Mark Ryan Thiessen’s Reviews

Mark Ryan Thiessen

Average Rating

Based on 123 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I lost

    Posted by na,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Mark Thiessen.

    I hired Mark in Jan 2014. This is the first DWI and i was doing as much research to get the best. After meeting him and reviews i decided to hire him. He basically told me fight it or take probation. I didn't want probation, i could of done that myself. He said i had one of the best cases to win a trial, so 11,000 later i did. He was a great lawyer and we thought we had it, but i lost. Such a disappointment being that all i stressed and all the money spent, i am now ink debt and still on Probation

    1. Mark Ryan Thiessen

      Mark Thiessen

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am sorry that you are upset that we lost. However, the State was not dismissing your case and only option was pleading guilty. 99% of other attorneys would have plead you guilty all day long. I fought for you, I gave you everything I had. However, I can't control the jury. The jury is the x-factor. We had a shot at trial and we gave it everything we had. I am sorry we lost. I hate losing!

      I am shocked and saddened by this review. I actually have no idea who this is. I hope it is a true client and not some angry competitor of mine. But in an effort to resolve this dispute and make you happy, I will refund half of your trial fee. This is something I have never done before. But I do not like unsatisfied clients and want any readers to know how much I care about my clients, how much I hate losing, and how fair of a man I am.

      Please contact me. If you were a client, you have my cell phone. Again, I am sorry your are unhappy. I gave it my all. I am not perfect. Sometimes we get bad juries.

      Sincerely,
      Mark Thiessen

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  2. As an attorney myself, I highly recommend hiring Mark Thiessen.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.

    Mark is an excellent courtroom lawyer, and he does not back down. He was prepared for every facet of my case, and both he and his office staff made sure that I was informed every step of the way. A true professional.

    I recommend Mark Thiessen to anyone who needs the best.

  3. Justified Propensity....

    Posted by K, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.
    • I hired Mark 1-6 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mark Thiessen has not only earned but fully deserves his Super Lawyer status. He is known for his impeccable handling of DWI/DUI’s but I would without a doubt recommend Mark Thiessen for ANY criminal court matter. I initially retained another lawyer in a pinch based on a few positive online reviews and the promises that were made during an initial phone call and meeting. After some subsequently clouded and unpleasant conversations with that person as well as a lack of follow through; I spoke to, met with and hired Mark Thiessen immediately.

    The decision to go with Mark Thiessen was the absolute BEST decision I could have ever made!! He is organized, thorough and aggressively fights for his clients; he is not afraid to take cases to trial if necessary. He is professional, down to earth, informative, and calming without being condescending or belittling. He restores trust and faith to people in situations where those have been lost.

    In the end, he achieved the goal of getting my case dismissed and in turn he restored my faith in people and in life. These situations are not easy, not fun and are life altering, but with the right attorney by your side you can be made whole again. As the saying goes, you get what you pay for and Mark is worth every penny. Don’t waste your time with anyone else; to second guess Mark is the wrong decision plain and simple. I quickly learned from a bad first experience that a few good online reviews are not nearly enough. With Mark you don’t get a few reviews, you get volumes and volumes of glowing recommendations from person after person - this is not coincidence. Do your research and you will see his track record speaks for itself; do yourself a favor and set yourself up for a win the first time, every time!

  4. Great Criminal Lawyer not afraid to fight

    Posted by Brian, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When Mark wasn't getting any more movement from the Ast. DA he wasn't afraid to go straight to the DA and ask for something better. It worked and I got a better outcome then what was ever on the table with the Ast. DA. A good fighter for the cause....

  5. Houston's BEST DWI/DUI ATTORNEY!! HANDS DOWN, DO NOT HESITATE TO GO WITH MARK!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.
    • I hired Mark 1-6 months ago.
    • Mark handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    To be caught in a DWI case is a very serious matter and endangerment to one's future. Initially, I had gone with another lawyer, but he actually recommended that I should go with Mark instead.

    To put it all in perspective, I was facing a dwi first offense with a 0.158 blood. I knew I had to fight it because my future direly depended on it. Mark was very informative with the whole process. He is truly not afraid of going to trial. During my many times in court, I saw many pleas and lawyers that were afraid to try a dwi blood case, but not Mark.

    The reason why he is one of the, if not the, best DWI attorney in town is just that. All the way from his charisma to his courage, He will fight for you until the very end. As predicted, my case went to trial. It would have been an even scarier two days if Mark was not by my side. To be able to watch him in action is a work of art. His craft in trying cases is unmatched. Literally, there were other lawyers watching him so they could learn a thing or two. We had hired an expert for the defense and when Mark had the stage, it was very harmonious.

    It's almost difficult describing just how good Mark is. You can really tell that he has put in the effort to perfect his trade. He is like the Michael Jordan of trial lawyers. With Mark on your team, that's when your chances of winning are greatest. He caught the prosecution's witnesses lying multiple times and ultimately, the floor belonged to him. He just has the right characteristics of the type of people who are great in the respective fields.

    To tie everything together, God forbid you are ever caught in a DWI case, but if you are, Mark is the guy. There is no other way around it. You have to be completely honest with yourself and realize that this guy is the most winningest DWI lawyer in town. That, in itself, should be a testament to his work ethic, knowledge, and bravery. Trust me when I say this, that he WILL FIGHT for you. The prosecution objected to almost everything he wanted to bring out, but Mark objected to one thing only. That goes to show how he is able to set up the battlefield in the defense's favor.

  6. TRULY IS A SUPER LAWYER AND WILL ALWAYS FIGHT FOR WHAT IS RIGHT.

    Posted by PLEASANT, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I MUST SAY THIESSEN TRULY LIVES UP TO WHAT HE SAYS. I HAD HIRED HIM AFTER FIRING MY FIRST LAWYER AND WAS A LITTLE NERVOUS ABOUT SPENDING MONEY AGAIN. BUT MR THIESSEN ASSURED ME HE WOULD DO EVERYTHING TO FIGHT FOR ME. HE TREATED ME A Like A PERSON AND NOT Like A CRIMINAL. ALWAYS VERY AGGRESSIVE AND NEVER WANTED TO Take A SHORTCUT JUST TO GET THE CASE OVER. THERE WERE TIMES I WAS SCARED AND WANTED TO GIVE UP AND HE ALWAYS TOLD ME TO JUST HANG IN THERE AND NOT TO WORRY. HE WAS LIKE A BIG BROTHER. HAD FOUGHT THIS CASE FOR MONTHS AND THE END MY CASE WAS COMPLETELY DISMISSED. THAT WAS EVEN WITH THEM TAKING BLOOD AFTER I HAD REFUSED AGAINST MY WILL. MY FIRST LAWYER TOLD ME TO COP OUT LONG TIME AGO AND SAID I HAD NO CHANCE OF WINNING. ONCE AGAIN WOULD SUGGEST ANY ONE TO USE HIM AND THAT I PROMISE YOU WILL BE IN GOOD HANDS. TRULY IS A SUPER LAWYER.

  7. Mark Thiessen

    Posted by Michelle, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I found Mark Thiessen through several of my friends , I was having serious issues with the lawyer I had at the time he kept telling me I was going to jail when I had done nothing he did not believe me , and I believe he was gonna have me put in jail and not fight for my innocence from the moment I met Mark Thiessen I knew he was going to do everything for me to keep me from that horrid jail , I was not aloud to leave my county he drove all the way up to the woodlands to meet me at starbucks to speak on my case he got all the charges against me dropped within minutes he's truly the best lawyer ,he has a lot of respect from his piers including the judge that actually told me I was very lucky to have such a great lawyer , and trust me I know I was lucky to have found him , and that is the gods honest truth if you want a GREAT lawyer Mark Thiessen is your man .

  8. DWI case

    Posted by Rodney, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    If you want aggressive criminal defense, hire Mark. He delegates only the mundane to others and is very knowledgable, passionate and professional. Mark grilled the arresting officer on probable cause at the civil hearing to determine whether or not I'd lose my license for refusing a breathalyzer, and the judge found that there was no legal cause for being stopped. As a result, I kept my license, and Mark was able to use this finding in the criminal pretrial meetings with the DA to get a plea bargain to a lesser offense in spite of the video evidence of the arrest that was very unfavorable to my case. I truly believe I'll never need Mark's services again; however, if you do, call him. He's not the cheapest, but he is one of, if not the, best criminal defense lawyers in Houston.

  9. The Best Lawyer in the Industry

    Posted by Douglas, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I chose Mark Thiessen to represent me in a DUI / DWI case and it was the best selection/decision that I could have made. I found out about Mark through Internet search and reached out to him and his office. Upon meeting with Mark - I immediately knew that he was the right lawyer/attorney to represent me and give me the best opportunity to win my case. Mark is an expert attorney with a work ethic that is second to none. He is always available. He is a master of his craft and will give you the best opportunity to win your case. He will be prepared and he will do everything to ensure your case is won. He will actually be more knowledgable on the aspects of law, facts of the case, than the individuals that have accused you of your offense. He was highly successful in my case, even despite some of the alleged facts not being in my favor. We won the case and all charges were dropped. Thanks Mark!

  10. Excellent attorney to have to represent you

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Mark Thiessen.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Because of the seriousness of my case (serious for me), I had been researching and meeting with many different lawyers in the area. I felt like my life was unfairly ruined; I even considered pleading guilty just because it seemed the odds were against me. What made me choose Mark was not only his positive reviews and great record, but when I first met him he was confident, honest, straightforward and very knowledgeable. He definitely knows what he's doing and will fight for you. Mark will not fudge or sugarcoat the situation to you. While some people may take it as not caring, it is exactly was is needed in this type of environment. I appreciated that he was very honest and gave all the details to keep me informed throughout the entire ordeal.

    I ended up getting both Mark and Jed Silverman to represent me. It felt like I was getting two of the best lawyers in Texas to represent me; however, it was more like getting them and their entire staff in my corner. The team was very helpful and kept me informed at each court appearance, especially Mark Metzger. The case dragged on for a good while, which was very nerve racking for me, but in the end it was worth it. At the last court appearance, the prosecutor did not want to let up and seemed it was going to go to trial, but Mark Thiessen was very “persuasive” and worked his magic, and to my surprise got my case dismissed. While I was scared it may have gone to trial, I felt Mark was the best man for the job had it gone down that road.

    While his services may not be the cheapest to some, you get what you paid for in this field and Mark seems to be very high in demand. I highly recommend Mark Thiessen, it was worth every penny!

Stop getting bullied by the system. I'll FIGHT for you! Call now!

832-654-3058