Ian Michael Wallach’s Reviews

Ian Michael Wallach

Average Rating

Based on 28 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Honest, reliable, and dependable...

    Posted by SP, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Wallach.
    • I hired Ian 1-6 months ago.
    • Ian handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Ian Wallach came highly recommended after I was arrested for a DUI involving a car accident. My husband and I sent an email inquiring about his services and he responded immediately, even though it was on the weekend. During our consultation, Ian was forthright, giving us all the different scenarios of what could possibly happen with my case. He did not try to sell his services to us; instead, he provided us with enough information to make a decision that would best fit our situation. Thankfully, we chose to hire him! Not only did he work hard for me, but he was also calming and reassuring. Ian always kept the lines of communication open, and answered all of my concerns. He kept me well informed about the progress of my case, and in the end he was able to stop my DUI from being filed in the court. He sent me to a doctor to get a medical opinion about the state of my condition during the aftermath of the accident. He used this information and sent a letter to the prosecutors requesting a non-filing of my case. His work was stellar, and I have not been charged. I am incredibly grateful to Ian Wallach, and feel extremely blessed that he came recommended to us. I will definitely pass on the recommendation to anyone else who is in a legal situation and needs committed defending.

  2. Ian Michael Wallach, You the Man!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Wallach.
    • Ian handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Ian responded very quickly to a cold call inquiry I had made with respect to a DUI case. I found him forthright, professional, focused and friendly. He went out of his way to steer me in the right direction and provided very helpful, if sobering information. I have dealt with many legal professionals over the years but none has impressed me more than he. I recommend him highly.

  3. A brief encounter, but a good one

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Wallach.
    • I hired Ian 6-12 months ago.

    Right before Thanksgiving I was the victim of a crime which involved stolen property. I emailed Ian to see what my rights were regarding getting my property returned. To my surprise, he called me immediately (while on his Thanksgiving vacation), asked a few questions, and let me know what my options were. I followed up with another email with additional questions, and he once again responded the same day. Ian has a knowledgeable and friendly demeanor, and quickly put a number of my concerns to rest. Hopefully I never have another situation where I need Mr. Wallach's services, but if I do, I know he is a lawyer I would want on my side.

  4. Ian Wallach - The Best Trial Attorney in Los Angeles

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Wallach.
    • I hired Ian 1-3 years ago.
    • Ian handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I needed immediate legal representation. I was referred to Ian Wallach, called his office and was able to set up a meeting within a few days. I found Ian to be knowledgeable and confident with his role in the legal world. He did his research, always gave support and guidance throughout our situation. Ian is dedicated, hardworking, intelligent lawyer, who is also well respected by his peers. The outcome of our court experience was positive and my family is very grateful for choosing Ian Wallach for our legal representation.

  5. A lawyer with strength and compassion

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Wallach.

    I hired Ian to help me with my DUI case. He was great. Very responsive and intelligent. I knew that he would make this awful experience bearable. When hiring lawyers, he was the only one who told me it would be alright. He helped me stay calm during this process which was very appreciated. I highly recommend Ian.

  6. Pass on Wallach for matter relating to DWI

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ian Wallach.
    • I hired Ian 1-3 years ago.
    • Ian handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was referred to attorney Wallach and after speaking with him and getting his 'non-sales pitch' (right!), I fell hook line and sinker! Paid 5K and did not get the representation I expected. I guess I should have known what to expect at the DMV hearing. He shows up and gives my name, but totally mispronounces it, that kinda shock my confidence. We have spoken on the phone and exchanged emails, so I'm not sure why he would that wrong. Prior to the DMV hearing, he had communicated to me via email that he put a stay on my driving restrictions. However, when we were in front of the DMV judge he seemed to forget that fact and told the judge that I could swear under oath that I hadn't driven! Needless to say, my faith was really shaken but haven paid him all the money, I felt stuck! I was stuck. We go to court and he's late, and didn't do anything that without representation would have yielded. After court he tells me all I have to do is pay my fines and we parted ways. Again he flips the script on me, because before court I had asked him to settle and he had asked me to give him one more chance and that he wanted to come to court as if he was ready to try my case, but of course that change and he just had me plea no contest. Fast forward to today, and I'm awaken by three police at my door with a warrant my arrest for failure to appear!! Apparently my attorney failed to tell me that I needed to show some sort of progress on my case, and for being being represented is absolutely unacceptable and truly a lack of ethics and true genuine concern for clients. Worst experience EVER!

    1. Ian Michael Wallach

      Ian Wallach

      Lawyer Comment:

      I don't agree with the representations here (and this is the first negative review I've ever received), but we did obtain a result much more favorable than the original offer (most likely arising from the results of the Pitchess hits and investigations which uncovered some unpleasant facts about the arresting officer's history). We made many extra appearances to reduce the prosecution's offer, brought a suppression motion, a Pitchess motion to get access to the officer's personnel files (which resulted in locating two witnesses that had complained about one of the officers), and prepared for trial.

      Because we held out one month longer, and made more appearances (7) than normal, we were able to get a reduced fine ( the prosecutor agreed to some credits that decreased the fine and removed of all other criteria normally attached to a standard first-time DUI deal.

      I understand that a warrant did issue because forms were not mailed into the clerk's office following the plea, and after our representation terminated. We informed the client of all future court obligations -- but a form was not apparently mailed in. And the officers did not arrest the client, but informed her of the warrant and told her to take care of it. Although we have no legal post-representation duty, when this client called me afterwards (and was very upset) we had a lawyer prepared to be in Court on the next court day if anything serious had taken place -- but we then learned that officer had informed her of the warrant and that was the end of it.

      We did great work on this case -- even the Division Chief of the City Attorney's office at the Metro Court commented that we "sure did our homework", and we got a great result. But that doesn't always diminish the frustration that comes with a DUI, and while we are proud of the work we did here, I am sorry that this client ultimately did not feel satisfied.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

    2. Ian Michael Wallach

      Ian Wallach

      Lawyer Comment:

      I wanted to clarify one thing in this review. Our office did timely submit all requisite paperwork. I have obtained the docket sheet for this matter, the warrant issued almost three months after our representation terminated as the client did not submit proof of enrollment to the Court. In every case where a defendant is put on probation, the Court requires that it be informed of that person's compliance with probation. This way, the Court knows that the probationer is fulfilling his or her obligations. The Court informs a party of this in open court, and also by providing a Court order when the party is sentenced to probation. In this case, unfortunately, the client did not realize she had to inform the Court of her progress, even though, as in every case, the Court stated so on the record and also provided the party with a written court order. I've handled over 1000 cases. This is the first case where a client did not understand that they had to inform the Court that they were complying with the terms of probation. Whereas I have always assumed this is obvious, I will know make sure that each client confirms with me that they will read and comply with all future court orders.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  7. If you are seeking legal counsel look no further than Ian Wallach. A true standout, he will be your greatest asset.

    Posted by Ashley,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Wallach.

    I was fortunate enough to have the pleasure of meeting Ian at the Los Angeles Airport Courthouse during a very difficult and confusing situation. Although he was not involved in my case in any capacity, Ian overheard my questions and concerns while sitting next to me in the cafe. He graciously took the initiative (and out of his brief break) to provide me with the guidance and answers which I was unable to get from the attorney who was involved in my case. I work with attorneys in a professional capacity several times a month; and never have I encountered one whose moral and ethical standards are as impressive as his extensive knowledge, stellar resume and impressive business acumen. Simply put; if you are faced with legal battle, Ian is who you want in your corner.

  8. An absolutely fantastic result!

    Posted by Joseph P., a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Wallach.
    • I hired Ian 1-3 years ago.
    • Ian handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was falsely accused and arrested for domestic violence during a custody battle with my former wife. Luckily, I was able to post bail but that hardly brought any relief. My life and everything I worked for and the possibility of not seeing my daughter was to much for me to bear. But I knew that the first thing I had to do was to find a lawyer quickly. When I met Ian, he quickly made gave me some relief and when I presented the evidence he immediately knew how to present it. He also patiently listened to my story and explained the next steps. Once I left his office, I felt much better and relieved that he was on the job. And what a job he did! Because of his manner of presenting the case and his knowledge of the ins and outs of the courthouses, his presentation convinced the city not to file the case. And just like that, it was over.

    Personally, this was very important and not just for the obvious reasons. When I was arrested and in jail, I lost all faith in justice and it marked my darkest hour. I thought that my life would be over. It was absolutely horrifying to think that all that I have accomplished can easily be taken away because of a lie. Ian's talent and perseverance gave me back my life and restored my faith in the justice system and, most importantly, my faith in the future for me and my family.

  9. Genuinely caring and effective, the best attorney when I needed one

    Posted by Allan, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Wallach.
    • Ian handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When my college going child in west LA faced a drinking in pubic charge 2 months ago, I called a number of soCal attorneys with concern that it might taint my child's record. I was either left confused or with the choice of a large retaining fee. That's when I came upon an online advice Mr. Wallach wrote pertaining to this charge years ago and I left a message at his number not knowing whether I'd get a reply. He called me back that same evening and in the first few sentences made me realize that I'd found the right help. After reviewing the citation, he gave me actionable advice on working with the City Attorney and court to resolve the case as an infraction, which my child followed on arraignment day to the desired outcome. He stayed in contact with concise and reassuring guidance through the whole process. Because he guided us towards self-help, which itself says a lot about an attorney, I did not really get to hire him. But if I ever need legal assistance in LA, he will be the first one I turn to. For all you did, Mr. Wallach, I am truly grateful.

  10. Smart, ethical, and aggressive

    Posted by LeeB, a Civil Rights client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ian Wallach.
    • I hired Ian more than 3 years ago.
    • Ian handled my Civil Rights matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Outstanding and exceptionally ethical attorney specializing in criminal defense but knowledgeable in every other area as well. Takes his clients' welfare to heart and fights hard for them. Met him when he did a terrific job representing an indigent client in a criminal trial; I sat on the jury that acquitted. Passionate but not overly emotional, he presents a rock-solid, perfectly organized, and logical case. I contacted him later on a civil matter, he replied that day, and his advice has been invaluable. If I were litigating, I'd call him in a heartbeat.