Stephen David Hebert’s Reviews

Stephen David Hebert

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Saved me when I was in a Tough Spot

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hebert.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I came down over a weekend for a wedding and was arrested friday night. I got out the same night but was scheduled with a court appointment on Monday. I was supposed to fly out Sunday, so I needed help.
    Stephen was not the first attorney I called, He was the first one to answer his phone though. He answered his phone at 7pm on saturday to answer my questions free of charge.
    He came in to his office at 7am on a SUNDAY to sign paperwork so I could catch my flight at 11am.
    He gave me a discount on his service charge since my friend had been charged as well and we both agreed to be represented by him.
    He handled our case for us so we could go home and continue on with our lives. He followed up on Tuesday, the day after court, to let us know that all was dismissed and we could follow up with him in 6 months for an expungement.
    Best service I ever had.

  2. Invaluable in time of need

    Posted by Bob,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hebert.
    • I hired Stephen 1-6 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Stephen was very responsive and throughout the whole process it felt like he had my best interests at heart. Stephen walked me through the process and answered all questions, no matter how trivial, any time of day or night and even on weekends. Stephen was invaluable in helping me through this very difficult time.

  3. Awesome Attorney!!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hebert.
    • I hired Stephen 1-6 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was extremely happy with my experience with Stephen. He is a great attorney and I highly recommend him if his services are needed. You can tell he genuinely enjoys his career which shows in the courtroom and was blatant during my communication with him. If you are in need of a great attorney - call Stephen!

  4. Charges dismissed in less than 24 hours!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hebert.
    • I hired Stephen 1-6 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen was absolutely fantastic. I had reached out to Stephen for a hearing for the following day as I was from out of town. Stephen met with me within a few hours from when I called him (on a Sunday) and told me he would get everything taken care of. Stephen represented me during our preliminary hearing and was able to get all of the charges dismissed. I would highly recommend Stephen as he made my life much easier.

  5. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hebert.
    • I hired Stephen 1-6 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Stephen handled my daughter's DUI case quickly, expertly and to a much better than expected result. I retained Stephen "long distance" via a referral from a local family friend, and he quickly put my professional concerns (I am a lawyer) to rest, and gave my daughter expert advice on rehabilitative activities to engage in pre-hearing, that made a big difference in the way her case was perceived and dealt with by the court. He also quoted me a set fee (subject of course to any unforeseen contingencies) which I found very reasonable and within which he was able to stay. I look forward to meeting him and thanking him in person when I am next in New Orleans.

  6. Superb, Professional, & Excellent Local Expertise

    Posted by Drew, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hebert.
    • I hired Stephen 1-6 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A friend had highly recommended Mr. Hebert and after some research, I scheduled a consultation. He saw me the next day and provided excellent information prior to any contract being signed - I especially appreciated his candor and extensive local knowledge. There are no hidden fees or costs and his competitive fee was well worth it. He was on top of this case at all times and I always felt like I was talking to a friend that always had my best interests at heart. At court, he was above board and I felt he was easily the best lawyer in the room. He expertly handled this case and recommend Stephen to anyone in need without hesitation.

  7. Dedicated, caring, honest and knowledgable.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hebert.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Attorney Herbet was the only lawyer who responded out of a call to a dozen. He cares about holding high the standards of what it means to be a lawyer and the fact that people are generally calling you in the middle of the night with a problem they want you to solve. I liken him to an emergency room doc who was there on call and knew what to do under less than ideal circumstances. He had an in-depth knowledge about the law and the procedure; he simply knew the system inside and out. He also had a deep understanding of the culture and environment of the court system and all the relevant players. He is the definition of a local guy as I learned, having been born, bred, educated and experienced in LA - absolutely necessary characteristics when needing legal consultation in New Orleans. He tempered that knowledge with compassion - a quality lacking in most lawyers I've worked with. He was responsive to every call and took very serious his responsibilities related to his work. Lastly, the legal fee he quoted was the legal fee he charged. Unlike some lawyers I've worked with in the past, Stephen kept his word and never tried to charge more later -- his integrity is unquestionable. I could not have gotten a better person in any way to seek guidance from, especially with a random phone call. It was hitting the legal lottery. Am I'm not exaggerating a single bit. I would reccomend him without hesitation to anyone needing a competent and caring lawyer to handle any legal matter.

  8. Criminal Defense matter

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hebert.
    • I hired Stephen 1-6 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hi ! I experience a criminal situation with the law in Gretna LA near New Orleans and I was looking for the proper representation being very optimistic about the situation not knowing the out come , so I researched on the web looking for the best lawyer for me & Stephen D Hebert popped up ,after talking to him I had no worries , Stephen handle my case in a very professional & timely matter, also Stephen kept me informed on his action dealing with the case. Stephen Hebert is an outstanding lawyer , very Educated plus the reviews that Stephen his speaks for itself , I would definitely recommend Stephen D Hebert for anyone!!! Thanks !

  9. Made things easy . . .

    Posted by Lauren, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hebert.
    • I hired Stephen 6-12 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I first contacted Mr. Hebert he was willing to help me right away. He told me what I needed to do and what he planned on doing in order to help my situation. He got his job done and left me nothing but happy. Glad my friend was able to recommend him to me and glad I have his contact information should I need it in the future. If you need a lawyer, this is your guy.

  10. Exceeded our Expectations !

    Posted by Chelly, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Hebert.
    • I hired Stephen 6-12 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My 18 year old son had a very serious marijuana charge. We of course were overwhelmed by the harsh penalties he could face. Researching showed he could face 5-30 years of imprisonment. We met with two attorneys we found on avvo.com. We liked both attorneys and were happy with their assessments. We chose Stephen because while meeting with him we discovered a mutual connection and he was much more competitively priced. I could not be happier with our decision! He negotiated the best possible outcome. My son was not prosecuted. He was put into an alternative to prosecution program and after a few months of drug testing and counseling his charge was expunged from his record. Stephen exceeded our expectations and we would recommend him to anyone needing a criminal defense attorney.

504-250-6020