Marc A Johnston’s Reviews

Marc A Johnston

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Marc Johnston - A Very Effective Negotiator

    Posted by John, a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marc Johnston.
    • I hired Marc 1-6 months ago.
    • Marc handled my Insurance matter.

    I found Marc Johnston online and then after our initial meeting hired him to represent me with several insurance companies that should have reimbursed me for my out of pocket costs. Marc was very adept at applying appropriate and increasing pressure on the insurance companies. Marc was very good about keeping me informed about what he was doing on my behalf for quite a few months and his opinion on what next steps to take.

    Ultimately the insurance companies settled just before we filed a lawsuit. The outcome settlement was quite a bit more than I had hoped for or expected. I was very happy not to go through the time and expense of a lawsuit. I attribute these great results to Marc’s professionalism and expertise at negotiating with the insurance companies.

    I recommend Marc without reservation.

  2. Denied Insurance Claim

    Posted by Alanna, a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marc Johnston.
    • I hired Marc 1-6 months ago.
    • Marc handled my Insurance matter.

    I am so thankful for Marc Johnston. I had to have an emergency surgery that my insurance company denied payment on. Marc Johnston took my case and won. I was looking at a bill of about $30,000. When I received a letter from the insurance company staying that they should have paid my claim in the first place I was ecstatic. I am so thankful that Mr. Johnston and his firm fought for me and my rights. I could not have done this on my own. He is dedicated and hard working. He answered all my questions in a timely manner and explained everything that he was going to do. I recommend Marc and his firm very highly.
    Thank you!

  3. A Great Negotiator with Expertise in Getting the Best Results!

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marc Johnston.
    • I hired Marc 1-6 months ago.
    • Marc handled my Personal Injury matter.

    I was referred to Marc after I was involved in a car accident and attempted to negotiate my personal injury claim with an insurance company on my own. Even though the other driver accepted liability, and I spent several months on chiropractic treatment, the insurance adjuster and I wouldn’t agree to a settlement. Given my back injuries and need for continued treatment, I couldn’t accept the settlement offer, but the adjuster would not budge in our negotiations.

    When I hired Marc, he knew exactly what factors to emphasize and wrote an exceptional demand letter once I completed my treatment. Marc negotiated the settlement several times and was able to get a settlement that was far more than I expected and more than twice the amount the adjuster initially offered me. In addition, Marc negotiated with my medical providers and got them to lower their medical bills. I highly recommend Marc for any personal injury claim!

  4. -Professional Friendly Lawyer who works hard for You!

    Posted by Linwood, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marc Johnston.
    • I hired Marc 6-12 months ago.
    • Marc handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.

    I hired Marc after I was hit by a car while out walking my dog. I had serious injuries and Marc came to see me after I called him for an initial consultation. He laid out what to expect with a case like mine and answered all my questions. I had a last minute summons arrive on a Friday to appear in court the following Monday to possibly testify against the person who hit me. I was a little freaked out about going into Court by myself and so I left a message for Marc. He checked his messages over the weekend and got back to me and said he would meet me at court. I was so relieved and he was a great support while there and put my mind at ease. As the case progressed, his assistant Karen Blok was a great help and kept me posted on any updates and things they needed to keep the case moving along. I eventually received a fair settlement but had a lien from my health insurance co. on some of the money. Marc was able to get the health insurance company to walk away from their claim and maximized my settlement money. I am so thankful to have Marc as my attorney and will continue to use his services for anything I have come up in the future. He has a great professional and friendly manner that made the process pain free and ultimately successful in getting a quick and substantial settlement. I recommend Marc without hesitation to anyone who needs a good lawyer that will work hard for you.

  5. Excellent Personal Injury Lawyer

    Posted by Carol, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marc Johnston.
    • I hired Marc 6-12 months ago.
    • Marc handled my Personal Injury matter.

    I was recommended to Marc Johnston after a serious on the job fall that resulted in a compound fracture of my right leg and dislocated foot. Marc took my case immediately and was exceptionally diligent and extremely courteous with his efforts in recovering my compensation. Between both him and his assistant Karen, I was continually informed on the status of the case as well as the numerous conversations he conducted with the two insurance companies involved. I can't say enough nor speak highly enough about the integrity of Marc's work along with his entire office staff. He is honest, and a gifted communicator which resulted in a wonderful compensation package for my case.




    Thank you once again Marc for your dedication and work.

  6. Knowledgeable and caring

    Posted by Susan, a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marc Johnston.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Insurance matter.

    We sought out Marc Johnston when our insurance company unfairly refused to pay a large insurance claim. This expense was going to be a hardship for our family. Marc was confident, knowledgeable and timely in helping us prepare and send in various letters and documents proving the legitimacy of our claim. The end result was that the insurance company paid their fair share of the bill in full. We wouldn't have known the exact way in which to proceed in order to get results without his caring and expertise.

  7. A Skillful and Dedicated Attorney who Genuinely Cares

    Posted by a Health Care client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marc Johnston.
    • I hired Marc 1-3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Health Care matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We hired Marc upon learning that our insurance company had denied payment for prescribed medicine relative to my wife's very significant auto immune disease. The bill was for well over $60,000. We were both shocked and devastated upon learning that our insurance company had denied payment. This could have meant postponing retirement and other related problems. Marc gave us hope from the first time we spoke with him. Marc and his team conducted thorough research and interviews, kept us informed throughout the process, charged very reasonable rates, and submitted an excellent appeal package to the proper authorities in support of our claim. This package was comprehensive, logical, convincing and extremely professional in appearance. When Marc learned that we had prevailed, he telephoned us with joy in his voice like that of a kid at his first major league baseball game, whose favorite player had just autographed a baseball. We are truly grateful to Marc and his legal team. They are dedicated professionals and they are winners!

  8. How to Resolve Being Struck by an Uninsured Motorist

    Posted by Jeff, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marc Johnston.
    • I hired Marc 1-3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This past summer I was struck by a vehicle while riding my bicycle. I had heard that these situations can be time consuming, frustrating and potentially very expensive so I decided it would be best to hire an attorney.
    I came across Marc Johnston on-line and gave him a call to explain my situation and maybe get some feedback. I immediately found him to be extremely personable, genuinely concerned with my situation and knowledgeable in regards to all the variables we would need to take into consideration.
    After he agreed to take my case, progress was swift. In no time he had discovered the gentleman who hit me was actually uninsured and immediately took appropriate action in regards to dealing with my own insurance company.
    Every step of the way he was clear in explaining what the best course of action would be and WHY. Marc and his paralegal Karen answered every one of my phone calls. They dealt with my insurance company and the various medical providers I saw directly and ultimately had my bills reduced by approximately 75% across the board. All in all the result was exceptional.

    This accident was unfortunate, physically painful and has sidelined me for the better part of the year. It prompted my relocation and possible career change. It has been a long year to say the least.

    However, from the very first phone call up until the resolution of my case The Johnston Law Firm has been nothing but a pleasure to work with. They are friendly, always professional, and I could not be happier with the work both Marc and Karen have done on my behalf.

  9. Exceeded Expectations in Representation on Motor Vehicle Collision

    Posted by a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marc Johnston.
    • I hired Marc more than 3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Marc represented me on a car accident. The guy who hit me was uninsured, so we were dealing with my own insurance company. Their settlement offer was insulting. Marc stuck with it and prepared to file a lawsuit. They ended up more than quadrupling their offer. Even after fees, I got way more money than I expected. Marc did a great job - not only on handling my case - but where it counts most - getting a good result!

  10. Invaluable advice and assistance

    Posted by Jason, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marc Johnston.
    • I hired Marc 1-3 years ago.
    • Marc handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was in a significant car accident the day I moved to Portland. Being new to town, I did not know many people, and had no experience with attorneys here at all. When it became apparent I needed the help of an attorney, I was referred to Marc Johnston by a coworker. The recommendation proved invaluable to successfully resolving my case. The Johnston Law Firm and its staff were always professional, helpful and responsive.

    The Johnston Law Firm helped me sort through the challenges and expenses associated with my accident. As a few examples, the firm:

    • Negotiated strongly on my behalf, with multiple insurance companies.
    • Succeeded at getting almost all of my medical expenses waived through persuasive and skillful negotiations.
    • Was thorough and helpful at every step, and was strong and persuasive in negotiating with the insurance companies.
    • Kept me apprised as the case progressed and kept me informed throughout the process.

    The firm’s research was in-depth, cutting edge and all encompassing, especially as it relates to forcing my health insurance insurance company to waive their entire lien of almost $60K. Additionally, the firm successfully negotiated a reduction or waiver of several other liens. As a result, the firm was able to dramatically reduce the amount of the almost $100K in medical expenses I had to repay from my settlement.

    I highly recommend the firm to anyone who needs help after an accident.

503-546-3167