Michael Charles Schwerin’s Reviews

Michael Charles Schwerin

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Ethical and Effective

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Schwerin.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mike helped me navigate a divorce. The issues in the case were primarily financial, so I was very confident in Mike's abilities and advice in this area given his accounting background. I recall my first meeting with him was quite a break-through as I went from having a significant amount of anxiety and a lot of questions to having enough answers to feel I was making informed decisions. Throughout the case he was responsive, trustworthy and level headed. For my case, I think Mike Schwerin was an excellent choice - highly recommended.

  2. Great Advocate who listens and gives you realistic expectations of your case.

    Posted by Matthew, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Schwerin.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Support matter.

    I hired Michael to represent me on a child support adjustment case. At first I tried to represent myself, but the other attorney tried to draw things out for months and take advantage of the situation. Michael was a great advocate, listening to my needs / concerns and giving me a realistic outcome (which is all I wanted). He promptly replied to emails and phone calls and I would absolutely hire Michael again and have recommended him to others.

  3. "Highly Recommended"

    Posted by SC, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Schwerin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I received excellent professional services from Atty. Mike and his staff. He was competent, reliable, organized with paperwork, always kept me well informed, and provided me with experienced advice and unlimited support. I will continue to recommend him highly to those who need an outstanding lawyer!

  4. "Great Lawyer"

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Schwerin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Atty. Mike is a professional in his field. His wisdom, attentiveness, and countless efforts was more than I could have ever imagined when I sought his services. He fought for me until the very end. Thank you Atty. Mike for handling my case!

  5. Reviewing my lawyer Mike

    Posted by PC, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Schwerin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My divorce lawyer Mike is excellent. He is very conscientious, honest, no-nonsense, and yet compassionate to the client's needs. He is very knowledgeable, thinks on his feet quickly, and scrupulous and meticulous. He does not give false hope, and is mindful of the client's resources--i think he has rare and unique combinations of skills and instinct.

  6. I wish all the lawyers I hired were like Michael Schwerin

    Posted by Jonathan, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Schwerin.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I hired Michael Schwerin for both family law work and immigration. He successfully obtained my Geen Card. Overall, Michael is responsive, fast and competent, and doesn't overbill like most lawyers. I wish I could hire him to do my trademarks, patents, and everything I need!

  7. Highly competent, Approachable and Efficient

    Posted by Tom, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Schwerin.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have had several different types of engagements with the legal system over the years. In this particular instance I found myself in a complex and somewhat overwhelming and not so good financial situation. It was actually another lawyer I knew that highly recommended I give Michael a call for a consultation. After one brief meeting I could tell he completely understood my situation and had several options for me. I hired him immediately and it was the best move I made. Within a short period of time we were taking action and getting things under control. Michael was easy to talk to, easy to work with and it felt like he cared about my situation and the outcome. Besides being knowledgeable and competent I felt he was very efficient with his time which resulted in a reasonable cost. I highly recommend Michael when it comes to financial matters, family matters and the legal system.

  8. Highest integrity, empathetic, financially astute, savvy litigator and legal adviser

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Schwerin.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mike is a calm, empathetic, and professional attorney who "knows his stuff." Most important and impressive to me is his incredibly high level of integrity. He "shoots straight" and honestly lays out realistic expectations -- not willing to do anything that is not completely above the bar and by the book.

    Mike is detail-driven and highly knowledgeable in many legal and financial arenas. With his CPA background, he is particularly effective with financial nuances in the law. He does his best to avoid court appointments and so can be very successful in negotiations. However, he also is very experienced with all aspects of California Divorce and Family Law and knows how effectively to work through the court system as a litigator, when required, as well.

    I felt I could trust Mike implicitly with every aspect of my case. It was great to be able to feel confident letting my attorney deftly handle everything -- knowing that he wanted to do right FOR me (even trying to help keep my legal costs down as much as possible as well).

    I very highly recommend Mike as a trustworthy, empathetic, financially astute, and savvy litigator and legal adviser.