James Gary Sullivan’s Reviews

James Gary Sullivan

Average Rating

Based on 27 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best Lawyer

    Posted by Tawnya, Tomball TX, a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Juvenile matter.

    Jim is an amazing lawyer he defended my 16 yr son in 2012 who was charged with Aggravated Assault with a Deadly weapon. He was very knowledgeable, caring, and trustworthy. His christian back ground and the way that he would talk to my son and make him feel comfortable was amazing, He was able to get all charges dropped due to self defense. My son was able to go on with his life graduate high school and now attending college. I will recommend Jim I carry his card with me at all times.
    Thanks JIM

  2. Attorney Jim Sullivan worked to get our teenager's juvenile case dismissed before the first court date.

    Posted by a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A family member was arrested and taken to Harris County Juvenile Detention which was devastating to us especially since we did not know where to turn and felt the arrest was a mistake. Upon contacting an attorney friend for guidance, we were recommended to get in touch with Attorney Jim Sullivan. Jim was easy to reach and an appointment was set up quickly. At the appointment, Jim utilized his years of experience from both his practice as well as from his personal experiences as a youth to ask pertinent, and at times challenging, questions of our teenager. His knowledge of juvenile law was apparent and he laid out likely options and a suggested course of action. We left the initial consultation better informed and comfortable that our teenager was getting strong representation. With Jim's guidance and assistance in dealing with the legal system regarding juveniles, our teenager's case was dismissed. Jim's work on our behalf was fit for purpose, led to a good outcome and has helped our overall personal dynamics with our teenager. I would not hesitate in recommending Jim Sullivan.

  3. Sullivan truly can and did make a difference in our lives. I am forever grateful.

    Posted by Wende, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My husband owned his own business. Due to the bad economy and not being paid on a project, one of his business checks written to a supplier bounced. We thought that the supplier would work with us, but they did not. In March of 2014, my husband was charged with a felony theft by check, a very serious charge. We have four children and he was the sole provider for our family at the time. We contacted five attorneys and met with all five, Jim Sullivan being the last appointment. When we first met him, he was very reassuring that he could help make these charges go away, interested in our story and treated us like people, not criminals as some of the other attorneys had done that day. We chose Sullivan to represent my husband and began our process.

    Tragically, while we were still getting the money together to hire him, my husband was attacked and robbed by several men the night before our next court setting. They stole the money we had to pay Sullivan and the vicious assault left my husband severely injured. I was frantic that night trying to get him to a hospital to treat him without health insurance while also arranging care for my children. We literally drove all over town. After being turned away for treatment in the Cypress area, we finally wound up in the Houston medical center. It was early the next morning before my husband underwent a CAT scan and MRI that confirmed he had a broken neck and nerve damage to several vertebrae. The doctors were trying to determine if and when he would need surgery.

    Throughout that day and night and ever since, Sullivan was there with complete understanding and reassurance that we would be okay. I was able to contact him several times throughout that initial traumatic day by phone and text message. He advised me to get the hospital to fax over records showing that he was in hospital and could not be in court. Unfortunately, they did not do so and by the time I got his discharge papers the court had already revoked his bond. Sullivan contacted the court, explained the situation and told them that he was my husband’s attorney whether he had been paid yet or not, persuaded the court to reinstate the bond and to give my husband a longer reset.

    Sullivan was genuinely interested in and cared about my husband’s health and the overall well-being of my family. There were times that he was one of the only people I could turn to that was telling me everything was going to work out in our lives and in the charges against my husband. I am a true believer that everything happens for a reason and that God puts people in our lives for a reason. For everything that Sullivan has done for my family, I will be forever thankful and grateful.

    When we chose to hire Jim Sullivan, we also chose a friend. We will always recommend his services to friends, family, acquaintances and strangers as Sullivan truly can and did make a difference in our lives.

    ~ Wende M, Cypress, TX

  4. Mr. Sullivan saved my little brother from having a juvenile sex conviction in Galveston County! I cannot thank him enough.

    Posted by B.A., a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My little brother was charged with a juvenile sex crime in Galveston County in February 2014 because he allegedly touched this girl indecently on a school bus in November 2013. When we found out this was going to court, we panicked as any parent can imagine. We talked with friends to recommend a good lawyer because this was the first time we’ve had any problems with the law and did not know any lawyers. To our misfortune, we ended up hiring and then firing the first two lawyers because it was clear that they did not know what they were doing. We should have known especially when they charged very little, like they say you get what you pay for. I spoke with my brother and he told me he had spoken with a judge but what the lawyer said was not to worry because the cops had better things to deal with, basically he was finished with the case according to him. I am no expert, but I do know that once you speak with a judge you need to have a good lawyer by your side. The second lawyer even said that at the next setting the judge will decide if my brother would have to stay in jail for 10 days while the judge decides what to do with the case. Any person would freak out--especially a 14 year old boy--with this kind of news.
    That is when I decided to do my own research and I found Mr. Sullivan. After learning that he was board certified in juvenile law with an excellent reputation and a long history of winning cases at trial, I decided to hire him to defend my little brother. Mr. Sullivan agreed to meet with my family on a Saturday afternoon so that my father could attend. During the initial consultation, he listened patiently, asked many detailed questions and even reenacted the scene with my brother to see if it was even possible what he was accused of, something that the previous lawyers did not take the time to do and probably did not even know how to do. I knew that Mr. Sullivan was a trial lawyer and it was obvious that he genuinely cared about my brother. When we left his office, he never guaranteed he could help my brother to not have a charge on his record, but he did say he would try to get it lowered from a felony to a misdemeanor. He also said that if the district attorney did not agree to do that then he believed that he could win the case at a jury trial. I appreciated that he didn't give us false hope like the other lawyers who I also later learned had both been disciplined by the State Bar of Texas.
    After two months of working on the case, Mr. Sullivan was able to work out a deal with the district attorney so that my brother can get his case dismissed! A HUGE weight had been lifted off our shoulders. You never expect this type of thing to happen to a family, but my family and I are grateful to have met Mr. Sullivan and are very thankful for all he has done for my brother. I highly recommend him to any family that wants their child to get the best representation in juvenile court.

  5. Mr. Sullivan Got My Son's Felony Sex Case Dismissed Before His First Court Setting! Simply Amazing!

    Posted by T.R & M.R, a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am truly blessed to have found Attorney James Sullivan. In March of 2014 our world was turned upside down and our experience with the juvenile justice system in Montgomery County would be one that would change our lives forever. Our 13 year old son was accused of Indecency with a Child by his 5 yr old niece, a case we were certain he was innocent of. Sullivan answered my phone call when I initially called and talked with me on the phone calming my nerves, ensuring me that everything would be okay. After meeting with Sullivan later that day, we were assured we were in good hands. Sullivan is professional, proficient, and an expert in juvenile law. Sullivan treated our son like the good person we know he is and not as a sex offender that the juvenile justice system had “already” labeled him. Sullivan responded to our e-mails and phone calls in a timely fashion, even calling us after business hours to answer questions we had to ease our anxiety. Sullivan took the time to review the evidence in our son’s case seeking out the true facts and found many weaknesses in state’s case.
    Sullivan was able to persuade the prosecutor to dismiss the case before our very first court setting! Our son did not even have to meet with the juvenile probation department. The fact that our son never had to be fingerprinted nor have his mug shot taken was a blessing to us as we did not want him to experience a situation like that for a crime he did not commit.
    Sullivan is very educated in the area of juvenile defense and sought justice for our son to have his name cleared of an erroneous crime. Sullivan cares for his clients and seeking just and fair representation for each person he represents. He is committed to seeing that children receive the support and counsel they need to ensure they have a voice speaking on their behalf during difficult times. I can never thank Sullivan for all that he has done for our son and family. Sullivan even educated us on things we could do to protect our son from being accused of a crime of this nature in the future. I would recommend Sullivan to anyone who is going through an ordeal in juvenile court so you can have peace of mind knowing that you and your family are being taken care of by someone who is committed to seeking justice on your behalf. Sullivan is a true blessing to everyone he comes in contact with and we are forever grateful for everything he has done for our family.

    T.R & M.R - Porter, Texas

  6. M.J. Houston, TX

    Posted by M.J>, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I owe Jim Sullivan my life. Approximately 6 months ago I was charged with and arrested for Assault Family Violence against my wife. I was faced with losing my livelihood, good reputation, and ability to earn a living in the future. From the moment I contacted Jim he was very professional, and explained every step of the process to me. He was prompt in returning my phone calls and discussed my case with me in great detail. Most importantly, he believed in my innocence and never wavered in his defense on my behalf.

    Jim kept me in a positive frame of mind, and was confident that the State would have to dismiss the charges, or that I would be found Not Guilty if we went to trial. He thoroughly studied my case and compelled the State to do the right thing. On the day of the trial, the State dismissed my case without prejudice. I was so overjoyed and was overjoyed to have my life back. Jim never doubted for one minute that the outcome would be positive. I cannot thank Jim enough for his professionalism, faith in me, and relentless pursuit for justice. There should be more attorneys like him, and I would recommend his services to anyone in need of a good attorney.

    Sincerely,

    M.J.
    Houston, TX

  7. Mr. Sullivan got my Assault family violence charges dismissed in Montgomery County. Thank you!

    Posted by Robert M, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Upon being side swiped with an assault family violence charge from the district attorney in Montgomery County, I immediately took action. First of all let me state that the charges were bogus and secondly I am a very busy and well respected business owner who would definitely feel an impact in time, money and reputation if I were convicted. I went to my first court appearance thinking it would get dismissed because I was innocent. Of course, not being a regular of the criminal “justice” system, I was dead wrong; and, in fact, I was completely beside myself with the offer I was handed by the prosecutor! It was absolutely crazy. I did not take this lightly as I am sure, and would hope, most innocent people would not. I wanted the best representation I could have; and, after being in court that first time and being approached in person by various court-appointed attorneys, various floating other counsel (or cronies as I would so frankly put it), I knew right then and there that I wanted an attorney I could trust. I was not a number or a case to be shoved through the highly packed court room! I was not an income opportunity for those in there offering me aid! Anyhow, I entered a not guilty plea and immediately started sifting through defense attorneys I found online. I have always been a good judge of character and I follow my instincts to a tee. Of the three attorneys I had decided to go talk with, James Sullivan was #1 on my list. People let me tell you, I have unfortunately been in this position only one other time in the last 20 years where I needed a high quality professional to defend myself against the government, and learned my lesson the first time. Just like anything else in life, you get what you pay for. If you find yourself in a position where you need an expert, believe me that going the plea route or least costly for the moment will come right back around in a hurry and make you regret not taking the time to defend yourself with the highest quality defense you can muster. I am not saying Sullivan is expensive; in fact, his fees are comparable in cost with other defense attorneys I researched. What I am saying is that Sullivan is a man of his word and has character and clout in his profession, and I felt like I had made the right decision with my choice in hiring him throughout the entire process. He prepared well for my second court setting and stood strong for me. As he explained, Montgomery County has a “rocket docket”, meaning that cases are automatically set for trial after the second setting if they are not worked out. That trial setting is exactly two weeks later. In other words, from the first court setting to a trial is only one month. Imagine finding and hiring a good trial lawyer that quickly. Fortunately, I did just that. Unlike other attorneys in court who were negotiating plea deals for their clients, Sullivan was adamant that if the State did not dismiss the charges then he did not want to waste any further time and to just set it for a jury trial. Sullivan was not bluffing, however I preferred to resolve the case without having a criminal record and without the public spectacle of a trial, and I also did not want to participate in the BIPP program because I certainly was not a batterer. Ultimately, Sullivan forced the prosecutor to back down and got them to agree to dismiss the case after I attended 18 couples counseling sessions with my girlfriend. As we were planning to begin counseling anyway, that was not even a problem or an inconvenience. Six months later, the State dismissed the charges. It is sometimes easy to get into a position that could seriously affect you for a very long period of time. It is much more difficult to reverse the impact of events afterwards. Keep your head up, hire Attorney Sullivan and complete your goal of not becoming part of the system. Thank you so much Mr. Sullivan for your effort and care with my case. ~Satisfied Client and Business Owner, Montgomery Count

  8. Mr. Sullivan helped my son get off a felony probation early

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I contacted Mr. Sullivan to file the paperwork with the district court to secure my adult son's early release from a felony deferred adjudication probation after he had successfully completed a little more than half of the probation term. My son was on probation for the serious felony of assault of a public servant (EMS worker). Mr. Sullivan was able to get the release process started quickly and within two weeks of my first contact with him the judge signed the court order terminating my son's probation.

    Having been a legal secretary for 20 years, I know how slowly the wheels of the justice system can often turn. I was happily amazed at how quickly Mr. Sullivan was able to complete this process and secure the early termination. Mr. Sullivan's extremely high AVVO rating is what led me to select him. A nice bonus was that I found him to be a friendly, compassionate and caring man. I wish I had known him when my son was initially charged.

    If asked for a client referral, I would give Mr. Sullivan a ration of 15 on a scale of 1-10.

    Concerned Houston Parent

  9. Mr. Sullivan Goes Above And Beyond For His Clients

    Posted by Tammie,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.

    I would like to add the following to the client reviews: Jim Sullivan is truly a man who goes above and beyond for his clients, the majority of which are children. These kids can’t properly speak for themselves in a court of law, but Jim can and does. This man’s dedication to these children is phenomenal! He is committed to giving these kids a chance to start fresh. Our son was almost 13 years old when we called on Jim in mid-2008, and he had been charged with a serious felony offense (aggravated sexual assault of a child). It was a Sunday when we made the call. Jim answered the phone and urged us to come in that evening. He sat with us for three and a half hours listening to and coming to understand our story. He was our second attorney. The first had misrepresented himself as a juvenile defense attorney and was unable to get our son released from juvenile detention. It was terrifying to have to start over in the middle of chaos, but Jim calmed the air so quickly and helped us move forward. Jim took our son’s case that Sunday evening and changed our boy’s life. Jim got our son back in our custody immediately. He connected with our son and gained his trust, something the previous attorney had no time to do. Jim always remembered he was our son’s attorney, not ours, and he treated our son with respect even though he had managed to land himself in a situation undeserving of it. Jim spent time preparing our son for what was happening now and what could be expected in the future. He was always prompt in returning phone calls; that is if I had to leave a message at all. I was usually able to reach him right away even in the evening when I did not expect to. Jim knew that we had just paid our previous attorney in full and that we were financially in a bind. He didn’t make us feel unimportant while we gathered the funds he would need to defend our son. He always treated us as if we had paid in full the minute we walked through his door. This man is not about money! I truly believe that he does all that he can to provide his services at a minimal cost. Jim also knew that our son was from a home of divorce and that he would have to do double time on correspondence between father and mother. He did so with the utmost patience and respect to both sides. Jim kept the peace when it wasn’t his responsibility. Remember, Jim is the child’s attorney and not the parents. However, he took the time to help us come together on some very important issues. Just know that my son was grateful at the peace that was created. My son is now moving on with his life in the custody of his parents and not the state of Texas, because a man named Jim Sullivan believes he has a duty to children and he wakes up to the call of that duty every day and meets it with the utmost integrity. ~Tammie P., Houston, Texas

  10. Mr. Sullivan is the best criminal attorney for family violence cases. He kept me from prison and deportation and helped me a lot

    Posted by Alek, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    After an episode in May 2013, I faced 3rd degree felony charges for domestic violence by impending breathing. Initially, I hired another attorney but he did not perform as I expected and that is why I met with Jim Sullivan. Reviews on AVVO were very positive which gave me a good feeling. After the first meeting, I knew that he was the right choice. He pointed several mistakes my previous attorney made, and he assured me that he would do his best to firstly control the damage and then he would do his best to get a positive outcome from my case. We talked in his office for several hours. Not only did he ask specific questions about the episode, but he also sought to understand the problems that led to it. It became clear to him that I had a drinking problem after I talked about how my heavy drinking began during the Yugoslav wars and continued for years afterwards. I am originally from Macedonia where it is customary for the men to drink a lot. Sullivan encouraged me to join A.A., to stop drinking and to attend the BIPP program. After he met with my wife to hear her side of the story, Sullivan convinced me that I had to quit drinking to save my marriage. I took his advice. I met my American born wife in Qatar and married her in Texas, but I was here on a visa. I was planning to become a U.S. citizen, but Sullivan told me that a felony probation or even a misdemeanor family violence conviction would result in my deportation. His goal was to persuade the prosecutor to get my case reduced to a misdemeanor in such a way that I could still stay in the United States. Finally, after 8 months, Sullivan got my felony charge reduced to a misdemeanor reckless assault. Instead of 2 to 10 years in prison, I got one year of deferred adjudication probation. There were tough moments when I was depressed and wanted to give up fighting the case, but Sullivan always stood up and helped me both as a professional and as a good friend. I highly recommend Jim Sullivan. He is a caring, reliable and determined attorney who always pulls maximum for his clients. I wish him all the best in his future endeavors.
    ~Alek

Call now for a free consultation.

281-546-6428