Adam Jay Jaffe’s Reviews

Adam Jay Jaffe

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Corporate Help from a good lawyer

    Posted by Jason, a Corporate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Adam Jaffe.
    • I hired Adam 6-12 months ago.
    • Adam handled my Corporate / Incorporation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Adam has done various work for my company. Looking over Real-estate contracts, Corporate document reviews, tax advise, etc... Each time he has provided excellent service.

  2. Adam Helped Me Give a Shiner to My "Landlord Bank"

    Posted by Anna, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Adam Jaffe.
    • I hired Adam more than 3 years ago.
    • Adam handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Adam is worth his weight in Platinum (maybe more). Adam shadow counseled me on several matters regarding landlord tenancy through his self help programs. I am a tenant caught in the interface of a Banker's Mortgage Trust and Bank Trustee that foreclosed on my former landlord with one those famous Bear Stearns funds that was part of that whole melt down mess a few years ago. The bank kept flip-flopping on its position that "the bank it-self was the landlord" vs "trustee to the mortgage trust that now 'owns' the property v. the bank is only trustee" (when they declined to make repairs) I also live in a highly rent controlled restricted area of California that only allows just cause. The bank would not demand rent or tell me where to remit rent, so Adam helped me establish an escrow account with the City as it would later be revealed that this is how the bank likes to be sneaky by not asking for the rent or giving instructions on where to send it so it could ask for it in one lump sum to start eviction. Since the bank was too inconsistent with its position in the eviction proceeding he helped me point out to the judge that an action cannot be brought in the name of a trust in eviction court since a trust cannot own property, only a trustee can hold title, and going back to the bank's inconsistent position of "owner" v "trustee" and ability to even collect rent. Adam helped me with discovery matters in the eviction court to help clear up these flip flopping matters that ended up being the bank's own fall out. It would be revealed through discovery that the title to my former landlord's property was pooled in some foreign Mortgage Trust in Delaware which was not qualified to do business in the State of California, on top of that there were several tax consequences he discovered if it were found that these type of Mortgage Trusts were caught collecting rent as these Mortgage Trusts have special taxing issues where they are not charged taxes from monies in the pool for mortgages, but would be heavily penalized if they were caught accepting rent as it is prohibited. The eviction awarded me judgment with prejudice to the bank trustee. They can never file an eviction proceeding again as all of these actions as a whole seriously angered the judge. If it weren't for Adam I'd be like any other tenant who succumbed the the bank's trying to bully me around for that I will always be thankful.

  3. Top Notch Attorney...highly knowledgeable, dedicated to your case, honest, and ethical!

    Posted by Barbara, a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Adam Jaffe.
    • I hired Adam more than 3 years ago.
    • Adam handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Adam Jaffe without reservation! He was absolutely superb in every respect in handling our case. And he won the case and the appeal.

    Here's what happened, we had asked an unscrupulous contractor for arbitration to settle our complaints with his shoddy workmanship. instead, he filed a small claims lawsuit against us and put a mechanics line on our house. We countered sued for the maximum allowed. When the contractor hired an attorney and it became obvious the legal proceedings were going to get very nasty, we felt we also needed an attorney to be on equal footing., I found Adam Jaffe on line. His practice is a 2 and a half hour drive from our courthouse but that didn't phase him. The contractor tried every trick in the book. He delayed the trial multiple times, sometimes at the last minute. Then when we won the case, the contractor appealed and again caused multiple delays so Adam had to make the drive to court at least 3 times. He never complained. Adam's legal expertise caused us not to even have to argue the appeal. He found a legal reason for the judge to decide in our favor without having to present testimony all over again. It was brilliant really. Then the contractor kept trying, unsuccessfully, to have the appeal verdict thrown out to start over again. This process went on for a year and a half. You can see, I really needed a great attorney! And I found one in Adam Jaffe. He even gave me advise on how to collect some of the judgement from the CSLB contractors insurance. He always kept me completely informed, called me regularly just to see how we were doing (and didn't charge me for the calls - which is unusual for a lawyer). He is affordable, compassionate, extremely ethical, and knowledgeable of the law. I recommend him without reservation!

    By the way, several months after it was all settled the contractor, unable to pay the remaining balance on the judgement-which then showed on his CSLB reviews, skipped town and moved to another state. The contractor left a lot of unhappy customers here in California but winning this lawsuit saved countless other homeowners from enduring the same hardships we endured!

  4. Gave me great advice over and over

    Posted by Tina, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Adam Jaffe.
    • I hired Adam 1-3 years ago.
    • Adam handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Even though he only gave me advice for my small claims case, it was helpful, informative, and realistic. I without a doubt recommend this attorney. I had an issue with a sublease in a tenant/landlord situation and he knew so much about what to do, where to go, what forms to file to get the results I wanted. Thanks to him, my issue is resolved and I'm leaving more in the know about law as a result. 100% worth talking to, you won't regret it.

  5. Great Attorney!

    Posted by Jenny, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Adam Jaffe.
    • I hired Adam more than 3 years ago.
    • Adam handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Adam Jaffe has been a pleasure to work with. He is intelligent, accessible, knowledgeable, hard working and yet very down to earth. He takes the time to explain things in layman's terms and is very easy to work with. He has returned all our calls in a timely fashion and kept us informed of all the details. I would recommend Mr. Jaffe highly.

  6. Camarillo, CA Landlord Issue

    Posted by Jason, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Adam Jaffe.
    • I hired Adam 1-3 years ago.
    • Adam handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Great to work with. Tells you what your options are up front and does not try to 'sugar coat' things. Will work with again if I have any issues that require a lawyer. Also tells you if he can handle the case or recommends another lawyer that can.

  7. The lawyer in your corner

    Posted by Shai, a Residential Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Adam Jaffe.
    • I hired Adam 1-3 years ago.
    • Adam handled my Residential matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    The first call I make before any business or personal legal decision is to Adam Jaffe.
    He is always available to run the tapes and check all options and outcomes.
    I feel very comfortable recommending his services to my friends & family members.

  8. Knowledgeable and Passionate

    Posted by Raj, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Adam Jaffe.
    • I hired Adam 1-3 years ago.
    • Adam handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Jaffe was a pleasure to work with. He is knowledgeable, sincere and passionate with his work and very responsive. I would recommend him to anyone.

  9. Earned my respect

    Posted by a Commercial Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Adam Jaffe.
    • I hired Adam more than 3 years ago.
    • Adam handled my Commercial matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Jaffe opposed me in a case. Although I ended up losing to his client, I was impressed with Mr. Jaffe's fairness, courtesy, professionalism and integrity throughout the tough trial.

    A few months later, when my partner had an issue involving a bicycle-van, that needed legal resolution, I actually recommended he hire Mr. Jaffe, such is the impression that was made on me.

    1. Adam Jay Jaffe

      Adam Jay Jaffe

      Lawyer Comment:

      I do not know who this is. I am thankful for the review, but would love an opportunity to reach out to this commentator. Thank you for your kind words and your recommendation and referral.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  10. Adam is Amazing!

    Posted by JC, a Identity Theft client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Adam Jaffe.
    • I hired Adam more than 3 years ago.
    • Adam handled my Identity Theft matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Adam Was amazing! This attorney really bats a 1000 for you. My aunt had this really complicated Small Claims Case in the LA County Superior Court against a major gym fitness chain that has stores nationwide. As part of their questionable marketing tactics it gave to my aunt's daughter some free passes for use of the gym for a week free of obligation. They then required a copy of their ID, and waiver of liability for the temporary use and signature exemplars. Of course that alone sounded fishy; but not to the untrained.

    Long story short this company executed forged contractual documents that bore my aunt's signature (albeit quite badly) and collection agencies had been sent in after their apparent attemtpted purchase of their first new home since my aunt was unaware of this existing fraudulent contract that was ruing her credit as the intended home fell through escrow despite pre approval status. Of course, she could not recall the gym membership contract because she never signed one which turned out to be the basis of why she was getting denied proper credit as she rarely applies for it.
    She sued in small claims court for impairment of credit, amongst various causes of action, she even gets a graphology expert in small claims because the gym chain keeps claiming the "signature matches, the signature matches" despite expert evidence to the contrary and even at a lay standard.

    The sad part was they were in the middle of bankruptcy and this only added another complicated nature to this otherwise, what was then thought as simple case. Naturally after winning, the gym chain had filed for bankruptcy and appealed the Small Claims judgment because the trial court judge sided with California law that still permitted judgment in his view that the judgment could still be obtained despite bankruptcy status claimed.

    That was when I was authorized to hire Adam on her behalf as she is primarily Spanish speaking and through the appeal that's when lawyers may come in the picture for a small claims issue on appeal since removed into big boy Superior Court.

    Long story short, we had judgement rescinded and dismissed. The fun part was responding to all their dirty tricks like filing complicated and other inappropriate motions in the Small claims process and how Adam was challenged bald faced this high priced international big wig firms based in NY and LA and did so without blinking an eye. If it weren't for the bankruptcy protection order, and some hyper technical exceptions as fraud usually withstands over bankruptcy, apparently this does not apply in a corporate setting for some very very hyper technical reasons,

    Nonetheless I would hire Adam again in an instant and I appreciate his efforts and still worth every penny spent despite not being able to get the correct result, he sure did his damn best to at least try and obtain it.

619-810-7964