Steven Jay Mandel’s Reviews

Steven Jay Mandel

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Worst Attorney!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Steven Mandel.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I came to this firm thinking my problems would be taken seriously, instead I was given an incompetent lawyer who dodge 80% of every call that I made to the firm. I eventually had enough and fired Steven and his firm. I would not recommend Steven to any of my friends and family. That would be an injustice to them.

    1. Steven Jay Mandel

      Steven Mandel

      Lawyer Comment:

      I proudly built my reputation for excellence one client at a time. As a firm, we represent approximately 300 people a year and I truly care about each and every one of them.

      I only wish you would have called ME directly when you experienced a problem and I would have done something about it immediately to rectify the situation.

      I am truly sorry that as a firm we did not meet your expectations. I will be addressing this with the entire staff to make sure this lack of communication never happens again.

      Thank you for brining this matter to my attention.

      Sincerely,
      Steve Mandel

      Posted 7 months ago. Flag

  2. ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING ATTORNEY AND LEGAL FIRM !

    Posted by Susan, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Mandel.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I hired Steve Mandel and his firm to handle a very complicated interstate and international situation for me. From the very start they were kind and compassionate BEYOND MEASURE. The entire team. From his wife to his partners I was treated like family. I ended up working mostly with Karen and this woman saved my sanity while she went to work FIGHTING for me and the safety of my children. I feel like this firm saved both my children and also myself. They return calls IMMEDIATELY, they answer every question you have, they bill honestly, they talk to you like you are a human and not just a client. I truly can not say enough good things about this firm and their manner in doing business. YOU ARE IN THE BEST HANDS with this firm ! There is NO better.

  3. Very Confident, Dependable and Ethical Lawyer with Huge Knowledge and Expierence

    Posted by Arthur, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Mandel.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found Mr. Mandel very ethical attorney who was not only representing my case but actively helping during most difficult time of my life. He was exploring all the possible options without aggravating the opposing party, reaching there several times trying to calm the case down. I was even adviced by him how to avoid unnecessary expenses. He was able to deliever much better results than I was expecting. He is very professional and able to aggressively fight for his client if needed.
    I was very lucky to have him on my case from very beginning. Thank You, Again.

  4. Terrific attorney that delivers!!

    Posted by Jeanette, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Mandel.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Steve is as honorable as he is a great attorney. When fighting for you, he is confident, thorough and delivers results.  Out of the courtroom, he is genuinely a compassionate and thoughtful person, who is whole-heartedly on your side.  I wish we had hired him sooner!

    1. Steven Jay Mandel

      Steven Mandel

      Lawyer Comment:

      But, you know how to reach me now, if you EVER need ANYTHING!

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  5. Review of Steven Jay Mandel

    Posted by Dawne, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Mandel.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Steven Mandel and his law firm have helped me and my family with several different matters. His firm was there at the beginning of my relationship with a pre-nup and then with immigration for my husband, and has supported me emotionally and practically with the thoughts of my divorce. They are professional and knowledgable in all areas.

    1. Steven Jay Mandel

      Steven Mandel

      Lawyer Comment:

      Please know that I am here whenever you need me.

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  6. "all ways and always"

    Posted by Jenevieve, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Mandel.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It is with great enthusiasm that I can say without a doubt that Steve Mandel is one of the finest people anyone can ever be lucky enough to have as their attorney. It’s not just his calm reassuring professionalism—it’s his contagious winning attitude.



    When I first met Steve, I was in the depths of despair feeling scared and vulnerable, but from my very first contact, Steve Mandel made me feel that he was there for me. With all of the thousands of lawyers in New York you will find no one as special, indeed as inspirational as Steve Mandel. I quickly developed a confident winning attitude and it hasn’t left me since. There’s just something about knowing that someone this special is in your corner that keeps you inspired long after your case has been won.



    His reputation for truth, reliability, and knowledge can not be overstated or surpassed and I am proud to recommend Steve Mandel and his team of professionals, he sincerely means it when he says he is “there for you all ways and always.”

  7. Sensible and Sincere

    Posted by Vincent, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Mandel.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have been using The Mandel Law Firm for 3+ years. I have come to know several of the lawyers and staff and interacted with many directly with more than satisfactory results. Steve's broad experience in the legal sense and moreover his sense of what I need to think about and not think about is delivered in a frank and caring manner. Their expertise may be centered on Family Law but beyond that, I've found them more than compitent.

    1. Steven Jay Mandel

      Steven Mandel

      Lawyer Comment:

      You know I'll get you through this!

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  8. KNOWLEDGEABLE, TRUSTWORTHY, ETHICAL, FAIR. WILL HANDLE YOUR CASE EXPEDITIOUSLY

    Posted by Patricia, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Mandel.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When I needed someone to help me with my Will, I was referred to Steven Mandel. He helped me with that, charged me a reasonable fee and gained my confidence because I felt he was intelligent and knowledgeable. More than that however, he seemed to be a good Human Being - which is hard to say about many attorneys.

    Since that first meeting, Mr. Mandel helped me with several other important matters, including successfully representing me in a very difficult and upsetting Age Discrimination lawsuit which I was forced to file against my employer of many years.

    Through every matter that Mr. Mandel has handled for me, he has acted only with my best interest in mind. As I say in the title of this review, I found him to be completely trustworthy, ethical, fair, extremely intelligent and very knowledgeable of the law. Additionally Mr. Mandel has handled all of my cases in a very expeditious manner, unlike many attorneys who will drag things out for whatever reason they may have to do so.

    I would recommend The Mandel Law Firm to anyone who is seeking an excellent and honest attorney.

    1. Steven Jay Mandel

      Steven Mandel

      Lawyer Comment:

      Send my love to your wonderful family!

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  9. Warren Weideman, televiison Producer

    Posted by Warren, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Mandel.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have worked with Steven and his law firm for many years..he is the best lawyer I have ever worked with over the years...and a top notch person as well. Would recommend him to anyone looking for a good lawyer and law ferm and person. Warren Weideman

    1. Steven Jay Mandel

      Steven Mandel

      Lawyer Comment:

      It's so nice when a client becomes a friend!

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  10. Excellent Family Law Attorney

    Posted by Lee, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Mandel.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Steve Mandel is a well respected family law attorney. His excellent and comprehensive knowledge of all aspects of family law has not only helped me, but I have referred many people to him - all of whom were very pleased with his services. He is professional and listens to his clients needs (problems) and discusses all alternatives and possible outcomes available. In court he quickly assesses the issues at hand and aggressively fights for his clients. I highly recommend Steve Mandel not only for family law (divorce, custody, etc), but for any legal matter you have.

    1. Steven Jay Mandel

      Steven Mandel

      Lawyer Comment:

      Hope all is well with you and yours!

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

212-697-7383