Jonah Chaplin Chew’s Reviews

Jonah Chaplin Chew

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. THIS GUY IS THE REAL DEAL AND WORTH EVERY PENNY

    Posted by JEN FUENTES, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonah Chew.
    • I hired Jonah 1-6 months ago.
    • Jonah handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Jonah Chew is one of the best attorneys EVER. I've seen him work miracles in the court room and he is respected by the Judges, the DA's, other attorneys, and most of all -- his clients. This is because he really cares about people and the quality of his work. If Mr. Chew has offered to represent you, consider yourself lucky because he is the kind of attorney you want fighting your case. FIVE STARS, A+++++ AND THE ONLY ATTORNEY I WOULD EVER HIRE

  2. Best Lawyer you could find

    Posted by Nick, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonah Chew.
    • I hired Jonah 1-6 months ago.
    • Jonah handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jonah is a well respected and experienced lawyer. He's smart and knows how to deal with people. I found myself facing some serious felony charges and he really came through for me. He saved my life!

  3. BABY LAWYER, no skill, no ethics.

    Posted by MITCH,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jonah Chew.

    JONAH CHEW IS A PUBLIC DEFENDER. He is great if you are facing small charges, however; if you are facing serious criminal charges, he is a joke. He took on my 5 felony case after I retained him. He made promises, never answered calls and made promises that weren't kept. My current lawyer who has over 30 years of trial experience refers to Jonah simply as a 'baby lawyer.' Do yourself a favor and find a lawyer with more CONFIDENCE, CREDIBILITY, and EXPERIENCE.

  4. Best lawyer you could ask for. A++

    Posted by Shannon, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonah Chew.
    • I hired Jonah more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonah handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Two words; CASE DISMISSED! I won't get into detail about the case but I will say this; you DEFINITELY want Jonah as your lawyer. Jonah fought for me the entire way through and there for, I received the best possible outcome. Jonah really knows his stuff and has the past experience to prove it. Take a look for yourself by reading Jonah's bio on the website.
    Jonah is SUPER knowledgeable, AGGRESSIVE, and he knows everyone in the SF court system. Also, Jonah is always on top of returning phone calls and text messages; which I think is huge. I could go on and on about Jonah but one of my favorite things about him is how much he really cares about his clients. I don't think I have ever come across a lawyer that cares more about his clients and what happens to them. Jonah also knows how to make a person feel comfortable and more at ease. He knew exactly when to lighten the mood and make jokes to calm my nerves.
    Seriously, if you are looking for the best lawyer in town, hire Jonah Chew. You won't be sorry!

  5. Best results

    Posted by David, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonah Chew.
    • I hired Jonah 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonah handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jonah is the go-to criminal defense attorney in the Bay Area. He has a reputation for being an aggressive trial attorney and gets the best results for his clients. He has good relationships with DAs and Judges and everyone at the Hall of Justice knows him. This is a big deal since you want an attorney that people around the courthouse knows by name and has been around for years. How else do you expect to get a good outcome?

    Any time anybody asks me for a criminal defense attorney referral, I always send them Jonah's way. He handles all kinds of criminal cases from misdemeanors to felonies. He's experienced and professional. Hands down the best choice for a criminal lawyer.

  6. Amazing Attorney

    Posted by T.D., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonah Chew.
    • I hired Jonah 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonah handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jonah helped me get out of a tight jam. He is the best DUI attorney that I know. Trust me from my experience YOU WANT Jonah by your side during the legal process. He was able to get me an unbelievable deal with San Mateo County.

    I was facing a 2nd DUI with an accident and a refusal for BAC. I broke probation on my first DUI charge (STUPID! I know) and he was able to reduce the charges to a wet and reckless, no jail time, half the fees, 28 days of community service instead of 60 and he GOT MY LICENSE BACK! He beat the admin per se!

    Amazing.

    If you're thinking about hiring a public defender for a DUI charge think again. Public defenders have too many cases, no time and probably do not care. If you can afford a great attorney call Jonah. Give him a call, he will spend some time with you to learn what needs to be done. Plus its a free consultation.

    Why did I hire Jonah?

    Nothing is promised. I hired Jonah because you can trust him. He's a great guy, knowledgeable and he WILL FIGHT FOR YOU. Most lawyers will not be as sincere and responsive as Jonah, trust me give him a call. It will be the best decision you've made in a long time.

    He is worth every penny and you can sleep better at night when you know someone as good as Jonah is on your side during these dark times. Everyone makes mistakes, but what matters is how you face the music. Going up against the city is tough, Judges, DAs and prosecutors do not want to go against Jonah. Why? Because he's good. Call him today.

  7. Simply the Best

    Posted by D.P., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonah Chew.
    • I hired Jonah 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonah handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had to use Jonah's services for a very complex case. Jonah is a professional and I believe he became emotionally attached to my particular case which made me feel like it wasn't all just business. I have to admitt being that it was my first time arrested I was very nervous Jonah read over the police reports and immediately started pointing out things he could use to my benefit. Jonah also knew when to crack a joke to lighten the situation and lessen the stress. I have and would totally recommend his services and although I would use him again I hope I never have to for my sake.

  8. Best Criminal Defense Attorney!

    Posted by David, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonah Chew.
    • I hired Jonah 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonah handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jonah is the go-to criminal defense attorney in the Bay Area.  He has a reputation for being an aggressive trial attorney and gets the best results for his clients.  He has good relationships with DAs and Judges and everyone at the Hall of Justice knows him.  This is a big deal since you want an attorney that people around the courthouse knows by name and has been around for years.  How else do you expect to get a good outcome?  

    Any time anybody asks me for a criminal defense attorney referral, I always send them Jonah's way.  He handles all kinds of criminal cases from misdemeanors to felonies.  He's experienced and professional.  Hands down the best choice for a criminal lawyer.

  9. Excellent lawyer, hire if you would like to work with a sincere and hard working professional.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonah Chew.
    • I hired Jonah 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonah handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jonah is an amazing lawyer! He helped me throughout the legal process and delivered results without promising me anything!

    I hired Jonah because he was sincere, credible and knowledgeable of the DUI process. This was my best decision I've made after being cited for DUI. He informed me of the legal process and kept me in the loop.

    If you want to work with a great lawyer hire Jonah! I gave him 5 stars in all categories because throughout the legal process he took initiative to ensure that he would fight for the best results possible and he delivered!

    I was ecstatic when I heard the results after he negotiated with the magistrate and prosecutor. He is worth the investment, so if you're thinking about going with a public defender or hiring a private attorney give Jonah a call!

    Cited:
    2nd DUI with accident and refusal to test for BAC

    Results:
    Wet and reckless, 9 months 1st offender program (instead of 18 months), reduced courts fees $1400 from $2500, 28 days Sherriff's Work Program (60 days), no jail time (14 days), driver's license (2 year hard suspension)

    WORTH THE INVESTMENT.

    Jonah is a great lawyer bottom line. I will recommend him to all my friends and family. He is on your side and will fight to help you!

  10. Outstanding lawyer

    Posted by T.C., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonah Chew.
    • I hired Jonah more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonah handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Five years ago, I was wrongfully accused for two felonies in San Francisco, my life was turned upside down. I was facing two felony charges that would have sent me to a state prison for a maximum sentence of seven years.
    I was referred to Jonah Chew. Jonah and I spoke over the phone, and I decided to have him represent me. To this day, nearly five years later, I would consider Jonah Chew a friend, and the best thing that could have happened to me.
    The first year of my case was mostly court appearances and standard procedures. I waived my rights to a speedy trial because I was innocent; Jonah and I needed time to obtain the correct evidence. With Jonah’s experience, he was able to put together a team of investigators and witnesses that helped prove my innocence. Because I was facing two felonies, my case was subject to the never ending battle of BS. A case this serious required great scrutiny from the legal system, and it seemed to draw on forever. I saw two different judges, just to get to a final judge that would see my case. This entire procedural BS was beneficial to my case because it gave us time to present a well-rounded argument against the City of San Francisco.
    Three years into the case, Jonah and I felt that we had enough evidence to have the case thrown out; however, there was still a victim that claimed I assaulted him. Our evidence was not enough to convince the District Attorney’s office to throw the case out, so we set a trial date. With my confidence in Jonah, and my innocence, we turned down all of the DA’s offers to settle for a plea bargain. After we didn’t accept an offer, Jonah aggressively pursued a strategic defense. Jonah had experts and professional investigators on his team that could accurately defend my innocence. At this time, my stress levels were rising, and I had little hope. I am a self-prescribed pessimist and I did not know what to think. All I knew is that I had my future riding on Jonah Chew, and my future looked bright.
    As my trial started, I had no idea what to expect. I was in front of jurors, judges, and attorneys. This was an abnormal scene for me. Jonah and his team made me feel comfortable and relaxed with my situation. The first set of the DA’s witnesses were shocking to me. I had four people pointing their finger at me, accusing me of an assault. I thought I was done. Of course I immediately thought for the worst, but that is where Jonah came into play. Not only did he disprove everything that they said, he also brought in an expert that completely nullified their testimonies. I had no idea about this expert witness, but I knew that I was in good hands. The closing statement from the DA had me second guessing my choice to not plea. I figured that the jurors would have my number and send me to state prison. Jonah’s closing argument solidified my belief in the justice system. I felt pretty good about our defense, but still, I was skeptic.
    On a foggy San Francisco day, I got off of BART to await my destiny. I walked towards the court house and got a phone call. “The jury has reached a decision.” Jonah Chew, my attorney, had summoned me to the court house to await my destiny. The two block walk seemed like two days. I had butterflies in my stomach like you couldn’t imagine. I got in to the court room. Judge, jury, executioner, my life awaits you all. The judge understands that the jury had reached a verdict. I held my breath and waited for the outcome. Not guilty. Not Guilty. Not guilty on all charges. I bowed my head and rejoiced. Everything that was holdin