Raiford D. Palmer’s Reviews

Raiford D. Palmer

Average Rating

Based on 31 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Honest and compassionate attorney. Thank you!

    Posted by Tiffany, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raiford Palmer.
    • I hired Raiford 1-6 months ago.
    • Raiford handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The very nature of the process of divorce is not easy. I was grateful that I had the help of Raif Palmer. He walked me through the collaborative process and answered all my questions. He listened to my concerns and treated me with compassion. In situations where, at times, I felt helpless and overwhelmed, Raif kept me calm and focused while addressing my concerns. One thing I would have appreciated having was a checklist of decisions that I needed to make along the way to keep things moving. I think this would have helped the process go even smoother. With that being said, I cannot stress enough how important it was, ultimately, to have someone just listen and show compassion during this very stressful time. I am happy to say that Raif did just that. Thank you for your help and guidance, I am very appreciative.

  2. Top Notch Lawyer

    Posted by Brad, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raiford Palmer.
    • I hired Raiford 1-6 months ago.
    • Raiford handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ive been divorced for 12 years and Ive been in and out of the Du page county court room almost every year. Ive been threw a 2 year custody battle and several lawyers fending off false claims from my ex wife, each one of them seem to give me false hope and have taken me down a dead end street and taken me for thousands of dollars.. I honestly hated all lawyers. I decided to take a chance on Mr Palmer after reading his reviews and after my ex petitioned me back to court. This is a no bull review, he is at the very least must see if you need a divorce lawyer. He is honest, respectful, and sincere, my only regret is that I didn't stumble across him sooner..

  3. NOW that it's over I know what to look for in an attorney. I will choose Raif again!

    Posted by Brad, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raiford Palmer.
    • I hired Raiford 6-12 months ago.
    • Raiford handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I engaged Sullivan Taylor & Gumina midstream of my divorce and was assigned Raif as my attorney. I had wanted Gumina, but Raif impressed me in our first meeting and I continued with the arrangement. I'm glad I did.

    In terms of expectations, Raif met any I had; in fact, I believe he exceeded nearly all of them. Even his physical appearance and manner in the courtroom set him apart from the others - he stood alone in a courtroom of wrinkled suits and bad haircuts.

    I know there is a very narrow intersection of the traits 'professional' and 'personable'. Raif defines that intersection. He absolutely never spoke badly of my wife or her attorney, and clearly avoided the 'win at all costs' dogma, instead advocating fairness and consideration for our son.

    And he steered me away from a course of action that most likely would have cost a great deal of money yet produced no meaningful results.

    I will unequivocally engage Raif as needed in the future.

    Please know this is not just some fluff review. I have chosen these words carefully to ensure they represent my true opinion as well as fact. Under different circumstances I believe Raif and I probably would have become friends and shared a Bourbon (or two).

  4. Not your typical divorce lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raiford Palmer.
    • I hired Raiford 1-3 years ago.
    • Raiford handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Recently, I found myself in the unenviable position of having to hire a "big guns" litigator to replace a friend-of-a-friend, jack of all trades lawyer. My original lawyer was hired merely to review a presuit agreement my ex and I negotiated with the help of a respected Mediator. When my ex hired a "top shelf" divorce lawyer to review the agreement, the otherwise incredibly fair terms of our MSA quickly imploded. I found myself in the heart-wrenching position of ratcheting up for a fight that I could easily afford if I liquidated my kid's inherited college money, but that I knew would wreak havoc on my children. Knowing I had to hire an attorney with equal experience and reputation in Dupage County, I researched the right choice ad nauseum. After narrowing down the pool of possible lawyers, I sent out 3 generic inquiries on firm websites. Not but 10 minutes later, I got a return call from Raif, which led to a 2 hour gratis, in-person consultation where I learned for the first time about my options, the likely outcome of a trial, the cost of my expected battle and the divorce process. Within 48 hours I hired Raif, and less than two weeks later my divorce was final with modified but generally fair terms. Although Raif was well aware I had the money to fight the big fight, he honored and respected my wishes to avoid a long and protracted battle for the benefit of my kids and encouraged me to keep the lines of communications open.

    In my situation, time was of the essence in order to refinance the marital home in my name so that the kids could stay put, and it was imperative that Raif prioritize my case and get my ex's completely non-responsive lawyer to get off her tail and actually do something/anything. Raif and his whole firm were available to me at all times, and Raif even walked over to my ex's lawyer's office to track her down when she maddeningly wouldn't return calls or e-mails. Perhaps most importantly, Raif talked me off the ledge of resentment and anger many times, and refocused me on the task at hand - to finish the divorce so that my kids and I could move forward. His knowledge of the law was second to none, and there wasn't a single moment in time when I questioned his legal expertise.

    At every step in the process, I knew Raif could get me "more" if we went to trial, but that was not the right path for me and Raif could sense my need for closure. Thus, he employed a strategy with the other lawyer to get this case done via reasonable compromise, and in the end that is exactly what happened. I suspect you would be hard pressed to find more than two other divorce lawyers in Dupage County who could/would sacrifice a sure-thing hefty fee as Raif did in my case.

    I trust Raif. I like Raif. I wouldn't hesitate for a second to refer him to others. Divorce is horrible, but mine is a success story of sorts, to which I owe Raif enormous credit.

  5. Favorable Review for a Very Favorable attorney

    Posted by Christian, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raiford Palmer.
    • I hired Raiford 1-3 years ago.
    • Raiford handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Raif was involved in a post-decree (divorce) issue for me. There was alot of history on the case prior to his coming on the scene. He picked right up on the situation and while he did not always agree with my position or strategy, argued the issues carefully and well. In the end, he prevailed quite well and covered my risk. He plays his cards well and his experience is evident.

  6. Very costly collaborative law divorce

    Posted by Mike, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Raiford Palmer.
    • I hired Raiford 1-3 years ago.
    • Raiford handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Collaborative law cases are supposed to take half the time and cost significantly less than going to court. I was led to believe this in my initial consultation. My ex and I were on amicable terms. My attorney advised a 50-50 split on income and assets. Pretty uncomplicated and straight forward. It took 2 1/2 years and cost $30,000. Attorney lacked tenacity and project management skills. The partners at Sullivan Taylor and Gumina never responded to my concerns. I'm certain they were elated with Mr. Palmer's billable hours.

  7. Very Impressed!!!

    Posted by Dino M, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raiford Palmer.
    • I hired Raiford 1-3 years ago.
    • Raiford handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Raiford Palmer is an excellent attorney!!!! I've done work with other attorneys but nothing like Mr. Palmer!!!! I give him an A+ because he knows what he's doing and his worth every dollar!!! Great advice and great guidance!!! Trust me you won't be disappointed......

  8. Insightful, strategic advocate

    Posted by Lurana, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raiford Palmer.
    • I hired Raiford 1-3 years ago.
    • Raiford handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Raiford Palmer has represented me through a few years of challenging divorce and child custody proceedings. He has consistently given me good advice in a professional, compassionate way that helps me feel informed and in control of my case. There were many difficult circumstances with my situation, but his strategic judgement in handling my case has proven to be right on target. His experience, knowledge and insight have made a big difference for me.

  9. knowledgeable,true gentleman and and clever advocate for his clients

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raiford Palmer.
    • I hired Raiford 1-3 years ago.
    • Raiford handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Raiford Palmer. He was my attorney for addressing Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction And Enforcement Act - UCCJEA for my child. He is a true gentleman. He coached me and advised me through my complex case involving two states and he sacrificed his vacation time to accommodate my court date. He has a great team of attorneys young and energetic and are super smart and prompt in addressing emergency requests.

    I highly recommend Raif and his team, you will not regret the choice. He is simply the best.

  10. Review of Raif Plamer

    Posted by Jim DeAno, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Raiford Palmer.
    • I hired Raiford more than 3 years ago.
    • Raiford handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I tried a case against Raif a few years ago and he did an excellent job. He had a tough case on the facts and had to overcome a few immunities, but despite all the obstacles he was very effective in court. He is honest, trustoworthy and a pleasure to work with. He always took the time to explain everything we were doing in court to his client who did not speak english. He filed all the necessary pre trial motions and did a very effective cross examinaiton of my client. I'd definately refer personal injury plaintiffs to him.

Call to schedule a consultation now.

630-665-7676