Michael James Kennedy’s Reviews

Michael James Kennedy

Average Rating

Based on 5 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I AM A VERY DISSATISFIED CLIENT OF MICHAEL JAMES KENNEDY

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Kennedy.

    MR. KENNEDY REALLY DIDN'T SEEM TO KNOW WHAT HE WAS DOING. HE WRITES BELOW: "I don't know of one CLIENT who would not come back to me if they ran into trouble again ... "

    I AM 1 CLIENT WHO WILL NEVER GO BACK TO HIM, SEND HIM ANY WORK, OR OTHERWISE. HE DID A VERY HALF HEARTED JOB, IN MY OPINION, AND DID NOT COMPLETE HIS WORK FOR ME. IT WAS VERY DISAPPOINTING. I WOULD NOT GO BACK. I PAID ABOUT $20,000.00, ENOUGH TO GET A GOOD JOB IN MY OPINION, BUT I GOT A HALF WITTED JOB, IN MY OPINION.

    HOWEVER, FROM READING KENNEDY'S REPLIES TO UNHAPPY CLIENTS IT SEEMS HE'S GOING TO SUE EVERYBODY UNDER THE SUN FOR JUST TELLING THE TRUTH. THAT IS WRONG. I WISH HE WAS AS PASSIONATE ABOUT MY CASE AS HE IS ABOUT KEEPING HIS FICTION THAT HE'S SOME KIND OF SUPER LAWYER GOING.

    HE'S A VERY BAD LAWYER. AND OVERCHARGES. AND DOESN'T WORK HARD ENOUGH. AND DOES NOT SEEM TO CARE.

    1. Michael James Kennedy

      Michael Kennedy

      Lawyer Comment:

      I think I know exactly who the cretin is who is posting this, and he is a competitor, and one thing that makes it all clear - I have not had any appellate clients who have paid me $20,000. The biggest disservice this AVVO system makes to the public is that they allow anonymous attacks, and they allow libelous attacks that without federal internet protection., would be very profitable for the person who is wrongfully attacked. That is a thing the Congress is going to have to review, because one's reputation is a property interest, and to allow, by law, it to be trashed is constitutionally despicable.

      However, one can read the comments of those who know me best [here and on LinkedIn], those who see me in court and who are taught by me at seminars, and he or she can draw their own conclusions about my scholarship, effectiveness, and qualities as an attorney. I don't recall a real client who has complained to me about anything I did or didn't do, and if they had real complaints [and if they were really clients and not competitors], they would complaint to the State Bar. The problem for them with that is that they would have to reveal their identities! And then the fraud would be exposed.

      No one works harder, nor more competently, than I in the service of those victimized by overreaching government - and some of my competitors know that and want to bring me down to their level. People attacked Galileo too.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  2. Don't believe the hype!

    Posted by a Appeals client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Kennedy.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Appeals matter.

    Would not recommend! This Attorney is somewhat arrogant and despot. The only time he spends explaining anything in detail and (mostly telling you how great he is at appeals), is when he is courting your business for retainer, the rest of the time he seems perturbed by any questions regarding a case. Terrible at returning calls or emails. Did not produce a retainer agreement when asked many times to do so by me and main council. Expensive and does not deliver on his personal hype. Very dismayed...Too bad for me for paying this guy for poor use value. At one point he had no idea that I was even his client; I had to remind him! : (

    1. Michael James Kennedy

      Michael Kennedy

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is an utter falsehood, doubtlessly penned by competitors, possibly by the same one who penned the other false nasty-ism. People can see from the other comments about me that whoever is publishing this bilge has some agenda other than expressing the truth.

      One thing that makes it clear that this is false is that I never brag about appeals outcomes, because I know our appeals courts are quixotic and unreliable and I never predict what the outcome will be, nor can any attorney.

      It is interesting and telling that those who anonymously try to bring me down on this site have never complained to the State Bar about my performance, because unlike this "service," which will publish anything, the Bar requires proof and identity of those complaining.

      AVVO really needs to rethink its policy of permitting libelous utterances on these pages, hiding, as it does, behind the protection unwisely afforded by federal law for internet defamation.

      I have many, many happy clients, past and present, and I don't know of one who would not come back to me if they ran into trouble again [and there are many who have come back to me], because the results of my efforts on the behalf of those accused of crimes is unsurpassed.

      Naturally, if appeals or trial outcomes do not favor a criminal defendant, many times they start looking for someone to blame, since looking in the mirror frequently produces an unwelcome image, but if this comment really has been written by someone who is unhappy about the outcome of something I did, he or she needs to be reminded that I am not the one who committed any crime; I am the one who tried to put the horses back in the barn after they were loosed by this individual's activity. Perhaps falsely attacking me makes them happy or gives them a measure of peace that was disrupted by their own conduct, but if so, that is perverse.

      But I think I know who is doing this, and it is not an unhappy client, and there will be a deserved reckoning.

      As an aside, because I don't think it applies to this false attack, people should understand that appeals are a risky business, because about 98% of trial outcomes are affirmed on appeal: appeals in this state are not a remedy often obtained.

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  3. Thank you Mr. Kennedy

    Posted by Ashley, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Kennedy.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I was referred to Mr. Kennedy to help with a case a few years ago and am very lucky to have hired him. I was facing both felony & misdemeanor charges and loss of personal items that had been confiscated. After a few months of court visits the charges were dropped and my property eventually returned. I am very grateful to have a clear record and my valuable property back in my possession. I don't think I could have found a better attorney to handle the case, he definitely got the job done. He was very informative after each court appearance and helped me to feel confident that I would not face jail time. I can't say enough good things about Mr. Kennedy, he got me out of the biggest mess of my life. I am forever thankful for his hard work, effort and hours spent on my cases. I hope I do not ever have to, but I would hire him again if needed.

  4. An Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Dustin, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Kennedy.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr. Kennedy is truly the best lawyer I have ever known. He was initially recommended to me by a friend of mine, for a DUI charge I had recently been accused of. I had, unfortunately, already hired another lawyer. After dealing with my initial lawyer (and his terrible attitude/cost/apathy), I decided to make a change and hire Mr. Kennedy. This choice was simply one of the best decisions of my life. Mr. Kennedy took my case to a four day jury trial which ended with the beautiful words of “not guilty”. What may be even more amazing is that he actually got a little of my money back since I had been overcharged for court documents by the previous lawyer! Mr. Kennedy was very well versed in the areas of DUI/DWI/driving charges, and tremendously professional. He has good relationships with courtroom personnel (including judges), and is well respected by all. I recommend anyone in need of assistance hire Mr. Kennedy the first time – he will be the resolution to your legal problems.

  5. AWFUL SOUTHWESTERN LAWYER PRETENDING TO BE SOMETHING HE'S NOT. BEWARE THE "HIGH BROW" SALES PITCH. DOESN'T KNOW HOW TO LAWYER!

    Posted by KennedyRippedMeOff, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Kennedy.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    BEWARE! WATCH OUT!!! This man is very confused. First off, he tried to come off as some Ivy League intellectual, but don't buy it. If he were such an intellectual he would have taken his education more seriously and not gone to Southwestern.

    Kennedy spends so much time SELF promoting and trying to blow himself up into something he's not really qualified to be -- an intellectual. As Clint Eastwood said, "A man needs to know his limitations". Kennedy does not. So he spends so much time on this intellectual kick, that he's better than others, that he doesn't spend the time to do the hard work of figuring out how to handle a case at the trial court.

    That's not to say he's valuable to you on appeal either, but he's a total disaster at the trial court. Kennedy has pissed everyone off for starters, so you're not going to get any love from anybody with Kennedy as your lawyer. So, in order to get a good deal or good result you'll have to go to trial.

    Kennedy will gleefully accept your case and charge you a LARGE sum to do it, a little at a time, but not put in any work preparing it. He doesn't have a clue what to do when he gets to court, with no ability to figure out a case, how to present it, or what to do about much of anything. I believe he's spent too much time blowing himself up into being this huge intellectual to actually stoop to ask someone else how to do things, watch how others do things, or maybe even take a seminar on how to do them. He thinks he know everything already.

    Kennedy is a disaster and does not have a clue on how to handle your case, no matter how large or small. I had a very small matter and Kennedy could not even follow my directions to only accept a Judge on the case and not agree to a commissioner, and especially not a particular commissioner I pointed out by name. He accepted him anyway. I told him we would not get a fair hearing from that man. He didn't want me to attend that or any other stages of the proceeding. He apparently didn't want me to see the disaster of a job he was doing.

    The Commissioner I said to reject ruled against Kennedy. It set up an interesting appeal issue that Kennedy then, inexplicably, did not want to handle on appeal claiming a "conflict", due the fact that he had handled the matter at the trial court he said he could not be the appellate lawyer too as that created a "conflict" per him. He only said this AFTER we lost and it was time to appeal. "In every case you should have different counsel handle the appeal" he said, which was strange as we had specifically discussed at the time he was hired that he would be handling the appeal, if necessary, and that's largely why he was hired.

    Kennedy cost nearly 25K then refused to fight for me.

    Only after when it was time for the appeal which was discussed far in advance did he come up with the trial lawyer shouldn't do the appeal BS. He didn't say that when he took my money. Also, that's kind of a "Catch-22", isn't it. If Kennedy doesn't handle the trial court proceedings he will claim that your trial court lawyer screwed it up and so he can't win, or more likely didn't win, as he said he would when he takes your 25K or so. "It was the trial court lawyers fault."
    Kennedy has some supporters in the legal profession (see below), but they aren't his clients and almost never get to see his actual work (DAs are in the courtroom with him generally and not defense lawyers), so don't buy it.
    Also, on this honest review Kennedy was quick to file some sort of dispute to try to get it eliminated. Kennedy cannot eliminate the truth that he is a DISASTER of a lawyer.
    Kennedy charged BIG and did a half assed job -- largely due decades of being a "know it all" and not doing the hard work of learning how to handle a case in the first place. But there remains the endless self promotions and big talk. He'll take your money, and you'll get convicted/screwed.

    1. Michael James Kennedy

      Michael Kennedy

      Lawyer Comment:

      What is clear to me is that this person is not a former client. One way I know [other than the fact that no one has ever complained to me about my work] is that I have never let a commissioner decide anything substantive. I have castigated other attorneys for letting commissioners hear things, and I suspect the faceless attacker here is an envious competitor whom I have scolded, and not a displeased client. Indeed, those who fire potshots from the shadows of anonymity are not worthy of belief anyway. But I can proudly assert that no one has ever complained about the quality of my work to the State Bar.

      I am not certain of the significance of the attack on my law Alma Mater, Southwestern. Our SCALE program had many of its main features borrowed by both Yale and Harvard, and my "good faith exception" memo, with which I have won many search warrant attacks, was sought out to be used in the criminal procedure class at Harvard, because my scholarship on such things is second to none. Second to None! Moreover, more judges come from Southwestern than from any other law school.

      It is a pity [actually an irresponsible disgrace] that AVVO allows its pages to be used for this sort of false attack, and it calls into question, at least to my mind, the value of AVVO, to which I shall give no more business. If they publish falsehoods, you must question their credibility in other things. If you side with the brutes, as they have, you get treated like one.

      So prospective clients should not be dissuaded from coming to me for help based on this gutless, cowardly, and self-serving attack, because nothing there is accurate. I, and those who know me, stand by my scholarship and effectiveness, which is second to none. Very, very few who come to me get convicted, and those who do, never get worse than was offered, and almost all get something far better.

      Only a liar and a coward attacks anonymously.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

    2. Michael James Kennedy

      Michael Kennedy

      Lawyer Comment:

      I trust everyone reading this false and defamatory screed against realize that it has no connection to reality, and it remains clear to me that it was penned by a envious competitor and not by any former client. It is regrettable that AVVO allows such baseless, and potentially harmful, attacks on their pages, and I certainly will not renew my contractual agreement with them when my period of commitment is up. If they allow their pages to be used for patent falsehoods, then one cannot rely on anything AVVO has published about anything [except my "superb" rating - they are accurate about that!].

      The quality and aggressiveness and scholarly precision of my service to those accused of crimes is second to none.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

760-863-3840