F. "Bill" William Powers’s Reviews

F. "Bill" William Powers

Average Rating

Based on 97 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best DUI LAWYER

    Posted by Cytherea, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend F. Powers.
    • I hired F. Powers 1-3 years ago.
    • F. Powers handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Bill and the entire staff at Powers McCartan were professional, responsive and compassionate. As great of an attorney as Bill is, he is an even better person. The only promise he made was to always be honest with me and to do everything he could to get me the best possible outcome. He did both as my case was dismissed on June 11, 2014. He used a less common motion for my defense and was successful with the outcome. I also witnessed him get a case dismissed prior to mine on the same morning as well, which left me completely impressed. I highly recommend Bill for any DUI or traffic matters you may encounter. Thank you Bill for everything!!!

  2. For the Best and most Accurate representation contact Mr. Powers.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend F. Powers.
    • I hired F. Powers 6-12 months ago.

    If you have a case with a really bleak outlook I highly recommend contacting Mr. Powers. He strategically utilizes his vast arsenal of legal knowledge to help tip the scale in your favor. Citing my personal case, I went in with very little to no hope in having a positive verdict in my favor, however, in the end Mr. Powers pulled through getting me a full dismissal of all charges. The thing that sets him, and his firm, apart from the others is that he will explore every single avenue, even calling in experts if needed, in order to provide you with the best representation possible to help win the case.

  3. Outstanding attorney with integrity!

    Posted by Lisa, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend F. Powers.
    • I hired F. Powers 1-3 years ago.
    • F. Powers handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    My daughter had a second DUI and when it all seemed hopeless, Bill was able to get the charges dropped. This is a man who is extremely knowledgeable, yet still keeps his integrity which was impressive to me. He handles himself with dignity. If you hire him, you will have the best of the best, along with his expansive intellect and wisdom about the law. Please don't feel hopeless, when you can hire such a great attorney to be on your side.

  4. Bill Powers Is An Attorney That Will Fight For You!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend F. Powers.
    • I hired F. Powers 6-12 months ago.
    • F. Powers handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I received a DUI charge about a year ago and hired a top attorney here in Charlotte, but I realized that he was not the best choice for me. There was issues of misconduct and inconsistencies as related to the officer’s conduct during the time of arrest, DMV hearing and trial. I finally came to my senses and sought out another attorney. I needed an attorney that would fight for me and not worry about rocking the boat. I heard through friends that Bill Powers was persist and not afraid to stand up for his clients. I had already heard that Bill was one of the top attorneys in town so I decided to give him a call. When we talked about my case, he was very easy to talk to and I felt that my problem was now his problem. He fought for me! As a result, my DUI case was dismissed. If you need an attorney that will fight for you, hire Bill Powers.

  5. A True Life Saver!!!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend F. Powers.
    • I hired F. Powers 1-3 years ago.

    I was recommended to Bill Powers through a large law firm were one of my family members is a partner. Their recommendation of Bill was immediate and unequivocal. After working with Bill for the last 13 months, the reason is obvious. Very simply, if you need a lawyer to help you with a problem, Bill is your guy. Bill is extremely knowable about the current state of the law, the views of the judges he practices before and the workings of the police and judicial system. Moreover, he provided sagely advice throughout my 13 months of hell. He talked me off the ledge several times when I became emotional and he helped to put my situation in a realistic light. In the courtroom, Bill was amazing, he had an instinctual feel and understanding of the judge's demeanor and his views on certain legal issues and Bill responded accordingly, with great results. His office is also a well-oiled machine, responsive, friendly and kept me informed throughout the process. I can't thank Bill and his team enough. Bottom line, if you need a lawyer in NC, I recommend two things; plenty of prayer and hire Bill Powers

  6. Mr. Powers and his team are the upmost way to go for legal help/advice!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend F. Powers.
    • I hired F. Powers 1-3 years ago.
    • F. Powers handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I have never been more terrified about a charge on my record for something I didn't do. Bill took the time he needed to even try to get the information from the Trooper that tried to charge me with a DUI and after a year and 2 months, the cop couldn't come up with anything. I have never felt so much weight come off my shoulders when Bill was able to handle my case with just a few words to the Judge and get my charges dropped to the minimum. If you have any type of legal problem, I believe Mr. Powers and his staff can do about anything, knowing the laws the way they do, and would recommend him to ANYONE in need of outstanding representation.

  7. Very pleased!!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend F. Powers.
    • I hired F. Powers 1-3 years ago.
    • F. Powers handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Bill Powers is very professional, sets your mind at ease with the process you are facing, answers your questions, and gets the job done!! Well worth the money spent. Could not ask for a better out come!!!!

  8. Lottery winner

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend F. Powers.
    • I hired F. Powers 1-3 years ago.
    • F. Powers handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Just over a year ago I got charged for DWI, biggest mistake in my life. I didn't think I had a shot in my case and was really down on my luck. I did my research on lawyers and came across Bill. Best decision I could've made. He turned a helpless case into a dismissal. When I heard the words dismissed I could not believe it. After sitting in court for a year and watching all the lawyers and then Bill in my case I can say with out a doubt best lawyer, his presence and knowledge is outstanding compared to the others I witnessed. Thanks Bill you saved my career and made a big game changer in my life.

  9. Best attorney in the state, worth every single penny!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend F. Powers.
    • I hired F. Powers 1-3 years ago.
    • F. Powers handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Bill and his team are the best of the best! I was referred to him by a friend after being arrested for DWI in November of 2012. I blew a .19 and my case did not look so great. After meeting with Bill we reviewed my options and he started building a case for my defense. After the initial mandatory 30 day revocation of my license he got a judge to grant me driving privileges after 10 days. My job requires me to drive around and if convicted, I would have most likely lost my job. I conveyed this to Bill and he did everything in his power to comfort me and assure me that he would do everything he could to get me out of this. For 13 long months my case was continued and time after time, Bill met with me to discuss the next steps. After our last meeting he prepared me for trial and told me this would most likely be the last time I'd be going to court. He pulled me out of the courtroom before we were supposed to go to trial and informed me that my case was dismissed and I was free to go. I have never been more thankful for anything in my life and would HIGHLY recommend hiring Bill and his team to represent you should you ever get arrested for DWI.

  10. Class Act

    Posted by Denis, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend F. Powers.
    • I hired F. Powers 1-3 years ago.
    • F. Powers handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Hands down the Best of the Best,Bill Powers did an amazing job,I could not have gotten a better Lawyer,
    I hope he reads this, Thank you! ! and my family thanks you as well.

Payment Plans, Free Confidential Consultation

704-342-4357