James Gary Sullivan’s Reviews

James Gary Sullivan

Average Rating

Based on 21 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Mr. Sullivan got my Assault family violence charges dismissed in Montgomery County. Thank you!

    Posted by Robert M, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Upon being side swiped with an assault family violence charge from the district attorney in Montgomery County, I immediately took action. First of all let me state that the charges were bogus and secondly I am a very busy and well respected business owner who would definitely feel an impact in time, money and reputation if I were convicted. I went to my first court appearance thinking it would get dismissed because I was innocent. Of course, not being a regular of the criminal “justice” system, I was dead wrong; and, in fact, I was completely beside myself with the offer I was handed by the prosecutor! It was absolutely crazy. I did not take this lightly as I am sure, and would hope, most innocent people would not. I wanted the best representation I could have; and, after being in court that first time and being approached in person by various court-appointed attorneys, various floating other counsel (or cronies as I would so frankly put it), I knew right then and there that I wanted an attorney I could trust. I was not a number or a case to be shoved through the highly packed court room! I was not an income opportunity for those in there offering me aid! Anyhow, I entered a not guilty plea and immediately started sifting through defense attorneys I found online. I have always been a good judge of character and I follow my instincts to a tee. Of the three attorneys I had decided to go talk with, James Sullivan was #1 on my list. People let me tell you, I have unfortunately been in this position only one other time in the last 20 years where I needed a high quality professional to defend myself against the government, and learned my lesson the first time. Just like anything else in life, you get what you pay for. If you find yourself in a position where you need an expert, believe me that going the plea route or least costly for the moment will come right back around in a hurry and make you regret not taking the time to defend yourself with the highest quality defense you can muster. I am not saying Sullivan is expensive; in fact, his fees are comparable in cost with other defense attorneys I researched. What I am saying is that Sullivan is a man of his word and has character and clout in his profession, and I felt like I had made the right decision with my choice in hiring him throughout the entire process. He prepared well for my second court setting and stood strong for me. As he explained, Montgomery County has a “rocket docket”, meaning that cases are automatically set for trial after the second setting if they are not worked out. That trial setting is exactly two weeks later. In other words, from the first court setting to a trial is only one month. Imagine finding and hiring a good trial lawyer that quickly. Fortunately, I did just that. Unlike other attorneys in court who were negotiating plea deals for their clients, Sullivan was adamant that if the State did not dismiss the charges then he did not want to waste any further time and to just set it for a jury trial. Sullivan was not bluffing, however I preferred to resolve the case without having a criminal record and without the public spectacle of a trial, and I also did not want to participate in the BIPP program because I certainly was not a batterer. Ultimately, Sullivan forced the prosecutor to back down and got them to agree to dismiss the case after I attended 18 couples counseling sessions with my girlfriend. As we were planning to begin counseling anyway, that was not even a problem or an inconvenience. Six months later, the State dismissed the charges. It is sometimes easy to get into a position that could seriously affect you for a very long period of time. It is much more difficult to reverse the impact of events afterwards. Keep your head up, hire Attorney Sullivan and complete your goal of not becoming part of the system. Thank you so much Mr. Sullivan for your effort and care with my case. ~Satisfied Client and Business Owner, Montgomery Count

  2. Mr. Sullivan helped my son get off a felony probation early

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I contacted Mr. Sullivan to file the paperwork with the district court to secure my adult son's early release from a felony deferred adjudication probation after he had successfully completed a little more than half of the probation term. My son was on probation for the serious felony of assault of a public servant (EMS worker). Mr. Sullivan was able to get the release process started quickly and within two weeks of my first contact with him the judge signed the court order terminating my son's probation.

    Having been a legal secretary for 20 years, I know how slowly the wheels of the justice system can often turn. I was happily amazed at how quickly Mr. Sullivan was able to complete this process and secure the early termination. Mr. Sullivan's extremely high AVVO rating is what led me to select him. A nice bonus was that I found him to be a friendly, compassionate and caring man. I wish I had known him when my son was initially charged.

    If asked for a client referral, I would give Mr. Sullivan a ration of 15 on a scale of 1-10.

    Concerned Houston Parent

  3. Mr. Sullivan Goes Above And Beyond For His Clients

    Posted by Tammie,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.

    I would like to add the following to the client reviews: Jim Sullivan is truly a man who goes above and beyond for his clients, the majority of which are children. These kids can’t properly speak for themselves in a court of law, but Jim can and does. This man’s dedication to these children is phenomenal! He is committed to giving these kids a chance to start fresh. Our son was almost 13 years old when we called on Jim in mid-2008, and he had been charged with a serious felony offense (aggravated sexual assault of a child). It was a Sunday when we made the call. Jim answered the phone and urged us to come in that evening. He sat with us for three and a half hours listening to and coming to understand our story. He was our second attorney. The first had misrepresented himself as a juvenile defense attorney and was unable to get our son released from juvenile detention. It was terrifying to have to start over in the middle of chaos, but Jim calmed the air so quickly and helped us move forward. Jim took our son’s case that Sunday evening and changed our boy’s life. Jim got our son back in our custody immediately. He connected with our son and gained his trust, something the previous attorney had no time to do. Jim always remembered he was our son’s attorney, not ours, and he treated our son with respect even though he had managed to land himself in a situation undeserving of it. Jim spent time preparing our son for what was happening now and what could be expected in the future. He was always prompt in returning phone calls; that is if I had to leave a message at all. I was usually able to reach him right away even in the evening when I did not expect to. Jim knew that we had just paid our previous attorney in full and that we were financially in a bind. He didn’t make us feel unimportant while we gathered the funds he would need to defend our son. He always treated us as if we had paid in full the minute we walked through his door. This man is not about money! I truly believe that he does all that he can to provide his services at a minimal cost. Jim also knew that our son was from a home of divorce and that he would have to do double time on correspondence between father and mother. He did so with the utmost patience and respect to both sides. Jim kept the peace when it wasn’t his responsibility. Remember, Jim is the child’s attorney and not the parents. However, he took the time to help us come together on some very important issues. Just know that my son was grateful at the peace that was created. My son is now moving on with his life in the custody of his parents and not the state of Texas, because a man named Jim Sullivan believes he has a duty to children and he wakes up to the call of that duty every day and meets it with the utmost integrity. ~Tammie P., Houston, Texas

  4. Mr. Sullivan is the best criminal attorney for family violence cases. He kept me from prison and deportation and helped me a lot

    Posted by Alek, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    After an episode in May 2013, I faced 3rd degree felony charges for domestic violence by impending breathing. Initially, I hired another attorney but he did not perform as I expected and that is why I met with Jim Sullivan. Reviews on AVVO were very positive which gave me a good feeling. After the first meeting, I knew that he was the right choice. He pointed several mistakes my previous attorney made, and he assured me that he would do his best to firstly control the damage and then he would do his best to get a positive outcome from my case. We talked in his office for several hours. Not only did he ask specific questions about the episode, but he also sought to understand the problems that led to it. It became clear to him that I had a drinking problem after I talked about how my heavy drinking began during the Yugoslav wars and continued for years afterwards. I am originally from Macedonia where it is customary for the men to drink a lot. Sullivan encouraged me to join A.A., to stop drinking and to attend the BIPP program. After he met with my wife to hear her side of the story, Sullivan convinced me that I had to quit drinking to save my marriage. I took his advice. I met my American born wife in Qatar and married her in Texas, but I was here on a visa. I was planning to become a U.S. citizen, but Sullivan told me that a felony probation or even a misdemeanor family violence conviction would result in my deportation. His goal was to persuade the prosecutor to get my case reduced to a misdemeanor in such a way that I could still stay in the United States. Finally, after 8 months, Sullivan got my felony charge reduced to a misdemeanor reckless assault. Instead of 2 to 10 years in prison, I got one year of deferred adjudication probation. There were tough moments when I was depressed and wanted to give up fighting the case, but Sullivan always stood up and helped me both as a professional and as a good friend. I highly recommend Jim Sullivan. He is a caring, reliable and determined attorney who always pulls maximum for his clients. I wish him all the best in his future endeavors.
    ~Alek

  5. Mr. Sullivan cares and gives personal attention to his clients. He is simply the best.

    Posted by Diana, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I never thought I would have to face working with an attorney for anything, but after searching through the vast number of attorneys, I chose Mr. Jim Sullivan. Reading the homepage of his website I started to feel like I would be in good hands given the information he provides about his history of the successful outcome of cases he has handled. He has represented my son both as a juvenile and an adult. At the age of 16, my son was charged with burglary of a habitation. Mr. Sullivan was determined to prove my son’s innocence and after a few court visits and his expert knowledge, he was able to have the charge dismissed, showing that there was no credible evidence linking my son to the felony. At the age of 18, on New Year’s Eve 2013, my son was arrested for DWI. Again we called on Mr. Sullivan and without hesitation he immediately went to work. Coincidentally, this occurred between the administrations of outgoing DA Pat Lykos and incoming DA Mike Anderson. As a result, the DWI Pretrial Intervention program was no longer available, leaving us with little hope for any kind of leniency. However, Mr. Sullivan assured us that a similar program would be available in the foreseeable future. As a result, Mr. Sullivan encouraged us to stay the course even though it meant many more resets in order to get that result. When the new program started, Mr. Sullivan learned that any prior arrests, even as a juvenile, disqualified a person from the program. Needless to say, I was worried that my son’s previous false charge might come back to haunt him. Initially, the prosecutor turned my son down, however Mr. Sullivan was able to persuade him to keep an open mind, especially as he said, a false charge ought not exempt my son from the program. First, Mr. Sullivan obtained the dismissal order from the juvenile district clerk, but it did not state the reason for the dismissal, so Mr. Sullivan went even further and persuaded the chief prosecutor to get their old file on my son’s burglary charge from storage to verify that my son was not involved in the burglary. Finally, after 7½ months of court visits, he was able to get my son qualified for the new intervention program. This was great news for us. As I write this today, my son is doing well on the program. He has completed 4 months of the one year program. If he successfully completes it, then the DA will dismiss the charges and in two more years my son can get his record expunged. I am most grateful to Mr. Sullivan as he has been so easy to work with, stayed in contact with us, is honest and worked with us tirelessly through the entire process. There are good people everywhere, Mr. Sullivan is one of them and I’m glad we had the privilege of working with him. He also has some interesting stories to share and maybe you’ll be lucky enough to hear one. I’ve said it before, but I can’t say it enough, thank you Mr. Sullivan and we are so appreciative of your kindness and hard work! – DR/DF, Spring, TX

  6. Highly recommended

    Posted by a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Juvenile matter.

    Jim Sullivan provided excellent legal representation to my teenage son exactly as I hoped and expected he would. But Jim also did much more than what I expected of him as an attorney. Jim took a large amount of his own, uncompensated time to share with my son his own life experiences. This was an invaluable lesson - authentic, dramatic and insightful. I think my son benefited from it greatly. Above and beyond his skills as a lawyer, Jim is a caring and decent person. I recommend him wholeheartedly!

    Father of a client

  7. Texas Juvenile Trial Warrior

    Posted by a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Juvenile matter.

    In May 2013, we learned that our 16 year old son had been accused by his nephew of sexually assaulting him. We were frantic. The charges were outrageous and totally false. We first hired a local attorney who claimed he knew what he was doing. We were soon dissatisfied with his services, so we hired Attorney James Sullivan. Unlike the first attorney, Sullivan is board certified and an expert in juvenile law. Sullivan came out to our home and spent several hours getting to know us, our son and the details of the case. Our son is a gifted musician, has Asperger’s Syndrome, is kind and follows rules. There is no way our son would abuse his cousin or anyone else. We believed that the cousin’s father, a registered sex offender, may have abused him and forced him to make the accusation. The police did no meaningful investigation whatsoever. James Sullivan, however, investigated the alleged crime scene, the background of the accuser’s parents, interviewed the investigating officer and our son’s counselor. Within one week of being hired, Sullivan said he was ready to take the case to a jury trial but was confident that he could force the prosecutor to dismiss the case. We only had to go to court once. Sullivan told the prosecutor that if he did not dismiss the charges then he would ask the court for a speedy trial. The prosecutor asked for a one month reset date to review the case. Within three weeks, Sullivan called us with the news that the prosecutor had dismissed the charges. We were ecstatic and grateful. James Sullivan is a good lawyer and he really cares for his clients. He saved our son’s life and future. I highly recommend him. ~Grateful Parents in Montgomery County

  8. Superb Lawyer

    Posted by a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • James handled my Juvenile matter.

    Last year, August 2013, our family entered into the hardest trial and hardship of our lives to date when our teenage son was accused of fondling his younger sister and later arrested for indecency with a child. Our world was shaken, turned upside down and inside out. During a time like this, you feel vulnerable and helpless. We searched high and low for a good attorney. We found Mr. Jim Sullivan. Words could never express the gratitude we have for Mr. Sullivan. He helped us through a gut-wrenching ordeal. Dealing with a legal process that you are completely oblivious about is a scary situation. Seeing your son in orange and handcuffs, is indescribable. The peace of mind that Mr. Sullivan brought to us was immeasurable. He was there whenever we needed him. He got us the results we hoped for and was completely understanding and discreet about our situation. We cannot recommend him enough or sing his praises enough to ever repay him for what he did for our son and for us. If you need help, talk to him and let him lead and guide you through, what is surely, a most difficult and trying time. I promise, you will not be disappointed. ~A Mormon mother in Harris County

  9. Juveniles Need Legal Counsel!

    Posted by R.D., Houston, TX, a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Juvenile matter.

    You never know--until it happens--that something once thought of as “kids experimenting” or “playing doctor” between siblings can actually be a 1st degree felony (Aggravated Sexual Assault). Not that I would ever knowingly condone such behavior; however, that’s the way it happened with our family. It’s amazing to me that children can be guilty of such serious offenses when they (we) don’t even know these laws apply to such seemingly innocent or misguided behavior. In actuality, it’s totally out of the parents hands once CPS or Juvenile Services are involved. This is why you MUST obtain legal counsel immediately to protect your children’s rights. I wasn’t even sure we even needed an attorney until I called Mr. Sullivan and he informed me just how serious the situation was. He was very compassionate, direct, and even came to our home for the first consultation. I can only speak for our experience, but my grandson was able to surrender voluntarily; was walked through the detention process, and didn’t have to spend even one night in juvenile detention. Additionally, Mr. Sullivan was able to get the first hearing set within 3 weeks and, to our amazement, was able to negotiate a 1st degree felony down to a class B misdemeanor. Even the Judge commented on what a good deal he got. Fortunately, my grandson is getting the counseling he needs instead of incarceration and a sex offense on his record. We are very grateful for our outcome and I highly recommend Mr. Sullivan.

  10. Great Juvenile Lawyer

    Posted by a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Sullivan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When I needed a lawyer to defend my teenage son who was charged with a felony sex offense, it was a stroke of luck that Jim Sullivan answered his phone when I called. My husband and I were frantic, worried and confused, but Jim answered our questions and we were especially reassured to know that not only did he have many years of experience with similar cases but that he was also Board Certified in Juvenile Law. Like many families who understandably go through a harrowing ordeal when their teenagers face serious criminal charges, Jim's dedicated and competent representation gave us a good comfort level and eased our fears. He always treated us courteously and professionally. Because Jim is intelligent, open-minded and competitive, he has proved to be a great lawyer who represented my son to the best of his ability and negotiated a deal with the prosecutor to reduce the felony charge to a misdemeanor assault--an extraordinary result for my son. In two years, my son can get his juvenile record expunged and then apply for admission to a top university.

    Jim Sullivan is a genuinely good man who really cares about the case result and how it will affect his clients' future life, so he aims to secure decisions in their best interests and for that we are truly grateful.
    ~Concerned Mom in Fort Bend County

Call now for a free consultation.

281-546-6428