David Wachtel’s Reviews

David Wachtel

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Ey v. CAO

    Posted by Carl, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Wachtel.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    David Wachtel and Karen Tannenbaum were true professionals. They are very sensitive to ensuring their clients enjoy the appropriate representation at the right cost. I enjoyed working with both of them thoroughly and would certainly call upon them again should I have an issue. Effective, honest and diligent, David and his team are simply super.

  2. Mr. David Wachtel is a brilliant attorney

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Wachtel.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Mr. David Wachtel is an extremely talented, hard-working attorney. I can't say enough good things about the work he did for me. I couldn't have chosen a better attorney.

    I ran into some problems at the agency I worked at, and David was
    persistent about staying with the case until there was a resolution. I
    was grateful he was my attorney. My agency is notoriously difficult to
    work with, yet David took them on.

    I was amazed at how smoothly David handled the case and was mindful of
    deadlines. Our communication was so good, I felt that David was able
    to read my mind to come up with an excellent defense. I sent a lot of
    documents to him, but he always seemed to be able to find the key
    points in record time.

    I have never been in trouble at work before, and I have a very good
    work record. Because of this, I was very upset about the trouble I
    was in--with the executives at my agency no less. David was
    compassionate as well as intuitive, and I found communicating with him
    very easy. It was the most difficult time of my career, but David
    helped smooth the way.

    David was extremely persistent. He gave my case a lot of attention and
    was detail-oriented.

    He took on the executives at my agency and presented my side in a
    factual and persuasive manner. In the end, he pulled off a miracle,
    particularly considering how difficult my agency is to deal with.

    I was amazed at how multi-faceted David is. He is ethical, kind,
    professional, and has a sense of humor that helped me get through the
    most difficult time of my career.

    I can't say enough about how talented David is. I would recommend
    David to anyone.

    I also worked with Dasha Galperin, his assistant. She was talented,
    persistent, and professional as well. She was compassionate and very easy to work with.

    All of the people at David's office were professional, polite, and
    easy to get along with.

    I was extremely impressed with them.

  3. Intelligent and introspective employment law representation

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Wachtel.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    David is the most intelligent attorney that I have ever had the pleasure of working with related to employment law issues. He was thoughtful, introspective and professional during our interaction; which was an extremely stressful situation dealing with my separation from my long term employer.
    I highly recommend him, which is why I am working with him again around work related issues with my current employer. He will listen to the facts, analyze the issues and provide you with accurate and honest feedback.

  4. Outstanding Representation by David Wachtel

    Posted by Leslie, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Wachtel.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    David Wachtel successfully represented me on a difficult and complicated Equal Employment Opportunity case against the Department of State that involved national security issues. I would recommend him to anyone without hesitation. He is intelligent, professional, realistic, and always calm. He gave me full and balanced legal advice and always explained the reasons for his recommendations or for the different courses of actions I had to choose from. He consistently found creative arguments and legal precedent that bolstered by case. I am convinced that without his representation, I would not have had the successful outcome I did. I am not only satisfied with the financial aspect of my settlement, but the other aspects as well, such as making sure inaccurate employment records were corrected and that I obtained restitution I was entitled to under the Privacy Act. He was always one step ahead of the opposing counsel, advising me of upcoming cases in appellete courts and even the Supreme Court that had the potential to either positively or negatively affect the outcome of my case. David and his team are true experts. David was consultative as well. He listened to my own views of the case and when we disagreed, always wanted to hear the rationale for my opinion. He consistently provided sound advice and brought my expectations back down to earth when necessary. David also understands the emotional nature of the cases he handles and is discreet and sensitive. He went out of his way to represent me with integrity and the highest quality work. I cannot think him enough and I recommend him without hesitation.

  5. Highly Recommended for Complex Situations

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Wachtel.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I engaged Mr. Wachtel in a hurry, when it became clear that I was facing a quickly developing complex labor related situation that, in my judgment, required legal support.

    I have found Mr. Wachtel doing research over the internet, called Bernabei & Wachtel, the [small] firm he is a partner at, went to see him, and from the first moment, I knew that he is the kind of counsel I was looking for: highly competent, favoring substance over appearance, down-to-earth, dedicated and a decent person.

    Even before finalizing the retainer formalities, despite a couple of hours notice, he made himself available to accompany me at a critical meeting with my employer which established the tone for the ulterior evolution of my situation.

    As my situation became a "case" and was trailing, with multiple attorneys involved from the opposing side, Mr. Wachtel kept things in check. I was able to communicate with him during not only normal business hours but at the most unreasonable times, over weekends and holidays. At all times, he navigated through the maze of issues with great confidence backed by research, and always having a trump in his sleeve. He kept me in the loop at all times and we worked together on various required documents.

    He was very thorough in researching and reaching understanding of both the big picture and all details of the case, using not only legal provisions and precedents but also directly approaching personal contacts with experience and knowledge of similar issues as the ones I was facing. Additionally he correctly assessed the dynamics of the circumstances of the case.

    Most importantly, he properly advised when to stop and what kind of settlement to pursue to ensure unhindered success in my career after an agreement was reached.

    At last but not at least he has shown empathy and I have no doubt that he really cared for me as a client.

  6. He helped me change gears

    Posted by Shoshana, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Wachtel.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I asked David Wachtel to negotiate what I thought would be a simple severance agreement with a long-time employer based on mutual agreement that I would leave. We ended up with a much more complicated and nasty problem, but David stuck to what he thought I was entitled to receive. He guided me through, explained everything and took account of what was important to me (not always the same as the easiest legal position).
    I was shocked on a Sunday evening when I received bad news and sent him an e-mail that I expected to be read on Monday to find his response from home that night. He was never out of touch and never passed me on to anyone else. In the end, the settlement was close to what I wanted.
    If there is one place in which he was less than terrific (and that is a really relative thought), it is that he occasionally could have offered more of an opinion about what I said I wanted to do or to have. I was/am a novice at negotiating this sort of thing - that's why I hired him - and sometimes what I thought would work was a bad idea. It was hard to get him to say so. On the other hand, it was nice to think my lawyer cared about what I wanted - so I'm not sure how critical I want to be.
    I would strongly recommend David Wachtel to anyone who finds him/herself in a position in which they know they need legal help with an employment issue, but don't know how to proceed. David goes from beginning to end in a way that is clear, helpful and very patient.

  7. Adverse Personnel Action Assistance

    Posted by Barry, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Wachtel.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    In 2010 I was embroiled in a hostile work environment with a supervisor who had broken personnel rules trying to discipline me for imagined mistakes and was attempting to have me removed from Federal service.

    Thanks to Mr. Wachtel's assistance with my appeal to management, I was able to win my complaint, got all her adverse actions against me overturned, got a SATISFACTORY evaluation entered against her will. He helped me present the facts of the case in an orderly manner, and counselled me on the points to emphasize and the ones to ignore. Mr. Wachtel supported me in being moved out of the hostile workplace, and made clear to management that the supervisor was in the wrong legally and I was in the right.

    Thanks to his advice on how to move forward I have since been confirmed in permanent status, with my record clear, and EXCELLENT performance evaluations.
    .
    This effort -- coupled with those of other employees -- has finally led, a year later, to the removal of the supervisor, putting an end to the hostile work environment for the rest of us.

    The whole experience, though painful, has turned out for the best for all concerned - except for the supervisor.

    I heartily recommend him to anybody in a simialr situation.

  8. Disability Discrimination

    Posted by Francine, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Wachtel.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    David Wachtel, JD, partner at Bernabei & Wachtel PLLC, accepted my disability discrimination case against a federal agency, which had removed my reasonable accommodations. His sincere interest in my case and his efforts to bring justice and fairness were greatly appreciated. At all times, he personally managed my case and spoke to me directly instead of speaking to me through staff. He was always available, he worked long hours, and he contacted me on nights and weekends.

    Mr. Wachtel, an honest and trustworthy attorney, is one of the top experts in employment law and complex legal cases in the country. He has a keen eye for reviewing, managing, and responding to complex legal documentation, he understood and navigated the legal nuances of my case, and he wrote some of the best, most legally accurate, and convincing legal correspondence and rebuttals I have ever read. He is current on employment law and familiar with all the latest cases. I interviewed many potential attorneys who were interested in taking this case, but it was no contest after I spoke with Mr. Wachtel. He never wavered, and he stood firm despite this case being against a federal agency (most attorneys give up due to the fact that these types of cases are potentially lengthy and expensive). He expertly prevented a trial and he drafted a very agreeable settlement.

    Mr. Wachtel is very intuitive, brilliant in his legal acumen, and demonstrates the utmost integrity. He truly cares for his clients and their legal situations; he changed my life by believing in me. He instilled a sense of confidence in me, during this very difficult time in my life, and gave me hope. Without a doubt, he is a compassionate, warm, and thoughtful attorney, who is still an extremely tough advocate and passionate about legal justice.

    I hope I never need to enlist the services of an attorney again, but if I do, Mr. Wachtel is the only attorney I would call to mange my case. I do not hesitate to recommend Mr. David Wachtel to anyone who needs this type of legal guidance. I recommend him highly as one of the country's most experienced employment attorneys.

  9. Disability Discrimination

    Posted by Mark, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Wachtel.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was terminated from employment and really had no one to turn to. I didn’t have the knowledge or finances to fight a lengthy battle. I came to Dave Wachtel with the hope he would believe in me, and accept my case on contingency basis. It was a huge investment and there were a number of risks involved. Mr. Wachtel believed in me, and spent several thousands of dollars in representing me as the case progressed. The fight was not an easy one, but lasted nearly 6 years.

    I think the thing that impressed me the most is working directly with the attorney and not a paralegal. Most times I worked directly with Mr. Wachtel as we responded back and forth with the Department of the Navy. Most law firms I have dealt with in the past and present have their aid contact you. I think it gives a personal touch when you are working directly with your attorney, and you have a greater chance of success.

    His vast knowledge of the law was a key ingredient in winning my case. The odd’s was definitely against me being 100 percent disabled from the Veterans Affairs, and the enormous legal staff for the Department of the Navy. However, he was focused on his mission and felt passionately about my rights. In the end we won my case as five commissioners reviewed my case. Mr. Wachtel was able to persuade EEOC that the Navy violated the Rehabilitation Act, and that I am a qualified individual with a disability.

    If you need legal services, and an attorney who not only will represent you, but is with you every step of the way, then I recommend Bernabei & Wachtel PLLC!

202-745-1942