Clayton A. Simms’s Reviews

Clayton A. Simms

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Lifesaver!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clayton Simms.

    When my career, family, reputation, everything, was in the balance I needed someone I could fully trust. Clayton proved to be just that. He was clear, honest, personable, reasonable and I knew he would stand up for me like I deserved.

    I was falsely accused of a crime I was understandably terrified. I've never thought I'd ever have to deal with something like that ever in my life! I didn't know what rights I had or what was the best course of action was. I knew I needed a good lawyer and found Clayton on this site. After meeting with him in person I knew it was a good match. He had great advice and was always professional yet personable to me, members of my family and members of the police department. When needed, he sent clear and powerful messages that made an impact.

    Having his name attached to my case was key in preventing charges being filed against me. I highly recommend him to you.

  2. Thank You Clayton

    Posted by Neil, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clayton Simms.
    • I hired Clayton 1-3 years ago.
    • Clayton handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I contacted Clayton after being referred by my business attorney. Following a bizarre incident with an unstable man accusing me of a crime I didn't commit, and trying to fraudulently get money from my business, I was charged with an infraction. I know that it was a minor charge, but it really bothered me, and I was very glad to have Clayton take over and make sure that I was guided through the court system. I had never been charged with a crime before, and wouldn't have known what to do. When in court Clayton was so on the ball, aggressively countering the "alleged" victims story. Doing the same with the prosecutions other witness, so much so that the witness' testimony was shown to corroborate my story. I was so relieved to have a not guilty verdict, after Mr. Simms hard work and expertise. It has been a weight lifted from my shoulders, and nice to have put an end to the harrassment by the "alleged" victim, and the problems stemming from the profound lack of judgement shown by the prosecutors. While I certainly don't wish to be in that situation again, I wouldn't hesitate to hire Clayton again. He understood why having even a minor charge was stressful to me, and began work to counter the charges right while I was in his office.
    Thank you Clayton,

  3. Incredible Defense Attorney

    Posted by a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clayton Simms.
    • I hired Clayton 1-3 years ago.
    • Clayton handled my Child Abuse matter.

    Clayton (and Staci) are amazing attorneys. Clayton is definately agressive. He is agressive before charges are even filed. If you have been arrested CALL HIM. He immediately starts. Many attorneys will just wait to "see what happens" and that will cost you hoards more in defense. Clayton is aggressive to try and stop charges and will defend you immensly from the get go. I would NEVER go with a public defender. Although they are probably good people, they are sadly over worked and under paid and do not have time, passion, energy or funds to really look into your case. Too many times (over 90%) public defenders just convince you to plead, even if you aren't guilty. Go with Clayton Simms!!!!

  4. Criminal defense

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clayton Simms.
    • I hired Clayton 1-3 years ago.
    • Clayton handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Clayton was so understanding and very down to earth. He is funny and keeps you on your feet. I have recommended him to a couple of my friends. He listens to everything you have to say and keeps your best interst in mind while defending you.

  5. Thanks to Clayton Simms

    Posted by Colleen, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clayton Simms.
    • I hired Clayton 1-3 years ago.
    • Clayton handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Have you found yourself charged with a crime and you are innocent? Have you been a good citizen all your life and never needed an attorney before? Do you feel you have nowhere to turn? This is what happened to my niece. We were referred to Clayton Simms by a prominent Utah criminal attorney, when my niece was charged with a crime she did not commit. He told us Clayton was trustworthy, reasonable, and an excellent criminal attorney. He was right. We were very fortunate. Clayton's expertise was instrumental in working with the courts to get resolution of my niece's charges. Without Clayton, I don't think we would have had such a favorable outcome.

    Clayton puts his heart and soul into helping his clients and is excellent at keeping the family and his client informed of what is going on with their case and their options. I pray we will never need a criminal lawyer again, but if we do, Clayton Simms is the attorney we will turn to for help.

  6. Clayton Sims

    Posted by Beth, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clayton Simms.
    • I hired Clayton more than 3 years ago.
    • Clayton handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Clayton handled my son's misdemeanor DUI case in a very professional manner. I don't live in UT but Clayton would call and update me on every step of the process. Clayton is not your typical attorney..he treated us like friends and showed genuine concern for our situation. He has a soul! He fought for my son and even when time had passed and we were still having issues with the state of UT, I phoned Clayton and he discusssed the situation at length with me. If I could use Clayton for any legal needs that may arise in my life I would...even though we live far away from each other! He is very knowledgeable and proficent...I have the utmost confidence in his abilities and think the world of him!

    I can't say enough good things about Clayton...and would refer absolutely anyone searching for legal council directly to him!

  7. I'm upgrading my review of Clayton Simms ~ Thank you AVVO

    Posted by Kim, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Clayton Simms.
    • I hired Clayton 1-3 years ago.
    • Clayton handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr Simms called me and discussed the case with me fully. He cares about how well he is doing for his clients and that's a good thing. Thank you AVVO. I don't know if I can remove the last review I recently posted but I can say that Mr Simms cared enough to call me not once but twice to get everything straightened out and the miscommunication put to rest.
    Thanks Clayton.

  8. Non Judicial Program

    Posted by Elicia,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clayton Simms.

    I was very nervous about the juvenile justice system. Mr. SImms calmed me down and explained the Non Judicial program in place for first time offense of a child being found in the possession of alcohol. He was very reassuring, said I didn't need to hire him in this case and gave me advice on what to do...Great Guy

  9. Clayton Simms saved our son

    Posted by Dennis, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clayton Simms.
    • I hired Clayton more than 3 years ago.
    • Clayton handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Clayton Simms Saved our Son

    Our son was charged with a bizarre kidnapping and was facing three aggravated felony charges of 15 years to life each. A week later he was charged with an equally bizarre robbery and kidnapping that added another five charges of 15 years to life each. He was incarcerated without bail for 14 months and lost 30 pounds while suffering through the jail diet.

    In the first case the investigating detective and prosecutor coached and coaxed the plaintiff to testify, and offered the co-defendant pre-trial release if he would testify against our son. The detective was then honored by the police department as Officer of the Month for “putting a violent felon behind bars.” In the second case the investigating detective tried to get a confession by claiming he had two eye-witness victims who positively identified him as the bandit. The following month this detective was also honored as Officer of the Month. Clearly a desperate situation. Our son was looking at a lifetime in prison and the loss of any opportunity to raise his beautiful children. We called Clayton Simms for help.

    During the first trial Clayton demonstrated his exceptional mastery of the criminal law courtroom environment by painting a picture of the plaintiff as a willing participant in an event that was little more than a family fight: she willingly got into the car; she got back out and went back to the apartment to get her phone and cigarettes; she argued with the two people in the front seat while the defendant got out of the car and went into a restaurant to get a soft drink. He painted a picture of the authorities hardly believing her story; the plaintiff contributed to the air of unbelievability by showing up from prison to testify, wearing prison garb and constrained by leg irons and handcuffs. Thanks to Clayton efforts, the felony charges were thrown out and our son received a “hand slap” of two misdemeanor convictions.

    During the second trial Clayton aggressively went after the two plaintiffs, leading to the admission by one of the two plaintiffs that he could not identify the robber as our son. Clayton argued that the identification had been tainted by observation of the defendant’s mug shot on the internet. Additionally, two alibi witnesses testified that the defendant was with them the entire night of the supposed robbery. Clayton introduced the two alibi witnesses and walked them through the confirmation that they were indeed with the defendant the entire night of the supposed robbery. The jury deliberated and returned NOT GUILTY verdicts on all counts.

    Thanks to the determined efforts of Clayton Simms, our son is now a free man. We owe a great debt of gratitude to this outstanding attorney.

  10. Clayton Simms is the defense attorney you need!

    Posted by R.Manz, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clayton Simms.
    • I hired Clayton more than 3 years ago.
    • Clayton handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I recently was found not guilty in jury trial of DUI and other serious charges including causing a car accident, fleeing the scene and failure to control my vehicle and failure to leave my information at a sonic in West Valley City. Without Clayton Simms I would of not have won my case. This man works in only one gear, and that is AGGRESSIVE CRIMINAL DEFENSE! I recommend his counsel and expert legal advise to anyone serious about having a chance in winning their case or getting you the best result possible. If you are struggling financially and have considered obtaining a public defender to handle your case, I recommend that you NOT trust your future and good name for an attorney that is not interested in defending you at all. I can't say that all public legal defenders are bad to work with, but the ones that I had mishandle my case for 10 months was the worst expirience i ever had! They are not there to save you money! They are there to save the courts money by convincing folks to give up their rights! IF YOU DO NOT KNOW YOUR RIGHTS, YOU HAVE NO RIGHTS AT ALL!!! Talk to Clayton about your case. I am so thankful that i had him in my corner. West Valley Prosecuters will have to change the way they persue certain cases because of Clayton Simms!!!

Contact Utah Criminal Defense Attorney Clayton Simms at:

801-359-0404