Carl David Ceder’s Reviews

Carl David Ceder

Average Rating

Based on 72 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The best Lawyer Ever!

    Posted by liz, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Ceder.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Carl worked diligently on 4 of my non-disclosure cases. I was very frustrated because I wasn't sure what the outcome would be. Carl exercised sound decision making and took the appropriate steps at getting ALL of the cases on non-disclosure status. I wasn't patient Initially and didn't understand why he wanted to take long in handling them, but with time, it all made sense. He is excellent. Sandy, his assistant is also quite knowledgeable and good with responding.
    TIP: They communicate better by email.

  2. Outstanding and Brilliant Attorney

    Posted by Mike E, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Ceder.
    • I hired Carl 6-12 months ago.
    • Carl handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired Attorney Carl Ceder and his firm in 2013 for my wife. My wife case was not an easy one by any means. It was extensive and complicated. .

    Mr. Ceder’s legal team and his paralegal, Sandy spent hours of research and work into case; keeping us updated throughout the process, and answering my questions and concerns in a very timely manner.
    We are happy to have chosen Mr. Ceder’s firm to lead us through this fight. Thanks to Mr. Ceder’s and his team, my wife case was a complete success.

    So if you are looking for a lawyer that's as invested in your case as you are, do not hesitate to hire the law firm of Carl Ceder.

    1. Carl David Ceder

      Carl David Ceder

      Lawyer Comment:

      This case involved one of the sweetest clients I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. Her case was very concerning, because the consequences were so large. It has serious deportation implications - and I can honestly say I fought this one as hard as I ever have for any case I've handled. And to be honest, the facts were not necessarily on our side. It did take some convincing by the District Attorney - and I appreciate their willingness to help. In this respect, they did their job - and saw that "Justice was done." If you knew all aspects of the case, her background, her story, etc., you would understand why. I hope she, and her family, are doing well.

      Posted 14 days ago. Flag

  3. You can't go wrong with Carl Ceder as your lawyer!

    Posted by Thomas, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Ceder.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    If you are in need of legal consultation, I highly recommend Carl Ceder. I heard of Carl through a friend who was going through some legal issues. He told me about Carl and said he was a very thorough, intelligent, hard-working lawyer, who always made time for him, and kept him in the loop. With his recommendation, I decided to give him a try and couldn’t have picked a better lawyer.

    I knew from the start that Carl was going to do everything in his power to work hard for me and get me the best deal possible. Without getting into that much detail, I was arrested for 2 DUI’s and faced prison time. I was scared and worried constantly about this and my future. I had health issues due to this. Carl told me to not worry and trust him that he would work hard for me. I trusted him and put my faith in him. I noticed early on that Carl was quick to respond to my questions/concerns and worked very long hours. He made sure I was aware of ALL my options and always told me what he was thinking. We discussed on pleading one and taking the other one to trial (I knew I was dead-to-rights on one). He continuously kept me in the loop of what was going on and always copied me on emails/documents that pertained to my case. As a result of all this, I received a great plead deal and did no prison time. All I have left is a couple months of supervised probation, while the rest is unsupervised.

    Looking back, I know many people will grab the first lawyer that sends them a letter, or they find on the internet, without really knowing what that person is about. This is your future, you have to do as much research as possible and pick the best lawyer for you. I lucked into it with my buddy having Carl as a lawyer. Carl has all the qualities of a great lawyer (communication, hard-working, trusting, compassionate, and intelligent) and is really determined to get the best deal for you. He understands the way the legal system works and considers all options.

    Throughout it all, it’s been a scary, eye-opening, time in my life, but I’m so thankful I had Carl in my corner.

    1. Carl David Ceder

      Carl David Ceder

      Lawyer Comment:

      It was a pleasure getting the opportunity to represent a client such as this one. He had multiple cases, and the latest that was resolved took some quite time before we were able to achieve a good result. It typifies as an example how time usually is on the side of the defense. The arresting officer in his case was ultimately fired from his Police Department for "undisclosed reasons" - and we discovered this after obtaining his TCLEOSE records. If this case had moved sooner, this would not have worked to our advantage. At any rate, he was a model client, and I am also very happy when we are able to help achieve a positive result for someone like this, and who I try my best for - so they can go forward in life by hopefully putting their legal situation behind them. I very appreciate this review, and it couldn't have come from a better person.

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  4. Excellent Job

    Posted by Eric, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Ceder.
    • I hired Carl 1-6 months ago.
    • Carl handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    I am very pleased to be able to state that Carl did a excellent job on my case. His knowledge of the ins and outs concerning my case was impeccable. Carl made sure to keep me informed as to what was happening with my case and if I needed to perform and duties to show i was innocent of the charges pending. With a trial pending Carl prepared me and himself so that whatever the direction the case turned we would not be caught off gaurd or ill prepared. I would certainly recommend Carl's services to anyone needing assistance. thanks Carl for your dedication and hardwork.

    1. Carl David Ceder

      Carl David Ceder

      Lawyer Comment:

      It was a pleasure working with this client, and I am so happy that we were able to assist in his defense. He is an awesome person, and he is the kind of individual that makes doing this job feel extremely rewarding.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  5. Outstanding Team - Motion to Revoke Probation Withdrawn!

    Posted by Jennifer, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Ceder.
    • I hired Carl 6-12 months ago.
    • Carl handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    If you find yourself having to face the State of Texas in a criminal court, you will want to talk to the outstanding team at Carl David Ceder’s law office, specifically Sandy Chaimowicz.
    After recently being arrested (at my job, mind you) for violation of my probation – which to the best of my and my Probation Officer’s knowledge, had ended a year earlier - I knew I needed legal representation to help me defend myself. I also knew I had evidence to prove the charges false, as I had kept nearly every receipt, letter, note, or any other documentation pertaining to my probation. I was terrified at the prospect of having my probation revoked, especially considering I had not been on probation for entire year. My initial sentence in 2009, was a three year probation on a state jail felony (deferred adjudication), and was told if I ever violated my probation, I could face 3 years in jail. Needless to say, if you knew me at all, I heeded that warning with utmost seriousness and did everything mandated by the court for those three years. So what was going on now? Not even the police could tell me, they just had a warrant for my arrest, and there was a Motion to Revoke my probation.

    Knowing I needed to hire an attorney, but not knowing who to call, I did some research online. I don’t engage in illegal or criminal behaviors nor did I have a history of criminal activity – I am a hardworking, productive, home-owning, dog-loving member of society. And now I was riddled with fear and anxiety that I was potentially facing incarceration. I emailed about three lawyers, but my fears were put to rest when Sandy Chaimowicz called me right back after I emailed Ceder’s firm.

    Sandy listened to my case, and not once rushed me or made me feel like I was the umpteenth criminal she had talked to that day. When I explained everything, she was as perplexed as I as to exactly how my probation was violated, considering I had documents and witnesses to disprove the charges against me. I was extremely frustrated, to the point of tears, because it was evident to us that someone else had made a mistake with my paperwork, and now I was paying the costly consequences (arrest, bail, lawyer costs – not to mention the emotional, social and psychological turmoil endured). Sandy could not have been more emphatic that these charges were unfounded and assured me, though not promising me anything, that the outcome would likely be favorable. She did not, however, pump me full of false hope; she discussed all possible scenarios and what we needed to have in the event the DA wanted to fight the case in court. I felt like I had been holding my breath for weeks and now I could take a little breath and ease the worrying. What now?

    In the weeks leading up to my court appearances, Sandy and I had several phone conversations, followed up by emails detailing what she needed from me, how the case was going, and her meetings with Carl. It gave me confidence that my case was important to her, and that she was working diligently not only for me, but keeping me in the loop so I knew what to expect. On the day of my first court appearance, Sandy was so impassioned (perhaps incensed?) that she wanted to march right into the court, clutching the file receipts, letters and paperwork we had collected, and talk to the DA herself! She was in defense mode, ready to fight for me - and in the end we had the Motion to Revoke withdrawn. I truly believe Sandy was as genuinely happy at the outcome as I was, both of us holding back tears – this time for joy.

    I hope I never need a defense lawyer again, but I know who to call if I ever do. Life gets messy, people make mistakes, and you never think bad things will happen as long as you are good person. But they do, and if you find yourself needing legal counsel (and if you've been arrested or have a warrant, you need an attorney!) call or email Carl David Ceder’s firm and talk to Sandy. You'll sleep better at night.

  6. We were impressed!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Ceder.

    When we were desperate for help and running out of time Mr. Ceder was very quick to respond. He was readily available and jumped on the case immediately even before the consultation was over! Definietly agressive! He quickly ran over the possibilities and gave us a clear picture of the outcomes. We were impressed. He loves his job and is right on the game.

  7. Best Lawyer in DFW

    Posted by Michael, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Ceder.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I'll recommend Carl D. Ceder to anyone in the DFW and if you have never hired a lawyer before there is no need to hesitate with Carl. I've hired him twice now once in Collin County (Result: fair for both sides) and then in Dallas County (Result: ALR hearing Won, MTS Granted, No Appeal by State = Case Dismissed) that doesn't happen often but with Carl Ceder you have more than a fighting chance you have a friend that will walk you through the process step by step and wont leave you in the dark. Don't walk into court with-out Carl D. Ceder representing you.

  8. He listens!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Ceder.

    Mr.Ceder and his office were very prompt in responding to phone calls and emails. Even though he was at court he took the time to call. His assessment of the case is fantastic. He immediately starts building the confidence that's required in you about winning the case. Bottomline 'He listens' to you.

  9. Third Degree Felony/Domestic violence/Assault /Deportation: Case dismissed.

    Posted by Simon A., a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Ceder.
    • I hired Carl 6-12 months ago.
    • Carl handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    I wished I came across Carl David Ceder profile before hiring an attorney on my case. It would have saved me time, money and stress. On September 17, 2012, I had an argument over my money with my wife and she called the cops and told them bunch of stories. I was charged with Third degree felony/Assault/Domestic violence and slept in jail. I was so frightened since I have never been in custody my whole life. As a permanent resident I was facing deportation if convicted or even take a plea bargain. Having lived in the US for 7 years, my Engineering career, which I built here in the United States from scratch, was in jeopardy and all my American dreams were broken. My life was shut down in a 3minutes 911 call.
    I hired the first attorney to represent me on the case who is by the way Carl’s Competitor in Plano. That attorney did not really spend any time understanding my case or building any defense for me and I paid him a lot of money for no results. He would take me to court and I would not understand why we went to court and he would not explain things clearly to me. Instead of defending me he was agreeing with the prosecutor and encouraging me to take plea deals without him even analyzing the content of the plea. My family and friends proposed that I searched for a new attorney.
    I then started looking for a Trial and aggressive attorney in Texas to have the best representation on my case and I came across Carl David Cedar profile on AVVO. After reading three reviews, I knew immediately that this is the right attorney to hire for my case. The first day I spoke with him, I knew that no matter what the outcome of my case is, it would be the best outcome possible I could ever get if Carl David Ceder is on the case. I then fired my previous attorney who was on the case for 8 months with no results and I hired Carl immediately. I did not care how much money I would spend since my freedom was at stake. Carl kept me informed of all court dates and milestones on the case through calls/Emails/text. Carl Spent time to explain the charges against me and informed me in timely manner of all documents filed in the district attorney office about my case. At their Law office they took time to understand my side of story and they built the best and strong defense for me. I was so worried about this case that it was torturing me morally and psychologically that I will be deported from the US if I took a plea bargain or convicted. The fear of standing Trial, etc…
    Carl was able to get a better plea deal for me compared to the plea deal that my previous attorney got but he spot something on the plea that could have made me deportable. He then refused the plea deal and started preparing for Trial. Carl is very regarded by his peers as a Trial attorney and I had no fear having him on my side. I knew that whatever the outcome is, it would be the best outcome I could ever get. Guess what? Carl was able to find flaws on the case and this case did not make it to Trial. The case simply got dismissed. Yes!!! This Third degree Felony with Deportation got dismissed 4 months after Carl took the case. This is a big accomplishment Carl. I really appreciate your hard work on this. I am still thinking I owe you a lot. The amount of money I paid for the service is nothing compared to my freedom. I am not seeing myself in trouble in the future but since life is full of uncertainties, I will use his service again and he is now my attorney if I need legal advise. I would recommend him to anyone seeking legal representation. If you want to get the best outcome possible on your case, this is the right attorney to hire. Not all attorneys are equal. Carl is devoted to this job. He loved it and he is passionate about his work. Carl, May God bless you.

  10. Reliable and Trustworth

    Posted by Julia,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Ceder.
    • I hired Carl 6-12 months ago.

    Mr.Ceder truly made my legal situation as stress free as was possible. I truly appreciated the fact that I could email him any time with any questions/concerns and I always got back a response. And, FROM HIM! It was comforting to have a reliable and trustworthy attorney working for me. The process through the court system took quite a while, however, Mr. Ceder took the time to follow up personally at the court house to find out what was keeping the filings from being complete and to keep me updated on the situation.

We're ready to help you or a loved one now.Contact us ASAP for a review of your case.

214-702-2275