James Gary Sullivan’s Reviews

James Gary Sullivan

Average Rating

Based on 32 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Mr. Sullivan got my grandson's aggravated robbery charge reduced and saved him 13 years in prison.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.

    I highly recommend Attorney James Sullivan. Throughout the entire process he was very patient, understanding and answered all our questions. He also gave my grandson valuable advice that will be useful in any child’s life in general and that I will also share with the rest of my grandchildren. Because of stupid judgment, my grandson Adrian was charged with aggravated robbery and faced 5 to 99 years or life in prison. The best deal his court-appointed lawyer could get for him was 15 years in prison. You can imagine how devastated the family was to hear this news not to mention how my 19 year old grandson felt. That is when I decided to hire an attorney for him and found Mr. Sullivan online. Thanks to Mr. Sullivan’s hard work and determination the case was reduced to an aggravated assault and Adrian will now only have to serve 2 years in prison. I know every case is different, but I also know with a good lawyer like Mr. Sullivan there can be a fighting chance for almost anyone.
    Thank you Mr. Sullivan, I can never thank you enough.
    From a grateful grandmother that, God willing, will be able to see her grandson when he gets out of prison.

  2. Attorney Jim Sullivan is honest, knowledgeable and friendly

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.

    I really appreciate Jim Sullivan's advice when my son was false accused by another student at school. Jim knows what to do and made a plan for us immediately. He is honest, knowledgeable and friendly. Thankfully, the accusation was withdrawn by the other student's parents. I highly recommend Jim Sullivan to any parent who needs a juvenile defense lawyer to represent their child.

  3. Jim Sullivan is the best. He worked to get my criminal case dismissed.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.

    Jim Sullivan is an excellent criminal defense lawyer. He knows what to do to get the best result. I met other attorneys to help me with my case but they all gave me complicated solutions and they stressed me out a lot, but Jim Sullivan knew how to help me to face my case and get it dismissed. He is the best.

  4. Mr. Sullivan got my Aggravated Assault case dismissed by the Grand Jury!

    Posted by Greg, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am thankful to Jim Sullivan for helping me get an Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon charge dismissed. I was unjustly arrested after a fight at my own home with someone that attacked me in a drunken rage. When that person refused to leave and kept making threats, I defended myself with my own gun that I carry legally with a concealed handgun license. I fired shots as a warning for this person to leave and he called the police on me once he left my home. Shortly there after, the police came and did not want to hear my side of the story and arrested me. Jim came up with a plan to fight the charges. Before I found him, I thought I was going to have to pay for an expensive trial. Instead, Jim explained that he could probably get the charges dismissed by the grand jury in a few weeks, and if so I would have the right to immediately get my record cleared. Jim prepared a detailed defense packet based on the facts and the law. Based on that, the Grand Jury voted to no bill (dismiss) the charges. I did not have to appear before them, and I only had to go to court two times. I highly recommend Jim Sullivan. He makes every effort to give you the best outcome. I appreciate his time and help on my case.

  5. Awesome Lawyer and Person

    Posted by Peggy, a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. Sullivan handled a case for my son. It is rare to find someone who cares. If you find yourself or a loved one in trouble with the justice system, give him a call. Jim gives 100% to his clients. He won't let you down! On a scale of 1 - 10, he rates a 10!!!

  6. Best Lawyer

    Posted by Tawnya, Tomball TX, a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Juvenile matter.

    Jim is an amazing lawyer he defended my 16 yr son in 2012 who was charged with Aggravated Assault with a Deadly weapon. He was very knowledgeable, caring, and trustworthy. His christian back ground and the way that he would talk to my son and make him feel comfortable was amazing, He was able to get all charges dropped due to self defense. My son was able to go on with his life graduate high school and now attending college. I will recommend Jim I carry his card with me at all times.
    Thanks JIM

  7. Attorney Jim Sullivan worked to get our teenager's juvenile case dismissed before the first court date.

    Posted by a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A family member was arrested and taken to Harris County Juvenile Detention which was devastating to us especially since we did not know where to turn and felt the arrest was a mistake. Upon contacting an attorney friend for guidance, we were recommended to get in touch with Attorney Jim Sullivan. Jim was easy to reach and an appointment was set up quickly. At the appointment, Jim utilized his years of experience from both his practice as well as from his personal experiences as a youth to ask pertinent, and at times challenging, questions of our teenager. His knowledge of juvenile law was apparent and he laid out likely options and a suggested course of action. We left the initial consultation better informed and comfortable that our teenager was getting strong representation. With Jim's guidance and assistance in dealing with the legal system regarding juveniles, our teenager's case was dismissed. Jim's work on our behalf was fit for purpose, led to a good outcome and has helped our overall personal dynamics with our teenager. I would not hesitate in recommending Jim Sullivan.

  8. Sullivan truly can and did make a difference in our lives. I am forever grateful.

    Posted by Wende, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My husband owned his own business. Due to the bad economy and not being paid on a project, one of his business checks written to a supplier bounced. We thought that the supplier would work with us, but they did not. In March of 2014, my husband was charged with a felony theft by check, a very serious charge. We have four children and he was the sole provider for our family at the time. We contacted five attorneys and met with all five, Jim Sullivan being the last appointment. When we first met him, he was very reassuring that he could help make these charges go away, interested in our story and treated us like people, not criminals as some of the other attorneys had done that day. We chose Sullivan to represent my husband and began our process.

    Tragically, while we were still getting the money together to hire him, my husband was attacked and robbed by several men the night before our next court setting. They stole the money we had to pay Sullivan and the vicious assault left my husband severely injured. I was frantic that night trying to get him to a hospital to treat him without health insurance while also arranging care for my children. We literally drove all over town. After being turned away for treatment in the Cypress area, we finally wound up in the Houston medical center. It was early the next morning before my husband underwent a CAT scan and MRI that confirmed he had a broken neck and nerve damage to several vertebrae. The doctors were trying to determine if and when he would need surgery.

    Throughout that day and night and ever since, Sullivan was there with complete understanding and reassurance that we would be okay. I was able to contact him several times throughout that initial traumatic day by phone and text message. He advised me to get the hospital to fax over records showing that he was in hospital and could not be in court. Unfortunately, they did not do so and by the time I got his discharge papers the court had already revoked his bond. Sullivan contacted the court, explained the situation and told them that he was my husband’s attorney whether he had been paid yet or not, persuaded the court to reinstate the bond and to give my husband a longer reset.

    Sullivan was genuinely interested in and cared about my husband’s health and the overall well-being of my family. There were times that he was one of the only people I could turn to that was telling me everything was going to work out in our lives and in the charges against my husband. I am a true believer that everything happens for a reason and that God puts people in our lives for a reason. For everything that Sullivan has done for my family, I will be forever thankful and grateful.

    When we chose to hire Jim Sullivan, we also chose a friend. We will always recommend his services to friends, family, acquaintances and strangers as Sullivan truly can and did make a difference in our lives.

    ~ Wende M, Cypress, TX

  9. Mr. Sullivan saved my little brother from having a juvenile sex conviction in Galveston County! I cannot thank him enough.

    Posted by B.A., a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My little brother was charged with a juvenile sex crime in Galveston County in February 2014 because he allegedly touched this girl indecently on a school bus in November 2013. When we found out this was going to court, we panicked as any parent can imagine. We talked with friends to recommend a good lawyer because this was the first time we’ve had any problems with the law and did not know any lawyers. To our misfortune, we ended up hiring and then firing the first two lawyers because it was clear that they did not know what they were doing. We should have known especially when they charged very little, like they say you get what you pay for. I spoke with my brother and he told me he had spoken with a judge but what the lawyer said was not to worry because the cops had better things to deal with, basically he was finished with the case according to him. I am no expert, but I do know that once you speak with a judge you need to have a good lawyer by your side. The second lawyer even said that at the next setting the judge will decide if my brother would have to stay in jail for 10 days while the judge decides what to do with the case. Any person would freak out--especially a 14 year old boy--with this kind of news.
    That is when I decided to do my own research and I found Mr. Sullivan. After learning that he was board certified in juvenile law with an excellent reputation and a long history of winning cases at trial, I decided to hire him to defend my little brother. Mr. Sullivan agreed to meet with my family on a Saturday afternoon so that my father could attend. During the initial consultation, he listened patiently, asked many detailed questions and even reenacted the scene with my brother to see if it was even possible what he was accused of, something that the previous lawyers did not take the time to do and probably did not even know how to do. I knew that Mr. Sullivan was a trial lawyer and it was obvious that he genuinely cared about my brother. When we left his office, he never guaranteed he could help my brother to not have a charge on his record, but he did say he would try to get it lowered from a felony to a misdemeanor. He also said that if the district attorney did not agree to do that then he believed that he could win the case at a jury trial. I appreciated that he didn't give us false hope like the other lawyers who I also later learned had both been disciplined by the State Bar of Texas.
    After two months of working on the case, Mr. Sullivan was able to work out a deal with the district attorney so that my brother can get his case dismissed! A HUGE weight had been lifted off our shoulders. You never expect this type of thing to happen to a family, but my family and I are grateful to have met Mr. Sullivan and are very thankful for all he has done for my brother. I highly recommend him to any family that wants their child to get the best representation in juvenile court.

  10. Mr. Sullivan Got My Son's Felony Sex Case Dismissed Before His First Court Setting! Simply Amazing!

    Posted by T.R & M.R, a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am truly blessed to have found Attorney James Sullivan. In March of 2014 our world was turned upside down and our experience with the juvenile justice system in Montgomery County would be one that would change our lives forever. Our 13 year old son was accused of Indecency with a Child by his 5 yr old niece, a case we were certain he was innocent of. Sullivan answered my phone call when I initially called and talked with me on the phone calming my nerves, ensuring me that everything would be okay. After meeting with Sullivan later that day, we were assured we were in good hands. Sullivan is professional, proficient, and an expert in juvenile law. Sullivan treated our son like the good person we know he is and not as a sex offender that the juvenile justice system had “already” labeled him. Sullivan responded to our e-mails and phone calls in a timely fashion, even calling us after business hours to answer questions we had to ease our anxiety. Sullivan took the time to review the evidence in our son’s case seeking out the true facts and found many weaknesses in state’s case.
    Sullivan was able to persuade the prosecutor to dismiss the case before our very first court setting! Our son did not even have to meet with the juvenile probation department. The fact that our son never had to be fingerprinted nor have his mug shot taken was a blessing to us as we did not want him to experience a situation like that for a crime he did not commit.
    Sullivan is very educated in the area of juvenile defense and sought justice for our son to have his name cleared of an erroneous crime. Sullivan cares for his clients and seeking just and fair representation for each person he represents. He is committed to seeing that children receive the support and counsel they need to ensure they have a voice speaking on their behalf during difficult times. I can never thank Sullivan for all that he has done for our son and family. Sullivan even educated us on things we could do to protect our son from being accused of a crime of this nature in the future. I would recommend Sullivan to anyone who is going through an ordeal in juvenile court so you can have peace of mind knowing that you and your family are being taken care of by someone who is committed to seeking justice on your behalf. Sullivan is a true blessing to everyone he comes in contact with and we are forever grateful for everything he has done for our family.

    T.R & M.R - Porter, Texas

Call now for a free consultation.

281-546-6428