Katherine Ellen Shipman’s Reviews

Katherine Ellen Shipman

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Genuine, honest determination

    Posted by Billy, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Shipman.
    • I hired Katherine 1-3 years ago.
    • Katherine handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Ms Shipman, came highly recommended and so fortunate for us that we went with the advice. She took our case with flimsy evidence, during a particular awkward political climate, against a known bully of a District Attorney. She doggedly fought for a special prosecutor, against multiple appeals, through writ of mandamus processing and her own disbelief in the time, taxpayer expense and to the unbelievable antics of this DA. She was able to get all charges dismissed, and keep the DA from getting his name in the newspapers which was his motive all along. Her client is a 19 year old boy who is now going to school and has a part-time job and believes in a system of justice in the adult world , thanks to Katherine Shipman.

  2. A great lawyer to have on your side

    Posted by Katherine, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Shipman.
    • I hired Katherine 1-3 years ago.
    • Katherine handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mrs. Shipman worked very hard on my case. She informed me of everything that was going to happen and what could happen. I am very glad and thankful I had her as my attorney.

  3. The Legal "Ninja" - Katherine Shipman

    Posted by Troy, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Shipman.
    • I hired Katherine 1-3 years ago.
    • Katherine handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.

    I've used Katherine Shipman for several different legal needs, everyone was handled with the upmost professionalism, outstanding response time and with the highest level of integrity. My first experience was using her with my divorce Katherine helped me understand my rights and kept me focused on what I was entitled too within the guidelines of the law (this was a difficult time for me and Katherine's attention to detail and her focus on the "end game" was nothing less than amazing. Her knowledge of the legal system help me understand what was required and what to expect, I cant imagine what it would have been like without her. My second experience with Katherine was her assisting me with a "clarification issue" steaming from was wording in a stock purchase agreement that I had made a error in, she intervened on my behave and directed the agreement wording into a complete understanding by all parties (another exceptional job). Lastly I referred Katherine to a personal friend to assist in a unfortunate DUI -issue and Katherine did an exceptional job of preparation, communication and helped mitigate what could have a financially devastating situation. I highly recommend Ms. Shipman, she is truly a credit to the legal profession.

  4. Very Satisfied Customer

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Shipman.
    • I hired Katherine 1-3 years ago.

    As I was in need of a lawyer Mrs. Shipman's name was given to me. I am a young adult who has never been though the system. I was scared and lost trying to get my life back together. I needed to find the best to help me get through the difficult time. I found Katherine Shipman who is a great lawyer and a wonderful woman. She is there every step of the way, she is always willing to take the time to answer any question you can think of. She is always willing to further explain any information. I always felt like comfortable, never once did I feel judged. I would recommend Mrs. Shipman to anyone looking for a lawyer who will get the job done!

  5. Unlawful Detention - Court Ordered Release

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Shipman.
    • I hired Katherine more than 3 years ago.
    • Katherine handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was incarcerated for fraudulent possession of a controlled substance. Ms. Shipman quickly secured my release by court order on the basis of unlawful detention and had my record corrected. Katherine dealt with me and my family in a professional, yet cordial manner and always kept us informed through the legal process. She is a brilliant attorney and a credit to her profession!

  6. CAN YOU TRUST A COURT APPOINTED ATTORNEY?

    Posted by Sirrah, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Shipman.
    • Katherine handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    My answer to the above title question is yes, if it is Ms. Katherine Shipman. Ms. Shipman represented my family member in a First Degree Murder case. As a court appointed attorney, Ms. Shipman handled this case in a very professional manner. Court appointed attorneys have a reputation of not fully representing their clients but we knew we could trust her after our first conversation. We were confident she would represent our family member well and she did! This case took over 3 years and Ms. Shipman was very thorough in the knowledge and investigation of the case. Ms. Shipman vigorously defended my family member. She took the time to explain the laws to us as it related to this case. She is very polite but strong at the same time. Ms. Shipman is very personable and makes everyone feel they are of importance and value no matter what side of the tracks they come from. I wish to never need her to represent me but would highly recommend her to others.

  7. Katherine Shipman vs Crooked Montgomery County Texas

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Shipman.
    • I hired Katherine more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was arrested on a warrant that the Montgomery County District Attorney, Brett Ligon, filed on me 23 months earlier on a case that was completely dismissed. The DA's office neglected to ever contact me to inform me of this warrant. The bast I can figure, is this is the County's way of giving me a little "Gift" to enjoy later. My phone number, E-mail address and mailing address were and are the same as on the original case, and I am a tax paying land owner in this county, and my place of employment are all unchanged. I was take to jail, and immediately posted bail, but I still enjoyed 10 hours in the pokey, as nothing happens fast in there.
    I interviewed several Lawyers, and hired Katherine Shipman to handle this case. She was clear, concise and was able to clear up the absurdity of the dastardly crooked Montgomery County Texas DA's office unscrupulously cast upon me. Katherines personal knowledge of the inner workings of the Montgomery County Prosecutors and Judges was paramount in the successful outcome of my case.

  8. I highly recommend Katherine!

    Posted by a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Shipman.
    • I hired Katherine 1-3 years ago.
    • Katherine handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My son was arrested on 2 felony charges. We interviewed 2 attorneys and I allowed my son to have a part in our decision between the 2. We decided on Katherine. My son felt secure in her strength as an attorney to handle the situation for him. She was able to bypass court for my son and his punishment was minor. She kept us informed along the way and was always prompt to answer questions. She helped us get through one of the toughest situations we've ever faced! I highly recommend her!

  9. Brilliant Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Shipman.
    • I hired Katherine more than 3 years ago.
    • Katherine handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Shipman handled my DWI and Resisting Arrest case, two seperate incidents a week apart in two different counties. Not only did she have the utmost empathy when the system treats you as a derelict, she also got them both dismissed. Outstanding Crininal Defense Attorney--who also cares about the county and what is going on in it. She is concerned about the political climate and the toll it is taking on the younger generation.

  10. A VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE, PROFESSIONAL, COMPASSIONATE ATTORNEY

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Katherine Shipman.
    • I hired Katherine 1-3 years ago.
    • Katherine handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am a 59 year old who never was in any trouble and I shoplifted. I received numerous letters from attorney's asking to represent me but when I opened Ms. Shipman's letter it really stood out. I didn't know what to look for but after meeting with her she said and did everything she said she would. She was very upfront with me and explained my options/consequences in great detailed. She took the time to ensure I understood what I was up against. She was very compassionate and fought hard form me for which I am very grateful. She made me feel that I really mattered to her and knew my fate was in her hands. She met with me as often as I needed, responded to all my text messages she really cared. I am so very grateful to her and would recommend her services highly. Thank you!!

Call Katherine Shipman, PLLC Attorney for a FREE criminal case evaluation

936-788-6100