Jeremy M. Saland’s Reviews

Jeremy M. Saland

Average Rating

Based on 51 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. greates lawyer in westchester

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeremy Saland.
    • I hired Jeremy 6-12 months ago.
    • Jeremy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jeremy treated me like a real person, and was more than a lawyer. he was a human being, he was honest and fair. he did the best job that any client could ask for, he was professional, considerate, and kept me in good spirit with everything going on. I can't say enough for the job Jeremy did on my case. I could never thank him enough, I would refer him to anyone that needs a good lawyer.

  2. Case of Unlawful Possession of Marijuana and criminal use of drug paraphernalia

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeremy Saland.
    • I hired Jeremy 1-6 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Jeremy for my son. My son was charged with Unlawful Possession of Marijuana (PL 221.05) and 2 counts of criminal use of drug paraphernalia (PL 220.5 subdivision 2 & 3). Being a non-immigrant and in the midst of the application for permanent residency, this whole issue was nerve racking for the whole family. I hired Jeremy after reading the reviews and I would like to state that all the positive comments that were written about him in the reviews are absolutely true. He was understanding and was kind to meet us even on a Sunday morning. He was patient, listened to our concerns and answered all my questions. My 1st impression about him was that of a knowledgeable person who could clearly explain to me about the details of the court procedures and possible outcomes. Needless to say that he was prompt in updating me on the development of the case. What impress me most is his ability to negotiate with the ADA and his professional knowledge on presenting the case in court. Due to his brilliance, we were able to obtain ACD and that too in a shorter term than expected. I went to court expecting ACD for a period of 1 year and Jeremy managed to get it down to 4 months. I was more than satisfied with the outcome and could not thank him enough for the best result that he managed to secure for my son. I will definitely recommend Jeremy to anyone who needs representation on criminal matters.

  3. Great Lawyer!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeremy Saland.
    • I hired Jeremy 1-6 months ago.
    • Jeremy handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Jeremy Saland was great! He was able to help me out of legal trouble quick. He was able to turn my felony assault charge on a police officer to an ACD. I would recommend him to anyone in need of a good lawyer.

  4. Top notch, second to none!

    Posted by Matthew D, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeremy Saland.
    • I hired Jeremy 6-12 months ago.
    • Jeremy handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    December 17, 2013 changed how I look at life forever. I was all excited to fly back to Saint Louis to visit my family and freinds for 3 weeks. Little did I know that when I checked into Delta Airlies at LGA I would be charged with 2 Violent Felonies facing 2 years in State Prison. Charged with unlawful possesion of a firearm and high capacity clips, a Class C and Class D Felony.
    On The prior Sunday I called Delta Airlines and explained that I was from Missouri and wanted to bring my firearm back to Missouri. I asked what the procedure was and would I get in any trouble? The Delta Rep said "No Problem, just place it in a hard case locked, keep the key with you, and declare it when you get to the airline". I did as she suggested, arrested on spot by Port Authority and later taken to Queens Central Booking. Spent around 14 hours total between both jails, Queens Jail is a place that you never want to visit. My mind was racing there, had no idea what was going on and where I was going next. My father and I spoke earlier that day and he did some research online from Missouri and found Crotty and Saland. Jeff Davis came to the jail and got me in front of the Judge that night and released on R and R. Jeff even took me to find a taxi and made sure I was getting home safely. A couple days late I met Liz Crotty at the Manhattan office, she was very helpful but said "Matt, you are facing very Serious Charges". I was scared to death to say the least. But Jeremy was great, kept me calm the entire time reassuring me everything was going to be okay. He was right, not only did Jeremy get the felony charges reduced, I have no Criminal Record. I was offered a small fine and a Non-Criminal Violation. If you are faced with any Weapons charge Crotty and Saland is the Firm you want in your corner. They fight and dont let up.

  5. Crotty & Saland

    Posted by William, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeremy Saland.
    • I hired Jeremy 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeremy handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Referral Overview:
    I was in immediate need of a criminal attorney due an unfortunate event occurring at JFK International Airport during September 2012. I was exceptionally pleased with the services provided by the law firm of Crotty & Saland, which included the services of Elizabeth Crotty and Jeremy Saland. They were extremely responsive to my immediate situation, professional in all respects during their representation, communicated exceptionally well throughout the legal proceedings, and were tremendously proficient in their knowledge of my particular circumstance. As a result, they were able to get a misdemeanor and felony charge completely dismissed. I could not be more pleased with their services and professionalism. Case Details During September 2012, I arrived at United Airlines First Class counter at JFK to check my luggage and obtain a boarding pass to San Francisco. I had arrived in NYC from another destination two days earlier and was carrying, in my checked luggage, an unloaded semi automatic handgun. I had been through several airports prior to the NY trip and had disclosed the handgun to airline officials and TSA, as is required under both United Airlines and TSA policies on their respective websites. As an avid target shooter, I frequently carry a handgun on business trips in order to mix business with my passion. In all such previous trips, and through multiple airports throughout the country, I have never experienced ANY incident or dispute with an airline or TSA. I disclosed the firearm to the ticket agent who, instead of notifying TSA, notified the Port Authority. Several officers from the Port Authority Police showed up and, after some discussion, arrested me for 1) having an unlicensed handgun in NYC – a misdemeanor, (I was visiting the state, not living there), and 2) carrying a concealed weapon – a felony (it was in a locked/hard sided case in my checked baggage, and properly disclosed to the United). The actions of the ticket agent and United Airlines were disgraceful. As a United Million-Mile flyer and a lifetime Premier Executive flyer, I will never fly United again. It should be noted, as a business executive at 59 years of age, with both an undergraduate business and MBA degree, I have never been arrested, and only two minor traffic citations issued during my entire life. I was transported to the PA Police facility at JFK and held there for five hours while they processed paperwork. I was then transported to the Queens County Courthouse Detention Facility for arraignment where I was informed it was taking approximately 48 hours for processing and arraignment of “prisoners”. I was fortunately able to connect with Crotty & Saland located in NYC. Both Elizabeth Crotty and Jeremy Saland were both immediately responsive to my situation. Faced with the prospect of me languishing in the filthy confines of the Queens Detention Facility for 48 hours, I needed a firm that would be able to immediately get an arraignment time set. Crotty & Saland was engaged to represent me. Jeremy Saland was successful in getting the Court Clerk to set the arraignment for 1 AM that night (crime is good in Queens). Not only did Crotty & Saland get me released effectively two days early, Jeremy Saland drove to the Queens County Court for the arraignment. When Jeremy Saland arrived at the Detention Facility, he was on crutches having undergone surgery on his knee. He made the effort to drive down at 1 AM to manage the arraignment, and did so having to deal with a significant medical issue. After two subsequently appearances (eight weeks in duration), Jeremy Saland was successful at getting both charges entirely dismissed. The dedication, professionalism, personalization and communication were exceptional. I would, without hesitation, recommend the firm of Crotty & Saland, and both the principals of Jeremy Saland and Elizabeth Crotty, to any individual in need of a criminal defense.

  6. Life Saver

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeremy Saland.
    • I hired Jeremy 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeremy handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I was charged with an assault on new year's eve when I got into an altercation with a man who struck me and then threatened to kill me. I was a foreign student in NYC awaiting admission to the Bar back home. It was quite a tough situation because an existing charge could block my admission but Jeremy was there all the way to explain each step of the process. When it did not appear that the charges would be dismissed in time, Jeremy managed to get the process accelerated and everything was sorted out in time for my application. I am extremely thankful to Jeremy.

  7. Jeremy Saland is a brilliant and compassionate Lawyer

    Posted by a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeremy Saland.
    • I hired Jeremy 6-12 months ago.
    • Jeremy handled my Fraud matter.

    I was investigated by HRA for obtaining benefits in an amount that exceeded $19,000. Jeremy's skillful and astute negotiations were so exceptional that with his expertise, we were able to avoid a potential felony prosecution. Thanks to Jeremy, we ultimately resolved the matter with a significant reduction in monies owed and ample time to pay. I cannot say enough great things about Jeremy, anyone who is lucky enough to have him as their legal representation can rest assured that has your best interests in mind and will defend you with skillful intelligence and genuine compassion.

  8. Best defender in NYC

    Posted by Albert, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeremy Saland.
    • I hired Jeremy 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeremy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I am a 70 year old physician from the upper Midwest. I was in NYC for a medical meeting and when leaving via LaGuardia I was surprised when my carry on case was found to have a single 9 mm bullet under the lining by the internal supports for the wheel. I knew NYC laws were rather draconian and would never have taken a weapon there. I had, a year and a half earlier, carried some boxes of 9mm ammo in the case while attending a training course in Nevada. Since that time I had traveled in the USA and twice to foreign counties and no one had ever noted the bullet when the case passed through the screening X-ray. I was issued a summons and was amazed at the potential fine for a bullet I did not know was in the case. I asked my home attorney to help locate a legal counsellor in NYC. Jeremy Saland was highly recommended. I first contacted him on a weekend day by email and got a reply that day. We spoke on the phone and by email and he.was very knowledgable and quite reassuring. He lived up to the high recommendation and was successful in getting an ACD resolution . I recommend him without reservation.

  9. Jeremy Saland

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeremy Saland.
    • I hired Jeremy 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeremy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My wife was booked under section 165.4 and couldn't appear for court date as she had to leave the country for her further studies. After 3 years, when we had to come back to USA, we found out about a warrant issued on her name. In order to solve this case, I came across Jeremy who gave a wonderful and helpful response to help us. Jeremy, was quick, responsive and very communicative to help us out. Within a months time, he was able to vacate our warrant, get the case dismissed without my wife being present in the court and not needing to plead guilty. He also got us a certificate of disposition in case we had issues at immigration. But, now we are here in USA, entered the country without any immigration issues and holding an ACD. I would strongly recommend Jeremy Saland to be hired as he was very professional with his work and dealings.

  10. Really Great

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeremy Saland.
    • I hired Jeremy 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeremy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When faced with a charge of possession of a controlled substance, I was nervous concerning my job and more importantly my immigration status. Jeremy and Liz worked hard to work with the DA prior to my court date, insuring an early dismissal.
    They were very helpful, and my immigration status was not affected.
    Not only that, but Jeremy was always happy to take my phone calls, regardless of what time it was. If he was busy or on the phone, he would call as soon as he was done and always made time for me. He sympathized with me and was a pleasure to work with.