Nancy Lee Bucknell’s Reviews

Nancy Lee Bucknell

Average Rating

Based on 48 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Dui client

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nancy Bucknell.
    • I hired Nancy 6-12 months ago.
    • Nancy handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    She was a tremendous help in calming my fears and reassuring me I wouldn't see a jail cell. Community service and some fines and it's already a year behind me. I highly recommend Nan, she actually cares and is truly in your corner.

  2. Breath of fresh air

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nancy Bucknell.
    • I hired Nancy 1-6 months ago.
    • Nancy handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I got pulled over initially for stopping above the stop sign line in a blind intersection. At the end of it all I was being charged with a wet and reckless and blew under the legal limit with a 0.06. This was the first time I have ever been pulled over for anything and been in trouble. Nan took the time to listen to everything and reassured me that everything would be okay. We kept in contact weekly with any questions or concerns that I had. She always returned my calls and emails in a prompt manner.
    At the end of it all, Nan was able to get all the charges dropped against me and for that I am forever grateful. I no longer have to live thinking I was going to have points on my record and a wet and reckless charge. Nan is now my go to reference for everyone!

  3. The BEST Lawyer and Outcome EVER!

    Posted by visa, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nancy Bucknell.
    • I hired Nancy 6-12 months ago.
    • Nancy handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Wow!!! What a Great Outcome. My son and I feared the Worst when he got a serious ticket. Nan's down to earth Warm Personality and Extreme Confidence put us at Ease Immediately~ She was able to get the Misdemeanor moving violation charges reduced- my son Avoided jail time and paid a small fine. Nan made us feel like close friends or family. She definitely knows her Stuff and has earned TOP RECOMMENDATIONS!!!!

  4. Life Saver X 2

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nancy Bucknell.
    • I hired Nancy 6-12 months ago.
    • Nancy handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Back in January, my girlfriend and I got into a heated argument, a lovers’ quarrel that would have not mean anything outside of California, but the California police came and arrested her on domestic violence charges. At the time, I was not aware that in the state of California, one can be charged on domestic violence even for verbal arguments, and it is a serious crime that if convicted, with jail time up to 3 years. This is the first time either of us was in jail, and since we normally don’t cross paths with the law, it was a pretty traumatic experience for both of us.
    I wouldn’t know how we would have gotten out of this situation without Nan. Luckily we found her by a friend’s referral, and after hearing our story, she jumped on the case, visiting my GF at 10 PM the same night, to console and calmed her down, and the very next day, Nan was able to work her magic and convince the DA to dismiss my GF’s case. Unfortunately, this was not the end of the story, the craziness continues, the police came on the very next day, and arrested me also on charges of domestic violence. Given we already had a good deal of trust between us; I called on Nan from jail asking for her help. She visited the same night, and promptly helped to arrange my bail, and got me out by 2 am, so I wouldn’t have to spend the night in jail. What I appreciate the most is, Nan went beyond her business responsibilities as my lawyer, and even went down to the county jail to pick up my GF for me, knowing she would freak out if no one is there to pick her up. After bailing me out of the jail, Nan also worked to get my case dismissed in 10 days so I wouldn’t have to go through the ordeal of a court appearance. She was the aspirin for what could have been a huge time consuming legal headache for me.
    I haven’t had much experience with lawyers, but meeting Nan definitely changed my perception of lawyers. She is extremely professional, detail oriented, and personable. It was a pleasure working with her on my case, she was crisp and clear in our discussions, and was up front about the issues, and didn’t try to sugarcoat or over promised me anything. I would highly recommend her, she is not cheap, but she is worth every penny I paid, I would rather pay Nan, be a free man and make the money back in a fraction of the time I’d spend doing time in jail. God forbid, if I ever run into legal issues, she would be the first person I would turn to for help.

  5. Nan saved my life

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nancy Bucknell.
    • I hired Nancy 6-12 months ago.
    • Nancy handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Nan responded when I was desperate.

    She listened to me and ensured the DA listened to me.

    She made what I perceived as a life-stopping incident into a manageable and benign hiccup.

  6. Aggressive Representation for Seemingly Hopeless Cases

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Nancy Bucknell.
    • I hired Nancy 6-12 months ago.
    • Nancy handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Nan Bucknell helped me in my darkest hour when all seemed lost. She worked on a short deadline to transfer my case from straight time to consecutive weekends just in time for me to keep my job. She persuaded the judge to grant me this leniency over the objection of the DA. She has just recently pushed through my early probation termination for a serious felony, again over the objection of the DA. In addition, she dropped everything including her vacation plans to represent me in a reduction to a misdemeanor motion with simultaneous dismissal of the charge under PC 1203.4 just before the law was going to change on January 1, 2014, making me ineligible for dismissal from that point forward. If you need an attorney to aggessively represent you before the Santa Clara County Superior Court, Nan is the woman for the job!

  7. Such a Lifesaver

    Posted by Kelsey, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nancy Bucknell.
    • I hired Nancy 1-3 years ago.
    • Nancy handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Nan was probably the biggest blessing I could ask for. When I was faced with a DUI I had no idea what to do and was terrified beyond belief. I did a lot of researching but couldn't find a lawyer that I felt comfortable with until I found Nan on yelp and she brought me into her office right away on her day off. Not only was the DUI charge dropped (I was underage too) but she gave me the best possible outcome. Nan really cared and made me feel comfortable when I felt lost and was very understanding, straight forward and professional. She also ALWAYS kept me updated on what was going on with my case and each time we met she took the time to thoroughly explain how everything worked. I would definitely recommend Nan for anyone I cannot thank her enough!

  8. Nan is an excellent lawyer!

    Posted by Jim, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nancy Bucknell.
    • I hired Nancy 1-3 years ago.
    • Nancy handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I found Nan Yelp to begin with. I had received a DUI and really hadn't been in any trouble before, so I needed some guidance. When reviewing my case, Nan found there might have been an issue with the supposed illegal U-turn the police officer said I did, which is why I was pulled over in the first place. Nan was extremely diligent in gathering evidence, reviewing laws and codes related to this issue, and basically went to the wall for me. I was very impressed with her knowledge, her persistence and they way she handled the case in court. In the end, the DUI charges were dropped due to the illegal detainment (me being pulled over) by the officer because the U-turn was actually legal. I would recommend Nan to anyone in need of counsel.

  9. Nan Bucknell is the Best DUI attorney in Santa Clara County!!

    Posted by liz, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nancy Bucknell.
    • I hired Nancy 1-3 years ago.
    • Nancy handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Nan Bucknell was a great help with my daughters DUI charge. She went "above and beyond" coming back to the office after hours to fax important info to the DMV etc. She has worked in the court system for many years and knows many people in the DA's office and is able to work out favorable deals on the side. I highly recommend. She negotiated my daughers DUI charge with a blood alcohol content of .10 down to a Wet Reckless which is almost impossible to do. Thank goodness for Nan, cannot recommend her highly enough.

  10. Dealing with the Unthinkable

    Posted by Pete, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nancy Bucknell.
    • I hired Nancy 1-3 years ago.
    • Nancy handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The unthinkable happened a few weeks ago: a 2:00am phone call from my 20 year old son. “Dad, I’m at the police station. They’re booking me on a DUI”.
    Nan took care of us from the very beginning when we explained the situation at a complimentary consultation. She listened intently to my son’s re-telling the sequence of events and pointed out how certain responses could have been better handled: a very valuable lesson in the fact that the police are definitely not your friends when you have been pulled over, and you must be careful in what you say. She went on to explain all of the implications, all of the possible outcomes, and ways that the case could be fought. We were so impressed with Nan’s professionalism and wisdom that my son felt that he was on the scene of a taping of “The Good Wife”.
    Besides being a top-notch attorney, Nan is also a mom who understands that kids sometimes make mistakes, sometimes with serious consequences, and she is passionate about defending kids like my son who had obviously learned an important lesson. That first half hour consultation actually ran for an hour, and that was only the first indication of the extent of Nan’s dedication to her clients. She was always available, always answering her phone, and promptly following up with the latest information and results from the various appointments that she attended on our behalf.
    I would highly recommend Nan as the best representative and counselor that one could ask for.

Call now for a free consultation.

408-286-9210