Mark Markus’s Reviews

Mark Markus

Average Rating

Based on 6 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Pros: excellent response time; worked exclusively with Mark; thorough and experienced; good value.

    Posted by Fritz, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Markus.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Positives:
    *unparalleled response time. Would usually answer emails within an hour or two, including nights and weekends; never more than a day
    *worked with Mark and only Mark--no paralegals, etc.
    *thorough and experienced: he only does bankruptcy law, and has been doing it for decades; sorted out some unusual circumstances for me
    *good value: he's not the cheapest nor the most expensive; but a very good value.

    Neutral:
    *In a six month process, only two phone conversations--everything was done over email--and I never met him
    *he routinely does not appear at the creditors' meeting; one of our two phone conversations was prior to this meeting (the other phone conversation was the initial consultation) so I was prepared for the meeting; but most petitioners had their attorney's present.

  2. Re-opening bk case help

    Posted by Ellie, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Markus.
    • I hired Mark more than 3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had a bankruptcy case that was closed without discharge due to failure to file Official form 23 (2nd Credit counseling). I talked to several lawyers as I was trying to find someone good who would be able to guide me through reopening of my case in order to get a discharge.
    I didn't feel very good about any of the lawyers I talked to, until I found Mark J. Markus. There aren't enough good words I can say about him.
    He replied to me immediately, and he always did throughout our work together. He explained in detail what needed to be done and what the chances are for my case to be re-opened. He was very knowledgeable about it. He quoted me the price for his services immediately (which were very reasonable compared to some other rip-off lawyers I talked to), and told me which papers to send him. My motion to the Judge was filed less then a week from the first time I contacted him. I was amazed by his professionalism and prompt action.
    The judge answered within 5 days, and my case was re-opened, and I will be getting my discharge! I am so happy with the result, and I know I only have Mark J. Markus to thank for it.
    I will always recommend him to all of my friends and family and I am happy we have such great attorneys in California.
    Thank you Mark!

  3. Highly recommended, the best bankruptcy lawyer ever!

    Posted by Tao, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Markus.
    • I hired Mark more than 3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I still don't know how to express my gratefulness to Mr. Mark, though my case has been discharged about 4 months ago. If you go to read my testimonial on Mr. Mark's own website, and come back here, I'll tell you the same thing, the same feeling, the very strong same opinion about Mr. Mark, as a professional, he is the best! He saved my personal financial life! I would absolutely recommend Mr.Mark for your needs!

  4. great to work with

    Posted by Isabel, a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Markus.
    • I hired Mark more than 3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mark was always there for any question or clarification. He responds to emails often in the same day, Our case was particularly difficult because we have moved from California to Canada. He was with us and practically held our hands through the whole process.

  5. Simply the BEST bankruptcy attorney

    Posted by Maria, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Markus.
    • I hired Mark more than 3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Mark Markus is the best bankruptcy attorney. He is very knowledgeable, professional, and organized. He is very patient in answering all your questions and concerns. Mr. Markus would respond to most of my e-mailed questions within 3 hours, even when I would e-mail him at 9:00 p.m. in the night and on weekends. He has an A+ from the Better Business Bureau.

    Mr. Markus helped me obtain the fresh economic start I desperately needed. I highly recommend him. You will not be disappointed.

  6. Mark J. Markus Recommendation

    Posted by Robert, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Markus.
    • I hired Mark more than 3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My husband and I found ourselves unemployed in June 2004. It was necessary to utilize my extensive credit to support my family until we found anticipated employment.

    Unfortunately, jobs did not materialize, and my credit was exhausted. Our only recourse for relief from our overwhelming debt was for me to initiate bankruptcy.

    We first consulted a certified credit-counseling agency that developed a debt reduction program, which resulted in monthly payments slightly less than our aggregated credit debt. This solution did not resolve our problem. The agency then suggested using paralegals to file a Chapter 7 bankruptcy. Careful research indicated that this approach was unwise. Paralegals can only provide forms. They cannot answer bankruptcy questions or offer legal advice.

    Online searches lead us to Mark. He was immediately responsive to our situation and ultimately developed a plan that allowed us to retain our automobiles, bank accounts, bank debit cards, and our personal property.

    Mark was extremely patient and pro-active as he addressed our situation. All of our questions and concerns were promptly and thoroughly answered. At our request, he supplied an attorney to assist me at the bankruptcy hearing.

    His attention to detail, follow up, and professional knowledge, are nonpareil. Furthermore, from previous consultations with other bankruptcy attorneys, I know that Mark’s professional fees are moderate, and not designed to take advantage of people in distressed financial situations.

    Mark is the attorney who should represent you in a bankruptcy situation.

    Robert (Last Name Removed)