Back to Jason’s Profile

Jason has received 73 client reviews

DO NOT HIRE THIS LAZY LAWYER

Posted by: Matthew 10 days ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Jason Benjamin

I know it sounds sweet...he's gonna take your $3500 on a flat fee, and promise the moon. However, once he gets your money, he will take WEEKS to return your calls. He has 70 other cases he's dealing with (straight from his mouth), he doesn't know the details about your case, rest assured. He's got an ego bigger than any room he walks into. He will file your legal documentation late....yeah, the same stuff you were calling him on for weeks to get done...smh. Hiring Jason Benjamin to fight for my kids was the BIGGEST waste of my family's money! Much more to write, but don't have the energy, as I am still knee deep in a custody battle. No respect for Jason Benjamin as a lawyer or as a man!
  1. Jason P Benjamin

    Jason P Benjamin

    LawyerComment:

    My practice emphasizes high conflict child custody cases. I love my job. I find it challenging, but very personally rewarding. I am in the prime of my legal career. I am 44 years old and have been practicing this type of law almost 20 years (20 in Nov 2015). I am extremely good at what I do. As such, I have the luxury of choosing my cases.

    Ninety eight percent of my clients are extremely happy with me. My clients include medical doctors, lawyers, Microsoft employees, Boeing workers, Colonels (O-6) and run the gamut of white collar to blue collar to disabled. I have handled marital estates worth a negative 6 figures to positive marital estates of high 7 figures.

    Notwithstanding, I enjoy taking occasional "hard cases" (usually with my paralegal warning me not to) where people sometimes have trouble finding a lawyer to handle his or her case due to the difficult nature of the fact pattern. I believe this greatly helps me excel in the "easier" cases. I am also willing to occasionally represent the "non-favored" parent (such as the drug user or domestic abuser) in the fact pattern to attempt to get the client engaged in treatment, risk management and minimize loss or penalties. Treatment in particular greatly reduces the risk of future problems and, if successful, significantly adds to the client's future quality of life and their children's quality of life. Taking on those kind of client really helps me in my practice because everything else seems that much simpler and easier which gives me extra confidence and control in the court room.

    "Matthew" has multiple domestic violence / no-contact order violation charges and an assault on an off-duty police officer in 2013 resulting in a felony charge. Despite all that, I was able to keep him in a 50/50 residential schedule with his children until February 2015 when he was once again arrested for violating multiple protection orders, no contact orders and harassment orders.

    I had worked a miracle for "Matthew" up to his most recent arrest in February 2015. I was intimately familiar with the facts of his case.

    I charged "Matthew" $3500 for pretrial representation and by March 25, 2015 the opposing lawyer had submitted an attorney fee affidavit exceeding $21,336.35. I am not an indentured servant and chose to no longer represent "Matthew" which is my right and which caused him to post this review.

    "Matthew" has always had my personal cell phone number (which I give to all clients) and we had spoken on the phone, by text, by email and in person many, many times. "Matthew" was free to schedule in person meetings whenever he chose--I'm often available for weekend appointments. "Matthew's" case was never damaged by late filings and I certainly did not "promise the moon" to him, particularly, on this fact pattern.

    I stand by every aspect of my representation of "Matthew". If he would like to sign a waiver of the attorney-client-privilege we can have a truly open online discussion of how I handled his case. I would also challenge "Matthew" to post his last name and case number so potential clients may review the file at the clerk's office or online and decide for themselves whether or not I did a good job for him.

    These types of reviews are the cost of doing business when one's practice emphasizes high conflict child custody. As always, I welcome the debate and am always looking for ways to improve my legal abilities. Sadly, and unfairly in my opinion, lawyers are significantly hamstrung by the rules of ethics and rules of professional conduct in what they can say to defend themselves from these types of negative reviews.

    I tell each and every one of my new client's that my goal from the outset is that they are going to want to write me a review on AVVO. No lawyer has a 100% satisfaction rate if they practice family law and if they tell you otherwise--well. . . . .

    Posted 5 days ago. Flag

Best choice I ever made!!!

Posted by: Daniel about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Jason Benjamin

Jason Benjamin is world class great!!! My case went over a yr and Jason fought for me every step of the way. He's knowledgeable, trustworthy and thorough. We went to trial and WON!!! Being a man trying to get custody of your children is an uphill battle and if you're looking for a warrior to go into battle with, look no further. Jason Benjamin is the guy for you!!! Than kyou so much for a job well done!!!

PLEASE DO NOT HIRE!

Posted by: a client about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Average
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Jason Benjamin

I met with Jason on short notice and hired him to be my attorney. I had effectively been taking care of my son after my estranged wife developed a drug addiction. Jason promised a quick and expeditious result, but after paying him thousands of dollars for botched hearings I found myself at trial. At trial, I wound up as the losing my son because Jason forgot to lost the record showing my ex going in and out of rehab for years. When I confronted him after the ruling, he shrugged and simply said WA was a tough state for men to become the custodial parent. I do not recommend this attorney.
  1. Jason P Benjamin

    Jason P Benjamin

    LawyerComment:

    This is a false review. I have not ever represented a person with this type of fact pattern. I certainly would not "forgot to lost the record" [sic].

    My practice emphasizes high conflict divorce and child custody cases. As such I deal with a lot of angry and vindictive people who are in the worst place in their lives (in the midst of such conflict).

    This person is hiding behind anonymity. I dare them to come forward and use their real name or case number so I can respond directly.

    Further, I fully acknowledge that 100% of my clients are not always happy. That would be impossible and any lawyer who tells you differently is lying. I can state unequivocally, I fight as hard as I can for each and every client.

    Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

Lost My Child

Posted by: Charlize 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Jason Benjamin

I came to Jason for what should have been an open and shut case. I hired him and was his client for about a year. I was the primary care taker for my children; however, Jason was late to my court hearing, upset the commissioner, and did not submit evidence I gave him to the record. The evidence was hospital records that proved my ex was abusive to me and my children as well as police reports, but the evidence was never submitted to the record, nor was my declaration in reply to my ex's motion. When it was all over I was no longer the custodial parent of my child.
  1. Jason P Benjamin

    Jason P Benjamin

    LawyerComment:

    This is a false review. I have not ever represented a person by the name of Charlize. When this review was initially placed, I had 7 one star reviews posted with in 72 hours on my Avvo profile. It was clearly under attack. Avvo removed all but this one and the one titled "PLEASE DO NOT HIRE!" The other 5 had come from the same IP addresses as these and the first group of 4 were posted within minutes of each other at midnight on a Friday night and the second group of 3 were posted within minutes of each other at 2 am on a Sunday night.

    My clients have been enjoying a string of crushing victories in court where opposing parties were refusing to settle on reasonable terms. I usually get a string of bad reviews from opposing parties after those types of victories. Avvo is generally good about removing them, but when a review is reaffirmed I then have to sue for defamation to get the IP address to go after the fraudster. I haven't spent the time to do that yet.

    My practice emphasizes high conflict divorce and child custody cases. As such I deal with a lot of angry and vindictive people who are in the worst place in their lives (in the midst of such conflict).

    I dare Charlize to come forward with her case number so I can respond directly--but she won't because it is a fraudulent review.

    Further, I fully acknowledge that 100% of my clients are not always happy. Dealing with high conflict divorce/custody makes it inherently impossible to keep every client 100% happy and any lawyer who tells you differently is lying. I can state unequivocally, I fight as hard as I can for each and every client.

    Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

If you need an aggressive lawyer...

Posted by: Brittany 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Jason Benjamin

I am writing this review prior to the last court date I have. It's a bit premature but I trust in the outcome due to having worked with him for just under a year. I am in a custody battle with my ex and this entire time Jason has been through it with me. So here are the facts He's a shark in the court room, he doesn't like the term but it fits, he goes in for the kill He can remember and spout out details you told him months prior He doesn't waste time with anything that won't help your case..which means your time isn't wasted He won't lie to you, if you need to worry about something he will tell you, otherwise relax and he will stress for you I read some of the prior reviews before posting this and had to laugh. If your an educated person you'd notice that the terminology used in those posts sound very much like a paralegal or lawyer...hmm now why would another lawyer write bad reviews on their competition? But then again it wouldn't surprise me if Jason had killed them in court . Overall as I have been doing currently to friends I continue to recommend Jason to anyone seeking a Lawyer who should be paid more than he charges his client for the work put in.

Worst lawyer I have ever delt with

Posted by: Mel 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor

I do not recommend Jason Benjamin

In my experience with Jason cost me 75 percent of everything I worked for in my life. This rating scale does not represent the horrible and lack of incompetence he displayed in my case. He didn't even state any facts or brief me during the case. My divorce case went to trial. The week prior to the trail he actually went on vacation and had to force him to meet me the Sunday before my trial. I needed and attorney to fight for me. The results of his actions left me homeless and having to pay my ex everything I made in my military retirement and military disability. My ex actually wrote the divorce decree and the judge signed it with no response from my lawyer. I was unemployed and living in a borrowed van during this process. When the judgement was issued I asked him what am I supposed to do. I'm disabled and unemployed, he stated that I'm just gonna have to find work. This is four plus years and now she is retired in her 50s. The life insurance will become unaffordable as I age and has doubled in premiums. I know have to come out of my pocket every month just to brake even. This judgement is for an undisclosed amount of time, meaning forever. I also have to mention that my ex attorney happened to be an aquatence and school mate of my attorney.
  1. Jason P Benjamin

    Jason P Benjamin

    LawyerComment:

    It is unfortunate that Mel chooses to vent in this forum.

    I do not know why he alleges he was living in a borrowed van when the marital estate was just shy of $1,000,000, including the family home and two rental homes (one with his daughter living in it) all in the local area. He also has a classic car collection with over 13 vehicles. This was a 30 year marriage where the wife stayed at home and raised the children and had no significant work history--although she had occasionally worked outside the home.

    Mel had a substantial monthly income and at least two side businesses.

    Mel left his wife after 30 years when she was diagnosed with breast cancer and due to having the "cancer gene" she had 11 surgeries and intensive rounds of chemo therapy leading right up to the trial. During the trial, Mel stated loudly during his wife's testimony that she was about to undergo her 11th cancer surgery, "Well that's just to tattoo the brown part back on her nipples!" The wife was clearly affected by the chemo therapy and had medical records to verify her testimony.

    Needless to say, Mel's obvious cold indifference to his wife's tragic health situation damaged his position to the Court. Mel insisted that his wife should be greeter at Walmart or some similar such job. The judge was not impressed.

    I certainly did provide an aggressive case on behalf of Mel. However, as mentioned above, there were some tough facts to deal with on the wife's side of the case. If Mel were to stand back and truly reflect, he is not angry with me or my service or my legal ability, he is angry at the law and the unfortunate factual situation in which he found himself at the time of trial.

    Our trial judge was Judge Orlando who has at least one son, if not two, in the Special Forces (Green Beret) just as Mel was. Further, Judge Orlando was awarded as the best judge in the State of Washington a few years ago. Although I do not always agree with his decisions, I have found Judge Orlando to be exceedingly fair and thoughtful in his decisions. I have completed more than 30 trials in his courtroom--one time three trials back to back to back.

    I did go on a long-planned vacation with my family the week prior to Mel's trial, but Mel certainly did not "force" me to meet with him on Sunday. I routinely meet with clients on weekends. I was fully prepared for Mel's trial.

    When the final papers were presented for entry, Mel wanted me to completely reargue his case. Instead, with his consent, I submitted Mel's type written response to the Judge. Mel could have appealed the Judge's decision, but chose not to.

    I did attend law school with the wife's attorney, just as I did with the other 200 classmates. Then add 200 for each of the two years ahead of me and 200 for each of the two years behind me while I was there.

    The biggest takeaway from Mel's review I would ask of potential clients is to see that anyone can really write anything on these reviews. BUT, a lawyer cannot post a false review and cannot offer people money to post a review. Lawyers are subjected to severe penalties by the bar association if they are in anyway connected to a false positive review. My reputation stands on its own merits and the vast majority of my clients are extremely pleased as shown by most of my reviews on AVVO.

    Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

Short term marriage

Posted by: a client 4 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Jason Benjamin

I hired another lawyer first for a case everyone said would be quick and easy, but it just seemed to drag on and on. Growing frustrated with my first attorney, I finally made a decision to switch. I was very fortunate to meet Jason. He was very diligent and timely, and I suddenly did not feel like I was being taken advantage of anymore. He was able to get a fair result in one meeting, which had previously taken the other attorney many weeks/months to go nowhere. Thank you Jason!

Highly Recommended

Posted by: Amy 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Jason Benjamin

My son’s father failed to return my son home or take him to school one day. He then enrolled my son into another school near his house and hired an attorney to begin the process of gaining custody. It was a mother’s nightmare came true. My case was very complicated. I was representing myself at first, overwhelmed with the process of the court and overwhelmed with emotion. It became clear to me that I was going to lose my son if I did not seek council. I interviewed a few attorneys and Jason Benjamin immediately stood out. He was dead honest with me and yet optimistic about taking my case. Whereas I had other attorneys who did not seem as confident in their ability to represent me. I sought council on a friday and my next hearing was on monday. Jason was able to meet with me on that sunday afternoon for several hours to prepare for the hearing and somehow made sense of my mountain of disorganized paperwork. When I left his office I was so relieved to have him as my attorney. I knew that getting my son home to me immediately was a long shot but somehow Jason did it! That monday in court was more intense than any law TV series I had ever seen. Jason Benjamin has a remarkable ability with words that will leave you wowed. My son came home to me that evening! At the next hearing my son’s father and his attorney (both very stubborn souls) approached Mr. Benjamin and I to mediate! I was floored. We had an opportunity to blow my ex's case out of the water but instead Jason urged me to mediate as to keep as much peace between us as possible. He reminded me how important it is to my son to have this peace and he was absolutely right. Jason Benjamin isn’t just an outstanding lawyer. He is a good man. Overall I was able to get everything I was hoping for in my case, and then some! I’m positive that this would have been impossible to obtain with any other lawyer. Jason and his entire office are very professional, precise and timely. They go above and beyond for their clients and for a very modest retaining fee. I was not charged anything more than what was needed for my case and my case did not unnecessarily drag on. In fact, it was like a snap of his fingers and our lives were back to normal. Jason Benjamin is worth so much more than what I paid him.

When it truly matters you need Jason Benjamin!

Posted by: Robert, a Child Custody client 6 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Jason Benjamin

I hired Jason 6-12 months ago.

Jason handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

When my ex decided to move across the country she also decided that she intended to take the kids with her. In the past I had done all my legal stuff myself and many of the other lawyers I spoke to (Jason included) were not all that confident that I would have been able to be successful in preventing the relocation. As I mentioned before I spoke with several lawyers before deciding on Jason at the recommendation from others as well as his Avvo reviews. I am extremely happy that I chose him to represent me and would recommend anyone else dealing with family law issues to get him as well. Jason does not sugar coat anything, doesn't use flowery words and will call you on your own failures as well. Anyone that has dealt with custody/divorce should know that the people that want you to succeed aren't the ones that only tell you what you want to hear. Jason helped me to improve the relationship with my kids as well as my fiance.

RELOCATION EXPERT AND GREAT COUNSEL

Posted by: a Child Custody client 10 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Jason Benjamin

I hired Jason 1-3 years ago.

Jason handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Wow….I have no words to describe the job Jason has done. I know this may sound cliché, but I could not have worked with a better lawyer. My ex wanted to relocate our daughter to a different part of the country and she is the custodial parent. Jason was able to navigate and overcome what seemed to be an insurmountable challenge and restrain relocation. Though, we still have challenges ahead, I know I would not want any other person representing me in this. Thank you Jason, as you truly did an amazing job and overcame the odds on this one. Jason truly excels because of his preparedness, his ability to navigate and think fluidly during litigation, great communication with all parties (to include client, opposing counsel, and his team), and his overall knowledge and confidence as a lawyer. I want to also mention Jason’s team....Melissa and the support staff, as they were the glue that helped pull everything together timely, professionally, and kept me informed on the case.