Jason P Benjamin’s Reviews

Jason P Benjamin

Average Rating

Based on 67 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. When it truly matters you need Jason Benjamin!

    Posted by Robert, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Benjamin.
    • I hired Jason 1-6 months ago.
    • Jason handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When my ex decided to move across the country she also decided that she intended to take the kids with her. In the past I had done all my legal stuff myself and many of the other lawyers I spoke to (Jason included) were not all that confident that I would have been able to be successful in preventing the relocation. As I mentioned before I spoke with several lawyers before deciding on Jason at the recommendation from others as well as his Avvo reviews. I am extremely happy that I chose him to represent me and would recommend anyone else dealing with family law issues to get him as well.
    Jason does not sugar coat anything, doesn't use flowery words and will call you on your own failures as well. Anyone that has dealt with custody/divorce should know that the people that want you to succeed aren't the ones that only tell you what you want to hear. Jason helped me to improve the relationship with my kids as well as my fiance.

  2. RELOCATION EXPERT AND GREAT COUNSEL

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Benjamin.
    • I hired Jason 6-12 months ago.
    • Jason handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Wow….I have no words to describe the job Jason has done. I know this may sound cliché, but I could not have worked with a better lawyer. My ex wanted to relocate our daughter to a different part of the country and she is the custodial parent. Jason was able to navigate and overcome what seemed to be an insurmountable challenge and restrain relocation. Though, we still have challenges ahead, I know I would not want any other person representing me in this. Thank you Jason, as you truly did an amazing job and overcame the odds on this one. Jason truly excels because of his preparedness, his ability to navigate and think fluidly during litigation, great communication with all parties (to include client, opposing counsel, and his team), and his overall knowledge and confidence as a lawyer. I want to also mention Jason’s team....Melissa and the support staff, as they were the glue that helped pull everything together timely, professionally, and kept me informed on the case.

  3. Child Custody Won 2014

    Posted by Alofa,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Benjamin.

    I thank God for my prayers led me to Jason Benjamin, whom helped me wholeheartedly win victory in my case that prolonged for almost 2 yrs and went to trial on March 2014. My three children went for a visit to their father in Seattle temporarily and I'm stationed in Hawaii actively serving the military. The father put a motion against me to fight for full custody and falsely accused me of many negative allegations, which was accompanied by a restraining order. Basically, he wanted to modify my full custody. I am a single parent who have been taking care of my children for 7 yrs. When I first met Jason, I was in need of legal help and in tears. Jason had patience, reviewed my documents, showed professionalism and gave me his word "I promise you that I will do my best". I live in Hawaii and Jason and his paralegal Melissa were awesome.!!! They communicated with me via phone, emails, and always kept an appointment opened for me when I conducted my visitations with my children in Seattle. He is very responsive, confident, trustworthy, knowledgeable and experienced. He is straight to the point and knew exactly which state/legislation laws and exhibits to use and questions to ask my opponent, in order to support my case. He is an active listener and even found substantial evidences during the verbal testimonies from the father's witnesses, in which the truth and facts were revealed. My kids were able to visit me in Hawaii twice on spring break and summer vacation, because of Jason. His closing speech at the trial was spectacular. The opposing attorney was very rude, unprofessional and kept repeating the same thing with no relevance to the case. But Jason maintained his composure and respect. Jason showed compassion and worked with my attorney fees based on what I can only afford. I highly recommend Jason to represent anyone in a Custody Battle. Fighting for my kids from another state was tough, and I believe that God led me to Jason to help me. There's not enough words to express my gratitude to Jason Benjamin. I have a lot of friends and service members in Fort Lewis, Seattle and will be spreading the word to the soldiers here in Hawaii about Jason. I highly recommend Jason and it's people like him, who makes my service and honor to my country worth fighting for! He's a 5 Star, Top Notch and Elite Attorney. Thank you so much for reuniting me with my children. You have been a blessing in your lives:)

  4. Best Family Lawyer in Washington State!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Benjamin.
    • I hired Jason 1-3 years ago.
    • Jason handled my Child Custody matter.

    I retained Jason Benjamin as my attorney 30 days before my initial trial date in a volatile custody case. Unfortunately, my previous attorney was intimidated by the opposing counsel’s aggressive tactics and began making me feel unsure of her abilities at trial. I was frantic and decided I needed new counsel. I met with a handful of potential attorneys. Jason was the last one I met with and I felt almost immediately at ease and knew I was in good hands. I retained him right away and quickly learned that Jason is an incredibly effective attorney. He is beyond personable, and even in the most difficult and emotional time in someone’s life, such as a custody case, he can make you feel confident and at ease. I hadn’t been sleeping very well and was overcome with worry before Jason took over my case. He gave me examples of how the law worked in my situation and told me that I would be okay. Jason Benjamin and his paralegal Melissa Goins at Benjamin & Healy, PLLC-kept the case moving forward and kept me informed each step of the way. Jason continued to meet deadlines, was thorough and seemed to consistently be a step ahead of the opposition. When complexities of the case required a face-to-face meeting, he would make time for me. He did a good job of laying out my options and answering my questions. He doesn’t bring any “drama” to a case…he doesn’t have to. His peers respect him as a no-nonsense type lawyer. He sticks to the facts and quickly shut down the opposition and turned things around for me in doing so. Jason’s style is practical; he doesn’t sugar coat things, and he knows what the weaknesses of a case are and what strengths he can utilize. Jason is extremely professional and prepared. He is highly capable of dealing with hostile opposing sides and will go to battle for you in court. I am a single mom and Jason has been mindful of my finances and has fought against unrealistic expectations and requests from the opposing counsel to keep my expenses as low as possible. I think the combination of his confidence based on many years of experience and his professional style helped change what was initially a very contentious custody battle that could have easily ended up in trial, into a straightforward platform for settlement. Jason has proven to be right; I am doing just fine. I highly recommend Jason Benjamin to anyone needing a knowledgeable, caring, experienced and effective family lawyer.

  5. Awesome Lawyer for 3rd party custody

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Benjamin.
    • I hired Jason 6-12 months ago.
    • Jason handled my Child Custody matter.

    Jason was the 3rd attorney I had for a 3rd party custody case. The first just wanted money and not file anything. The second was good but not as aggressive a lawyer as I needed. The opposing party had a more aggressive lawyer and I knew I needed to match that with my own aggressive lawyer. I wish I had Jason first. He was knowledgeable and responsive. He even met with me on a Sunday. His fees were within normal expectations. He also suggested I pursue De Facto Parent for my grandchild. Which in the long run would be better than the 3rd party custody. You can hire any lawyer but if you want the best chance to win your case hire Jason.

  6. Chantell child custody case :)

    Posted by Chantell, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Benjamin.
    • I hired Jason 1-3 years ago.
    • Jason handled my Child Custody matter.

    My child custody case was so complicated. Jason and his office were very knowledgeable and with all my calls and questions they helped me every step of the way. I won custody of my amazing daughter and she now has the best chance of being happy and stable. I can't thank his office enough! They saw my goal was making sure my daughter was stable and happy and we did it! Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

    With other lawyers I could have been charged a lot more then I was with how many times we talked but he did not charge us extra with all of our communication. Iam a single mom and he knew that. He fought hard for my child. What more could you ask? Thank you thank you.

  7. Jason Benjamin reunited me with my daughter! He is amazing.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Benjamin.
    • I hired Jason 1-3 years ago.
    • Jason handled my Child Custody matter.

    Jason Benjamin was the 2nd lawyer I hired in my terrible custody battle. My 8 month old baby was taken away from me because of ridiculous lies and a terrible light that my ex husband set me in. The first lawyer I had got me nowhere, after spending thousands of dollars and losing my breastfeeding baby I decided to switch to Jason. He took immediate action, got me my baby back, and never gave up when my ex husband continued to file motion after motion against me when a ruling didn't go his way. Jason was honest with me, was always the perfect balance of aggressive and supportive, and never gave up. If it wasn't for him I would be seeing my baby once a week for a few hours supervised still. When I have never been anything but a beyond capable responsible mother. Jason knew I was being treated unfairly and he did amazing work in getting my life and child back. Unlike most lawyers- he doesn't waste time talking about things that won't help the case just to rack up your bills. He truly cares about helping people, not screwing them and leading them on to make more money. I wish there were more than five stars available to give him because he deserves ten.

  8. Jason is THE BEST - You want him to handle your case!!

    Posted by Jenelle,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Benjamin.
    • I hired Jason 1-3 years ago.

    I retained Jason after having serious abuse and neglect allegations brought against me by my ex-husband. Walking in to his office for a consultation I was emotionally at one of my lowest points possible, after leaving his office I was so at peace and knew after a 30 minute conversation that I was in THE BEST hands possible. Jason has such an immense knowledge of child custody and divorce that he was able to intelligently and effectively handle may case. My situation went to mediation and he spent over 12 hours in mediation with me and I as I would apologize for taking all his day he would just say, "I am here for you how ever long and how ever much you need me" I walked out of mediation with a parenting plan with even more custody than I was expecting (I expected 50/50 and definitely got more than that). Also the abuse and neglect charges were essentially dismissed and given very little ground after he presented my case.

    Even after mediation I encountered issues and he never made me feel like I was bothering him with my incessant emails. In response to those further issues, he gave me the counseling I needed. It may not have always been what I wanted to hear, but I do know that it was the right counseling and he always explained to me why he was saying what he was saying.

    Jason only charged me his retainer fee, even though he put in enough time to charge me much more. I can confidently say that he doesn't do this just for the money; he does it for ALL the right reasons.

    I would without hesitation recommend Jason Benjamin!!

  9. #1 Divorce Lawyer

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Benjamin.
    • I hired Jason more than 3 years ago.
    • Jason handled my Child Custody matter.

    I went to Jason after having an attorney that didn't communicate with me. Jason always kept me informed and told me exactly what I needed to do during my divorce and child custody situation. Anytime I had a question I would email him and he would respond so quickly. He is an excellent lawyer and I'm very happy to have found him.

  10. Do not pay him everything up front if you want anything to get done

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jason Benjamin.
    • I hired Jason more than 3 years ago.
    • Jason handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Maybe he is good for complicated/money making divorces but my "simple" no property/no children divorce took over a year to complete and during that time a child was born which he left for me to take care of myself. Trying to get a hold of him was extremely aggravating and when I did get a callback it was usually just his secretary. Paperwork was obviously rushed because I had to have it redone three times to have errors fixed (names/dates/property division). I would never consider hiring him again.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

253-512-1196