Cynthia Russell Henley’s Reviews

Cynthia Russell Henley

Average Rating

Based on 32 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. DIVA DISMISSAL

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Cynthia Henley.

    Although this lawyer has great reviews on knowledgeable material, she does not have a good personality. The attitude was noticed behind who she and who she does not help legally. Her answer was very short towards me which tells me she had no time for me. I asked for more than just referring it to a civil lawyer........dismissed. Good thing she has other skills////////

  2. Disturbing Behavior

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Cynthia Henley.

    I ask Cynthia for some assistance in reversing a charge that I'm truly innocent of, and all she did is talk negatively strong to me. She repeatedly interrupted me as I was trying to explain what happen so she could tell me what she was seeing on her computer screen. Definitely would not recommend to anybody. This lady is extremely rude.

    1. Cynthia Russell Henley

      Cynthia Henley

      Lawyer Comment:

      This guy called for free advice, which I gave to him. He was NEVER A CLIENT. He has a long criminal history including TWO separate family assault cases (not "a" as he says) to which he pled guilty and for which he now claims innocence. He did not like the fact that there is nothing that can be done for him and wants to blame everyone else for his woes. He wanted to argue about how the system is terrible and how it is not fair. If rude means telling him the truth rather than taking his money and doing work that could never result in a positive outcome for him, then I'm rude. I guess he would rather that I respond to his demands like some other lawyers would and take his money (for essentially nothing.) Sorry - I don't conduct business like that.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  3. Save my Life.

    Posted by William., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Henley.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I had a theft case, that was originally charged as a felony. Of course I was concerned that I might be in a situation I could not afford or be put in jail. I contacted Cynthia, and she of all lawyers was extremely honest, and realistic with me from the gecko. The prosecutors kept changing dates on the case, and she kept working hard to lower the punishment on my case. Well going back and forth for about 4 months she was able to get them to resolve on a misdemeanor instead of a felony. Now I am trying to work on getting it sealed from record!! Thanks again Cynthia that case changed my life in a better direction.

  4. Top Notch Lawyer!! Definitely recommended!!

    Posted by Anthony,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Henley.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.

    Cynthia did a superb job of representing me to a jury and made sure the truth got out there about my case. She gathered all the evidence and provided an excellent service and in the end I was found not guilty. You better believe I have her number saved just in case. I would highly recommend her to anybody seeking legal advice and services.

    1. Cynthia Russell Henley

      Cynthia Henley

      Lawyer Comment:

      In this case the client was charged assault involving family violence. The State played games and on the day of trial, showed me photos of the complainant with blood on her lip, a cut under her nose and an abrasion on her nose, claiming the photos has been in the file. NOT true. Regardless of their sneaky way of prosecuting, we turned the first responding and "investigating" cop every which way but loose and made the State's "expert" ours on the abuse that the complainant heaped on my client over a long period of time. After the "not guilty" verdict, the chief prosecutor claimed that he would have allowed the client to take a course and then would have dismissed the case. That is another governmental LIE. If they would have done it, then they would have offered it before I killed them in trial. (Moreover, the prosecutor handling the case just at the first trial setting told the complainant she was going to kick my "ar$se." Uh, I don't think so.) I'm glad we were able to get the RIGHT verdict - the not guilty verdict - for this client.

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag

  5. CYNTHIA IS AMAZING, SKILLED, AND DILIGENT!

    Posted by Michelle, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Henley.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Cynthia was an amazing, diligent, knowledgeable; I was lucky and grateful to have her represent me. She never gave up and she pressured the DA to dismiss my Felony Theft charge from a previous employer. I have never been in trouble with the law so you can imagine how scared and clueless I was regarding all of this but Cynthia reassured me and always was honest about the case and where it stood at all times. I will recommend her to anyone and everyone; she saved my career and life! Thank you Cynthia and I will always be forever grateful for all your hard work and dedication.

  6. Excellent Representation - Restraining Order Dismissed

    Posted by Steven, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Henley.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My Ex lied and had a restraining order placed against me. There is no way I could have represented myself and I think you need an attorney like Cynthia in your corner when you are being falsly accused. Other than doing an excellent job fighting for you in the courtroom... Cythia is a down to earth person who is easy to talk with and won't make you feel uncomfortable about an already tough situation. If you need a lawyer to defend you I highly recommend Cynthia.

  7. High integrity individual and attorney - very pleased

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Henley.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Our teenage son made a mistake by entering a neighbor's home with some other kids while the owners were out of town. The owner's children grew up with ours so the kids did not realize the significance of their poor choice. They had spent the night at the neighbor's home many times before.

    The neighbors were very upset upon return (as they should have been). They called the Police and had my son arrested.

    Even though what the kids did was wrong, it was not "breaking and entering". The family was upset and wanted all the kids in jail. A very difficult situation to say the least.

    We engaged Cynthia for help. She was thorough, understanding and well prepared at all times. She asked hard questions to uncover the truth and never compromised on her integrity.

    When the court date finally came around, Cynthia negotiated with the prosecutor that a criminal record for our son was the wrong thing to do. She stood up for our son and would not budge. While the other kids involved were cutting deals with their attorney, Cynthia stood firm in what she believed was right. She would not allow a fine young man to suffer for a poor choice he made.

    Our son was given community service with no conviction on his record. The final outcome of a very difficult situation was a success.

    I highly recommend Cynthia to family and friends.

    1. Cynthia Russell Henley

      Cynthia Henley

      Lawyer Comment:

      In addition to being a lawyer, I am a mother so I am often conflicted about the "right" thing, though my "job" is always first. It was no issue in this situation.

      It is such a plus to have a family that not only supports their son, but also recognizes the need to respond to their child's "misbehavior". Too many times in today's society, parents blame everyone else when their child makes an unwise decision - and this does NOT sit well with prosecutors (which is understandable.) I love families like this - this young man was truly an outstanding person and will be such a benefit to our community in the years to come. I foresee all of us benefiting from his life.

      He made a choice that was not the best and when his parents found out, they laid down the law before the real law became involved. They are to thank for the outcome as they showed the prosecutor that their child's misbehavior would be dealt with properly at home.

      The "law" too often intervenes - at least when good families are involved. (This young man wrote a letter of apology without the prompting of his parents or me that would bring a tear to your eye for his genuine embarrassment for his misdeeds.) There was ZERO need for the State of Texas to bother wasting time or resources on this young man and this truly exceptional family.

      It was not difficult to stand firm for this young man, and for his family. It was absolutely the right thing to do, and there will be NO regrets on the part of anyone - ever.

      Thank you.

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  8. Charged with "Assualt on Family Member"

    Posted by Shawn, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Henley.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Cynthia for anyone seeking a criminal lawyer, especially in a domestic violence case. I was charged with “assault on a family member” and Cynthia got the charge DISMISSED!! thank god!!. This was a very difficult ordeal for me, considering i am in the professional workforce and this type of charge on my record would have been detrimental to my career.

    Cynthia was the second lawyer i hired for this case, and she was very diligent to know all aspects of the event and took endless notes to prepare for the event we would go to trial, considering i wanted nothing more than “not guilty” or a dismissal.

    Luckily we didn't go to trial, the DA dismissed the case, and the reason my case was dismissed had to do with the way cynthia would fight for me in her conversations with the DA. She would consistently challenge all charges brought against me, and the DA finally decided the case was not worth pursuing and moved for a dismissal. Awesome job!!

    To anyone considering Cynthia, all i have to say is this woman will fight for you, she does not like to lose.

    Thank you Cynthia, you brought peace and sanity back in my life. i am in debt to you.

    1. Cynthia Russell Henley

      Cynthia Henley

      Lawyer Comment:

      Shawn was a great client to work with. He shared everything about the situation with me and gave me great insight regarding the complainant and other witnesses. As he says, I took "endless notes" as I always do because it helps me be the best lawyer I can be for my client - and Shawn not only tolerated the required time input but helped with his comments and observations. This man was truly innocent, and frankly a victim himself of the complainant. Once again, it made me happy to be able to do what I love - helping people who do not deserve what is being meted out to them. Thanks, Shawn, for trusting me with your freedom and your life.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  9. very helpful, excellent representation

    Posted by gary, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Henley.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms.Henley is an experienced(23 years) and professional lawyer. she knows the system very well. so she can give you outcomes as your reference before go to the court. She really takes care of her clients, like me a foreigner, my English is not that good, she spent a lot of time communicating with me via email. From my case, I feel Ms.Henley really want to get you out of trouble, not just take advantage of your disaster. Ms.Henley charges you at a reasonable rate, she is not a greedy lawyer. before I went to her, a lawyer even want to charge me almost triple price that Ms.Henley asked. I think the reason is, Ms.Henley loves her profession, she enjoys helping people out of trouble. she works at home, saves a lot of money for renting a office. all in all, it is not easy to find a lawyer with best service and good price. I am very thankful to Ms.Henley, finally, my wife got out of trouble within 10 days. She really helps a desperate 'single father' who have to work, study, and take care of a one and a half year old baby. I highly recommended Ms.Henley!

    1. Cynthia Russell Henley

      Cynthia Henley

      Lawyer Comment:

      I appreciated the opportunity to help this gentleman and his wife. Sadly too often lawyers do not take the time to understand the pain and suffering that clients and their family's suffer. I had the chance to talk with this man about the situation, and he shared his pain of why his wife was where she was. I am pleased that I was able to get this woman back to her family immediately. And, I enjoyed sharing a moment of watching a humming bird at a feeder outside my office window with the husband. It gave him a few minutes of sanity and beauty, which helped him come back into focus on the fact that situation could be handled. A wonderful ending to a stressful time. I smile thinking of his peace of seeing that bird - something he had not experienced before.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  10. No Show

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Cynthia Henley.
    • I hired Cynthia more than 3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I called Ms. Henley with a problem i had gotten into. We met a few times and discussed my case. She even assured me that she would handle it and take care of me. I thought I had everything taken care of. Then the day of my court, I am waiting for my lawyer, Ms. Henley, to arrive and she is a no-show!! I called her several times and at the last moment she answered saying she is not showing up!!

    Extremely UNprofessional and inconsiderate! It was my first time and so naturally I was very nervous and completely dependent on her. As my lawyer I would have expected her to at least give me a heads up she's not going to be able to make it, but instead she waited till after the court meeting to let me know!

    Needless to say, I dropped her. I would NOT recommend her to anyone! You never know if she will show up or not!

    1. Cynthia Russell Henley

      Cynthia Henley

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is a false posting. I have never met with a client "a few times" before a court appearance (as that is not the way that the system works) nor have I ever called on the day of court to say that I am not showing up if I am hired to represent someone. (I have had a couple of instances in which I got tied up in a court and was quite late to a client's appearance which was not within my control, and over 23 years I have miscalendared a couple of cases, but I do not do this to people.)

      This person does not mention hiring me - paying me to represent them - because this never happened. The only person with whom I have had a fee issue denies writing this so I can only guess at the identity of this writer. As you can tell by my other client reviews, this is not about me. I challenge this writer to contact me to discuss the issue they claim to have had with me.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

    2. Cynthia Russell Henley

      Cynthia Henley

      Lawyer Comment:

      Despite my complaint and flagging to AVVO that this is a false posting that should be investigated, nothing has been done. I consider this posting to be libelous at best. I challenge the poster to come forward for further discussion.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag