Stephen P. Karns’s Reviews

Stephen P. Karns

Average Rating

Based on 23 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best Lawyer

    Posted by Sarah, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Karns.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Karns is a great lawyer and I would hire him again. He listened to me, explained my options and his recommendation, and he was ready to go the extra mile to get the best result he could in my case. I was very pleased with the outcome and how he made it happen.

  2. Definitely Recommend

    Posted by Janice, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Karns.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.

    Most of the attorneys I called did not respond or did not think there was much they could do for me in my situation. My case was unique and I needed an attorney who would be willing to do some extra leg work to get some results. I am so glad I found Mr. Karns. He took the time to listen to me and told me why he thought attorneys were telling me there was little they could do. He explained his point of view on my case and my options. I decided to take a chance and see if he could resolve things in my favor, and he did! Mr. Karns saved my career and I couldn't be happier.

  3. Case dismissed

    Posted by Michael, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Karns.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Karns did an excellent job for me. I stopped worrying soon after he got on the case after I saw how aggressive he was about finding out what was going on. He came up with a smart strategy for me and I trusted him. Everything he said was exactly what happened. Eventually, my case was dismissed and I have no criminal record. I could not have been happier with how things turned out.

  4. Aggressive and Honest

    Posted by David, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Karns.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.

    I highly recommend Mr. Karns. From the beginning he put me and my family at ease. He contacted my commander within the hour that I hired him and kept me informed throughout my case. My case was not easy. He told me that there would be challenges, but in the end we won, and it was because of Mr. Karns diligence in representing me.

  5. Made the Difference

    Posted by Derek, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Karns.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.

    I hired Mr. Karns after my ex-girlfriend accused me of raping her. We were both in the Coast Guard and she got my command to immediately bar me from the yard so that I could not work. She also got a Peace Order against me issued by a civilian district court. The case was my word against hers but it felt like her word was the only that mattered until I hired Mr. Karns. He immediately began building my case with the support of my co-workers and supervisors who vouched for my character and work ethic. He believed that I was innocent as I had told him and preached my case to my command. I don’t know if my command believed I was innocent but the support Mr. Karns organized and the issues he raised of my ex-girlfriend’s credibility were enough to make the Admiral decide no action would be taken against me.

  6. Not worth the money

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I do not recommend Stephen Karns.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.

    I hired this guy 2 years ago for a case. He was aggressive at first and kept good contact with me throughout my case. Whenever I asked him to write something to my command or help me word something, he would always say, "What do you think you should write". I understand the guy can't write for you, but 2 years later and $2500 poorer, I wish I would have demanded a lot more. I really don't feel like he made any difference in my case, except for give me a false peace of mind that I had a lawyer at all. Like all accused, I was innocent, but was still punished. In the end Mr. Karns simply told me I was lucky to get the verdict I did. In retrospect, there was a lot more he could have done, but since my punishment was not that bad, he just didn't. In the end, I made a major mistake hiring Karns, and am only writing this review because I now need a lawyer to sue my brokerage company and came across him as the "top military lawyer"--I hope for the militaries sake that there is someone better.

  7. Your Best Choice!

    Posted by Carri, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Karns.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.

    Mr. Karns was a breath of fresh air to work with and he earned my complete trust when handling my case. He advised me on what strategy he thought would get me the best outcome for my case, and I am so thankful I hired him because I had no idea what to do. He always had time to talk to me and never talked down to me. I am thrilled with how things turned out. I wouldn’t hesitate to use him again and highly recommend him for any legal issue you have.

  8. Fought for my rights

    Posted by Corey, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Karns.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Karns after my first sergeant told me it would be a waste of money to hire my own lawyer and that he would not be able to do anything for me. I already seen how my command treated others guys in my unit, and I decided I wasn’t going to let them intimidate me from exercising my rights. Mr. Karns absolutely saved my career and was able to keep my command from playing games on me. I got fair treatment and I am still in the Army.

  9. Miracle Worker

    Posted by William, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Karns.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I got stopped by the MPs at the gate because they said they smelled alcohol coming from my car. They gave me sobriety tests and a breathalyzer which I failed. They arrested me, impounded my car, and I was placed on restriction and flagged. My command told me I would be prosecuted in federal court for DWI and separated from the Army. I hired Mr. Karns and immediately the tide started to turn. Attorney Karns talked to my command and requested that they hold off the prosecution or separation action. I enrolled in ASAP, kept a good attitude and performed my duties. Even though the trial counsel pushed for me to be prosecuted in federal court, Mr. Karns argued to have the Army handle it. I couldn’t believe it when my command agreed with him and gave me an Art. 15, dropped the federal case and retained me. I received no conviction for DWI, no drivers license suspension, and no separation from the Army. Mr. Karns saved my you-know-what and I don’t think I will ever be able to thank him enough.

  10. Bad first impression

    Posted by Devon, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Stephen Karns.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Rob was the rudest person on the phone and I am seeking legal help to get myself out of trouble,he was really short on the phone and didnt feel like answering my questions,not professional at all.