Richard D. Granvold’s Reviews

Richard D. Granvold

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. AVOID THIS GUY AT ALL COSTS!!!!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Granvold.
    • I hired Richard 1-6 months ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This attorney is very slow to respond, but very quick with flipping attitude at you. He was a referral to us and was slow to contact us. We had only 2 days to beat a trustee sale deadline, it took 1 day to connect with him which left us only 1 day to prepare all the paperwork required to file and then he dropped us the night before because he told me it was more important for him to go to bed and get a good nights sleep than to finish preparing our paperwork to file our case the next morning. He left us no time to retain another attorney. Thanks for wasting our time! I'm sure my children won't mind being homeless as long as you can get a good night sleep!

    1. Richard D. Granvold

      Richard Granvold

      Lawyer Comment:

      First this is NOT from a client; rather someone who's wife could have been a client if they complied with the offer to help if they provided information by 630 pm on May 21 but did not . His claim he hired me is untrue also; he never had nor his wife with me any contract as they never returned any documents or retainer or contract, nothing!
      May 20, soon after the noon hour, a California Law firm called me asking if I could help someone file a bankruptcy to stop a foreclosure set for Friday May 23. I replied I could if they acted quick enough as I have Bankruptcy hearings and clients set for Thursday May 22. I was also advised this was a couple but husband located back in Eastern US and wife here in Lakewood Wa. As a result, after I was provided her ph number , I called approx. 330 pm and no-one answered but I left a message to call my law firm and even provided my home phone and asked to call my home at 645 pm as I would be with clients from 415 to 645 pm. I also called back the law firm and advised no-one had answered and I left a message and still no one returned my call. The wife I learned was unemployed . She never called back ever that day. Her husband had said he was trying to get ahold of his wife too as I advised him I needed to speak to the person signing and filing as the law requires! Despite that attempt, she never called back the entire day.

      Wed, May 21, while I was with a client , a phone message by the wife was FINALLY received at 1030 AM. . Thus, it was 19 hours after I immediately called her and left a message before she ever called back. The complainer states I was "slow" To the contrary, it is impossible to be any quicker since I immediately called and left message. And 19 hours later when she finally called back, I IMMEDIATELY returned the call when a client left, & discussed with her the facts and explained I could ONLY help if she picked up the packet and completed and returned to my law firm or my home by 630 . I explained I had to work on it Wed night so she could sign Thursday morning as I have clients today (Thursday and court hearings in Seattle at 330 PM also) and thus need to file the case Thursday morning. She agreed and drove out & picked up the packet at 1220 pm . I then gave her my home phone & cell phone in case she had any questions & told her she could deliver to my home which is 12-15 min from her house if I already left my law firm which was 26 miles away in case she was not done before I left work! I could NOT have been any quicker as it is impossible to be when I immediately returned her call 1 hr when my client left & I received her message.
      By 630 pm again, I had answered some of her questions when she called twice. I also gave her directions to my house to deliver so I could type as promised. But by 630 pm, no delivery, no call. NO communication at all until I finally called her at 810 so see if she had given up as I go to sleep at 9 to 930 PM normally. She said she was leaving shortly as she had couple more questions to fill out. No other calls from her . At 910 pm again I called and she said she was leaving but wanted to know if she could bring by in the morning instead and again I explained I had to get it then so I could type and have done before other meetings set and court and she said she was leaving to bring. At 945 PM 45 minutes later, despite only living about 12 minutes from my house she still had not arrived and I called her again. She was still home and wanted again to try and bring late or drop in my mail box and again I explained to her that I had told her I had needed the documents by 630 earlier or even as I agreed when she was late on that, but that I needed Wed so I could type late on Wed or early Thursday but because she could not deliver the documents until some other time,not as agreed on Wednesday that I could simply not help them .
      this comment only allows so long a response. So no contact, she did not accept as agreed.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

    2. Richard D. Granvold

      Richard Granvold

      Lawyer Comment:

      continuing on: because I had other clients and court and that was why I advised originally that she had to deliver the necessary documents and money on Wednesday when I had time to help her file! As a result of her not bringing in the documents as agreed, it was impossible for me to help her file and she needed to obtain another attorney’s assistance right away today (Thursday) as if she wanted to stop the sale she needed to do so. Thus, despite my immediate calls over 30 hours earlier , and offering to help if she delivered the documents with information needed to file bankruptcy if delivered back the same day I spoke to her (not many law firms do all this within 24 hours but I promised and would have if she complied it would have been filed within less than 24 hours of her calling back finally on Wed !), she failed to do so. She was unemployed and had 9 hours to fill out the questionaire that many clients do in 2-3 hours and return immediately to expedite their case. Here, it was never returned in the time that I required it to be if she wanted me to help her! She also indicated her husband was back east and not able to giver her some information as he was at work.
      Finally, after going to sleep, her husband (who is not the client I point out and was not in our our contract or conversations ) called and woke me up at 1015 pm wanting to know why I would not help her and why only 1 day. I explained to him again, my attempts to call and I had agreed to help her if she provided all back by the time above which she did not. Apparently, she did not share that with her husband. I advised him again I could not help and to find an attorney.
      With the sale tomorrow , it is easy to still file and stop the sale if she chooses to do so. In fact if she ever completes the information, she could bring that questionaire to another attorney who has time today and could have it prepared and filed anytime up to one minute before the sale on Friday at 10 AM is when she advised it was! This also involves a home that she indicates is worth less than the mortgages on it and thus no equity. Irrespective, she can still file. And had she in fact delivered all to myself by yesterday evening, (or in the next 2 hours after that as I still was waiting but she never came) as I advised originally needed to be done, it would have been signed this morning and already filed. Now, I have my other clients and court and cannot assist her and thus why I originally indicated to both the California law firm and her that I could help quickly IF she in fact acted quickly and provided all information as agreed– but she did not.
      You cannot go buy a car for $12,000 and then tell the dealer NO, you must sell it for $5000. That is what a contract is for. Here, the offer in an agreement to provide by a time certain , that is not complied with and thus not accepted , means there was no contract because she never complied with the terms which required all to be done by a time certain so I could in fact help her. Thus, the complaint by a persons who was NEVER a client is baseless. Also, to state I am slow is without any basis as in fact there is NOONE in the world that could have in fact done anything quicker as set forth above. I always immediately replied. I also called when she did not show up..and called again 45 min after she said she was leaving and still she was home! Thus, to state I was “slow” is unfounded by the person who was not even my client. AVVO should remove his “review” which is not in fact a review by a client and never will be my client and who apparently did not know the facts of the contract I had agreed to. When a firm in California calls and asks if you can possibly help someone and I immediately call them when I hang up the phone, that is the fastest anyone in the world could do. And to not receive back any phone call then for 19 hours about in response to my phone calls to this person who was unemployed substantially delayed her

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

    3. Richard D. Granvold

      Richard Granvold

      Lawyer Comment:

      ability to get it done quicker. Why did she take 19 hours to call back? I don’t know. Not sure if her husband does. But it does not matter..what matters is to claim I was “slow” is baseless and without merit. I hope she goes to attorney today or even files on her own to begin with if possible .
      This person also claims they only had 2 days to beat a sale. False. They were as all Washington State homeowners are, provided over 90 days notice of that sale in the Notice of Trustee’s Sale. So to state only 2 days is false. He may have waited based on an attorneys firm in California and him discussing options on trying to file a claim against the secured mortgage creditor, but he knew over 90 days ago about the sale, which in fact still might not occur if she files bankruptcy today or tomorrow before the sale. But to say only 2 days notice again is fales..he waited till the last moment and despite that belated wait, I would have helped her file if she had timely provided all and employed my office yesterday as then I would have then been employed and had duty to in fact then prepare all necessary pleadings.
      The claim of the reviewer is also untrue when he claims he hired me. There is NO contract whatsoever he can show anyone that he retained me. I made an offer by contract for his wife to retain me if she in fact delivered back all the documents but in fact the contract he refers to, and no money and no documents and no questionaire were ever delivered back..in fact I called 3 times re the status of all that so I could be employed and do the work last night as I promised I would but they were never delivered. To state you have hired someone when you have not is false. I offered to assist, but no acceptance of that over occurred and never will.
      He also claims they have not time to employ another attorney . False, she just discussed with me yesterday and certainly I know there are many attorneys in Pierce County if she goes to today who can file. But not without the necessary documents and fees they require which if she does not comply with then it is not because she cant employ one, it is because she does not in fact provide the necessary documents to them. She can if she wants to..but to claim she cannot is without merit.
      Although there is no equity in the home, by filing she could live there free longer if she files bankruptcy before the trustee sale! So to claim they must lose the home is only because these persons waited until Wed , 2 days before a sale , to communicate with a bankruptcy attorney to get their case filed, and then not provide the documents as agreed. That is the problem with waiting till the last moment, and then trying to blame someone else as a result of the delay. The delay was NOT caused by this attorney, but by the debtors. Sometimes that might be due to hope in a sale not occurring as set for, but to blame it on me is unsupported and the allegations by a persons back east not privy to the contract terms is without merit, baseless and not a review at all! Richard D. Granvold, Attorney at Law. So much for bending over to try and help someone. My other clients appreciate my services and my office door is full of cards expressing such thanks. I do hope this lady files today or tomorrow morning but that is up to them. The sale is still over 24 hours away!

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

    4. Richard D. Granvold

      Richard Granvold

      Lawyer Comment:

      Finally, she did end up filing for bankruptcy as set forth below the day before the sale and thus must have been able to take the necessary information to an attorney who did not have court that day and could help her. I would gladly have as referenced above had she delivered all as I had indicated would be necessary on such short notice. I don't know how AVVO lets someone who is NOT A CLIENT and would have been place a comment that is untrue as referenced above. My clients who do employ my law firm appreciate my hard work for them. It is unfortunate that I was not able to help her as offered but not accepted and glad she in fact did file as that is the ultimate goal. I know her attorneys and the are an excellent law firm too and have referred persons to them through the years when conflicts existed. Her filing:

      U.S. Bankruptcy Court
      Western District of Washington (Tacoma)
      Bankruptcy Petition #: 14-42883-BDL

      Assigned to: Brian D Lynch
      Chapter 7
      Voluntary
      No asset

      Date filed: 05/22/2014
      341 meeting: 06/30/2014
      Deadline for objecting to discharge: 08/29/2014

      Debtor
      Susan C Snyder
      8202 Coral Place SW
      Lakewood, WA 98498
      PIERCE-WA
      SSN / ITIN: xxx-xx-2053
      fdba Indigo Portrait Studios

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  2. Mr Granvold not only answered my post he gave us several options he gave me back hope when I lost everything !

    Posted by Sheila Dunbar,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Granvold.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I received much more than answers to my post on the AVVO site from Mr. Granvold he gave me back hope and options not one but several without judging or condescending remarks he was so respectful and helpful. I now feel I have a chance at maybe coming through another dark time Bankruptcy is difficult and after 4 years finding out we are still left with problems was devastating he gave us hope and an orderly direction to find our way back. We received more help than we did during our original Bankruptcy with another attorney this is the Guy to Trust I just wish I would of found him before. Out of all the posts his insights were the ones we needed to set us back on the right track to a better future. Thank you for all your help my Family is so grateful you have no idea how much this meant you saved not one but 4 people .

  3. Absolutely the best advice and help I have gotten. If you are looking, look no further.

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Granvold.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have realized there is a lot to know in bankruptcy, so it's important to get someone who knows the law. Unfortunately the lawyer I have had for the past 1 1/2 years did not know the law very well and I have never even spoken with, she only accepts email; which would be ok it her answers were helpful. But they are not, they were curt, condescending and hard to understand. Mr Richard Granvold explained everything so well, and in simpler terms than law language. Due to his help, I am going forward, and in the right direction, and WITHOUT the lawyer I had to start with. Thank you Mr Granvold.

    1. Richard D. Granvold

      Richard Granvold

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks very much for your kind words and good luck; thanks for taking time to say such appreciated comments!

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  4. Richard D. Granvold took time to answer, more than once!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Granvold.

    I filed my chapter 7 on my own... and did all of my hearings (431 and two to oppose motion for relief) without an ATTORNEY. It went really well. It has been three years since my case was discharged and I just had a few questions regarding the case. Richard was one of the first AVVO ATTORNEYS to answer. He also took the time to answer a couple of more questions. Some of the other ATTORNEYS' answers had nothing to do with my question. However, with Richard, I felt like he really explained what was going on. Thanks for taking the time to help me!

  5. A new Beginning

    Posted by Diana, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Granvold.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I know that it is not very easy to have to file bankruptcy when one has always paid their bills on time, but I just couldn't do it anymore. It was nice to be able to find an attorney that would work with me and help me to understand what was needed from me to make this flow easily. Richard Granvold is a very straight forward attorney, one that I needed to give me that extra push to get things done the right way. My case went very smoothly and now I have New beginning to start a new life. I went from fear to filing to a weight lifted off of me, all thanks to Mr. Granvold.

  6. Highly reccomend!

    Posted by Shearl, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Granvold.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    In march 2011, my husband and I needed an attorney to help us file a simple bankruptcy. We were scared to death, but Mr. Granvold helped us through every step. He mailed us clear information, and promptly replied to phone calls. Every step was exactly as he told us. We are so very grateful for his help, and hope we never need his services again, but if we do, we'll surely call on him.

  7. Richard D Granvold helped me with my bankruptcy. It was easy and my life feels better!

    Posted by Susan, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Granvold.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    Mr Granvold helped me with my bankruptcy. My late husband had always taken care of everything so I am sure I was a little harder than most cases. I took forever gettting things back and sometimes needed further help. Most everything was handled through email with only occaisionally a call. One very very short court visit. He was very professional and helpful. Everything went just like he assured me it would. Cost what he said it would. I feel things are so much better for my family now.

  8. Best Bankruptcy Lawyer in the State of Washington!

    Posted by Michelle, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Granvold.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    Richard D. Granvold was very comforting in a scary and confusing time. He explained the bankruptcy process and walked me through it in such a way that I understood what to expect. Never once did I feel as though he was looking down on me for the situation I found myself in. He stayed late to accept my paperwork and was always available to answer questions. A few years into my Chapter 13 I found myself without a job and unable to make my payments to the trustee. He went out of his way to assist me in resolving issues with the Chapter 13 trustee and I was able to resume my bankruptcy. I have since referred several friends/family members to Mr. Granvold and they have always been as happy with his work as I have. If you find yourself need a bankruptcy lawyer, Mr. Granvold is of the highest caliber.

  9. No thinking allowed

    Posted by Danielle,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Richard Granvold.

    If you have limited smarts, really limited earning potential and need someone to tell you what to do then he is your man. I am a thinker and know there is more than one way to solve a problem. One by one he dismissed every one of my enquiries as to the approach and strategy possibilities insisting I did not know what I was talking about. The 2 meetings I had with him were extremely demoralizing. Ultimately I did not use his services and am SOO glad I didn't, his advice was completely wrong. He also asks for more money than he needs up front then has fine print in his contracts which allow him to keep everything you gave him even if you decide not to use his services to file. I found him highly unethical. If you have a brain, stay away.

    1. Richard D. Granvold

      Richard Granvold

      Lawyer Comment:

      I do not have any clue as to who this is. I do disagree with their statements and wonder if it is another attorney writing this or not? NO specific facts are set forth. All my contracts have exactly how much is required before filing and every client has a copy and signed and returned the original contract as required by law. There is no "hidden language". Bankruptcy can be demoralizing as they claim..but discharging debt and starting over is refreshing for many clients and the stress reduced as a result thereof! Bankruptcy simply is for two reasons normally: to keep everything you have equity in, and to discharge your debts..it is as simple as that as far as the goals. My advice has NOT been wrong..and nowhere does this person explain any of what they claim is "wrong". The other 8,000 persons I have assisted in the last 26 yrs are happy. You cannot please everyone I suppose. But when I read unfounded allegations and no facts set forth to back up their claim..it makes me wonder who is really posting the object. Irrespective, call me and you will see for yourself I am up front, know what I am doing and will guide you along the bankruptcy path to a fresh start. Sincerely, Richard D. Granvold Attorney at Law.

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  10. The best

    Posted by Leonard, a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Granvold.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    The best there is. Hands down. Richard made me feel like I was important to him. He had all the answers when I asked them. He really knows his stuff. If you go somewhere else, you will be sorry. Trust me he knows his stuff. He made a hard thing in my life easy. Thank you Richard!

    1. Richard D. Granvold

      Richard Granvold

      Lawyer Comment:

      Although he says a chapter 11 , that was simply a mistake...I did about 12 chapter 11's..but all in the early 1990's and none since. This was a chapter 7!

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag

Call now for a free consultation.

253-945-6062