Dorsett Michael Phillips’s Reviews

Dorsett Michael Phillips

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Michael really cares

    Posted by Christina, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorsett Phillips.
    • I hired Dorsett 1-3 years ago.
    • Dorsett handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Michael Phillips and his assistant Laura assisted me in a complicated dui/dwi case. I am very pleased with the outcome of my case. Michael is very professional, courteous, genuine, and well respected by his peers.I would hire Michael again in a minute!

  2. Family dispute

    Posted by Alice, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorsett Phillips.
    • I hired Dorsett 1-3 years ago.
    • Dorsett handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My husband and I found ourselves in a very difficult situation which required hiring an attorney. My husband is a physician in our town and asked his colleagues if they knew of a reputable attorney. We kept hearing one name from many of our friends and this was Michael Phillips. We contacted his office and he met with us to discuss our problems. Mr. Phillips listened to our concerns and took immediate action. Although being involved in a law suit is not pleasant , we felt as though we were in excellent hands. After many months of a very complex lawsuit we received closure with dignity. We credit Michael Phillips for this as he always took the high road and never compromised his integrity.

  3. DO NOT USE THIS ATTORNEY, FIND ONE WHO CARES!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Dorsett Phillips.
    • I hired Dorsett 1-3 years ago.
    • Dorsett handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I used Michael for a DUI case. When I first called he made it sound like everything was going to be alright and seemed like a stand up genuine guy who cared. After I made my first payment he kept me informed by having me sign the usual court papers. But as I asked him for further advice he would give me unsure answers and made me basically do most of the research about what I needed to do myself. Later on he would call me and ask me why I have not done something that he never told me about! When I asked him about it he said I should have known anyway......then as I started to make progress on classes he basically told me that his job was done and all he needed to do was help with the plea signing. He didn't try to argue my case or help me with advice at all. He's one of those lawyers that once he gets your money he will go to court for you and plead guilty just to get the case over with and move on. It's quick money for him. Basically he seems caring to get your money then all that goes out the window. He always sounds eager to hang up the phone when your talking with him like he is not interested. I asked him if he knew the judge well , he said yes then when all is said and done he says i better hurry with my requirements because the judge is a cranky guy...?Michael is one of those lawyers you read about or hear about that just wants your money. And he is not cheap either!!! I'm sorry for ranting but this guy made me feel very angry and feel like I wasted thousands!! My advise, find someone who cares!!!

    1. Dorsett Michael Phillips

      Dorsett Phillips

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am very proud to have been able to attend law school at Santa Clara University. While there, I was instilled with the importance of service to others, ethics and the highest standard of professionalism. I carry those values with me every day nearly 30 years later. When a client hires me to be their lawyer, there is no higher compliment than that expression of trust- and I never lose sight of that.

      At my law office we do the very best we can for each client and I’m pleased by the number of referrals we receive from past clients and other attorneys. However, I certainly know that not everyone might feel that his or her expectations were met. Often times I will receive a call from a person wanting to ‘fire’ their lawyer and hire another one. I always ask if they have discussed the issue with their current lawyer and given them an opportunity to correct the problem. Almost always the answer is ‘no’. Anyone one of us would appreciate that chance- and I’m certainly no different. So I will encourage the person to call the lawyer, go into the office and have an honest discussion about their concerns. I don’t no a single attorney who would not make a concerted effort to rectify the problem. I would encourage this person to call me directly, and if their concerns were valid, I would certainly make every effort to improve and correct the issue.

      Unfortunately, in this age of anonymous commenting, there are some who prefer to keep their concerns bottled up then hide behind the anonymity. Or worse yet, just publicly vent blaming their attorney for issues surrounding, in this case, alcohol. I don’t know who this person is, but it appears that the judge ordered alcohol counseling so it is most likely a repeat DUI. Everyone is different and unique, but for someone suffering from alcoholism there is a mind set that must be overcome, starting with an expectation that it is the lawyer’s job to ‘fix everything’ and if that doesn’t happen then the anger that follows. (For those interested, an interesting starting point is http://billybuc.hubpages.com/hub/Alcoholism-Inside-The-Mind-of-an-Alcoholic)

      What is the lawyers duty to the best of their ability, is to try and get the very best result possible for the client under the facts of the particular case whether by plea bargain or trial; To explain at all steps of the process what the client’s options are and the strengths and weakness of the case are; To be available to answer all questions. In a word, as the Rules of Professional Responsibility demand, to zealously represent the client.

      Nonetheless, the gist of the criticism is ‘I don’t give a damn’. For the people who truly know me, nothing could be further from the truth. Visit my web site or better yet call me, and you will see that for clients who suffer from addiction- nothing is more important to me then supporting them both in the courtroom and out. I know the case might be over soon- but the struggle and the commitment to sobriety remains a lifelong one. It’s a great day being a lawyer when a past client calls me to tell me about their “ ----- day chip” they just got.

      Lastly, although I strongly support consumer information sites such as this one- it is only a starting point. A person is choosing an attorney, not a pizza dinner! To get an accurate picture, maybe start by reviewing the lawyers web site, call and meet the lawyer in person, ask Bailiffs or Clerks at the court house who they would hire, and maybe go and actually watch the attorney in court. Most good attorneys are in court several days a week and would welcome the opportunity to shine.

      Best regards,
      Michael Phillips

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  4. Phillips Law office supports small business

    Posted by a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorsett Phillips.
    • I hired Dorsett more than 3 years ago.
    • Dorsett handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I'm a VERY satisfied customer of the Phillips Law office. My small business requires legal advise in today's business environment. Law in modern society has expanded importance and influence in all transactions. Phillips Law office has allowed my business to focus on operations and understand the legal principles of law without feeling over whelmed by the vast body of legal knowledge. The Phillips Law office has the skills and legal mind set that helps you understand legal language that is supported by actual situations.

  5. Would not recommend Michael Phillips - Terrible bedside manner, sloppy with the details, extremely unprofessional

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Dorsett Phillips.
    • I hired Dorsett more than 3 years ago.
    • Dorsett handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    While a knowledgeable lawyer, Michael Phillips has no empathy or concern for his clients. His bedside manner is brusque, condescending and impatient. He does nothing to guide you through the process and never provides a straight answer. He does not coach you on how you should prepare your information or case and is extremely sloppy with the details - very unprofessional. Contracts include typos along with missing and incorrect information. Find someone else who cares about you and the outcome of your case.

  6. A Lawyer who cares

    Posted by kristin, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorsett Phillips.
    • I hired Dorsett more than 3 years ago.
    • Dorsett handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a complex case involving a DUI. He was thorough in his discovery process, kept the case from concluding so the Judge would have all the necessary facts & circumstances, displayed his knowledge of the law in this specialty, and was always professional & sympathetic.

  7. Estate planning

    Posted by Pamela, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorsett Phillips.
    • I hired Dorsett more than 3 years ago.
    • Dorsett handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I recently had some questions about my sister's estate, Michael Phillips and his staff were helpful and supportive. The sound and knowledgeable advice I received eased my mind and gave me the confidence I needed to know I was doing the right thing for all concerned parties.

  8. Review for Michael Phillips and his law firm

    Posted by Dana, a Wrongful Death client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorsett Phillips.
    • I hired Dorsett more than 3 years ago.
    • Dorsett handled my Wrongful Death matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Phillips was there for me when I needed him the most for the wrongful death of my daughter. He kept in constant contact with me and his staff was always available when I called and had questions. His fees were very reasonable. He got right to the point and handled this case with compassion and perseverance. It was a tough case. You don't find many lawyers who will keep in constant contact. I will definitely be using Mr. Phillips in the future and will definitely recommend him to all my friends.

  9. Review for Michael Phillips

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorsett Phillips.
    • I hired Dorsett more than 3 years ago.
    • Dorsett handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Michael was able to help me with some serious legal matters. Hi staff was so kind, knowledgeable and comforting and Michael definitely knows his stuff. I would recommend Michael to all of my friends.

  10. review of mr. mike phillips

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorsett Phillips.
    • I hired Dorsett more than 3 years ago.
    • Dorsett handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had the great opportunity for Mr. Phillips to represent me about two years ago and he and his staff were outstanding. I will also be dealing with Mr. Mike Phillips down the road. Very compasionate, very understanding professional.
    Thank you. Stephanie Banas