Mark Ryan Thiessen’s Reviews

Mark Ryan Thiessen

Average Rating

Based on 118 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. TRULY IS A SUPER LAWYER AND WILL ALWAYS FIGHT FOR WHAT IS RIGHT.

    Posted by PLEASANT, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.
    • I hired Mark 1-6 months ago.
    • Mark handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I MUST SAY THIESSEN TRULY LIVES UP TO WHAT HE SAYS. I HAD HIRED HIM AFTER FIRING MY FIRST LAWYER AND WAS A LITTLE NERVOUS ABOUT SPENDING MONEY AGAIN. BUT MR THIESSEN ASSURED ME HE WOULD DO EVERYTHING TO FIGHT FOR ME. HE TREATED ME A Like A PERSON AND NOT Like A CRIMINAL. ALWAYS VERY AGGRESSIVE AND NEVER WANTED TO Take A SHORTCUT JUST TO GET THE CASE OVER. THERE WERE TIMES I WAS SCARED AND WANTED TO GIVE UP AND HE ALWAYS TOLD ME TO JUST HANG IN THERE AND NOT TO WORRY. HE WAS LIKE A BIG BROTHER. HAD FOUGHT THIS CASE FOR MONTHS AND THE END MY CASE WAS COMPLETELY DISMISSED. THAT WAS EVEN WITH THEM TAKING BLOOD AFTER I HAD REFUSED AGAINST MY WILL. MY FIRST LAWYER TOLD ME TO COP OUT LONG TIME AGO AND SAID I HAD NO CHANCE OF WINNING. ONCE AGAIN WOULD SUGGEST ANY ONE TO USE HIM AND THAT I PROMISE YOU WILL BE IN GOOD HANDS. TRULY IS A SUPER LAWYER.

  2. Mark Thiessen

    Posted by Michelle, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.
    • I hired Mark 1-6 months ago.
    • Mark handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I found Mark Thiessen through several of my friends , I was having serious issues with the lawyer I had at the time he kept telling me I was going to jail when I had done nothing he did not believe me , and I believe he was gonna have me put in jail and not fight for my innocence from the moment I met Mark Thiessen I knew he was going to do everything for me to keep me from that horrid jail , I was not aloud to leave my county he drove all the way up to the woodlands to meet me at starbucks to speak on my case he got all the charges against me dropped within minutes he's truly the best lawyer ,he has a lot of respect from his piers including the judge that actually told me I was very lucky to have such a great lawyer , and trust me I know I was lucky to have found him , and that is the gods honest truth if you want a GREAT lawyer Mark Thiessen is your man .

  3. DWI case

    Posted by Rodney, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.
    • I hired Mark 1-6 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    If you want aggressive criminal defense, hire Mark. He delegates only the mundane to others and is very knowledgable, passionate and professional. Mark grilled the arresting officer on probable cause at the civil hearing to determine whether or not I'd lose my license for refusing a breathalyzer, and the judge found that there was no legal cause for being stopped. As a result, I kept my license, and Mark was able to use this finding in the criminal pretrial meetings with the DA to get a plea bargain to a lesser offense in spite of the video evidence of the arrest that was very unfavorable to my case. I truly believe I'll never need Mark's services again; however, if you do, call him. He's not the cheapest, but he is one of, if not the, best criminal defense lawyers in Houston.

  4. The Best Lawyer in the Industry

    Posted by Douglas, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.
    • I hired Mark 1-6 months ago.
    • Mark handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I chose Mark Thiessen to represent me in a DUI / DWI case and it was the best selection/decision that I could have made. I found out about Mark through Internet search and reached out to him and his office. Upon meeting with Mark - I immediately knew that he was the right lawyer/attorney to represent me and give me the best opportunity to win my case. Mark is an expert attorney with a work ethic that is second to none. He is always available. He is a master of his craft and will give you the best opportunity to win your case. He will be prepared and he will do everything to ensure your case is won. He will actually be more knowledgable on the aspects of law, facts of the case, than the individuals that have accused you of your offense. He was highly successful in my case, even despite some of the alleged facts not being in my favor. We won the case and all charges were dropped. Thanks Mark!

  5. Excellent attorney to have to represent you

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Because of the seriousness of my case (serious for me), I had been researching and meeting with many different lawyers in the area. I felt like my life was unfairly ruined; I even considered pleading guilty just because it seemed the odds were against me. What made me choose Mark was not only his positive reviews and great record, but when I first met him he was confident, honest, straightforward and very knowledgeable. He definitely knows what he's doing and will fight for you. Mark will not fudge or sugarcoat the situation to you. While some people may take it as not caring, it is exactly was is needed in this type of environment. I appreciated that he was very honest and gave all the details to keep me informed throughout the entire ordeal.

    I ended up getting both Mark and Jed Silverman to represent me. It felt like I was getting two of the best lawyers in Texas to represent me; however, it was more like getting them and their entire staff in my corner. The team was very helpful and kept me informed at each court appearance, especially Mark Metzger. The case dragged on for a good while, which was very nerve racking for me, but in the end it was worth it. At the last court appearance, the prosecutor did not want to let up and seemed it was going to go to trial, but Mark Thiessen was very “persuasive” and worked his magic, and to my surprise got my case dismissed. While I was scared it may have gone to trial, I felt Mark was the best man for the job had it gone down that road.

    While his services may not be the cheapest to some, you get what you paid for in this field and Mark seems to be very high in demand. I highly recommend Mark Thiessen, it was worth every penny!

  6. Houston's Best

    Posted by Amy, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If ever in the unfortunate position where one needs a lawyer, I can not recommend Mr. Thiessen enough. He is a highly skilled and knowledgable attorney and I had a very favorable result due to his diligence and expertise. . He and his entire staff are caring, compassionate and do everything they can to relieve you of the stress and worry involved with a court case.

  7. Fantastic Lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.
    • I hired Mark 1-6 months ago.
    • Mark handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mark is a great lawyer. In March, I was stopped for speeding and was charged with a DUI. He knew how to handle the situation and got my record cleared. Throughout the entire process, he kept me updated and let me know what I needed to do. I cannot recommend him enough.

  8. Fantastic Lawyer

    Posted by Preston, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.
    • I hired Mark 1-6 months ago.
    • Mark handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would HIGHLY recommend hiring Mark Thiessen as your attorney for any criminal case that you have received in the Harris County area. He is extremely knowledgeable of the court system and what actions can be taken pre-trial in order to have the best outcome at your court date. I was put on probation for a DWI a year previous to hiring Mark as my attorney. I failed to complete the requirements in order to get off of probation. My probation was revoked and sent back to the courts. That's when I hired Mark. He told me to go complete the rest of the requirements for probation and get myself a court date. When we got to court he persuaded the judge not only to dismiss my probation, but dismiss it successfully. In court he made small talk with the judge and prosecutor which told me that he knew them and had a good relationship with them. Which was not the case for other attorneys that went in front of this judge. Again you can't go wrong hiring Mark. He is great attorney and great person.

  9. Glad I had patience

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mark was convinced if I was patient, he could get my DUI case dismissed on a technicality. It took 4 court appearances, which were a huge pain in the butt, but he was right! I was definitely guilty as charged, but he manged to negotiate a 12-hr Alcohol Awareness class in exchange for dismissal. Whew! Worth every penny.

    He does not like to lose and will fight hard for you.

  10. Trustworthy, Reliable and Aggressive!!!

    Posted by John, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mark is a friend of mine but I am not giving him an excellent rating because of that. I needed the best possible defense when I was arrested for DUI recently so I did a lot of research and talked to friends and as a result I hired Mark to represent me. Everyone that knew him had nothing but great things to say and I am glad I hired him. He worked miracles for me in a very tough county when the odds were stacked against me. I was in disbelief when he informed me what the court had agreed to settle on. I can not sing his praises enough! Do yourself a favor and hire him if you find yourself in the same predicament!

Stop getting bullied by the system. I'll FIGHT for you! Call now!

832-654-3058