Skip to main content

Jolein Harro

Divorce and separation Attorney at Littleton, CO

3.1   20 reviews
  • Licensed for 36 years
    State CO
    Acquired 1987
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Jolein

Learn Jolein’s areas of practice.

A native Midwesterner, I was born in Macomb, Illinois, and was raised in Iowa and Missouri. I graduated Suma Cum Laude from Truman State University, with a BA in English and a minor in History, during which time I also studied abroad in Heidelberg, Germany. In 1987, I graduated with a law degree from the University of Colorado and after my graduation, worked at two general practice law firms.

 

In 1990, believing that law should be more personalized and less costly, I opened my own law firm which specializes in family law, high asset divorces, custody matters, grandparent rights, and estate planning. I am happily married to my husband Gary, and have two children, Mark and Jacquie. My interests include hiking with my two dogs, riding horses, tennis, scuba diving, and traveling, and am a member of Abiding Hope Lutheran Church in Littleton.

 

Besides the practice of law, I have served as a substitute judge for the municipal courts of Central City and Nederland.  I have also hosted a bi-weekly radio show on Castle Rock Radio called Family Law at Five, and am a monthly columnist for the Yampa Valley Voice. I am fluent in German and also speak some French.

 

 

Photos and videos

Location

Jolein A. Harro, P.C.
13978 W. Bowles Ave., Suite 200
Littleton, CO, 80127
Steamboat Springs Office
35 5th St.
Unit 206
Steamboat Springs, CO, 80487
Craig Office
11 Victory Way
Suite 205
Craig, CO, 81625
Hide locations

Similar lawyers nearby

Reviews

3.1 / 5.0
  20 customer reviews
Posted by Ron | December 7, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional, Caring and Compassionate
Jolein and her entire office (Ben, Dianne, and Mark) are a wonderful team! They went above and beyond in helping me navigate a very challenging time. Their professionalism, kindness, and sincere empathy helped me move through a difficult and emotional situation to achieve a fair and equitable outcome. I respect and highly recommend this team!
Read less
Posted by Larry | August 4, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very Professional, Thorough and Efficient
The firm was recommended by an attorney that I have known for many years. They represented my son in a custody case that could not be resolved in arbitration and had been referred to a judge. They began working on the case immediately when hired as the due date for court was only 12 days away. They were able to file the necessary documents with the court, assist my son with his parenting plan and talk to the mother of the child. As a result of these actions a custody settlement and parenting plan was reached in advanced of the court date and signed by both parties. The plan was in agreement with my son's wishes. We would definitely hire the firm again if the need arises.
Read less
Posted by Jennifer | August 31, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The best team mate for guidance during a difficult time
Jolein and her office handled my divorce and I am so grateful that I had her team to lead me through the whole process. They were able to explain how each process would happen and I felt incredibly prepared because all of my documentation was presented early and all of my questions were answered. Just having their guidance and experience during a difficult time was incredibly comforting. She has experience working with most judges in Denver and understands how they want the cases presented to keep things concise and moving in a positive direction. I am incredibly grateful for her services and would recommend to anyone in need of a divorce lawyer.
Read less
Posted by Rhonda | April 10, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professionalism at its best!
During a sensitive time in my life when I was faced with not only a divorce but being new to Colorado, I found myself very frustrated and lost when it came to finding a good lawyer. After many phone calls to lawyers in the Denver area, it was a relief to find Ben Aussenberg and Jolein Harro whom listened to my concerns and took my case. From day one, Ben was on top of his game and I had the opportunity to watch his representation skills in front the of judge. I was quite impressed and I knew from that moment that I was in good hands. The divorce from start to finish was seamless. The entire team was professional and they understood time management. Thank you to Ben for his support and professionalism. I highly recommend this team.
Read less
Posted by Elliot | November 21, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Jolein puts the "family" in family law.
Jolein Harro and her associates have been my family lawyers for half a decade now. They have tirelessly fought for my rights as a father and have been paramount to my becoming primary parent. I cannot recommend Jolein, Ben and their entire team highly enough. I have had the pleasure to watch both Jolein and Ben in the courtroom. Their confidence, quick thinking and mastery of family law are unrivaled in the courtroom. We successfully battled Polidori, Monihan and crew on at least 3 occasions. Jolein and Ben can deftly examine and cross examine to bring out the ulterior motives of the opposing party. They come to trial very prepared with detailed binders for exhibits that always outclass the opposing party. They seem to know most of the magistrates and judges in Jefferson and Douglas counties, where I have used them and can oftentimes predict how rulings will go based on past experiences. Of course, they do their best to keep you out of court first and foremost. They can help you navigate the most difficult of mediations and settlements. The piece of mind you are provided, knowing that your most sensitive affairs will be expertly handled, is beyond value. Their team has educated me about the complicated legal processes I have had to navigate by giving me expert advice and have always kept me included when important decisions must be made. Having a legal team that will support you in the best of times and worst of times truly puts the "family" in family law.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 26, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very pleased
I was referred to Jolein Harro by a friend who had retained her to assist in changing a parenting plan (through a different attorney) and increasing child support. My friend had nothing but good things to say about she was treated, plus she had a great outcome in court. Jolein and her staff assisted me with my complicated divorce, involving several pieces of real estate, a self-employed business, inherited money, assets from a previous marriage, and a difficult spouse with her attorney. Jolein has a talent for cutting through the complexities and explaining what needs to be done and how to get there. She even returned calls or emails on weekends and evenings! Jolein is a true professional and put me at ease through the whole process. Her experience in dealing with these matters helped keep the costs down, as she had seen it all before and didn't have to learn as she went along. Anyone going through a divorce or who needs help with custody issues should use Jolein!
Read less
Posted by Travis | July 21, 2015
Very complicated case, wouldn't have won without her
Custody battles are expensive, complicated and require as much effort from the client as the lawyer in the best of cases. Mine was far from the best, but Jolein helped me win. I live out of state, and I'm the father, and his mother was not very forthcoming with facts. It was a steep uphill climb. Overall, the case lasted about 18 months. We produced about a thousand pages of documentation by the time all was said and done, organized into binders, and were very familiar with the materials, so that if a mistruth was represented, it was able to be immediately disproven with accepted documentation. We needed documentation from his schools, therapists, and several experts. It was a very daunting task, very difficult. But it was worth every sheet of paper, every dollar, every minute spent poring over documentation. It was worth every phone call, every hearing, every psychologist. My son lives in a much better, more stable environment here with me, now, and I do not believe that would be the case if we'd gone with another lawyer. Early in the case, it was recommended that we obtain a Parental Responsibilities Evaluator, and were proactive at preparing the care for the child even if we didn't win custody. The circumstances awarded us temporary emergency custody, which enabled us to show everyone, including his mother that he was better off here with us. He's now doing so much better, and it's because we were led down the right path, because we were shouldering part of the load for the case, too, and because we were able to fund the right decisions at the right time. Remember that the courts are looking after the best interests of the child, and approach your case in the mindset of doing the best by your child. Jolein helped keep that foremost in our minds. Remember that anything you can do to prepare your case helps lower your costs. Remember to be completely honest about your financial situation and the details of the case. Remember that it is *your* case. And make sure you're ready for it. Make sure that you're doing the right thing for your child and your family. If you're doing all of that, I'm sure that Jolein will be able to help you, because we had so many hills put in front of us... Just think. When's the last time you heard of an out-of-state father winning custody? We started contacting lawyers thinking there was no way we'd win, but hoping that filing would put pressure on his mother to improve his conditions and environments. I still think if we'd gone with anyone else, we'd have been right.
Read less
Response from Jolein Harro January 11, 2017
Thank you for your review!
Posted by anonymous | April 4, 2014
Great family law attorney
I knew before I began my divorce that I would need an attorney to sort through all of the legal mumbo jumbo so I could get a fair shake. A co-worker recommended Jolein Harro, and after meeting her I retained her services. She really knows her stuff. She and her assistant and staff did an outstanding job in getting my case ready, and she was great in handling the other attorney, who tried to bully us into a bad settlement. She stood up for my rights, and got me through a difficult time in my life. The parenting plan was fair to both myself and my ex-spouse. It was money well spent, as I ended up keeping three times as much as I thought I would have received before this all started. I highly recommend her for anyone going through a divorce, or has any issues concerning children, custody, or child support.
Read less
Posted by Kris | January 21, 2014
HAS YOUR BEST INTEREST
Jolein and her office handled my divorce. Was married for 44 1/2 years-was blindsided when my ex-husband asked for a divorce. Without Jolein's help as well as her staff's I would be destitute at this time of my life. Everyone in the office was looking out for my best interest, very supportive, and always prepared as well as keeping me informed on what the next step was and what was expected of me . I would highly recommend Jolein and her office.
Read less
Posted by Jennifer | July 13, 2011
Thought of the best interest of my children...
The Law Office of Jolein Harro was very thoughtful in the handling of my case. I had a very difficult situation with the soon to be ex-husband and I feel they handled it as best as they could. It is difficult to have the best interests of the children at heart when dealing with another attorney who does not. So, as far as I am concerned, they kept their integrity and we did what we needed to do in order to have the least effect on the children. Thank you!
Read less
Posted by Eva Cameron | October 30, 2013
Please be careful before you hire this firm.
I would not recommend Jolein Harro's law firm. I was in a vornurable situation and Jolein's assistants knew it and were convincing and convincing me that I need to hire Jolein. I gave up, I was silly and scared and hired her. I gave her all my savings I had in this world, $4000. That money was spent with no results. For example, when I went to court, not only her assistants forgot to send the judge my paperwork, but after I talked to the judge, she started her sentence with these exact words: " I don't know what your lawyer has been telling you, but here is the real truth..." What the judge told me was a big diffrence from what Jolein with all confidence has been telling me. I'm very sad I sliped and was so vornurable to allow this firm to have so much control over me. I understand Jolein and Zuzu have families and bills too and have got to take care of their family first. But in this case, it was mine life on the line, my life, that got very difficult. After I raen out of money and I really did give Jolein everything I had, I had no choice than to ask my separated husband for help. The one I was divorcing, yeah. I wish I used this money to start a life on my own and pay for my school. I'm very upset I made this decision to hire her firm. I believe she and Zuzu are very smart and probably good people besides their work. But please, don't make the same mistake I did. No matter what situation you are in, don't just believe anybody because they promise you something that's not truth and you are worried about your life.
Read less
Response from Jolein Harro January 11, 2017
Dear Eva, I am, so sorry that you feel this way. Unfortunately, in a public forum such as this, I cannot comment on your case, due to ethical responsibilities. I can tell you, however, that I would welcome an opportunity to sit down with you in private to work through your concerns. We wish you all the best. Please do not hesitate to contact me off-line and in confidence to speak about your situation. Sincerely, Jolein Harro”
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 29, 2024
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Careful hiring this firm
Jolein has been suspended by the Colorado bar. Please be careful hiring this firm. A simple google search will pull up the opinion.
Posted by anonymous | December 24, 2023
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Worst Law Office in The State Of Colorado
This firm is only interested in your up front retainer. They also have a client relations "person" and I use that term lightly who gives psychiatric counseling and she has no credentials. Her name is Dianne Sawkins and she's criminal who should be in prison. File a complaint to the CO Regulatory Board about this law office. They should be closed down and disbarred. https://www.coloradosupremecourt.com/Complaints/File_ComplaintAgainstAtty.asp
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 20, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Does Not Care watch your pockets if I could give negative stars I would
I came from an abusive relationship- she did not address this. Perpetrator aggressively continued to attack - she nor any of her associates did anything.
Posted by Sandra | October 3, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Find a Real Attorney
I hired this attorney to get visitation with my grandson. I asked Diane who answers the phone how much it would cost. She told me $4000. I told her I only had saved $3000. She told me that they could do it for $3000. I hired Ms. Harro and gave them the money. Two months went by before I even spoke to Harro. She did not return phone calls or emails and then we had a pre-trial set up. Ms. Harrow missed it because she had overslept. Then there was a trial set up for the following month. She charged another $3000. I borrowed it so I could see my grandson as it had been nearly 3 years since I had seen him. Prior to the day that his father took him, my grandson had lived with me for nearly 6 years. I went to court on the scheduled day and did Ms. Harro show up, NO, she sent someone that I had never seen before or had talked to. Was the hearing about me getting visitation, NO, it was about whether I was a person of good standing. I fired Ms. Harro and she sent me another bill for $1500. DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND GET A REAL ATTORNEY.
Read less
Posted by Alex | August 26, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Worst Attorney I’ve Ever Met
Doesn’t know the law. Doesn’t prepare for cases. She has hundreds of clients and upcoming hearings, but can’t help any of them. She messed up my case by failing to put forth any effort. She should be disbarred.
Posted by Heather | March 20, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
one star too many for Harro & her attorneys.
Harro failed to represent my young child and I. Prior to consolation, her staff was so friendly claiming Oh Yes we will help you with such compassion and dedication. I paid the $200 consultation fee... mistake! Jolene Harro was present this ONE time and she and her staff were so angry about my case, claiming it was "going to be on the News" it was so horrific and I had solid evidence. Jolene Harro did all she was supposed to appear to be a good lawyer: Sighting all the laws broken. Claiming she "knows all the DAs". Discussing strategies. I paid the $2000 retainer fee (cheapest I found in town and I now know why! BEWARE!) I never heard from Jolein Harro again after I paid the $2220. She put her two (not one) inexperienced attorneys on my case even though she had told me she'd personally be representing me. I was never called about my case. I CALLED them a week before my trial. The inexperienced attorneys never talked to one another and never read notes in my case. Ben was reluctant toward the DA and made a deal that I did not agree to accept. He would not allow me to talk nor did he represent me as I wanted. He refused to state things I wanted stated. Claiming "not essential or not important". Harro and her law firm lied to me only to get money, they did not help. They did not "call the News". They did not get my child or me anything. They did not even try. Many factors depended on my outcome, all negative now. One of the young attorneys even bragged that he drives around illegally without CO plates or driver's license, he just moved from his college graduate state. There are many details that are worse... bottom line do NOT trust this lawyer, do not trust her staff, do not trust her attorneys. They all know what to say to hook you in your most desperate moment prior to your money. After they get your money... nothing. And I had a STRONG case, I could have gone anywhere, I was just short on cash. MY MISTAKE> PAY the extra! I am now in a class action suit and civil suit far away from Harro and it is on the news now. My situation was so horrific, a good lawyer listened and found more witnesses to assist my child and me. Bottom LINE: Look elsewhere, not Harro. Thank you Internet for the ability to Research lawyers. I wish I had been more smart.
Read less
Posted by Tracy | September 22, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Absolute Fraud
I went in to see Jolein about modifying my parenting time to 50%. I was told how screwed I was getting, how much I was overpaying, how poor my sep agreement was for me. It was a 2 hour initial meeting and when I left I was thrilled. That was the last time I saw or talked to Jolein and in the end I walked into court unrepresented because I was ordered to pay my ex's legal fees and couldn't afford my own. Jolein COMPLETELY dropped the ball in my case and her "associate" suggested we go to modify child support and then parenting time later, which is good if you're trying to get more money out of your client, but a terrible idea if the circumstances haven't changed enough for the law to grant the change to begin with. That's exactly what happened, I spent $13,000 on Jolein, and another $17,000 for my ex's legal fees and the case was thrown out. If I had the money I'd sue Jolein for malpractice.
Read less
Response from Jolein Harro October 6, 2016
Dear Tracy, I am, so sorry that you feel this way. Unfortunately, in a public forum such as this, I cannot comment on your case, due to ethical responsibilities. I can tell you, however, that I would welcome an opportunity to sit down with you in private to work through your concerns. We wish you all the best. Please do not hesitate to contact me off-line and in confidence to speak about your situation. Sincerely, Jolein Harro
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 20, 2015
Caution
I retained Jolein's office in a divorce I was initiating. Over the course of seven weeks, my $4,000 retainer was spent, over $2,000 of which was spent without my consent on a private investigator hired to serve my husband, and they are asking me for another $2,000. I ended up serving him without his assistance, yet they still used over half of my retainer for this. They mailed me confidential case-related paperwork meant for another client. When I left my home shared with my husband, I informed them I was moving and provided my forwarding address. I followed every instruction and piece of advice the Harro firm gave me to a T. I communicated openly and in a timely manner to every request they made of me until I switched law firms due to the serious mistreatment of my case, as well as another client's. They sent case related paperwork to my husband for months after repeatedly being advised of my new address, and he used this paperwork to call and harass me in violation of a protection order. The attorney I worked with left Jolein's firm in the beginning stages of my case (immediately following the first of two hearings I had while represented by the Harro firm), and I followed her. She managed to start and finish a separation agreement and the final divorce decree and no further information that compromised attorney client privilege had been mailed to the wrong address or the wrong client. Simply put, my case was poorly handled by the Harro firm. Another client's case was also mishandled, as I received confidential paperwork meant for them at my former residence. I returned this paperwork to my attorney and advised her I was seriously second guessing my decision to retain the Harro firm. It was at this time she told me she was leaving for a different firm. I followed her and have no regrets about that.
Read less
Response from Jolein Harro January 11, 2017
Dear Madame, I am, so sorry that you feel this way. Unfortunately, in a public forum such as this, I cannot comment on your case, due to ethical responsibilities. I can tell you, however, that I would welcome an opportunity to sit down with you in private to work through your concerns. We wish you all the best. Please do not hesitate to contact me off-line and in confidence to speak about your situation. Sincerely, Jolein Harro”
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 17, 2014
Review
When I had my initial consultation I specified what I did not want. DO NOT TAKE MY MONEY IF SHE COULD NOT HELP ME, Since she was my second attorney. The reason she was my second attorney Was specific amongst many other reasons. Timely manner being one of those other reasons missing one day of my child's life is too much so over a year later after retaining her with $4000 she had done nothing but double bill me for the same things she can't even prove or show record of doing. She can't even remember my sons name the child in question. Finally get arbitration that should of happened years ago 14 months of that she was my attorney and she doesn't show up early as planned to go over or talk about the most important thing in my world which should of been done before day of arbitration she shows up 30 minutes late. She did things asked not too giving them a defense a road to travel down per say an open door. she hindered, hurt and ultimately failed my case. Worst part is I Payed her to do it and she wants 3 times more money to do what I asked her to do in the first place. I am devastated that this kind of conduct is legal.
Read less
Response from Jolein Harro January 11, 2017
I am, so sorry that you feel this way. Unfortunately, in a public forum such as this, I cannot comment on your case, due to ethical responsibilities. I can tell you, however, that I would welcome an opportunity to sit down with you in private to work through your concerns. We wish you all the best. Please do not hesitate to contact me off-line and in confidence to speak about your situation. Sincerely, Jolein Harro”
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 8.1 (Excellent)

Work Experience

  • Owner
  • Jolein A. Harro
  • 1989 - Present

Education

  • University of Colorado - Boulder
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1987
  • Truman State University
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1984

Associations

  • Northwest Colorado Bar Association
  • 2014 - Present
  • American Bar Association
  • 2010 - Present
  • Jefferson Bar Association
  • 1991 - Present
  • Colorado Bar Association
  • 1990 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • German
  • French

Honors and Awards

  • Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2016

Publications

  • Yampa Valley Voice
  • Does it Really Take a Village
  • 2015

Speaking Engagements

  • Lawyers Public Information Foundation
  • Dissipation of Marital Assets
  • 2015

Attorney endorsements

Received (3)
Given (1)
Endorse Jolein
Child custody Attorney | Dec 22
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Ms. Harro was opposing counsel in a complicated post decree matter. She was a consumate professional to deal with, but never wavered from protecting her client's interests."
Family Attorney | Jan 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have come up against Ms. Harro in a couple of cases and against her associates in other cases. She is the consummate professional as an attorney and she hires good attorneys to serve as her associates. She is a master of the world of family law. As someone who has presided as a magistrate and judge over family law cases myself, I am incredibly impressed with her knowledge and her kind approach to her clients. I have actually referred opposing parties to her just recently. You will be in excellent hands with Ms. Harro and her firm."
Family Attorney | Dec 20
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Jolein protects her clients interests and always pleasant to work with. I endorse this lawyer."
Littleton Divorce and separation Lawyer Jolein Harro
Jolein Harro
Divorce and separation Attorney
Littleton, CO
Licensed for 36 years