damage he has caused.

    I cry everyday for my daughter and the fact that I see her only 9 days a month. Also I should let you know I am the mother...not the father and I have no drug record, no arresst record, I have a career and have owned my house for 5 yrs. So with all of that I still lost custody because of his incompetence.

    1. Christopher D Carr

      Christopher Carr

      Lawyer Comment:

      There are factual inaccuracies here. The papers the party refers to WERE filed with the Court, but the court clerk's office rejected them for invalid reasons (they stated that a required document was not attached, but it was and obviously was missed by Court staff). Client did NOT retain me to represent her at the hearing that she is referring to and came complaining to me about how poorly she had done in court representing herself. In order to correct the COURT'S error (in wrongly rejecting her paperwork), I filed a Motion AT NO CHARGE TO HER and went back to the Court. At the subsequent hearing, the Judge explained that she had been given an opportunity to argue her case herself even without the documents and that he had made his custody decision based on the FACTS and not because her papers were wrongly rejected by the Clerk. She had her day in Court and the judge had all of the necessary information and she lost based on this, not because of the COURT CLERK'S error.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  5. Always helpful and effective

    Posted by Mehmet Ali, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Carr.
    • I hired Christopher 1-3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Knowledgable, Christopher is an exceptional attorney. Responsive and professional, he truly helped me with a challenging case. My case was dismissed, as it should have been. He cares about his clients and helps to get the best outcome. Whenever I call he either talks directly to me or calls back promptly. He regularly updates me by e-mail on the status of my claims. it gave me confidence to have Christopher representing me.

    I am grateful for Christopher as is my family. Thank you Mr Carr for your expert services.

  6. THANKS CHRIS FOR THE SHOW OF FORCE!!!

    Posted by Carla, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Christopher Carr.
    • I hired Christopher 1-3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Even though our case was not a Family Law case and as the Adverse Party in a Temporary Order of Protection with a requested Extension Order, Mr. Carr handled our case in an extremely professional manner, explaining the details of our defense, making the judge aware of the falsehoods lodged against me and my family which allowed the judge to make the correct judgement - not to extend the order !!! THANKS CHRIS ! ! ! The truth always prevails !

  7. Great value in Legal Representation

    Posted by Nazo, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Christopher Carr.
    • I hired Christopher 1-3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    You have to remember that this lawyer and his firm provide something called "unbundled." He does what you pay for but that's it. If you're looking for someone to be available everyday he's not the best for that, but those firms cost too much! You'll get all the work you paid for and he does a good job, is prepared and does well in court. It was a BIG stress reliever to not have to speak to the judge or to the other lawyer who only wanted to keep my kids away from me. Like I said, the contact was the only issue, he was in court a lot (but I guess that's good too) and when I would call he would usually respond by email. When we met the first time he explained everything and explained the process and then he called me again a few days before court to explain everything again and tell me what to expect and ask me if I had questions.

  8. WASTE OF MONY AND TIME

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Christopher Carr.
    • I hired Christopher more than 3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We hired Mr. Carr's practice over 6 months ago. We first met with a nice lady that sold us like a used car salesman. Out of the whole experience, she was actually the only one who acted as an attorney. We paid our retainer, promised one attorney would show to our hearing and have everything ready to go... 5 minutes late to our hearing a completely different attorney showed up which had NO IDEA of our case. Thought it was a divorce case instead of a custody hearing and that the divorce was over years ago. She was so lost that the judge yelled at her in court and told her to figure it out. We were devastated as this was for custody of our child after child abuse by her mother. After the hearing, the attorney left early as she had another case, leaving us with no answers. After calling Mr. Carr's practice back asking why we spent the money and received nothing but heartache, we were told that the paralegal would follow up and do settlement conferences since we didn't receive any of our money's worth with the hearing. Week by week, we heard nothing. Never a response to calls, promise after promise after promise and nothing. Even spoke with Mr. Carr finally after months and was made promises by him of phone calls back and 30 days went by with no return call. The only one that ever knew what was going on was the paralegal and to now find out she is no longer employed. We are devastated by the service we received and beg others not to waste you time, money nor heartache as we did...especially if doing it for custody. Our kids deserve better!!! This is a TRUE statement and please be warned if you are trying to save money cause of the economy. There are other attorney's in town to help.

  9. Absolutely Terrible.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Christopher Carr.
    • I hired Christopher more than 3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have had a case on going for 7 months that still has not been completed. Messages to their office continue to go unanswered and the documents they tell me that are being sent in continue to get rejected because of their error. They have blamed everyone from the courts, to the courier, to the voicemail service, to the E file system. Three weeks ago i was told that it would be all finished in a few days yet nothing has changed. When i finally began to complain about the continued delays, the staff (Jill) took an attitude with me and told me that by complaining i was taking up valuable time that she could be working on my case.

  10. Divorce case

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Christopher Carr.
    • I hired Christopher more than 3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had Chris as my attorney, my first time having an attorney so I don't have other experience to compare him to but I think he's pretty good. I was confident with him by my side in court. The outcome was from meetings and hearings were better than I expected.