Josephine C Townsend’s Reviews

Josephine C Townsend

Average Rating

Based on 24 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellence is spelled "Townsend".

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josephine Townsend.
    • I hired Josephine 1-3 years ago.
    • Josephine handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I've had many lawyers in the past as I spent a lot of time in the judicial system as a juvenile. I had an unfortunate incident this last year that left me facing possible tens of years in a state penitentiary. Josephine was an excellent defense attorney and from the beginning she was proactive at creating the most reasonable and allowable sentence for my situation. The end result of all of her hard work warranted a 6 month work release incarceration. She is caring, thoughtful, intelligent and very resourceful. I will continue to recommend her to all of my relatives and close friends.

  2. Case Dismissed

    Posted by Andre, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josephine Townsend.
    • Josephine handled my Family matter.

    I recently received a summons to report to Family Court regarding a petition that had been filed by social services. Social serviices was asking for a modification of a prior order given during my divorce. During that time it had been decided by the court that my ex was to provide medical insurance for our children. The new petition was requesting that I now provide insurance if it was available and affordable. Medical insurance was available at my place of work and I currently had single coverage. In order to add family coverage the premium along with the high deducttible made it extremely unafforable for me, since both of my sons have medical issues that would have required me to meet the high deductible. Josie was able to give me a better understanding of what I would need to prove to the court that it would be unaffordable and the confidence to stand up for myself. The case was dismissed Thank You Josie

  3. "Josie" is a true Advocate for her clients and children, keeping their best interest closer to her heart !

    Posted by Scott and Katrina, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josephine Townsend.
    • I hired Josephine 6-12 months ago.
    • Josephine handled my Child Custody matter.

    My wife and I came to Ms. Townsend around a year ago with the quest to find that "someone" who would be willing to give honest, sound advice, with the compassion we so desperately needed and who would fit with what our belief's in the best interest of my daughter. A year and 4 months ago, we, for the 2nd time, within less than 3 years were hit with the devastating news that once again my daughter was being moved, not just 3 hours away, but an Ocean away this time. This immediately hit my heart like a ton of bricks. My wife and I immediately tried to work with the Mother on devising something that would keep her as close to all families as possible as well as figuring out what was in my daughters absolute best interest as we did not agree with the another move, but knew we would be in a tough spot contesting it. After many failed attempts and continued "half truths" we felt it was time to once again set out on the quest for some sound legal advice. We had 2 bad experiences with attorney's previously and felt at a loss on how to even find someone to fit what we where looking for. My job was what led me to Ms. Townsend's office location initially. My wife was skeptical but reached out to Ms. Townsend to set up an appointment explaining that we wanted to seek her services to act on behalf of our "parenting team". The first visit far EXCEEDED BOTH our expectations. Leaving the initial appointment we both felt very good about what we had proposed to her and her reaction to us. My wife and I knew after 10 minutes with Ms. Townsend that she was the "one". Shortly after our initial meeting with Ms. Townsend we learned that the "Mother" we had supported and taken great lengths to support for my Daughter, was about to engage not only my wife and I in one of the most "nasty" battles imaginable, but would be doing this to our child as well. Words will never truly cover my gratitude to Josie Townsend, she is the true meaning of all that one should be when they are representing a "family". When you are placing the fate your own child and family in the hands of the "courts" not only do you need someone well versed in family Law, but someone who will fight for what is right, and hold all involved accountable for their actions. At times where I felt like I could not longer hold myself up, "Josie" stood right there holding me up, fighting for me, demanding fairness for me and my daughter. To Josie you are not just "somebody" and your case is not just "something" but to her, you and your case are "everything" ! I HIGHLY recommend Ms. Townsend not just for all that she is (professional, trustworthy, dedicated, diligent, fair, decisive, confident) but because she cares, she listens and she exercises genuine compassion. She will "fight" the "fight" and she will fight when you feel you cannot !

  4. Best Lawyer Ever

    Posted by Kit, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josephine Townsend.
    • I hired Josephine 1-3 years ago.
    • Josephine handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I just won an uphill battle with Josephine Townsend as my lawyer in a marginally bitter dispute over child visitation and support. I'm in the Military and stationed in England and she worked with me well long distance as well as local. I needed someone that would get it done, do it right, and ensure my rights were preserved; she did ABOVE and BEYOND any and all expectations. She is fair, intelligent, decisive, confident and she listens. She will do everything to get what you deserve. I'm better for hiring her and would do it again.

  5. An Advocate For Your Family and Safety

    Posted by Cheryl, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josephine Townsend.
    • I hired Josephine 1-3 years ago.
    • Josephine handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was recommended to Josephine by a family friend who had a good experience working with her. I've volunteered as an advocate in the courts before and had a general understanding of how Family Court worked, but when it's your child and all you want is what is best for them understanding the process and waiting patiently mean nothing. I went to Josephine in September with concerns about my situation, what I wanted, and if what I already had notarized was even sufficient to protect everyone involved. Josephine explained to me what my options were based on those concerns in my notarized document.

    My case was finally completed in April. Every step of the way Josephine answered my questions and my concerns; believe me you will have plenty. She is extremely adaptable, when opposing council changed their minds based on advice from their lawyer I was a nervous wreck, I was very concerned about what that would mean for my child, but Josephine explained what the next step would be and we went from there.

    I gave excellent scores for my review because I am happy with my outcome, with the service provided to me, and with her professionalism throughout the whole sitution. My concerns were always heard, and the best interest of my family was always the focus.

    My biggest piece of advice when working with an attorney is to remember the good ones are busy, and the ones that are busy and care will always take the time to respond to your questions. I found myself getting frustrated at times willing my email to respond because I was so nervious to hear back about what was happening or if things were finalized yet. Once I put in to perspective what Josephine had on her plate I realized waiting a few days wasn't the end of the world. As hard as it is to wait and as nerve racking as it can be have patience and know that your concerns will be answered. I truly believe this will ensure you have a good experience like I did.

    If you care about your family, being treated with respect, and can follow the rules and advice that Josephine provides, you will have a good experience as well.

  6. THE BEST!!

    Posted by Nancy, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josephine Townsend.
    • I hired Josephine more than 3 years ago.
    • Josephine handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Josephine Townsend is the most exceptional attorney we have ever met. She is a compassionate human being who truly cares about her clients. She is exceptionally smart, efficient, trustworthy, determined and responsive. Her professionalism combined with her understanding of legal strategy and procedure result in someone YOU can really rely on. On a scale of 1-5 Josephine is a 10! You can't find better.

  7. The best attorney I have ever worked with!

    Posted by Shane, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josephine Townsend.
    • I hired Josephine 1-3 years ago.
    • Josephine handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Josephine typed a letter for me that immediately solved my disability issue. I was very impressed with how kind and professional she was over the telephone when I first called. I cannot express how pleasant this experience has been and I will not hesitate to contact her again if I need further assistance.

  8. Very helpful

    Posted by Nicole, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josephine Townsend.
    • I hired Josephine 1-3 years ago.
    • Josephine handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Josie was extremely helpful in resolving a custody problem. I wish I would have found her years ago when I first needed a divorce attorney!

  9. One mazing Attorney!

    Posted by Tiffany Wolfe, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josephine Townsend.
    • I hired Josephine 1-3 years ago.
    • Josephine handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Josie's knowledge of the law and her compassion helped me through a tough time. Josie is the hardest working Attorney I have known she is honest and trustworthy. I wold recommend Josie to anyone seeking advise. I'm forever great full for the insightful advise she has given to me. .

  10. Ms. Townsend fights for what is right!

    Posted by Melissa, a Residential client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josephine Townsend.
    • I hired Josephine 1-3 years ago.
    • Josephine handled my Residential matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Josephine did an amazing job helping me and my family. I was a first time home owner, and along with this new responsibility came some nativity in regards to having contractors hired to do work in my home. Josephine was so helpful and informative with this type of law. She was professional, personable and has a great amount of integrity. She stood by my side during a very unfamiliar process where I felt quite vulnerable. I would recommend Ms. Townsend and will recommend her to anyone ever needing an attorney. She wont let you down.