Gerald Ashland Griggs’s Reviews

Gerald Ashland Griggs

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. bullying issues at grandson's elementary school, college park ga

    Posted by Valerie, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Griggs.
    • I hired Gerald 1-3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Child Abuse matter.

    Attorney Griggs was an excellent source of information for me and my grandson who experience bullying and sustained a really ugly bruise on his upper arm while at school at liberty point elementary school in union city ga. An appointment was made for my grandson and I to go and talk with Attorney Griggs and to show the ugly bruise he sustained. My 5 year old grandson felt comfortable and confident to tell Attorney Griggs what happened to him while at school. Attorney guided us in the right direction. He gave us case law and court experiences that helped me to know the steps to take to address this matter which the principal at liberty point elementary seemingly wanted to shove under the rug. But after following the direction of Attorney Griggs there was NO way for the school to ignore the problem of bullying with my grandson. They had to acknowledge the harm done to my grandson and they had to answer to the office of department of Education for the state of Georgia about this young man. So I want to say THANK YOU Attorney Griggs for the wonderful assistance you provided me and my grandson. Thank you for staying with us on this matter until resolution was reached. I appreciate you and the wisdom of your staff for your help at a very stressful time for me concerning the harm that came to my grandson while he was at his school. God Bless and continually guide your practice to excellence in your field. In Jesus name, amen!

  2. Simply the Best Advocate

    Posted by a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Griggs.
    • I hired Gerald 1-3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Griggs is simply the best advocate I have have seen and used. He really cares for his clients and the outcome of their cases. I consider him the best attorney I know and I have used him numerous times for many different kinds of cases. If you need the best attorney in Atlanta, call Mr. Griggs...

  3. Impressive Attorney

    Posted by Derek, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Griggs.
    • I hired Gerald 1-3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I went into Mr. Griggs's office for a consultation on a legal matter. I found him online and called him without prior knowledge of his ability as a attorney. After the consultation, I found him to be a great lawyer with detailed knowledge of the law. Even though, I did not hire Mr. Griggs because I did not actually have a case, I will keep him as the family lawyer because I was so impressed with his ability as an attorney.

    If you are searching online as I was for a good attorney, give Attorney Griggs a call and you will be as impressed as I was.

  4. Got Me Out of a Bad Situation

    Posted by jj061841, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Griggs.
    • I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Griggs got me out of a very serious situation with a very favorable outcome. Coming back from a football game in Albany, while heading back to Atlanta, I was pulled over for going 30 miles per hour over the 65 mile per hour speed limit in a (very questionable) construction zone. The officer stopped me, got me out of the car, and had my perform field sobriety tests, which she said I did poorly on.

    My girlfriend has driven the first 2 hours of the trip back, and I was simply finishing up from just northwest of Macon, since I hadn't had a drink in 5 hours. It was late, we were tired, and neither of us saw the signs for construction on the bridge above the roadway. I had never been in trouble before, but was facing up to 2 years in jail. Attorney Griggs' magic made it so that I never lost my license throughout the entire ordeal, even with refusing a breathalyzer, reduced the speeding to a typical non point speeding offense, and a reckless driving charge with 1 year of probation. I absolutely recommend Attorney' Griggs above all others!!!

    He is simply the best lawyer I have ever seen and I think if you have a difficult situation, you should call him immediately.

  5. Great, Compassionate, Knowledgeable Lawyer

    Posted by Travis, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Griggs.
    • I hired Gerald 1-3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Griggs is simply the best attorney I have ever used. I hired him a few years back on a DUI and he got it reduced to a Reckless Driving. Since then, I have kept him as my family lawyer. He has handled a divorce matter, some minor contract reviews and even a bullying matter at my son's school. He is great and responsive to all my legal needs.

    I would say to any person that is looking for an attorney. Give Attorney Griggs a call and you will not be disappointed.

  6. Great Attorney

    Posted by joneskim952, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Griggs.
    • I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Griggs is an excellent attorney. He helped my family with a difficult situation. My son was charged with murder and he was able to get the charges dismissed and my son freed in DeKalb county. Without his help, I don't know how my family would have survived. I would and have recommended Attorney Griggs to all of my friends who needed attorneys.

  7. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Nicole, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Griggs.
    • I hired Gerald 1-3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Griggs is a excellent attorney. He is compassionate, driven, competent, and understands the needs of his clients. His record speaks for itself. He wanted my family members and myself in several different types of case. I would refer him to anyone I know that needs a great attorney.

  8. Simply the best...

    Posted by Kristi, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Griggs.
    • I hired Gerald 1-3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Attorney Griggs is simply the best attorney in town, period. He helped me deal with a serious accusation in Superior Court. He fought for me and believed in me. He helped me clear my name and get my life back. I have watched Attorney Griggs 's career and things he has done in the community. He truly cares about the city and the State. I know Attorney Griggs and he is simply a great attorney. If you need help, call him...

  9. HORRIBLE

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gerald Griggs.
    • I hired Gerald more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    As stated by another client, this lawyer comes to court unprepared and lacks knowledge of the law. He blatently lied to the judge in my case and asserted performing services that he cannot provide physical proof to substaniate. Because of his own wrongdoing, he has selectively withheld legal documents from my case file in violation of the Georgia Supreme Court mandates. This behavior is hardly surprising. His own site lists 3000 clients in 8 years or 7.2 clients per week plus he has numerous extracurricular activities. Griggs runs his practice like a public defender but he expects the payments of seasoned litigator.Unfotunately, he does not act like a seasoned litigator. As a client, you need a firm contract with a clear listing of terms and must force him to honor it (which will be difficult). Every item should be included in detail otherwise you will have later issues. If the contact says call witnesses, list them by name and phone number in the contract and make him write a time/date of contact. I know that this sounds excessive but it is good advice based on my experience. The best advice is to take the time to find a lawyer who knows the law including case law and will do more for your money than file repeated continuances.

  10. Anti Bullying Attorney

    Posted by valerie height, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerald Griggs.
    • I hired Gerald 1-3 years ago.
    • Gerald handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This is the greatest Anti Bullying Attorney I could have ever contacted when I encountered the first episode of bullying in 2012 at a Union City GA public school.

    This bullying was experienced by my five year old grandson. All I knew is when this episode of bullying happened to my grandson I knew I needed to seek legal attention on this bullying matter so that I could have the right direction to put this matter to a complete end.

    Immediately I called Attorney Gerald A Griggs and he answered my call. Attorney Griggs was immediately responsive to my call, he cleared his calendar to meet with me, he provided the direction I needed to get to the people I was to contact; he was knowledgeable of the matter of bullying in Atlanta Public schools and he asked that I keep him informed of my progress so that he could easily step in should I have the need for him too.

    I would recommend Attorney Gerald A Griggs to anyone that I come to know has a need for reliable, trustworthy, knowledgeable and responsive need of an attorney. In fact I have already referred several of my federal co-workers to this attorney for legal assistance of any kind.

    Thank you so kindly Attorney Gerald A Griggs and office staff for your professionalism, your ease of access to me and my family and your willingness to help me and my grandson to eliminate the bullying and hostile environment he encountered at his first public school in Union City GA.