Douglas Lowell Wilder’s Reviews

Douglas Lowell Wilder

Average Rating

Based on 35 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A LAWYER YOU CAN TRUST

    Posted by LARRY, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Wilder.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    DOUG,WALKED ME THROUGH A DWI CHARGE,HE WAS THERE WHEN I NEEDED HIM IN PERSON
    OR OVER THE PHONE,IF YOU NEED TO FIND SOMEONE,I HIGHLY RECOMMEND DOUGS EXPIERIENCE
    WITH THESE TYPES OF CASES

  2. The BEST

    Posted by Joseph, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Douglas Wilder.
    • I hired Douglas 6-12 months ago.
    • Douglas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Facing a felony 3rd DUI, I reached out to Doug and his team after talking to him and three other lawyers about my case I decided on the Wilder Firm. The other lawyers that I talked with were more salesman than lawyers stating that they could get the breath test thrown out along with the field sobriety test. This concerned me because they had not seen any of the evidence against me. Doug was the only lawyer that gave it to me straight. He did not make any promises about getting the case dismissed or reduced. What he did was give me the real picture, he needed to see the evidence before making any claims about getting the case dismissed. What he did promise was that he and his team would do their best to defend me. I was facing my 3rd DUI needless to say I was very scarred. Once the evidence was in their possession they contacted me to come to the office to review. Doug and Paul worked very hard with the DA and was able to get the charges reduced to 1st DUI I don’t know how they did it but I cannot praise them enough. I was able to keep my license, probation 18 months (this is standard), and I can now put this mistake behind me. I don’t know what I would have done without the Wilder Team.

  3. Doug Wilder is an Amazing Attorney

    Posted by Todd, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Wilder.
    • I hired Douglas 6-12 months ago.
    • Douglas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am writing this review with regards to not only my arrest and subsequent charge of DWI w/ child but to convey the journey that this incident has taken me on and to emphasize the caliber of attorney that Doug Wilder is.

    I made a very bad decision, one that I have had the opportunity to reflect on and realize the severity of what that decision and it’s possible consequences could not only have on me, but my family as well.
    I have always considered myself to be a responsible person, a person that takes charge and makes the right decision regardless of what others are telling him, yet on this particular night I failed in making that right decision…. when I should have had my wife drive, I instead chose to drive under the influence of alcohol and put my family in jeopardy. After my arrest, I have had the chance to go through a lot of feelings: humility, embarrassment, sorrow, regret and in the end, thankfulness. I have taken a moral inventory of where I was in my life and realize the things that are most precious and dear to me I put in harm’s way.
    Doug Wilder was right there with me through it all from the very beginning as I faced some very serious charges. Charges that could affect my life and my family forever. Doug was able to think "outside of the box" and truly have a compassionate look at what I was facing. Had it not been for Doug, I could have lost everything. I would recommend Doug to anyone facing a situation such as this as he took the time to think through my case, consider my options and come up with the best plan for me to address it. I initially faced felony charges with state jail time. I walked away with a misdemeanor.
    I can't thank you enough Doug Wilder.

  4. The Wilder Firm is the right choice!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Douglas Wilder.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I was arrested for suspicion of DUI shortly after moving to Dallas County (Nov. 2008), I did not know what I was going to do to defend myself and did not know any lawyers. After speaking to a few colleagues, I received Doug's name as a referral and thought I would give him a call.

    Doug agreed to meet with me right away, and upon our first meeting I knew Doug and his staff were the right team for me. Doug met me personally and clearly explained the next steps and put my mind at ease. Immediately, he had a plan to take on my case and laid out steps for me to take (i.e. M.A.D.D, driver education, etc.) Doug was very up front about the costs of his services and there were never any surprises or unexpected costs added on for his expertise.

    Doug and his team maintained consistent contact with me throughout the process and the pre-trial court appearances. His staff was very knowledgeable about the proceedings and helped me every step of the way. I felt at ease with the professional manner of the team, and Doug's personable style kept me calm and confident about the outcome of my case. Doug's extensive knowledge of the law and DUI police protocol ultimately resulted in receiving a fair and equitable plea agreement to accept a lesser charge and the DUI charge dismissed. After 15 months of unsupervised probation, my case is behind me.

    Fast forward to 2014 - When completing an application for a professional license, I was required to complete a background check form that required information pertaining to my previous case. I could not find the relevant information and gave Doug's office a call. Doug answered my call and immediately went to work for me all over again, providing me with the information from my case and helped me complete my application by instructing me on how to properly answer the questions (i.e. probation, my plea deal, cause#, etc.).

    Long story short, call the Wilder Firm - you will thank yourself.

  5. I call him Doug

    Posted by Karen, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Wilder.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I call him Doug!!!! and that is the relationship you will have with him. After hiring Doug I felt like I had met a life time friend. Being a lady it was very scary facing a court of law. He was wonderful in call backs and being very patient, down to earth and compassionate with me as his client. He was successful in getting the case dropped for me and I never had to go to court. You will be in good hand.

  6. Disappointed

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Douglas Wilder.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had selected him for my DWI case. First offense, first legal trouble. I had 3 court appearances and he was only present for 1 (and tried to find a substitute for that appearance that was my sentencing). He seemed to be familiar with the county I had gotten trouble in, but didn't seem to want to be there when I thought it was necessary. Judy was extremely helpful and was a pleasure to deal with. He seemed to be more concerned with going to trial for the purpose of obtaining another retainer fee.

  7. Pretty Damn Good!!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Wilder.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Doug Wilder and his staff was available for questions, responded to emails, fought for what he thought was just for my case. I felt like my case was safe in Doug's hands. He is personable and knows the court system and people well. I recommend Doug to any one in need of a lawyer!

  8. Exceptional Relationships & Case Planning

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Wilder.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Doug handled a DUI case for me that was eventually dismissed after nearly 3 years. His management of the case was exceptional. Most impressive (and impactful to the result) was his extensive relationships on both sides of the courtroom and throughout the industry. His ability to plan out the case and utilize all resources available to us was critical to the positive end result of the case.

    Doug broke down the different aspects of the case - both strong and weak - and built an action plan for each, again utilizing highly credible experts and resources. I was really shocked at the extent of his network of people, both local and across the country.

    I'm very grateful to him for his dedication to the case and fighting to the very end for me. I would highly recommend Doug for anyone who feels it's critical to put up the toughest defense possible.

  9. Only the best!

    Posted by Gilbert, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Wilder.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    First off, I wish that I had looked to hire Doug earlier in my DWI case, but at the time settled with a court appointed. Needless to say, I should have picked quality over quantity. When I received a probation violation, I went straight to Avvo.com and after hours of research, narrowed my choice to The Wilder Firm. From the first time stepping foot in the office and dealing with his helpful staff (thank you again Ashley!) until we shook hands after the court case had been settled, everything was smooth sailing. Communication was very thorough the whole time when it came to what I needed to get done and when I needed to show up in court after he got the case postponed a couple times, helping me complete my conditions of probation in the mean time. He was honest about my need to enroll in alcohol classes and what to do to stay on the right track to ensure that this situation does not happen again. I was not nervous at all and knew it was because I had a great man working for me. In the end, my violation of probation case was dismissed and he even helped persuade the judge who seem to have a bone to pick with me to remove the breathalyzer from my car which in turn helped get me back on track to saving money and continuing on with my life again. He is very down-to-earth, personable, and will work hard to get you results. I highly recommend The Wilder Firm to anyone who is facing DWI/DUI trouble or any other case that is a result of that. Thank you for helping put this past me and allowing me to move on with my life!

  10. Good Help is Hard to Find: Doug Wilder Delivers

    Posted by Josue,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Wilder.

    Doug Wilder has been truly outstanding in his defense efforts in my case. His knowledge of the law and court room procedures is extensive and he was always honest with his advice. He always answered any questions that I had and explained the course of action he would take thoroughly, always ensuring me that although the circumstances were not the best that he would do everything humanly (and legally of course) possible to defend me in court. He was straightforward and never gave me false hope. Even if there was a difference of opinions he would gladly listen and give feedback.

    Setting up appointments with him was easy and he was always able to see me and talk to me in person when I needed it. During the entire time that it took for my case to be dismissed I was kept in the loop as to what was happening and Doug was there every step of the way.

    What I liked best was that Doug will respect you and take care of you and lay out his expectation that you, the client, have to do your part as well. Listen to his advice and stay out of trouble.

Call now for a free consultation.

214-741-4000