Neil M. Colman’s Reviews

Neil M. Colman

Average Rating

Based on 6 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Thank You! So Glad I Hired You!!

    Posted by Veronica, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Neil Colman.
    • I hired Neil 1-3 years ago.
    • Neil handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In 2012, I needed to file for a change of school district for my kids. I knew I was going to hire Mr. Colman after my first consultation with him. He took the time to LISTEN, and to explain the law and the procedure involved. He was very knowledgeable in the way he handled my case. The end result was positive. Mr. Colman also handled the property division and and a domestic violence proceedings after my divorce. In all, his advice and representation lead to a positive outcome. I will be using his service in the future. He is the best and I will recommend hiring him.

  2. Great Lawyer

    Posted by Pamela, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Neil Colman.
    • I hired Neil 1-3 years ago.
    • Neil handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In 2012, I filed for divorce from my husband of 20 yrs. I was scared and unsure about everything. I had 2 teenage boys that I was very concerned about and no idea of where to begin. Neil settled my nerves and my fears and gave me the strength and courage to start a "new life" on my own. He is very professional, respectful and supportive. I have recommended him to several people that have consulted him with family issues and he will be the first lawyer I call if and when I am in need.

  3. Finally a lawyer who is both knowledgeable AND Cares.

    Posted by Meggan, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Neil Colman.
    • I hired Neil 6-12 months ago.
    • Neil handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After three previous lawyers and almost five years of bad legal experiences I found Neil Colman. He listened to my case, looked over what had occurred up to that point and gave me his advice based on those experiences and what the law requires. Based on that initial interview, I decided to have Mr. Colman handle my case and see what he could do to put things back in order. Unlike my previous lawyers, Neil LISTENED to what I had to say and then actually remembered it when I visited him the second time to hire him to represent me. All I can say is that finding Neil Colman when I did was a godsend. He is the only lawyer I have had that was actually prepared when we went to court and who then actively argued my case and fought for me. The result was that, for the first time in five years, I was able to get the court to begin to treat my case in accordance with my divorce decree and the law. Unlike some of my prior attorneys, Neil fought to achieve an outcome instead of just extending the arguments and running up legal fees. While my case is far from over, I now have hope and some peace of mind because I believe I have a lawyer who cares about the law and making sure that I am treated fairly in accordance with that law.

  4. He has done a great job for me

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Neil Colman.
    • I hired Neil 1-3 years ago.
    • Neil handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Neil was my lawyer when I went through my divorce. Neil has a talent of understanding people, he is very knowledgeable about his professions. Not only he fights hard for me, he also personally cares about my well being. With his effort, my divorce process went very smoothly, I truely appreciate all his efforts and supports. He must be one of the best lawyers in Michigan.

  5. Not helpful at all

    Posted by Gregory, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Neil Colman.
    • I hired Neil 6-12 months ago.
    • Neil handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Neil coleman represented me in my family matter and led me on throughout case that I had 100% chance of winning case. When court came he stumbled on his words and came up with rediculous answers to judges questions. I feel he just needed my money and would of told me anything I wanted to hear to get my cash

    1. Neil M. Colman

      Neil M. Colman

      Lawyer Comment:

      We're sorry you had a bad experience with our firm. This matter does not sound familiar, and we strive for the utmost client satisfaction in every case. Please contact me directly to discuss your specific concerns. Without knowing what case you're referencing, I'm not able to address your concerns and comments.

      Neil M. Colman

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

    2. Neil M. Colman

      Neil M. Colman

      Lawyer Comment:

      In checking my files/records back to 2012, I don't see that I have represented a Gregory.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  6. Phone consultation

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Neil Colman.
    • I hired Neil 1-3 years ago.

    My phone consultation with Mr. Colmen was very informative. He is knowledgeable, patient and kind. Thank Mr. Colmen for you time. It is greatly appreciated.

Schedule an appointment for a 30 minute consultation...no charge

586-254-1100