Douglas Lowell Wilder’s Reviews

Douglas Lowell Wilder

Average Rating

Based on 30 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Disappointed

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Douglas Wilder.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had selected him for my DWI case. First offense, first legal trouble. I had 3 court appearances and he was only present for 1 (and tried to find a substitute for that appearance that was my sentencing). He seemed to be familiar with the county I had gotten trouble in, but didn't seem to want to be there when I thought it was necessary. Judy was extremely helpful and was a pleasure to deal with. He seemed to be more concerned with going to trial for the purpose of obtaining another retainer fee.

  2. Pretty Damn Good!!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Wilder.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Doug Wilder and his staff was available for questions, responded to emails, fought for what he thought was just for my case. I felt like my case was safe in Doug's hands. He is personable and knows the court system and people well. I recommend Doug to any one in need of a lawyer!

  3. Exceptional Relationships & Case Planning

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Wilder.
    • I hired Douglas 6-12 months ago.
    • Douglas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Doug handled a DUI case for me that was eventually dismissed after nearly 3 years. His management of the case was exceptional. Most impressive (and impactful to the result) was his extensive relationships on both sides of the courtroom and throughout the industry. His ability to plan out the case and utilize all resources available to us was critical to the positive end result of the case.

    Doug broke down the different aspects of the case - both strong and weak - and built an action plan for each, again utilizing highly credible experts and resources. I was really shocked at the extent of his network of people, both local and across the country.

    I'm very grateful to him for his dedication to the case and fighting to the very end for me. I would highly recommend Doug for anyone who feels it's critical to put up the toughest defense possible.

  4. Only the best!

    Posted by Gilbert, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Wilder.
    • I hired Douglas 6-12 months ago.
    • Douglas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    First off, I wish that I had looked to hire Doug earlier in my DWI case, but at the time settled with a court appointed. Needless to say, I should have picked quality over quantity. When I received a probation violation, I went straight to Avvo.com and after hours of research, narrowed my choice to The Wilder Firm. From the first time stepping foot in the office and dealing with his helpful staff (thank you again Ashley!) until we shook hands after the court case had been settled, everything was smooth sailing. Communication was very thorough the whole time when it came to what I needed to get done and when I needed to show up in court after he got the case postponed a couple times, helping me complete my conditions of probation in the mean time. He was honest about my need to enroll in alcohol classes and what to do to stay on the right track to ensure that this situation does not happen again. I was not nervous at all and knew it was because I had a great man working for me. In the end, my violation of probation case was dismissed and he even helped persuade the judge who seem to have a bone to pick with me to remove the breathalyzer from my car which in turn helped get me back on track to saving money and continuing on with my life again. He is very down-to-earth, personable, and will work hard to get you results. I highly recommend The Wilder Firm to anyone who is facing DWI/DUI trouble or any other case that is a result of that. Thank you for helping put this past me and allowing me to move on with my life!

  5. Good Help is Hard to Find: Doug Wilder Delivers

    Posted by Josue,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Wilder.

    Doug Wilder has been truly outstanding in his defense efforts in my case. His knowledge of the law and court room procedures is extensive and he was always honest with his advice. He always answered any questions that I had and explained the course of action he would take thoroughly, always ensuring me that although the circumstances were not the best that he would do everything humanly (and legally of course) possible to defend me in court. He was straightforward and never gave me false hope. Even if there was a difference of opinions he would gladly listen and give feedback.

    Setting up appointments with him was easy and he was always able to see me and talk to me in person when I needed it. During the entire time that it took for my case to be dismissed I was kept in the loop as to what was happening and Doug was there every step of the way.

    What I liked best was that Doug will respect you and take care of you and lay out his expectation that you, the client, have to do your part as well. Listen to his advice and stay out of trouble.

  6. God send

    Posted by Freda, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Wilder.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Doug is a lifesaver. He gave my husband back to me and our lives back. Although there were no injuries involved, DWI is still, and always is a serious deal.
    All the tears and sleepless nights weighed heavily on me, and our relationship. When the judge said that normally they would have "strung him up by his heels", my heart skipped a beat. Doug's experience & knowledge allowed him to broker a plea that was in our best interest, and our outcome was much better than expected. Had I not been married, I would have kissed him! He did a wonderful job, and now our hearts can rest and our emotions return to normal. I would have to say that it's really important to find a competent, capable and compassionate attorney to plead your case, and Doug is that man. Thanks for a great job, Doug! Freda.

  7. Doug Wilder - magic man

    Posted by JD, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Wilder.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Douglas Wilder was a God-send, prayers answered. I'd reviewed and spoken with several attorneys before hiring Doug. I retained him because of his personable, calm, professional and knowledgeable demeanor. He allayed my fears and gave me hope.
    I was facing 2 separate charges on DWI and when we reviewed the video evidence and police reports I was more than just concerned, I was panicked! I said, "Doug man, this looks really bad. I'm scared". He replied "yeah (in other words, not real good!), but I'll work you through this and we'll get through it with the best possible outcome (i.e., the least possible collateral damage)".
    And he did. We discussed the options in detail, and with that, he allowed me to make an informed, educated decision that I had confidence in. It's amazing what that security can do to boost your confidence and reduce stress.
    When the court date came, he was a miracle worker. At one point early on he'd asked me what I wanted to see out of this and I replied, "if I had only one wish - no jail time". Well, with his knowledge and experience before the bench, he was able not only to get one charge completely dismissed, but probation for the other! He completely exceeded my expectations. I cannot tell you how elated I was - my wife actually cried on the way home.
    Miracles CAN happen with the right guy on your side. That's why I'd recommend Doug for anyone else in my situation. The peace of mind that comes with that experience is irreplaceable.
    Thanks, Doug!
    JD

  8. Really Good!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Douglas Wilder.
    • I hired Douglas 6-12 months ago.
    • Douglas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was very thankful we chose Doug to handle my case for a DUI. He was very knowledgeable, experienced, and even knew the Judge who handled my case. He has an extraordinarily efficient support team in Judy and Ashley who will answer every question you may have, and will walk you through the entire process. I highly recommend Doug Wilder.

  9. Great Attorney - Great Results

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Wilder.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.

    Doug was undoubtably an amazing attorney. I don't even know where to begin. We hired Doug for a DWI case in a very tough county. When we first went to him he was upfront, honest and caring. He gave us advise, and had we not taken it, we probably would not have had such a desireable outcome. Do your self and your family a favor, use Mr.Wilder and his advise. He works hard, shows compassion, and most of all he knows what he is doing. He exceeded any and all expectations I could have had for an attorney.

  10. Awesome Lawyer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Posted by Michael, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Wilder.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Doug worked with me for over 2 years trying to get the best possible outcome concerning a dwi/ucw case. He is very knowledgable about the law and will stick with whom ever his clients are until the end. I could not have chosen a better lawyer for my case; he had my ucw dismissed and made my dwi managable. I contacted Doug after I had completed all necessary requirments by the law after 9 months. He had my interlock removed off my vehicle immediately once eligible. Overall excellent lawyer, and if you want your case handled right with the best possible outcome contact Doug Wilder.

Call now for a free consultation.

214-741-4000