Shawn Michael Dorward’s Reviews

Shawn Michael Dorward

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. In the beginning he seemed proactive, then he seemed disinterested.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Shawn Dorward.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    In the beginning of my potential case I was seeking representation in case charges were brought up. As time progressed and details became apparent he wouldn't return calls, or answer his phones, or emails. I wouldn't recommend Shawn,

  2. A Very Professional Lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Dorward.
    • I hired Shawn 1-6 months ago.
    • Shawn handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Attorney Dorward is representing me for a DUI arrest. He is a true professional. While I am currently in the middle of the court process at this time, Attorney Dorward's performance thus far has been very impressive. He is totally familiar with DUI laws and related legal processes. In addition, his concern and responsiveness are also impressive - he goes out of his way to make sure you understand the process, and options. That is very important to me. I would recommend him without hesitation.

  3. DUI and Drug Charges Dismissed

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Dorward.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I called The McShane Firm the night before my hearing. I talked to Shawn Dorward and he showed up to the hearing the next morning. My charges included DUI with drugs, speeding and other violations.

    Shawn argued that the police did not follow the correct procedures when administering the roadside tests. The judge agreed to this and thus dismissed the case entirely. Shawn is an excellent lawyer and I would recommend him to anyone facing a DUI.

  4. DUI with a BAC over .16, Dismissed

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Dorward.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Shawn Dorward is highly knowledgeable about DUI. You know that when you first talk to him. I had consulted with two lawyers before I talked to Shawn. One advised me to plead guilty and the other didn't really give me any information on how he planned to handle the case.

    Shawn was different. He was very responsive and returned every call I made, even at odd times. He discussed a clear plan with me which made me truly believe he knew his stuff. He told me there was no way that he was going to enter a guilty plea and that the best course of action was to fight it out. His attitude was like that of a boxer, he had his gloves on ready to fight.

    I was very fortunate to choose Shawn as my attorney. As it turned out, we won the fight and got all the charges dismissed. Shawn is truly a champion.

  5. Child Custody

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Dorward.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Great lawyer! He always returned every call and the outcome of my case was Great! As a father getting primary custody of my daughter there is nothing else i could of asked for Thanks!

  6. CDL Dui

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Dorward.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I ran into a situation where I was charged with a DUI. As a CDL holder I could not afford to have this on my record as it would put my job and career in serious jeopardy.

    Attorney Shawn Dorward handled my case in a very professional manner. We were able to get the charges dropped because machine the police used was not properly maintained. Shawn’s effort saved me and my job. If I had lost my job I don’t know what I would do.

    My advice: Hire this lawyer. He knows what he is doing.

  7. I was looking for a lawyer and I found a friend

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Dorward.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    During the first five years of my marriage, I never thought about divorce. All of a sudden I got laid off and things quickly started spiraling out of control. I was emotionally worn, depressed, and was very low on self-esteem.

    I talked to several lawyers in the area and couldn’t find the right fit. Thankfully, I found Attorney Shawn Dorward. He spent time listening to what I had to say and understood my situation and needs. He thoroughly explained the process and reassured me. His confidence and friendliness was very reassuring and was a boost to my confidence. The case went exactly as Shawn explained and we were able to secure financial terms that were very fair.

    Thanks Shawn for all your hard work and especially for listening and caring.

  8. DUI with open container

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Dorward.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A couple months back I was pulled over, had a .11 BAC and an open container in the car. I hired Shawn Dorward of the McShane Firm in Harrisburg and he was great. He got the whole case thrown out and I was able to escape any serious punishment.

  9. The Best Divorce Lawyer in my books

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Dorward.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This was not my first marriage that ended up in a bitter divorce. However, I can say that Shawn handled this case much better than my previous case. The important things to me were getting this over with and protecting my assets. Shawn made sure that I was protected and treated fairly.

    When we first met we drew up a plan of how we wanted this to all work out. I can say that everything went according to our plans. I highly recommend Shawn. He’s the one you want in your corner.