Gerald Anthony Maggio’s Reviews

Gerald Anthony Maggio

Average Rating

Based on 51 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A Great Attorney Who Walked Me Through A Difficult Process

    Posted by Henry, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Maggio.
    • I hired Gerald 1-6 months ago.
    • Gerald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    It was a difficult process for me, but Gerry walked me though it one step at a time. He is a great attorney who understood what I was going through.

  2. Very happy with Gerald A. Maggio!

    Posted by Ricardo, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Maggio.
    • I hired Gerald 1-6 months ago.
    • Gerald handled my Family matter.

    Mr. Maggio represented me in a family matter. I came to Mr. Maggio from a yelp search which was risky I know. But when I informed Mr. Maggio that the previous attorney really took me for a ride Mr. Maggio really did make me feel comfortable and more importantly made me feel that I could trust him with proper billing. Billing aspect aside Mr. Maggio handled my case professionally and efficiently. I was so happy just to have someone fight for me as if it were his own personal case in court that at the end of the proceeding I gave him a hug. And I'm not a huger I'm more of a firm hand shake kind of guy! I would definitely use him again and definitely would recommend Mr. Maggio!

  3. One Of The Best

    Posted by Ann, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Maggio.
    • I hired Gerald 1-6 months ago.
    • Gerald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Gerry was so awesome. My divorce was so smooth from start to finish and he made the whole process painless. He definitely has my recommendation to anyone in need of a family law attorney. Hands down one of the best family law attorneys in the O.C. in my opinion.

  4. Grateful

    Posted by Angie, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Gerald Maggio.
    • I hired Gerald 1-6 months ago.
    • Gerald handled my Child Support matter.

    Mr.Maggio represented me on a child support issue. My ex was attempting to hide income because he worked for a family owned business. My Ex allegedly got a significant "pay cut". Mr.Maggio did his research and found the missing income. He prepared a detailed memorandum for the court that unveiled the scam. The judge agreed that the pay cut was a scam and ruled to hold my ex accountable for actual income. If Mr. Maggio didn't do his research to uncover the money, and didn't put together a detailed report for the court I would be paying my ex child support. I appreciate Mr.Maggios thoroughness in my case.

  5. Highly Recommend

    Posted by Regina, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Gerald Maggio.
    • I hired Gerald 6-12 months ago.
    • Gerald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr. Maggio came recommended by a friend. I felt quite at ease with him from the first encounter. He answered all my questions no matter how silly they were. I highly recommend Mr. Maggio.

  6. Great To Work With!

    Posted by Marvin, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Maggio.
    • I hired Gerald 6-12 months ago.
    • Gerald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Really enjoyed working with Mr. Maggio. Very fair and I really appreciated the fact that he took the time to explain the more complicated matters to me and to my wife.

  7. Such a terrific Lawyer and a kind wonderful Man

    Posted by Marsha, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Maggio.
    • Gerald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Anyone would be lucky to have Mr. Maggio for their Lawyer. Such a awesome attorney! I know I was a pain as I asked so many of the same questions but Mr. Maggio never showed any annoyance or frustration but showed compassion and understanding with complete professional behavior. He truly felt what I was going through and used his knowledge to help me understand my case and what I could expect and he did not dissappoint. Living out of state put so much stress on me but Mr. Maggio kept me posted on all that was going on in my case through emails and phone messagaes. I feel so blessed to have had him on my divorce case I know I would not have gotten my case handled to my bennifet without his knowledge and skill as a family lawyer.
    Thank you again Gerry I will never forget what you have done for me.

  8. DO NOT USE!

    Posted by Totally sickened grandma, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gerald Maggio.
    • I hired Gerald 6-12 months ago.
    • Gerald handled my Child Abuse matter.

    If you love and value your children, DO NOT USE Mr. Maggio! He did not file ANY paperwork and now my ex-son-in-law has visitation with my granddaughter even after we have proof that he sexually abused her! He has brought distress to our family and has endangered my precious angel! He never responded to our request for a monthly accounting and when we finally received one 3 months later it included an unauthorized $2500. BEWARE!

    1. Gerald Anthony Maggio

      Gerald Maggio

      Lawyer Comment:

      (1) Any attorney wants a happy customer. A vast majority of my clients have been very satisfied with me and with my efforts on their behalf. However, there will be situations where a client might not be satisfied and that is unfortunate. (2) What has troubled me with this review is that it is there are many misstatements of reality. This review was written not by my former client, but her mother, whom I only ever met once in court and whom I had never otherwise spoken with or discussed anything concerning this case, and not one that should be making any remarks concerning whether I was “trustworthy,” “responsive,” “kept me informed,” etc. What is further troubling is that I was never contacted by my client or her mother for that matter concerning these complaints. After I was no longer counsel on this matter, her mother posted these slanderous remarks on more than one website with the apparent intent to inflict harm to my reputation while seeking a refund, because she simultaneously sought 2 chargebacks through her credit card company for the valid payment of legal fees. The appropriate method for contesting legal billing by an attorney is to file a fee arbitration, which my former client has chosen not to undergo because my billing was very appropriate based on the amount of work done in the case, as I do in ALL of my cases. I have only had 1 fee arbitration filed against me ever, which I ultimately prevailed on. It is unfortunate that my former client’s mother has taken this route. I frankly do not even desire to respond to this review because I have no wish to engage any client in such a manner. However, when misrepresentations are made that are clearly meant to go to the heart of my reputation, I really am left with no choice but to respond. (3) The heart of the issue is the claim that there was “proof of sexual abuse” against the child at issue in this case. I could go into great detail on the circumstances of this case, but I cannot for ethical considerations that professionally constrain me. However, there were many professionals involved in the circumstances of this case, including physicians, police officers, and child protective services, all of whom had/have an absolute legal obligation to report/investigate suspected sexual abuse of a child. Moreover, an emergency court investigation was conducted in this matter. The proceedings in this case were pursuant to a restraining order and the emergency court investigation, and the court found the restraining order to not be appropriate and the emergency investigation did not substantiate the allegations made. So to say that “we have proof that (dad) sexually abused her” is simply not correct. I was soon thereafter relieved as counsel in this case without prior notification from my client. (4) I care about my clients. I care about my client’s children. I have children of my own. For anyone to say “if you love and value your children, do not use Mr. Maggio”...well, I really don’t know how to respond to that other than to say that I am disappointed at a minimum. I met with my client on the weekend, I was always available by phone and email when she called, which was almost daily. For someone not even a client to essentially make a claim here of definitive proof of abuse that was not addressed by me is so egregious and slanderous on a professional level and so hurtful on a personal level that I really cannot put anything further into words in that regard. My client received the billing on her case. My work included 3 court appearances, as well as substantial additional work. My client signed a credit card authorization form that authorized the payment of legal services rendered in her case. The claim of unauthorized charges is false. On a final note, I wish all of my clients and former clients well.

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  9. A Very Good Experience

    Posted by James, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Maggio.
    • I hired Gerald 1-3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I was a tough client. I threw a bomb at Mr. Maggio in my case and he came through. I have had a great experience with this firm. Thank you so much. I will refer this firm to everyone.

  10. hell of a job!!!

    Posted by Albert, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Gerald Maggio.
    • I hired Gerald 1-3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    How can i put this, i said 4 words after Mr Maggio was done representing me. Thank you your honor, Mr maggio was very professional on handling my case. Very happy on the outcome. A no non-sence lawyer, knows his job and will fight for you. I have no hesitation recommending him. He is a true 5 star lawyer and worth every penny. Thank you Mr maggio!!!

Call Now For A FREE Consultation

949-553-0304